The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Balcony Manor | TravelGround
+103

Balcony Manor

Review Summary

4.3 out of 5from 18 reviews for Balcony Manor
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
4.1/5
Location
4.7/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.2/5
Maggie K - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Maggie K
Individual traveler

Veilig en perfek geleë.

Sien sterre.

Thabiso M - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thabiso M
With friends

Convenient indeed seeing how we were there for a race and the accommodation in town was full.

See stars.

Jacomina  - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacomina

Ongelooflik, rustig, puik diens.

Baie dankie aan personeel van Balcony Manor. Jul diens was puik en professioneel. Plek is netjies. Dankie vir moeite met trofee wat ons daar vergeet het. Beveel jul enige tyd aan.

Anél D - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anél D
With spouse/partner

Very spacious, stylish, clean and comfortable room.

We are kindly received. As mentioned, the room was something special. Can recommend the accommodation any time.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie ruim, stylvolle, skoon en gerieflike kamer.

Ons is vriendelik ontvang. Soos genoem is die kamer iets besonders gewees. Kan die verblyf enige tyd aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Balcony Manor's response

Good day Anel,

What a pleasure it is to have accommodated you. We are delighted that you chose us and it was nice meeting you. Thank you very much.

Balcony Manor
Neelke T - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Neelke T
Family with young children

Not clean, in desperate need of maintenance, poor.

The establishment was once probably very nice, but now it seems rather run-down. It doesn't look like the pictures on the website. The rooms are in desperate need of maintenance. There was lukewarm water coming from the shower, the shower didn't have a shower head, just a huge jet stream of water. The sheets weren't clean. Overall it gives a non-clean feel, probably because it is all old and run-down. Our arrival didn't feel very professional or welcome. We were met by a receptionist in slippers. We actually still received a free upgrade (before arrival) so I am scared to find out what the other rooms look like.

Balcony Manor's response

Good day Neelke,

We would like to offer our apologies if by any chance our service was not satisfactory to you. However, I would like to clarify and specify that a routine check was done at all the rooms before you were accommodated and the rooms you were assigned were in good condition. The water was perfectly warm and all our showers do have shower heads. You booked the Dormitory and we provided you with an upgrade to our standard rooms and we gave free breakfast on top of that.

The house has just been renovated, we removed carpets and all our rooms have been tiled, I don't understand what do you mean when you say the house needs proper maintenance and is run down. Again we do apologise if you feel that we wronged you and we will improve our service.

Kind regards,
Balcony Manor

Balcony Manor
Grace N - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Grace N
Family with young children

A very bad experience not worth recommending to anyone.

The cleanliness is just zero, the floor carpets are filthy and you cannot walk barefoot on them. There are rats that are so busy and noisy at night. The rats ate our apples. The bedding was not changed prior to our arrival and when we complained, the management was very defensive and not owning up. The iron has black sticky debris and the lady was still defensive. The place doesn't look as nice as it appears on pictures.

Balcony Manor's response

Dear Grace,
Thank you for your comments.
You booked the self-catering contract laborer unit, which is not advertised as top class accommodation. Rather, it is aimed at accommodating laborers and similar guests as advertised. The unit is functional and comfortable and while the carpets may be stained in patches, they are free of dirt and dust. The linen provided in this unit may not be pristine or top of the range, but I can assure you that your linen was freshly laundered and your beds fully serviced the day of your arrival.
Regarding the rats, we have investigated this and there is absolutely no evidence of rodent activity. We did, however, find birds nesting in the eaves and ceiling and have had them removed. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
I accept that the iron was not to your standard but my domestic lady did then launder your clothing to your satisfaction.
I am perturbed that your review says your reservation was for "Family with young children". You had in fact only booked and paid for 3 adults being yourself and 2 adult colleagues, but you subsequently brought in an additional 1 adult and 2 children without having booked these additional guests. I believe that asking you to settle their accommodation was what led to your complaint.
I am the proud owner of a successful multi-level establishment and all my guests and their requirements are important. I am confident that your review would have been completely different and positive if you had brought any concerns to our attention.
Sincerely,
Jennifer

Balcony Manor
Buhlebenkosi S - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Buhlebenkosi S
With spouse/partner

We really had a great stay @ Balcony Manor. Warm Welcome and great service. So peaceful!

What a lovely stay we had!

Balcony Manor's response

And WHAT a pleasure it was to have you stay with us! You are a beautiful couple and it was an honour meeting you :)

Balcony Manor
Geraldine V - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Geraldine V
Family with young children

A breath of fresh air!

Such a pleasant, friendly, helpful experience after our unpleasant experience at the previous accommodation we stayed at. Jennifer's hospitality complements the beautiful accommodation.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

A breath of fresh air!

Dit was 'n aangename, vriendelike, behulpsame ervaring na ons onaangename ervaring by die vorige plek waar ons gebly het. Jennifer is 'n puik voorbeeld van hulle pragtige plekkie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Balcony Manor's response

Hi Geraldine,
Ek is so bly om te hoor die plesier was nie alles myne nie! Wat 'n voorreg om jou en Nicole te ontmoet het en ek was net te bly om van hulp te wees. Julle is welkom in my huis enige tyd en ek sien uit daarna.
Groete,
Jennifer

Balcony Manor
Chantelle G - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Chantelle G
Family with teenagers

Nie van die beste plekke nie.

Die matte is vol hondepiepie en plek stink van hondepiepie.

Balcony Manor's response

Hi Chantelle

Dankie vir die terugvoer en ek is jammer jou selfsorgverblyf was nie na jou smaak nie. Ek wil net graag die geleentheid neem om jou te beantwoord.

Oor 'n "honde piepie" reuk kan ek jou waarborg daar is nie honde toegelaat binne enige vertrekke op die perseel nie en die honde kan nie by die trappe na die selfsorgeenheid opklim nie. Daar is glad niks oor so 'n reuk by my aangemeld deur die gaste net voor julle of die gaste direk na julle nie. Die eenheid was daagliks gediens, julle beddens was gemaak, handoeke gedroog en gevou, die kombuis en badkamer ontsmet, skottelgoed gewas en weggepak en die matte gestofsuig. Ek is tevrede dat die eenheid 100% op punt was.

In terme van klientediens is ek heelwat verbaas met een sterretjie! 'n Selfsorgeenheid is presies dit - jy meld aan en is verwelkom by ontvangs deur 'n lid van die famielie of 'n werknemer, sleutels en remote word oorgehandig en na jou eenheid toe gewys en daarna is julle julle privaatheid gegee. Op uittrek is daar weer duer 'n famielie lid of werknemer oopgemaak en julle dankie gese. Ek weet nie wat jou verwagtinge was nie veral dat julle deur die dae uit was en ons steur nie ons gaste in die aande nie.

Joune is die eerste klagte in drie jaar wat ons eienaars is en glo my, is daar verskriklik baia mense deur ons deure gewees en van hulle wat dikwels oor en weer bespreek, selfs in die selfsorgeenhede. Maar ja, jou klagte is wat dit is en ek dank jou weereens dat 'n "reuk" onder my aandag gebring is.

Groete
Jennifer Erskine

Balcony Manor
Peter K - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Peter K
With spouse/partner

Baie goeie en vriendelike diens.

Diens was baie goed en die mense was uiters vriendelik en behulpsaam. Alles het vlot verloop en daar was geen verrassings nie, sal beslis aanbeveel.

Balcony Manor's response

Beste Peter

Dankie vir jou terugvoering, en ons waardeer die wonderlike verwysing en aanbeveling. Ons sien uit om julle weer te verwelkom.

Groete
Jennifer

Balcony Manor
Nienke V - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nienke V
With spouse/partner

Heerlik en ontspannend, goeie diens en lekker kos!

Die gastehuis is pragtig ingerig met 'n goed versorgde tuin en 'n heerlike swembad!

Balcony Manor's response

Beste Nienkie

Dankie, dit was wonderlik om julle as gaste te verwelkom. Ons sien uit om julle weer as gaste te hê.

Groete
Jennifer

Balcony Manor
Thula N - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Thula N
With spouse/partner

Perfect getaway.

Thank you guys for a warm welcome, we were home away from home and will definitely come back with friends and the little one. Great people you are.

Balcony Manor's response

Good day Thula,

Thank you for an amazing review and I can't wait to meet your precious baby who will be arriving very soon. All the best to you and your family!

Jennifer

Balcony Manor
Swazi N - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Swazi N
Family with young children

Nice place, quiet, friendly owners.

We enjoyed our stay, had our privacy and were treated very well.

Balcony Manor's response

Dear Swazi,

Thank you for the great review. We loved having your family as our first self-catering guests. Christmas is all about family and it was lovely to interact with yours.

Hope to welcome you all back soon!

Regards,
Jennifer

Balcony Manor
Danita J - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danita J
With spouse/partner

Excellent!

What a treat! Thanks so much!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uitstekend!

Was 'n fees! Baie dankie!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Balcony Manor's response

Hi Danita,
Dit was wonderlik om julle as gaste hier te hê en jule is enige tyd weer welkom.
Geseende Kersfees met jou famielie.
Groete,
Jennifer

Balcony Manor
Bram S - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Bram S
Individual traveler

Baie rustig, netjies en aangenaam.

Baie lekker gewees, met goeie diens en rustige omgewing.

Balcony Manor's response

Goeiedag Braam,

Ons is bly dat jy tuis gevoel het by ons en ons sien uit om jou gou weer te verwelkom!

Groete
Jennifer

Balcony Manor
Nellie B - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nellie B
On business

Weereens heerlik gebly. Die sjef is uitstaande en Jennifer laat voel mens altyd welkom. Baie geriefllik geleë op pad wildtuin toe.

Balcony Manor is baie gerieflik geleë vir toeriste. Altyd lekker om terug te gaan. Jennifer is ’n uitstekende gasvrou en sjef die beste kok.

Balcony Manor's response

Goeiedag Nellie,

Weereens was dit wonderlik om jou as gas hier by Balcony Manor te verwelkom en ons sien uit na aan jou volgende besoek by ons.

Groete
Jennifer

Balcony Manor
Nellie B - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nellie B
Individual traveler

Gasvry, vriendelik en hoogs aan te bevele.

Dit is altyd 'n plesier om by Balcony Manor oor te slaap. Jennifer en haar span is gasvry, behulpsaam en vriendelik. Dink dis die beste gastehuis in Witrivier.

Balcony Manor's response

Nellie, ek is baie dankbaar vir jou mooi woorde! Ons was bevoorreg om jou as Gas te verwelkom en sien uit om jou gou weer te sien.
Ek is trots op my span want Balcony Manor is ook in hulle bloed en saam is dit ons doel om Gaste soos jouself se verblyf 'n uitstekende ervaring te maak.
Groete van almal hier.

Balcony Manor
Mariska D - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mariska D
Family with teenagers

Value for money.

Real value for money with very friendly service. Thank you for a great warm stay!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Waarde vir geld.

Regtig waarde vir geld en baie vriendelike diens. Dankie vir die lekker warm verblyf.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Balcony Manor's response

Hi Mariska
Julle is 'n wonderlike familie en dit was 'n groot plesier om julle te verwelkom. Dankie vir die review - ek waardeer dit baie.
Groete en ek sien uit om julle weer te verwelkom.
Jennifer

Balcony Manor
From R1 100
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 100
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 100
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 27 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 51 Frank Townsend Street, White River, 1241, Mpumalanga
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaTPdcAhzLDJIHFPRn4VlT298osB5sWedc9BRB7pd2Ad8GooxOE?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 100  per night (for 2 people) 18 5 1 5 51 Frank Townsend Street White River 1241 Mpumalanga 0860 022 102 14:00-20:00 10:00 -25.332249634002 31.002797880951
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!