The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Algoa Bay Bed & Breakfast | TravelGround
+15

Algoa Bay Bed & Breakfast

Review Summary

3.5 out of 5from 16 reviews for Algoa Bay Bed & Breakfast
Cleanliness
3.3/5
Service
3.6/5
Location
3.9/5
Safety
3.8/5
Value for money
3.1/5
Faith T - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Faith T
With spouse/partner

Great stay.

The B&B is very neat and tidy, the rooms are spacious too. Great location close to shops and the beach.

Botha T - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Botha T
With spouse/partner

Good location, facilities can improve.

We were warmly welcomed upon arrival, but the room was disappointing. Small things, like there was just one towel, no teaspoons to make coffee, cockroaches in the room and bathroom, a TV the size of an A4 page. The linen was clean, but the dirty marks and old soap and pieces of soap paper put me off. Didn't expect it from the advert.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Goeie ligging, kan baie verbeter op geriewe.

Ons is hartlik welkom geheet met ons aankoms, maar die kamer was 'n teleurstelling. Klein dingetjies, soos byvoorbeeld slegs een handdoek, geen teelepels om koffie te maak, kakkerlakke in die kamer en badkamer, 'n TV so groot soos 'n A4-bladsy. Ons linne was skoon, maar vuil merke teen die mure en ou seep en seeppapiertjies sit my net so erg af. Ek het dit nie verwag vanaf die advertensie nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Charl N - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Charl N
Family with young children

Very nice.

We were warmly received by the lady at reception. We had a good night's rest. Thank you for the friendliness.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker.

Ons is hartlik ontvang deur die ontvangsdame. Ons het 'n baie lekker nagrus gehad. Dankie vir die vriendelikheid.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Magriet D - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Magriet D
With spouse/partner

Exceptionally bad service and dirty!

They don't even deserve 1 star. Very bad! Unfriendly reception. Room wasn't ready at 14:00. Room was dirty, bedding torn, aircon out of order, etc. etc. The place needs to be shut down. An insult to Port Elizabeth. The photos on the website is misleading!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uiters swak diens en vuil!

Hulle verdien nie eers 1 ster nie. Uiters swak! Onvriendelik ontvang. Kamer was nie 14:00 gereed nie. Kamer was vuil, beddegoed stukkend, lugreëlaar buite werking, ens, ens. Die plek behoort toegemaak te word. 'n Belediging vir Port Elizabeth. Die foto's op hul website is misleidend!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Algoa Bay Bed & Breakfast's response

Dear Magriet,

Thank you for the review. Only through feedback such as yours, do we have the opportunity to improve on our service to future guests.

I do recall that myself and Priscilla spoke with your husband about the aircon that was not working. It had stopped working during the December holidays, while the aircon repair companies were closed. The aircon was repaired as soon as the supplier opened in January. We did provide a fan for the room, but I realize it was in the middle of a terrible heat wave at the time.

I have never had a complaint about Priscilla being unfriendly. If she had an off day, I do apologize. I have addressed her and she assures me that she dealt with you in the same, friendly manner as she does with all of the guests.

The 14:00 check in was a problem on this day due to the late check out of some guests, and the fact that it was the middle of the December Holidays. I do apologize for this and assure you this is not the standard.

We are in the process of upgrading our linen, as we do every January, in time for the new calendar year.

I take full responsibility for any fault you may have found. It is completely my responsibility to ensure that the rooms are clean and that the linen is up to good standard.

I would like to remind you that we did give you a full refund and we also assisted you in finding alternative accommodation in our city.

I wish you well and hope you have a great 2017.

Regards,
Christopher.
Owner.

Algoa Bay Bed & Breakfast
Lindie H - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Lindie H
Family with young children

Geensins soos geadverteer.

Geensins soos geadverteer word nie, geen swembad, nie skoon nie, plek verwaarloos en kort regtig aandag!

Algoa Bay Bed & Breakfast's response

Hallo Lindie

I am so sorry that you found our establishment not up to standard.
We removed the swimming pool three years ago due to lack of use and the cost of running it was high.

Please send me an email and email me with details of what you found to be missing from the offering in order to allow me to rectify this.

Have a great new year.

Regards,
Chris

Algoa Bay Bed & Breakfast
Chris V - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Chris V
With spouse/partner

Reasonable.

Small things bothered. Lights that were out, TV had the wrong remote. General maintenance and inventory not up to standard.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Redelik.

Klein goedjies wat pla. Ligte wat geblaas is, televisie het verkeerde "remote" gehad. Algemene instandhouding en inventaris lys nie op standaard.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Marlene A - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marlene A

Dit was gerieflik en indrukwekkend.

Personeel was baie professioneel en doen alles in hul vermoë om gaste tevrede te stel en gelukkig te hou.

Lukanyo M - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Lukanyo M
Family with young children

Good, clean place with wonderful staff!

Good location, close to beach. It needs parking bays, but lovely people and quiet. Even with a political rally in town, it was a good quiet neighborhood and safe.

Herman B - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Herman B
With spouse/partner

Nie te sleg nie.

Ligging goed, baie lawaai, en die kamers beknop.

Charlie C - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Charlie C
With spouse/partner

Aangenaam met 'n groot aantal eetplekke gerieflik naby.

Skoon, maar nie luuks nie.

Marius V - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Marius V
With spouse/partner

Vuil.

Swak ontvangs gehad vanaf ontvangsdame, vuil en stink kamer, verf dop van mure af. Ek kla nie maklik maar dit kan werklik BAIE verbeter.

Thomas V - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Thomas V
On business

Die storte ruik verskriklik sleg en die drein is verstop.

Die mense is baie vriendelik. Die ontbyt was lekker, maar die plek ruik sleg ─ soos ou, vrot hout. Die stort is vuil en die drein is verstop.

David P - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
David P
With spouse/partner

Na 'n paar jaar se terugkeer na my geboorte stad was die verblyf uitstekend en wonderlik saam met my vrou.

Dit was fantasties om by Algoa Bay te kon slaap die personeel was fantasties en vriendelik almal 'n glimlag op hul gesigte. Ontbyt was op tyd en baie smaaklik. Eetsaal skoon en netjies asook kamer wat elke dag skoongemaak was veral oor naweke moet gekomplimenteer word. Sal enigiemand aanraai om Algoa Bay Bed & Breakfast aan te bevel vir rus/vakansie. Hou aan met goeie werk. Wie weet sien julle dalk binnekort weer.

Richard L - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Richard L
Family with young children

The place was close to everything! Mall, casino, beach ...

I would recommend TravelGround for bookings. We really enjoyed our stay, even though the weather wasn't that nice.

Tony A - Jan 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Tony A
Family with teenagers

We enjoyed our stay.

Very pleasant place to stay, staff were very welcoming, and it's conveniently situated close to local amenities.

Lourens V - Jan 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Lourens V
Individual traveler

Neat and centrally located

The bed and breakfast is very clean, tidy and centrally located. Breakfast was very good and I enjoyed the atmosphere. The only small problems encountered were that the telephone to contact reception was not in a working condition, and our first night we spent without any TV connection, (but this was fixed the next day). They've got a lovely place, all that I recommend is that the pool & braai facilities be upgraded.

From R950
per night (sleeps 2)
From R950
per night (sleeps 2)
From R950
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 21 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 13 Ferndale Road, Humewood, Port Elizabeth, 6001, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDg2MTQyMjhlLThkMmUtNDk2ZC1hZjM3LWQ5MGUwNGIxZmEyNA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R950  per night (sleeps 2) 16 5 1 4 13 Ferndale Road Humewood 6001 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -33.976666666667 25.643333333333
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!