The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at 50 Shades of Hay | TravelGround
+16

50 Shades of Hay

8 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4 out of 5from 8 reviews for 50 Shades of Hay
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.4/5
Location
3.3/5
Safety
4.5/5
Value for money
3.6/5
Charl C - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Charl C
With spouse/partner

Facilities very clean and tidy, just very warm, please invest in a bar fridge and also air conditioning.

Very very very hot.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fasiliteite baie skoon en netjies, net baie warm, belê asb. in 'n bar fridge en ook lugversorging.

Baie baie baie warm.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lionell S - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
2/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Lionell S
With spouse/partner

Ligging bietjie vêr van dorp en daar kort so bietjie meer om my weer soontoe te lok.

Geen lugreëling. Kamers word nie daagliks skoongemaak nie. Was verbaas om na 'n lang dag daar te kom en die bed was nog deurmekaar. Ligging op grondpad en vêr uit die dorp. Ontbyt nie ingesluit by prys nie, alhoewel 'n kontinentale ontbyt beskikbaar is vir 'n addisionele betaling en as dit vooraf gereël word.

Siya X - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Siya X
With spouse/partner

Very poor. No TV. No aircon.

No television. No air conditioner. Their continental breakfast was only cereals, fruit, bread. All of this for R800. This was my first and last stay with them.

50 Shades of Hay's response

Hello Siya,
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We would like to take the opportunity to clear up any misconceptions that you appear to have about 50 Shades of Hay.
We offer accommodation on a small holding, away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We are blessed with a lovely peaceful environment and to this end encourage a place to switch off and relax. We, therefore, do not have televisions in our rooms.
While we do not have built-in air conditioning units, we do have mobile fans and heaters in the rooms.
We openly advertise that our continental breakfast consists of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, bread and drinks.
We can only sympathize that you did not enjoy the type of accommodation you were hoping for. We will take your feedback as positive criticism to try to ensure that future guests are more aware of the type of country, peaceful escapism we are offering.
Kind Regards,
Michele Coss

50 Shades of Hay
Riaan V - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Riaan V
With spouse/partner

Dit was 'n baie rustige plek gewees om net te relax na 'n dag se harde werk.

Die eienaar het ons baie vriendelik ontvang en dit was 'n baie rustige plek om bietjie af te skakel. Die braaigeriewe was verskriklik mooi en lekker.

Elaine B - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elaine B
With spouse/partner

Very relaxing and clean.

Very relaxing, safe and neat.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie rustig en skoon.

Baie rustig, veilig en netjies.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jetty B - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Jetty B
With friends

Very friendly, obliging hosts but very basic accommodation without some essentials such as a heater, small refrigerator, television set or WiFi accessibility.

We travel extensively to attend dog shows and pet friendly accommodation is critical. We were made to feel very welcome with our show dogs but feeding became difficult as the basic room set-up lacked a refrigerator or microwave oven. While we were very kindly offered the use of the kitchen, this involved a long walk in cold and wet conditions. We really missed the other basics we are accustomed to: a television set, a heater and WiFi accessibility. There was insufficient surface space for placing our possessions on but we do have more than most people: show boxes and grooming equipment in addition to the usual travelling gear. The bed linen was lovely. The plastic garden chair was not fitting and should be replaced. This establishment has a great deal of potential but some basics need addressing. Hosts were very friendly and obliging.

50 Shades of Hay's response

Many thanks for your feedback, it is appreciated and we have taken note of the comments and will be investigating the viability of the various suggestions.

Heaters have now been installed in the rooms due to the inclement weather conditions, and we working with our Wi-Fi provider on how best to extend the Wi-Fi range, so that it reaches the bedrooms and not just the common areas.

We are working hard at improving our establishment continually and appreciate all feedback.

50 Shades of Hay
Laura B - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Laura B
With friends

Very quiet and peaceful. The hospitality was amazing. Thanks Viv!

We had a conference at Moreson Farm nearby and needed a place to stay. Enjoyed the quietness of the place and Viv, our hostess, was amazing. Very friendly and accommodating. Will be back again.

Ronel J - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Ronel J
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik, lekker naby vir ons doel. Netjies en veilig.

Lekker gebly, netjiese eenheid en badkamer. Gasvrou het moeite gedoen om in ons behoeftes te voorsien.

50 Shades of Hay's response

Many thanks we hope to welcome you back to 50 Shades of Hay in the near future.

50 Shades of Hay
was R850
From R765
per night (sleeps 2)
was R850
From R765
per night (sleeps 2)
was R850
From R765
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 18 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Plot 22 Groenerivier Estate, Klein Dassenberg Road, Philadelphia area, 7304, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJAsHcAApm8KtAUDYGU4QxwnXpDIJukLPi7lxNnxAN21c8xjiQf?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format was R850, now From R765  per night (sleeps 2) 8 5 1 4 Plot 22 Groenerivier Estate Klein Dassenberg Road 7304 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -33.563423572693 18.5967406901
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!