The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Biggy Best Cottages | TravelGround
+9

Biggy Best Cottages

Review Summary

4 out of 5from 24 reviews for Biggy Best Cottages
Cleanliness
3.8/5
Service
3.8/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.4/5
Value for money
3.7/5
James G - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
James G
With spouse/partner

Well-appointed rooms.

See stars.

Sybil D - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sybil D
Family with young children

Unbelievable.

Was baie nice gewees.

Debbie W - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Debbie W
Family with teenagers

In need of refurbishment - and a good clean!

We booked at Biggy Best because of the location, which was convenient for where our family live (we stayed in the Coach House). So the location was perfect for us, with the cottages a little out of the centre of Howick in a quiet, pleasant location. Surroundings are lovely, with rabbits, ducks, a rooster and a pea hen wandering around, and the complex is gated. Staff were very helpful and friendly too. So almost everything was positive. But: The place is run down and in need of "refreshing" (a paint job throughout wouldn't go amiss, and some general maintenance to improve the overall appearance of the Coach House interior is needed). The kitchen is cramped for 3 people and in need of some TLC and rejigging so that more than 1 person at a time can be in the room. The bath is very badly scratched and marked, which is not very appealing! And the bathroom urgently needs a re-vamp. The unit is poorly equipped for self-catering (we had 2 tiny pots, no pans, 1 teaspoon, 3 forks, and no knives in a 4-sleeper unit). The neighbouring unit has their outdoor space directly outside the dressing area and bathroom (so we had to close the curtains every time someone bathed, and could hear the entire conversation if they went outside to talk on the phone). And the carpet was filthy! I took my shoes off at the door so that I wouldn't walk dirt into the place, and in just the 20 m walk through the bedroom to the bathroom, my white socks were completely filthy underneath! At the very least a steam clean is needed - or perhaps another type of flooring that's more easy to clean (tiles or laminate?) would be more hygienic. Overall we enjoyed our stay in Howick, because we were out visiting and sight-seeing for most of the time. But I probably wouldn't stay at Biggy Best when we return to the Howick area.

Melinda B - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
1/5
Melinda B
With spouse/partner

Not well run.

Not run well at all. The room wasn't ready when we arrived. Restaurant couldn't even make us a cup of tea while we waited. No towels in the room. Had to ask for toilet paper. Generally not a great experience unfortunately, surroundings and cottages are nice but not run well at all.

Riki R - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Riki R
With spouse/partner

Stunning ervaring.

Great vir gesinne met klein kinders ook! Kos fantasties. Diens ongelooflik en vriendelik. Ligging perfek, tuine goed versorg.

Biggy Best Cottages's response

Good afternoon Riki,

Thank you so very much for the response, it was a pleasure having you with us.

Kind regards,
Debra

Biggy Best Cottages
Amelda W - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Amelda W
With spouse/partner

Oulike plekkie, kort bietjie werk.

Oulike plekkie, kort net bietjie TLC, maar was skoon en netjies en ontbyt was heerlik!

Rudolph C - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rudolph C
With spouse/partner

Neat and in a quiet, peaceful environment.

We were well received. Unfortunately the Bistro wasn't open on Sunday night, so we had to make another plan. Rooms were neat and comfortable. The area was quiet and located in a complex.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Netjies en in 'n stil, veilige omgewing.

Ons is goed ontvang. Ongelukkig was die Bistro nie Sondagaand oop nie, dus moes ons 'n ander plan maak. Kamer was netjies en gerieflik. Die omgewing was stil en binne 'n kompleks geleë.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Martin G - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Martin G
With spouse/partner

Teleurstellend.

Ek moet erken dat 'n mens die tuin onmiddellik opmerk as jy die perseel binnery. Net jammer dat alles verwaarloos lyk. Ek het die gevoel gekry dat die eienaars aan die begin dit met oorgawe ontwikkel en bestuur het en dat die nuutjie van 'n gastehuis, soos baie ander gastehuise, so met die tyd verdwyn het. Die gevoel van "aan die genade van die bestuurder en personeel oorlaat" het onmiddellik by my opgekom. Die tuin is vuil en oral lê rommel rond. Die ou blou woonwa wat daar staan, skep 'n swak indruk! Die geboue kort 'n nuwe laag verf en die grasdakke 'n ordentlike kam. Ek sal Biggie Best geensins aanbeveel vir reisigers nie!

Kobus C - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Kobus C
With friends

Gemiddeld.

Kamers gerieflik. Lakens het gate in gehad. Linnegoed nie meer spierwit nie, vol vlekke. Ontbyt was heerlik en goed voorberei.

Kobus P - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Kobus P
With spouse/partner

Accommodation was good. The reception wasn't good.

The service at the bistro was pathetic. The waiter/receptionists' service was bad. The milkshake was made with sour milk and the beer was warm. The steak was delicious and well prepared.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Verblyf was goed. Die ontvangs was nie goed nie.

Die diens in die bistro was pateties. Die kelner/ontvangsdame se diens was swak. Die melkskommel was met suur melk gemaak en die bier was warm. Die steak was heerlik en goed voorberei.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Kobus J - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kobus J
With spouse/partner

Excellent, especially the service.

It has really been a pleasure to stay here. The person on duty called me when he saw that I was late and gave directions over the phone. He made us feel right at home. In future, we'll always use these cottages as stopover accommodation.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uitstekend, veral die diens.

Regtig 'n plesier gewees om hier oor te slaap. Die person aan diens het my gebel toe hy sien ek is laat en rigting wysers oor die foon gegee. Hy het ons baie tuis laat voel. Ons sal voortaan elke keer dat ons reis hier oorslaap.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Biggy Best Cottages's response

Thank you for the great review, Kobus. It is always good to here that the staff went the extra mile. We look forward to seeing you again in the not to distant future. Kind regards, The Biggy Best Team.

Biggy Best Cottages
Christiaan S - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Christiaan S
With spouse/partner

Warm welcoming and hospitality.

Reception was warm and service efficient. Room very neat, clean and tasteful. Breakfast was tasty and balanced.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Warm verwelkoming en gasvry.

Soos reeds gesê was die ontvangs hartlik en die diens flink. Kamer is baie netjies, skoon en smaakvol. Ook was die ontbyt smaaklik en gebalanseerd.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Biggy Best Cottages's response

Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, The Biggy Best Team.

Biggy Best Cottages
Trudie G - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Trudie G
Family with teenagers

Disappointing.

The accommodation was definitely just for 3 people even though we booked for 5. The Loft room where the kids had to sleep had gross mattresses on the floor and a blanket and pillow. No bed covers. We had to ask for 2 more towels. It looked like somebody moved out for the night so that we can sleep there because there were shoes in front of the bed and the fridge and carpets still dirty. There was dust and spider webs in the corners where we moved a chair away. I had to ask for Doom to get the spiders out of the loft room so that the kids could sleep in there after it was closed for way too long. The place definitely has potential.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Teleurstellend.

Die verblyf was beslis net vir 3 mense hoewel ons vir 5 bespreek het. Die dakkamer waar die kinders moes slaap het grillerige matrasse op die vloer gehad en darem 'n kombers en kussing. Geen lakens. Ons moes ook vra vir nog 2 handdoeke. Dit lyk asof iemand vir die aand uitgetrek het dat ons daar kon slaap, aangesien daar 'n paar plakkies voor die bed was, die yskas vuil na gebruik was en die matte grillerig vuil was. Daar was stof en spinnerakke in die hoeke waar ons slegs 'n stoel vir gebruik weggeskuif het. Ek moes vir Doom vra om die spinnekoppe uit die dakkamer te kry dat die kinders kon slaap na dit beslis lank toegestaan het. Die plek het beslis potensiaal.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Biggy Best Cottages's response

Thank you for review Mrs Grotsius. I can assure you all the mentioned faults have been addressed and tended to. We apologise for your disappointing stay. As you can see from other reviews, this is not the standard that we aspire to at all. We hope we can have you with us again. Kind regards, The Biggy Best Team.

Biggy Best Cottages
Lynette D - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lynette D
With spouse/partner

Convenient and comfortable.

Served its purpose. People very pleasant and helpful.

Bianca O - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bianca O
Family with young children

Wat 'n aangename verrassing!

Skoon, pragtige verblyf. Kan nie wag om weer daar oor te slaap nie!

Biggy Best Cottages's response

Baie dankie vir die wonderlike resensie. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your patronage.

Kind regards
The Biggy Best Team

Biggy Best Cottages
Charles G - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Charles G
With spouse/partner

Perfect for a quick overnight stop.

Please see our rating.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Perfek vir 'n vinnige oornagplek.

Sien gerus die sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

W S - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
W S
With spouse/partner

Ons sal weer daar vertoef!

Oulike verblyf, netjies en mooi.

Hielien V - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Hielien V
Family with young children

Lawaaierig en teleurstellend.

As jy hou van partytjies in die parkeerarea van die gastehuis met musiek wat kliphard uit motors speel, 'n geskreeu en gebreek van bottels en 'n gerokery in die gange, dan is dit net die gastehuis vir jou.

Erine R - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Erine R
Family with young children

Dit was 'n ongaangeame ervaring.

Met die aankoms was die diens vriendelik, maar die lakens was vuil asook die bad.

Amanda H - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Amanda H
With spouse/partner

Fantastically friendly and helpful staff.

Staff members were very friendly. Room was nice and big. Brilliant bathroom. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Biggy Best Cottages's response

Good afternoon Amanda,

Thank you so very much fo taking the time to do a review, not to many people have time with this fast paced world we are in. We hope to see you in the near future, we are making so many improvements.
Kind regards

Debra Clark
General Manager for Evan and Amanda Channing, Owners

Biggy Best Cottages
Ursula M - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ursula M
On business

Goeie waarde vir geld in die Middellande.

Die ontvangs was hartlik en die kamers was baie netjies en goed toegerus. Beslis goeie waarde vir geld. Daar was wel 2 dinge wat ek ook op Trip Advisor genoem het. 1. Die badkamer moet met 'n goeie "mould buster" behandel word en 'n uitsuigwaaier moet aangebring word. Die bedompige reuk van die badkamer was nogal sterk. 2. Die gaste in kamer 1 het hul hondjie daar gehad. Ek kon nêrens op die bespreking sien dat die plek troeteldiervriendelik is nie. Ek is baie lief vir my hond, wat nie op meubels en beddens toegelaat word nie. Ek sou nie daar bespreek het as ek geweet het dat troeteldiere daar toegelaat word nie. Ek slaap nie graag in 'n bed waar troeteldiere ook geslaap het nie.

Biggy Best Cottages's response

Good Morning Ursula,
We would like to thank you for pointing out our faults and can assure you that we will work on the above.
Kind regards
DEBRA CLARK

Biggy Best Cottages
Tonya K - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Tonya K
Family with teenagers

Die kamer is nuut oorgedoen en benodig nog geriewe.

'n Tafel en stoel met spieël is belangrik om werk by te doen en om hare blaas. Die klein rakkie met die ketel is ongemaklik en gevaarlik om op te werk. 'n Waaier in die badkamer is nodig om stoom uit te trek.

Marie Kotze K - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marie Kotze K
With spouse/partner

Die kamer is ruim en baie netjies.

Ek voel net dat die geriewe 'n bietjie tekortskiet. Die pakplek is minimaal, alles moet op die vloer neergesit word. Daar is net een smal rakkie in die kamer vir die tee en koffie. Verder is daar ook nie 'n spieël in die kamer nie en ek het 'n haardroër verwag.

Biggy Best Cottages's response

Hi, Just wanted to thank you for the review, we have taken some steps to improve and have installed new wardrobes in the rooms, and have installed 5 dressing tables with full mirrors so far and next month will be installing another 8 dressing tables in the rest of the rooms. We have had hairdryers at the reception for guests to use but will be placing them in the rooms in the future. We hope to see you again in the future.

Biggy Best Cottages
Rowan W - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Rowan W
Family with young children

Goed!

Baie aangenaam en skoon!

Biggy Best Cottages's response

Hi Rowan,
Thank you for your review!
Regards,
The Biggy Best Team

Biggy Best Cottages
From R300
per night (for 2 people)
From R300
per night (for 2 people)
From R300
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 53 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 22:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 22 Fraser Street, Howick, 3290, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYW7tfMLk2BzN0HNQRhthd9Xaz5iUmvYYuRb9kF1A1vT5luRknH?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R300  per night (for 2 people) 24 5 1 4 22 Fraser Street Howick 3290 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-22:00 10:00 -29.480803235558 30.222327858209
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!