Ocean View Accommodation at Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers | TravelGround
+187

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers

35 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 35 reviews for Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Cleanliness
4.3/5
Service
4.4/5
Location
4.6/5
Safety
4.5/5
Value for money
4.5/5
Dana B - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Dana B
With spouse/partner

Houtkamers, Wendys, in somer 'n groot nee.

Het 'n houtkamer wendy geboek maar die hitte was te erg moes upgrade na 'n aircon eenheid.

Gravell F - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
3/5
Gravell F
Family with young children

Die kamers het geen pakplek gehad nie en was baie benoud.

Was bietjie benoud en kamer te klein. Geen pakplek vir jou persoonlike items nie. Badkamers was morsig. Niks seep en toilet papier in die badkamers nie.

Tshepo M - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Tshepo M
With friends

At least have staff that clean the communal showers and toilets.

See rating.

Elsabe A - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elsabe A
On business

Comfortable, neat and clean.

Beautiful place, walking distance to beach. Very clean and neat. We were separate from the backpackers section so it was nice and quiet where we were. I just think they could make bath towels available. We only slept there for one night ─ were there for business ─ and it would have been so much more convenient if there were bath towels, because they tend to take up so much more space in your bag. But other than that it is a beautiful place and I would recommend it to anyone.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gerieflik, netjies and skoon.

Pragtige plekkie, loopafstand na strand. Baie skoon en netjies. Ons was apart van die backpackers-gedeelte so dit was lekker stil waar ons was. Ek dink net hulle kan gerus maar badhanddoeke vir mens beskikbaar stel. Ons het net een aand oorgeslaap ─ was daar vir besigheid ─ en dit sou net so veel meer geriefliker gewees het as daar badhanddoeke was, want dit vat nou soveel meer spasie op in jou tas. Maar verder is dit 'n pragtige plekkie en ek sal dit vir enige iemand kan voorstel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Hi Elsabe,
Dankie vir jou resensie. Ons is bly dat julle jul verblyf by ons geniet het. Jammer oor die handdoeke, ons gee gewoonlik handdoeke vir die woonstelle, en ek sal navraag doen by my personeel hoekom julle nie handdoeke gekry het nie. Ons sien uit om julle by ons te verwelkom in die toekoms!
Groete
Ansteys-span

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Dennis N - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dennis N
With spouse/partner

Great experience and reliable staff anytime of the day. Thank you.

Great location, great staff overall. The whole experience was superb.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Hi Dennis,
Thank you for your review, we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Warmest regards,
Ansteys-team

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Ada B - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ada B
With spouse/partner

Very neat, clean, hospitable and very quiet.

Once again, thanks to the lovely staff and workers for the wonderful stay. I have already recommended you to friends and family and would visit again anytime.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie netjies, skoon, gasvryheid en lieflik stil.

Weer eens baie dankie vir die lieflike personeel en werkers vir die wonderlike verblyf by julle. Ek het jul al klaar aanbeveel vir familie en vriende en sal enge tyd julle weer besoek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Hi Ada,
Baie dankie vir jou resensie. Ons is bly julle het jul verblyf by ons geniet en ons sien uit om julle weer in die toekoms te verwelkom!
Groete
Die Ansteys-span

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Rika M - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rika M

Perfect!

It was great and I'll be back.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Hello Rika, thank you for your review.
We are very happy to see that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest regards
Tash and the Ansteys team

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Sakhile M - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sakhile M

A real getaway and the surroundings are very tranquil.

See rating.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Hello Sakhile, thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warmest regards,
Tash and the Ansteys team.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Juanita V - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Juanita V
With spouse/partner

We enjoyed it so much. We can't wait for next year.

Very friendly staff and assistance. We loved the location and Heidi's cafe is the best restaurant in that area and we tried a few! The only thing I would recommend is washing the shower curtains and add table sinkers to the bottom of the shower curtains as it keeps sticking to you when you shower. If you take it away the floor is soaked, but other than that, this is definitely our go-to place for next year again.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Hello Juanita, thank you for your review. With regards to the shower curtain, we have taken note and have advised our staff to get this sorted, thank you for pointing it out to us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warmest regards,
Tash and the Ansteys team.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Mosa N - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Mosa N
With friends

Super awesome accommodation.

It was amazing staying there. The units are beautiful and clean and the guy who works there at night was so nice and so friendly. Thank you so much for being so friendly and helpful to my friends and I. This was the best accommodation ever. The guy who works during the day however was kind of cold. Please work on that. I really enjoyed my stay.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Hi Mosa, thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warmest regards,
Tash and the Ansteys team.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Wynand M - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Wynand M
Family with teenagers

Onvergeetlik, was kort, maar sal beslis weer terugkeer en langer bly.

Die eenheid was netjies en skoon. Die uitsig was ongelooflik en 'n oggend koppie koffie op die balkon het net so veel beter gesmaak met die skool dolfyne wat vroegoggend in die brander baljaar het. Ek sal net aanbeveel dat die plek dalk kyk om meer braaigeriewe te bou, want mens is mos nie altyd lus vir uit eet nie. Alhoewel, die restaurant Blue Dolphin op die strand seker die lekkerste kos maak wat ons nog geëet het.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Hi Wynand, baie dankie vir jou resensie. Dis wonderlik om te sien dat julle jul verblyf en die baljarende dolfyne geniet het. Ons sal kyk waar ons meer braaigeriewe kan inrig in die toekoms, dankie vir die voorstel. Ons sien uit om julle weer te verwelkom in die toekoms.
Groete
Tash en die Ansteys span.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Marius W - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Marius W
Individual traveler

Baie behulpsaam en laat mens goed voel. Was bietjie vroeg daar en is dadelik gehelp om in te gaan. Was 'n great experience.

Dis 'n lekker informele plek met baie lekker mense wat help waar nodig is en 'n ekstra myl stap.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Hi Marius, baie dankie vir jou resensie.
Ons is bly om te hoor dat jy jou verblyf by ons geniet het en ons sien uit om jou weer te verwelkom in die toekoms!

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Razzia F - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Razzia F
Family with teenagers

Neat.

My children had a very nice stay there. They loved it.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Dear Razzia, thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us - we enjoyed having your children stay with us and they were a pleasure to host. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Warm regards,
Tash, Rudy and the Ansteys crew

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Lindy V - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lindy V
Family with young children

'n Lekker ervaring.

Goeie diens. Voldoen aan al ons verwagtinge en meer vir backpackers akkommodasie. Die ablusieblokke was uitsonderlik skoon en netjies.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Hi Lindy, baie dankie vir jou resensie - ons waardeer dit en is bly dat julle jul verblyf by ons geniet het. Ons sien uit om julle weer hier by ons te verwelkom in die toekoms!
Groete,
Tash, Rudy en die Ansteys span

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Aletta V - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Aletta V
Individual traveler

Hulpvaardig, ook na-ure.

Die trappe na die kamers is na 'n lang dag baie, maar verder baie rustig en lekker kalm.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Beste Aletta,

Baie dankie vir jou resensie, ons waardeer dit. Ons is bly dat jy jou verblyf by ons geniet het.

Sou jy belang stel om weer te bespreek in die toekoms wil ek noem dat ons ander woonstelle het wat geen trappe het nie, naamlik Beach Cove 1 en 2 asook Shorebreak. Daar is ook ander woonstelle wat nader aan die hoofgebou geleë is, naamlik Pebble en Hibiscus.

Groete,
Tash, Rudy en die Ansteys span

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Xolani M - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Xolani M
With friends

Lovely stay, but beds too small.

See stars.

Pumeza T - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pumeza T
Family with young children

An enjoyable place for saving.

This is a very safe and enjoyable place which has value for your money especially if you do not have enough money. The only challenge is the shared shower especially for small children. Other than that the place is very tranquil and safe.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Dear Phumeza, thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us - we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay! If the communal showers are not for you, we do have affordable fully equipped self catering apartments with their own private showers, kitchens etc should you perhaps be interested in booking one of those the next time you visit.

Warmest regards,
Tash, Rudy and the Ansteys crew

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Nick D - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nick D
Individual traveler

Was die moeite werd.

Dis my tweede besoek by Ansteys en sal in die toekoms weer soontoe gaan. Die mense laat jou sommer tuis voel daar. Net jammer my verblyf was so kort.

Tom D - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Tom D
Family with young children

Memorable.

We were a family of 14 people in total and we enjoyed our stay at Ansteys Beach. We've really received value for our money. We're planning to go back soon.

Carolina W - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carolina W
With spouse/partner

Skoon en netjies.

Ons het baie lekker gebly. Alles wat nodig is, is daar. Net die gasstort wat min drukking het, en jou of verbrand het, of yskoud was, was 'n frustrasie.

Dlamini N - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dlamini N
Individual traveler

People at Ansteys are friendly and the place is quiet.

First of all the place is safe and very accessible. The level of customer care is very high you just feel like you at home and well taken care of and the privacy. For myself, I arrived in Durban late and I was a bit worried and they came to rescue, when I called they answered and assisted me with directions. The next time I will come with my family.

Hermanus D - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hermanus D
With spouse/partner

Goeie diens en vriendelike personeel maak jou verblyf net beter.

Die goeie diens en vriendelike personeel het vir my baie beteken. Ek sal weer hier tuisgaan en ek sal ook enigeen aanbeveel om van Ansteys gebruik te maak.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Baie dankie Hermanus - ons is bly om te sien dat julle jul verblyf by ons geniet het. Ons sien uit om julle weer te verwelkom in die toekoms!
Groete,
Tash, Rudy en die Ansteys span

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Milly P - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Milly P
Family with young children

Awesome.

The picture says it all, it's true.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Thank you, Milly, we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Nick D - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nick D
Individual traveler

Was die moeite werd.

Het dit terdeë geniet. Sal Ansteys kan aanbeveel as vakansiebestemming.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Baie dankie Nick, ons waardeer jou resensie en hoop om jou weer hier by Ansteys te verwelkom!

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Reynold M - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Reynold M
Family with teenagers

Thank you, great place. Will go again.

I recommend it. View on the beach.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back at Ansteys in the future.
Warm regards
Tash, Rudy and the Ansteys crew

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Gerhard M - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerhard M
Family with teenagers

Baie gerieflik en netjies.

Baie lekker gebly, die eenheid is gerieflik en die lugversorger was 'n wenner in die warm weer. Staff baie behulpsaam. Heidi's Cafe op die perseel het ook heerlike ontbyt voorsien teen baie billike pryse. Nie eers 100 m van die strand af nie en kan sommer loop. Sal definitief kan aanbeveel en sal weer daar kom bly as weer Durban toe gaan, want is nog steeds naby genoeg aan Durban self.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Baie dankie vir jou resensie Gerhard, ons waardeer dit.
Ons sien uit om julle weer hier by Ansteys te verwelkom in die toekoms.
Groete,
Tash, Rudy en die Ansteys span

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Makhosana S - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Makhosana S
Family with teenagers

Good place to relax.

It's ideally located as you just walk to the beach. No stress of parking hunting. Lack of DStv was a bit of disappointment though.

Ronel D - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Ronel D
Family with young children

Ons het dit baie geniet.

Ek wil net dankie sê vir die goeie diens wat ontvang is. Parkering is maar bietjie min, maar die ontvangspersoon het gesorg dat ons binne parkering kry en ons so geakkommodeer. Die woonstelletjie is pragtig en ons het lekker gemaklik gebly.

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers's response

Hallo Ronel
Baie dankie vir jou opmerkings - ons is bly dat julle jul verblyf by ons geniet het!
Ons hoop om julle weer eendag by Ansteys te sien :)
Groete,
Tash, Rudy en die Ansteys personeel

Ansteys Beach Self-Catering & Backpackers
Happines N - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Happines N
With spouse/partner

Great

No complaints.

Marianne V - Feb 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Marianne V
Family with young children

Neat, clean and tidy

We will stay there again, excellent service from Michelle!

Tebogo S - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tebogo S
With spouse/partner

Place to remember with great memories

Ansteys Beach suitable for any occasion. Everything there is perfect, and they are so organized.

Nompilo K - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Nompilo K
With friends

Enjoyed our stay

We enjoyed our stay as it is situated at the beach front with an amazing sea view & so refreshing. A perfect holiday destination indeed. Just a few things though that we wish you had mentioned before our arrival: It is a bit inconvenient staying here without a car because the shops/restaurants are quite far (not within walking distance). There are no ATM's in the surroundings & there are extra charges if you make use of the swipe machine. Lastly, the restrooms are shared. Otherwise all was good. Thank you.

Theuns B - Nov 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Theuns B
With spouse/partner

Fantastic!

Not enough braai facilities!

Lindiwe M - Jun 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lindiwe M
On business

Thank you, we had a great stay.

Great location, close proximity to shopping malls and Durban. Clean apartments, good customer service.

Mpho B - Nov 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Mpho B

Lovely

A great getaway.

From R400
per night (for 2 people)
From R400
per night (for 2 people)
From R400
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 98 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 22:00
    Check-out: 09:00
  • Address: 477 Marine Drive, Ocean View, Bluff, 4052, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAiE7YrvCKQRLohUw6T36oQtLqTJzbpNREwyXjU9oh02455uqAI1?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R400  per night (for 2 people) 35 5 1 5 477 Marine Drive Ocean View 4052 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-22:00 09:00 -29.923254217021 31.018268167936
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com