The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Acorn Cottages | TravelGround
+39

Acorn Cottages

59 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.1 out of 5from 59 reviews for Acorn Cottages
Cleanliness
4.2/5
Service
4.0/5
Location
4.2/5
Safety
4.2/5
Value for money
4.0/5
Johan N - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
2/5
Johan N
With spouse/partner

Ons het in Owl Cottage gebly en dit was baie netjies en skoon.

Die kaggels in die sitkamer/kombuis en hoofslaapkamer is groot plus op koue dae. Baie outentieke meubels en alles wat nodig is vir selfsorg. Acorn is naby golfbaan, restaurante en winkels.

Acorn Cottages's response

Baie dankie.

Acorn Cottages
Ann S - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ann S
Family with young children

Laid back, relaxed, secure.

Love it, love the dogs. It was just a perfect place all round.

Acorn Cottages's response

Thank you!!

Acorn Cottages
Anne B - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Anne B
With friends

Idyllic. Very peaceful. Beautiful surroundings.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the cottage needed a bit of TLC, but the hosts were friendly and assisted with an unexpected hot water problem. It's ideally situated, close to all the tourist attractions and great eating places in the Champagne Valley. If you are wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, wanting peace and quiet and a place to rejuvenate, look no further.

Andigoni C - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Andigoni C
With friends

Needs maintenance.

Bath was loose from the wall. Toilet leaking. Fireplace smoked us out. Next door chalet had a problem. All night we slept with a rumbling noise either from the pump or outside geyser.

Acorn Cottages's response

Thank you all your issues were attended to.

Acorn Cottages
Ilse V - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ilse V
With spouse/partner

Uitstekende verblyf en vriendelike diens!

Netjiese en skoon verblyf. Vriendelike en behulpsame diens. Mooi en stil omgewing om te gaan ontspan. Sal verseker aanbeveel en weer gaan besoek.

Acorn Cottages's response

Baie dankie sien daarna uit om julle weer te sien!

Acorn Cottages
Dirk S - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dirk S
Individual traveler

Baie gerieflik en netjies. Goeie waarde vir geld, naby berge.

Ek het in Kingfisher gebly, baie gerieflike en stylvolle eenheid, met en suite-badkamer, sitkamer en kombuisie, en stoep. Uitsig nie direk op berge nie, maar pragtige, groot skadubome wat 'n rustige atmosfeer skep. Ek sien baie mense kla oor die pad soontoe, maar solank jy Winterton oorry, is dit 'n paar honderd meter op 'n baie billike grondpad.

Acorn Cottages's response

Ons hoop om jou gou weer te sien.

Acorn Cottages
Andre S - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Andre S
With spouse/partner

Rustig en veilig.

Lekker ruim en netjies. Naby baie besienswaardighede. Sal beslis weer van die akkommodasie gebruikmaak.

Reg K - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Reg K
With spouse/partner

Asemrowend.

Was ’n baie lekker en pragtige plek. Sal graag weer wil gaan.

Ina G - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ina G
With spouse/partner

Oe, wêreldse sjarme!

Acorn Cottages laat 'n mens terug dink aan die ou dae en hoe eenvoudig lekker rustig die lewe kan wees. Die plaas is rustig, alhoewel dit 'n werkende plaas is, Petunia het uit haar pad gegaan om te sorg dat die plek mooi en netjies is met ons aankoms. Baie dankie!

Acorn Cottages's response

Baie dankie,
Ons is bly julle het dit geniet en gerus.

Acorn Cottages
Debbie B - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
5/5
Debbie B
With spouse/partner

Dit is oulike plekkie met pragtige uitsig en lieflike tuin. Sal dit beslis aanbeveel. Naby alles.

Deure sluit nie behoorlik nie, dus het ons snags nie baie veilig gevoel nie.

Acorn Cottages's response

Die deure sluit wel behoorlik daar is nie veiligheidsdeure nie maar soos ek aan julle verduidelik het is die huise omhein met elektriese heining en daar is honde en ‘n wag, bly julle het dit geniet!

Acorn Cottages
Riaan V - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Riaan V
Family with teenagers

Baie mooi plek met voldoende geriewe,en baie goeie ligging om die Drakensberge te verken.

Ons het een nag daar oorgeslaap, daar is so baie om te sien en doen in die omgewing, sal volgende keer langer bly. Ons kan die plek aanbeveel.

Marina S - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marina S
Family with young children

Baie vriendelike ontvangs, wonderlike, rustige omgewing!

Ons verblyf was te kort! Ons sal graag weer daar 'n draai wil maak. Die kinders het die plaaslewe geniet en met vrymoedigheid die varkhokke, hoenders en skaapkampe verken, wat vir my 'n groot pluspunt is - gesonde vermaak weg van elektronika.

Acorn Cottages's response

Baie dankie, ons hoop ons sien julle binnekort.

Acorn Cottages
Everdine E - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Everdine E
Family with teenagers

Die ligging is fantasties en die mense by Acorn Cottages was baie gasvry.

Acorn Cottages was baie gasvry en bereid om ons gesin se unieke behoeftes te akkomodeer. Hulle het byvoorbeeld reëlings gemaak dat ons al teen 13h00 die middag kon inboek sonder enige ongerief of klagtes. Die verwelkoming (met al die vriendelike honde) was 'n warm gevoel. Dit het byna gevoel asof ons vir familie op die plaas gaan kuier het! Ons sal Acorn Cottages beslis aanbeveel en weer van hierdie verblyf gebruik maak.

Gerda V - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gerda V
With friends

Had a lovely relaxing time with helpful hosts.

A very relaxing experience with beautiful cottage, well equipped and friendly hosts. The dogs were a perk for us and we even had our own little Twinkle joining us for the weekend. Dogs aplenty but all very well-behaved! Chickens, donkey and pigs all added to the relaxed feeling! Great value for money if you are looking to just relax and rest. However, if you want to be surrounded by mountains the cottages are a bit far away from the mountains and quite a drive to get there. But we loved our relaxing weekend away from the hustle and bustle of the city!

Acorn Cottages's response

Baie dankie!

Acorn Cottages
Rialette D - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Rialette D

It was sufficient for what we were looking for.

Thank you for the great stay. We enjoyed the Drankensberg a lot!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Was voldoende vir wat ons gesoek het.

Dankie vir lekker bly. Ons het die Drakensberge baie geniet!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ingrid R - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ingrid R
Family with teenagers

Acorn cottages had everything we needed and is situated in a perfect location to explore central Drakensberg.

We stayed in Barn Owl Cottage which was decorated in an old farmhouse style which was quaint and beautiful. It had all that we needed, hosts and staff were very friendly. We loved the location as it was easy to explore the Central Berg from it.

Acorn Cottages's response

Baie dankie, ons waardeer die terugvoer.

Acorn Cottages
Deon S - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Deon S
With spouse/partner

Cold.

Too expensive for what you get. The place needs to be renovated.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Koud.

Te duur vir wat jy ontvang. Die plek moet opgeknap word.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Acorn Cottages's response

Jammer dit was koud. Miskien kan julle weer in die somer kom?

Ons sal wel aandag gee aan die res, baie dankie.

Acorn Cottages
Felicia S - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Felicia S
Family with young children

Wonderlike naweek in Champagne Valley.

Ons het heerlik gekuier by Acorn Cottages gekuier. Die kothuise is goed ingerig en gemaklik. Dit het ‘n regte rustic plaas gevoel. Die plaashonde het glad nie gepla nie. Daar was ‘n baie groot donderstorm die eerste aand en ons het geen probleme met die kothuis ondervind nie. Daar is baie om te doen in die area rondom Acorn.

Acorn Cottages's response

Baie dankie, dit was heerlik om julle te huisves. Julle is ‘n pragtige familie!

Acorn Cottages
Lizelle V - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Lizelle V
Family with teenagers

Very uncomfortable night - trying to sleep on the couch in the living room out of desperation as the bed in the 2nd bedroom was extremely uncomfortable.

Positive remarks: The view of the mountains and gardens are lovely. The cottage was charming and we loved the sash windows and wooden floors. Negative remarks: The dogs overwhelmed us when we first arrived and even jumped into the car. We do not mind having the dogs around, however, I would suggest that the dogs are kept away from new arrivals for the first few minutes to allow guests to unpack and settle in. The cottage was extremely warm inside, we immediately opened up the windows to try and get some relief. The second bedroom's beds are not adequate for teenagers or older guests. The bunk beds seem unstable and small. The single bed in the room is extremely uncomfortable. So much so that I got up in die middle of the night to try and sleep on the sofa in the living room instead. We did not have all the necessary utensils available in the kitchen. There is, for instance, no sharp knives and I could not cut our meat or vegetables. (Only a bread knife was available.) We asked the person who looked after the main house as the owners were away for a knife and he did provide one for us.) When we first arrived, we went for a swim to cool down as the cottage was stifling hot. The swimming pool had a lot of debris and was not clean. We only climbed in and out again as we did not feel comfortable swimming amongst all the debris and dead bugs.

Leon B - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Leon B
Family with young children

Beautiful view and neat unit.

Big and beautiful unit with everything that you need.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Mooi uitsig en netjiese eenheid.

Groot en mooi eenheid met alles wat jy nodig het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Acorn Cottages's response

Thank you so much.

Acorn Cottages
R D - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
R D
Family with teenagers

Rustig en netjies.

Baie oulike, netjiese huisie met al die benodigdhede en die lieflikste honde.

Acorn Cottages's response

Baie dankie bly julle het dit geniet.

Acorn Cottages
Mar-lin D - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Mar-lin D
Family with young children

Nature was awesome

Wonderful place. Recommended.

Acorn Cottages's response

Thank you so much! Hope we see you soon again.

Acorn Cottages
Leonor G - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leonor G
With spouse/partner

Dit was een groot heerlikheid!

Baie dankie vir julle ongelooflike vriendelikheid en gasvryheid! Ons het in Barn Owl Cottage gebly, wat ek antiek-sjiek noem! Julle dierekinders het dit laat voel soos ons huis weg van ons huis af! Die plaasomgewing is 'n absolute paradys vir jonk en oud, 'n droom vir ouers met klein kindertjies met speelplek in oorvloed en daar is soveel te doen en sien in alle rigtings. Ons sien uit na ons volgende besoek!

Acorn Cottages's response

Baie dankie vir julle ons het so heerlik saam met julle gekuier. Hoop om julle gou weer te sien.

Acorn Cottages
Adriaan Jj V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Adriaan Jj V
With spouse/partner

Vriendelikheid van personeel.

Baie aangenaam. Sou net graag fasiliteite vir wasgoed was wou gehad het.

Michele D - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michele D
With friends

Food for the soul.

Beautiful views with peace and serenity. Food for the soul. Comfortable accommodation with everything you need. The gas geyser in Swallow cottage was, however, a challenge and could be a problem in winter. Fireplace was cosy, breakfast was very nice, overlooking the fields with all the farm animals, and felt at home when the owners little dogs paid us a daily visit. Definitely worth another visit.

Acorn Cottages's response

Thank you so very much for the lovely review! Geyser sorted sorry about that

Acorn Cottages
Johan Van Tonder V - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan Van Tonder V
Family with teenagers

Stunning, picturesque environment, very neat and clean, delicious breakfast in the prettiest lapa outside.

Unit is very clean and neat. It might not be new and modern, but the most important thing is that it is neat and clean. Petunia is very friendly and hospitable and prepared the most delicious breakfast in the stunning environment where you eat in the lapa. We will stay there again and recommend it to others.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Pragtige skilderagtige omgewing, baie netjies en skoon, heerlike ontbyt in die mooiste buite lapa.

Eenheid is baie skoon en netjies. Dit is nou wel nie nuut en modern nie maar die belangrikste is netheid en dat dit skoon is. Petunia is baie vriendelik en gasvry en berei die heerlikste ontbyt voor in die mooiste omgewing waar jy eet in die lapa. Ons sal weer van dit gebruik maak en ook aanbeveel aan ander persone.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Acorn Cottages's response

Baie dankie.

Acorn Cottages
Christo D - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Christo D

Disappointing maintenance.

The unit is made of dry wall and zinc with furniture and parts of the unit falling apart. More shack than cottage.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Teleurstellende instandhouding.

Die eenheid is van dry walling en sink gemaak met meubels en dele van die eenheid wat uitmekaar val. Eerder 'n shack as 'n cottage.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Julian M - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Julian M
Family with young children

Nice.

We couldn't do the activities organised by the owner, like canoe and horse riding, the rock pool was nice, but because it is in front of the owner's house you feel uncomfortable there. It can be improved by putting permanent wooden furniture and thatched roofs for shade around the pool,or to build a small pool by the 2 farthest houses. The service that Petunia gave us with breakfast and cleaning was very good.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker.

Aktiwiteite soos die kano en perdry wat deur die eienaar aangebied is, kon nie gedoen word nie, die rotspoel is baie lekker maar aangesien dit voor die eienaar se eie huis is, voel mens ongemaklik daar. Dit kan verbeter word deur permanente houtmeubels en grasdak-afdakkies vir koelte rondom die poel op te rig, of om 'n klein swembad by die lapa by die twee verste huisies te bou. Die diens wat Petunia gelewer het met ontbyt en die skoonmaak van die blyplek was goed.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Acorn Cottages's response

Thank you, noted.

Acorn Cottages
Graham T - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Graham T
With spouse/partner

Great friendly service.

Booking in was painless. Accommodation was beautiful, clean and well looked after. Wonderful cleaning lady.

John D - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
John D
With spouse/partner

Pleasant base to work from, but accommodation only average.The "manageress'' was only seen from a distance.

I would recommend to a friend only if he had fairly basic requirements. The setting is nice and the dogs are friendly but Barn Owl cottage needs plenty of repairs and maintenance.

Acorn Cottages's response

Could you please be more specific as to the problems in Barn Owl Cottage.

Acorn Cottages
Strauss F - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Strauss F
With spouse/partner

Really enjoyed the farm atmosphere and the peaceful, stunning nature. Can definitely recommend this place.

Peaceful accommodation at Acorn Cottages, just what we needed. Delicious breakfast in the farm kitchen ("Lapa") - we looked forward to it every morning. Will definitely book again if we head in that direction.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Het die plaasatmosfeer en die rustige mooi natuurskoon baie geniet. Kan dit beslis aanbeveel.

Die verblyf by Acorn Cottages is rustig en net wat ons nodig gehad het. Ontbyt in die plaaskombuis ("Lapa") was uitstekend en iets waarna ons elke oggend uitgesien het. Sal beslis weer daar wil oorbly as ons in daardie rigting gaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Acorn Cottages's response

Baie dankie.

Acorn Cottages
Bradley B - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Bradley B

Management was not seen, cleaner was excellent.

Management was never seen, cleaner booked us in, she was amazing, lovely place.

Acorn Cottages's response

Thank you for your reply please note that it's not the cleaner that booked you in its my trainee her duties are checking in customers and attending to them. Glad you enjoyed it.

Acorn Cottages
Johan V - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Johan V
With spouse/partner

Ergste blyplek ooit, te veel honde en dit voel asof jy by mense in die agtertuin bly.

Dit het begin by die ontvangs: Skarlien sou ons kom verwelkom maar dit het nooit gebeur nie. Ons moes vra om haar te sien en elke keer het sy 'n verskoning dat sy nie kan kom nie. Ons was oorweldig deur al die honde, 2 is nog OK, maar daar was letterlik 7 of meer honde en 3 katte. Die huis was nie skoon nie, baie spinnerakke en spinnekoppe. Skarlien verwys na hoe onveilig SA is en gee 'n negatiewe beeld van SA. Ons het nooit regtig welkom gevoel nie. Uiteindelik 'n mooi plek gevind in die Champagne Valley wat baie vriendeliker is en beter gemanierd. As jy hier bly gaan jy die heeltyd hoor wat die kinders op die TV kyk want dis kliphard. Gelukkig is daar beter plekke in die buurt. Spaar jou geld en bespreek 'n ander plek as Acorn Cottages, jy sal bly wees jy het nie hier gebly nie. Die bed lê ook nie lekker nie, jy kan eerder op die bank gaan slaap.

Nelson C - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Nelson C

Nice, but not ideal for large groups.

It rained a lot over the weekend, which was great, but there were very few places for us to sit outside as a group. We struggled to braai and could never use the boma area. The place needs some more under-cover areas outside. The pool was also green so we couldnt swim when it was hot in the afternoon.

Leonie B - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leonie B
Family with young children

Baie mooi en rustig.

Sal enige tyd weer daar gaan bly. Waarde vir jou geld.

Madeleine C - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Madeleine C
Family with young children

Gemaklike eenhede in 'n pragtige omgewing.

Het die stilte en uitsig baie geniet. Die verblyf is sentraal geleë om baie dele van die berg te besoek.

Johannes V - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Johannes V
Family with teenagers

De kamers waren ruim en goed.

Gezin met 3 kinderen van ongeveer 20jaar oud. Het verblijf was goed te vinden middels GPS-coordinaten. Beetje pech met het weer, maar een vriendelijke attente gastheer. Een goed onderhouden tuin en er was Wifi.

Ansie C - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Ansie C

Baie goeie verblyf in 'n rustige omgewing met letterlik alles wat nodig is vir selfsorg.

Gasheer wat moeite doen vir sy gaste. Daaglikse skoonmaakdiens was vootreflik.

Mollene W - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Mollene W
With spouse/partner

Ons was aangenaam verras met die verblyf.

Dit was pragtig, skoon en netjies, en baie mooi en gerieflik en ons het sommer tuis gevoel daar. Ons was verwelkom met koue sjerrie in die kamer en kon sommer na die stresvolle reis nadat my man by die verkeerde afrit afgery het, heerlik ontspan. Ons het heerlik gestort en soete drome gedroom en die volgende oggend het ons 'n ongelooflike ontbyt in die tuin gehad. Uit die boeke uit. Baie dankie vir julle hulp ons verwys graag ons vriende en familie na die plekkie in die berge.

Jan N - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jan N
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker gebly in hierdie pragtige omgewing. Eenheid is besonder goed toegerus vir selfsorg.

Acorn Cottages is ideaal geleë vir die reisiger wat graag die deel van die pragtige Drakensberge beter wil leer ken. Die eenheid is netjies en baie goed toegerus en 'n goeie basis waarvandaan die area verken kan word. Daar is baie om te doen en te sien in die omgewing. Die personeel is gasvry en behulpsaam.

Dirk S - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Dirk S
Family with young children

Baie sentraal.

Pragtige wegbreek tussen die berge. Baie rustig. Wonderlike voëllewe. Mooi plekke om te besoek.

Zanele N - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Zanele N
With spouse/partner

Perfect place to be with your family

I enjoyed being here and celebrating our anniversary with my husband. Being far from all distractions, it's perfect. Quiet, peaceful, and friendly staff.

Paul V - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Paul V
Family with young children

Goed geleë en bekostigbare verblyf.

Ons het baie lekker gebly. Die plek is sentraal geleë. Die kothuis is baie netjies en skoon. Dit was perfek vir ons behoeftes. Die kinders het baie lekker gespeel.

Amanda K - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Amanda K
With friends

Ons het baie lekker gebly en die omgewing is pragtig!

Dit was heerlik om daar oor te slaap: baie stil en rustig. Alles was baie skoon en netjies.

Corlia E - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Corlia E

Die kothuis was skoon.

Daar was egter geen van die uitsig te sien waarvan daar op die web na verwys word nie. Waarsku asb. voornemende besoekers dat die N5 en die R74 onbegaanbaar is met 'n sedanmotor.

Howard N - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Howard N
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam en behulpsaam met 'n vriendelike ontvangs.

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Diane K - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Diane K
Family with teenagers

What a fantastic place and what a fantastic host!!! We will certainly come again!

Beautifully serene, wonderfully comfortable. Thank you Acorn Cottages, we had a great time! We will definitely visit again!! Our German visitors were enthralled!

Vusi D - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Vusi D
Family with young children

Our family had an enjoyable stay at Acorn Cottages

It is a homely environment. The view is excellent. We were living with and in nature.

Prof. Pieter V - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Prof. Pieter V
With spouse/partner

Best place for a holiday!

Herman is a very friendly host and I would recommend Acorn to all my friends!

Christa B - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Christa B
With spouse/partner

Atmosphere very tranquil.

Accommodation facility clean and neat.

Andre C - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Andre C
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam!

Ons het net in die aande daar geslaap, sal volgende keer meer tyd daar spandeer. Die plek is pragtig.

Dennis R - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Dennis R
With spouse/partner

Good but ...

The rooms were clean and functional, however, I felt that the breakfast was not up to scratch.

Dylan N - May 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dylan N
With spouse/partner

Beautiful, and recommended

Beautiful, I'll recommend it to anybody who want a romantic weekend in the Berg.

Suna D - Dec 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Suna D
With spouse/partner

We had a lovely time!

We enjoyed our stay. It was a long drive from Acorn to Cathedral Peak, especially during the night and with rainy weather

Basil K - Jun 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Basil K
With spouse/partner

A wonderful retreat run by an accommodating hostess and good service.

Really a lovely place to go to and Nikki was a wonderful "hostess" We certainly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to others.

Bella B - Apr 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Bella B
With spouse/partner

Excellent. every detail thought off.

The cottage had a great view. It was private and spacious. Every little detail was thought off. We had a real nivce stay! Thanks!

Lil C - Dec 2010
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lil C
With spouse/partner

Nice location for the Berg trails

Hi there All okay except the fridge setting. It was set too cold and froze all my salad ingredients, which was not great, as it was a waste of money, and being far from shops, not able to replace them.

Carolyn L - Jul 2010
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carolyn L
With spouse/partner

It was a good quiet peaceful getaway.

Very peaceful, spacious and nice surroundings. Close to quite a few nice places.

From R900
per night (for 2 people)
From R900
per night (for 2 people)
From R900
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 14 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 17:00
    Check-out: 11:00
  • Address: D277, Champagne Valley, Central Drakensberg, 3340, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDc5ZmQ5ZjBkLTUwMTEtNDc2NS1iOGYyLWQyNWUyNjM2Y2FlYg?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R900  per night (for 2 people) 59 5 1 5 D277 Champagne Valley 3340 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-17:00 11:00 -28.9474749029 29.481200060073
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!