The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Acorn Cottage Bed and Breakfast | TravelGround
+11

Acorn Cottage Bed and Breakfast

18 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4.3 out of 5from 18 reviews for Acorn Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
4.3/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
3.9/5
Linwil P - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Linwil P
Individual traveler

A very warm welcome by hosts and friendliness throughout my stay. This should be called "A home away from home". Such awesome hospitality.

Great breakfast! Peaceful night's sleep.

Elizabeth V - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elizabeth V
With spouse/partner

A great place with a super friendly host.

Had a lovely stay. Grahamstown was also a lovely town to visit.

Martin V - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Martin V
With spouse/partner

Very pleasant stay with our host with delicious breakfast every morning.

Rob is the ideal host and immediately makes you feel like a member of the household. We talked until late at night and shared a few anecdotes.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie aangename verblyf by ons gasheer met heerlike ontbyt elke oggend.

Rob is die ideale gasheer en laat jou dadelik voel soos 'n lid van die huishouding. Ons het tot laat aand gesels en gelag oor al die staaltjies.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gwyneth C - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gwyneth C
Individual traveler

Acorn Cottage was perfect for a two night stay in Grahamstown.

The owner of the house was very charming and welcoming. The room was adequate for my needs, and I enjoyed sitting in the enclosed veranda. I was able to park my car in a huge yard and I felt very safe during my stay there. The breakfast was delicious and on the whole it was a great place.

Ayanda D - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ayanda D
Family with young children

It is a lovely place, good for family time.

My family really enjoyed being there. Everything was up to standard. I will book it again next time.

Neil H - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Neil H
Family with young children

The owner was very helpful and made the whole experience very comfortable and enjoyable, no request was too much for him.

The service by the owner was good. The room was clean and we enjoyed our stay.

Yvonne M - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yvonne M
Family with teenagers

I had a great stay.

Rob gave us excellent service, the place is peaceful, I will definetly be staying there again with family. He was a great host.

Pincione A - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Pincione A
Individual traveler

Sorry but better another place.

Despite the gentle and kindness of the owner the place would need substantial renewal.

Acorn Cottage Bed and Breakfast's response

We accept your point in its entirety. We would like to point out that we are presently refurbishing 1 room completely, this should be completed in about 4 weeks. When that is done another room will follow until all the rooms are completed. Only then will outside work commence. Thank you for your constructive criticism, it is and will always be welcome.

Acorn Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Charles S - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Charles S

Enjoyed wonderful hospitality, service and breakfast and dinner prepared after last-minute request.

See stars.

Stan W - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Stan W

A comfortable and pleasant stay.

The hosts are pleasant company, a large delicious breakfast was served, comfortable beds with electric blankets were provided and in the lounge there is interesting decor. The place also provides quiet surroundings.

Joe V - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Joe V
With spouse/partner

Disappointing. Image misleading.

Although clean and neat the cottage is a converted garage lacking style and finesse and over priced for the service rendered.

Cindy-lee P - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Cindy-lee P
Family with teenagers

Place neat, tidy and very spacious. Staff members very helpful.

Received a very friendly welcome. Everything was explained clearly. Room and bathroom facilities were very clean. Place is very safe.

Ella W - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ella W
On business

Baie netjiese kothuis met alles wat nodig is.

Dis 'n netjiese selfsorgkothuis met alles wat mens nodig het. Daar is WiFi, parkering, TV, tafel, gratis tee en koffie, handdoeke en seep! Gasvrou baie vriendelik en help graag. Lekker elektriese komberse vir die winteraande en warm water om te stort. Alles in die dorp self is binne loopafstand, maar dit vat 'n goeie 20 min se stap om by Rhodes uit te kom, daarvoor is 'n motor nuttig.

Lee L - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lee L
With spouse/partner

Always such a pleasure to see Rob and Netta!

Like living at home! Can't ask for better!

Acorn Cottage Bed and Breakfast's response

Hi Lee,

Thank you for the lovely review, it does make it all worthwhile, mostly we only hear the bad. We hope you had a good trip home.

Kind regards,

Netta & Rob

Acorn Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Linda D - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Linda D
Individual traveler

Very average.

The shower needs a thorough scrub. Please don't place a bathroom mat by the toilet ... unhygienic. The bedroom was clean but the bedcovers, curtains and light shade are very old fashioned. A duvet is preferable. The bedroom is large but does not have a chair. The only place to sit is on a bed. Block out lining necessary on the roman blind at the door and the outside light kept me awake. The property requires major maintenance.

Michael W - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Michael W
With spouse/partner

Perfectly situated.

Great stay, friendly owners, wonderful breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.

Lee L - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lee L
With spouse/partner

Would like to stay here again.

Very convenient and had a great stay.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Sal graag weer hier bly.

Baie gerieflik en lekker gebly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

George H - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
1/5
George H
Individual traveler

Very unpleasant stay.

No TV, no complementary coffee in the room. The room was not welcoming at all. The pillows did not have pillow cases. Awful to say the least. The gate is manually locked. It was raining and I had to get out of my car and unlock the gate padlock. If I had know they didn't have TV I wouldn't have booked it considering I was travelling alone and I don't know anyone in the area. It was not good value for money. I would not recommend this place at all.

Acorn Cottage Bed and Breakfast's response

Hello George,
I'm sorry you feel this way, the pillow cases were a slip by an inexperienced employee, but it is my fault for not checking. Please send me your banking details and I will pass an EFT refund to you for the amount of R 550.00
Please accept my sincere apologies.
Kind regards,
Rob

Acorn Cottage Bed and Breakfast
From R850
per night (for 2 people)
From R850
per night (for 2 people)
From R850
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 7 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address:  31 Oatlands Road, Grahamstown, 6139, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDBiZWRjYzU3LTcwYTYtNGIwZS1hMzExLTFiYzFjZjU3YzhmZg?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R850  per night (for 2 people) 18 5 1 5 31 Oatlands Road Grahamstown 6139 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-20:00 10:00 -33.303196903899 26.522094458342
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!