The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin | TravelGround
+17

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin

20 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.3 out of 5from 20 reviews for Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
4.3/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.2/5
Hein B - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hein B
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig en lekker

Dit is 'n baie rustige plek waar ons op die stoep kon sit, eet en gesels en die natuur om ons kon inneem.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Hi Hein,

We appreciate your review, thank you! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Ollie.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Barbara V - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Barbara V
With spouse/partner

Lovely stay in a beautiful, peaceful setting.

We know the Midlands area well and this was a wonderful find. We had a lovely stay and the setting was beautiful. I will definitely recommend this accommodation to friends.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Dear Barbara,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Ollie

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Shaun B - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shaun B
With spouse/partner

Great location, everything we needed.

My wife and I enjoyed a few days at Brambleberry in early August, a perfect midlands getaway during those chilly winter months. It was easy to find, close to many of the midlands attractions, but felt far away enough from anything resembling hustle and bustle. Plenty of firewood was supplied. We would walk out of the cabin, around the lake and into the forest and create our own path. The staff were great and left us alone unless we needed anything. We would recommend this to anyone, and will be definitely be back.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Thank you for your review, we very much appreciate it. We love that you and your wife enjoyed Brambleberry. We like to refer to it as our little piece of heaven. See you again soon.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Zenobia B - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zenobia B
Family with young children

Een van die vreedsaamste mooiste plekke waar ons was.

Dit is prentjiemooi buite, die omgewing ruik lekker dit voel veilig, ons 5 jarige kleinkind het kom vra of ons die hele vakansie kan kuier! Ek kan nie wag om die winter daar te wees om die kaggel aan te steek nie! Puik!

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Thank you for your great review. We are always happy when we get to share 'our little piece of heaven' with people who truly appreciate it. Winter is very special and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Lezette S - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lezette S
With spouse/partner

A piece of heaven.

Peaceful, place is clean and neat. We'll definitely come again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Stukkie hemel.

Heerlik rustig. Plek is skoon en netjies. Ons sal beslis weer gaan kuier.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Dear Lezette,

Thank you for choosing our little piece of heaven to spend your holiday. We are really happy that you had a good rest and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Ollie

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Etienne R - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Etienne R

Rustigheid en pragtige natuurskoon. Verblyf baie gerieflik.

Dennis (bestuurder) verdien ‘n medalje. Nadat ‘n boom oukersnag op ons cabin geval en toegang tot ons verblyf totaal vernietig het, het hy ons in die vroeë oggendure kom help om uit die huis te kom en opgegradeer na die groot huis. Hy moes die hele Kersdag en gesinsdag werk om die trappe na die cabin te herstel en die boom op te saag en te verwyder. Ten spyte van die groot skrik het ons steeds heerlik gerus. Jammer daar is nie vis in die meer nie.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Dear Etienne

Thank you for your review. Our manager Colin is indeed an absolute star. We apologise for the unpredictable situation of the tree falling and thankfully had an open unit to move your family too. You will be pleased to know that we stocked the dam with 1000 fingerlings (Brown & Rainbow) last week and are keeping an eye on them and hope that 'catch and release' will be available again soon.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Brambleberry.

Regards,
Ollie

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Elanda S - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Elanda S
Family with teenagers

Op soek na 'n uitsonderlike wegbreek in 'n idilliese omgewing met 'n waarborg van kwaliteit familietyd? Hierdie landelike plekkie bied die beste weg van stadsgewoel.

Die ontvangs was hartlik. Dankie aan Colin. Vir die twee tieners was die dataopvangs 'n uitdaging. Maar het verseker ons kon lekker saam kuier. Volledige DStv het opgemaak. Vlieë was plaag maar hoor dat dit oor die algemeen in die distrik oorneem die tyd van die jaar in Desember. Die Spar was uitverkoop met spuitgif en plakke. Prag area, weer het ons vermaak met mis en reëns en sonskyn afwisselend. Boot roei was 'n hoogtepunt asook wandelings in die woud.' n Lekker belewenis met genoeg van die basiese om onsself gemaklik te kon inrig. Nota aan bure: by so rustige plek, los gerus maar die harde musiek by die huis. Dit weerklank erg en die natuur hier het sy eie sang. Die besoek is een vir die album. Dankie!

Ravi N - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ravi N

Excellent stay at the lodge.

Collin, the manager was very helpful. The lodge was excellent in every way except the whole Nottingham area was infested with flies unfortunately, with all the issues Colin made it a comfortable stay. The dam and views, the greenery and birds were excellent viewing.

Johan Z - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Johan Z
With spouse/partner

Goeie ligging, maar het aandag nodig.

Sien sterre.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Dear Johan,
Thank you for your review. After a very busy 2019, our maintenance schedule has commenced. We strive to constantly maintain and update our units both inside and outside.
We hope to see you again soon.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Elmarie V - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elmarie V
With spouse/partner

Heerlike rustige atmosfeer, voëlliefhebbers sal mal wees oor die plek, sal definitief plekkie aanbeveel!

Vir wegbreek en jouself vind, is hierdie ideaal! Alle bykomstighede wat jy gebruik in jou eie huis is daar. Kaggel vir die winter kan heel romanties wees. Atmosfeer heel rustig, mal oor uitsig, so idillies! Sal definitief weer kom. Dankie Ollie, Bev en Colin!

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Dear Elmarie,
We are exceptionally happy that you loved your stay with us. We look forward to you visiting us again soon. Winter is beautiful. Nothing beats relaxing in front of the fireplace!
See you soon.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Deon D - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Deon D
Family with teenagers

Pragtige uitsig vanuit die cabin oor die dam.

Die Lakeside Cabin is bietjie knap vir 4 mense, maar het wel voldoen aan al die behoeftes. Die meubels in die sitkamer is relatief nuut, maar die bed in die hoofslaapkamer moet vervang word aangesien dit na die middel lê. Met aankoms was ons bietjie onseker wat aangaan, maar die werkers het ons gehelp en later het die bestuurder ook hom kom voorstel. Selfoon-opvangs is maar redelik swak wat help om die rustige natuurskoon te waardeer. Ek sal wel aanbeveel dat 'n waaier in die plek gesit word en miskien kyk om die panne te vervang in die kombuis. Ons sal beslis weer hier kom kuier.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Dear Deon,
Thank you for your review. After a very busy 2019, our maintenance schedule has commenced. We strive to constantly maintain and update our units both inside and outside. Thank you for your valid points which we will address. We hope to see you again soon.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Nico K - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Nico K

Rustigheid vanself en pragtig!

Die pad was effens sleg en baie steil, het met 'n klein karratjie gegaan en gesukkel om terug te ry met die opdraende. Was lanklaas by so mooi en rustige plek, net jammer die beddgoed was nie skoon nie.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Dear Nico

Thank you for your feedback which we really value. We have been hit recently by severe storms and this has resulted in the current state of our road. This is not normally the case and Transnet is in the process of rehabilitating the problem, as it is as a result of the railway line.

We are pleased to advise that all the bedding has been replaced this past week.

We are extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed the cabin and environment. We call it our 'little piece of paradise'.

We hope to see again soon.

Regards,
Ollie

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Steven V - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Steven V
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik en ontspannend.

Baie lekker rustige privaat verblyf net pad moet bietjie opgeknap word.

Candice R - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Candice R

Lovely location, however we found that a lot of work needs to be done/updated. The place has potential.

The location is stunning, as all 3 cabins overlook the dam, with lots of ducks and birds around it was lovely to sit out on the deck and relax. However, it was just my mom and I staying at the cabin, there was only the manager on the property who welcomed us as we arrived and some workers who were fixing one of the cabins. Unfortunately we didn't feel safe as the property is quite far off the road and there isn't really anyone around. The front door did not lock as the lock was faulty, luckily there was wooden type of security gate in front of the door which locked. We tried to lock our bedroom door but that didn't lock either. With us being two women alone in a cabin that didn't lock, we felt very vulnerable and didn't get much sleep. The place has so much potential, but unfortunately is a bit run down. its definitely a great holiday for a large group or family but i would not recommend it for individuals on their own.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

It is always beneficial to receive feedback as sometimes it highlights things we are unaware of, and obviously we love our guests to be happy and visit again, of which our return rate is extremely high.
We have investigated the door locks as this appears to be an new issue but they all appear to be in order. However, for peace of mind the sliding security doors are all custom made with built in reinforced steel burglar guarding, invisible to the eye, but 100% safe, and supported by the full electric fence surrounding the dam and all accommodation and parking. We are most fortunate to boast a 100% safety record in over 15 years of hosting guests.
The benefit of the peace and tranquillity in an idyllic setting is the compromise for feeling alone and has been appreciated by many single and couple visitors, both young and old over the years. The cabin style facilities are designed to match the country feeling and we try to avoid the glitz and glamour of hotels but we understand that the experience is different for everyone. While our country style get away is laid back and relaxed we always take feedback into consideration and will certainly address any issue that may render your experience anything but out of this world. Keep helping us make things better.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Laurika V - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Laurika V
With friends

Overwhelming. You get more than you expect.

The house is large and well appointed with beautiful lake views. It has everything you'd need. The fire was packed and lit in the fireplace. The braai was packed and lit. Bedding was lovely and the beds comfortable. We were 3 ladies on a motorcycle trip through 4 countries and were tired and dusty. We felt welcome and warm and spoiled. The place is beautiful. We were upgraded to the main house which is large for 3 ladies. A lovely place close to restaurants and Notties.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Oorweldigend. Jy kry meer as wat jy verwag.

Die huis is groot en goed ingerig met 'n pragtige uitsig oor 'n meer. Die huis het alles wat jy nodig het. Die vuur was gepak en aangesteek in die kaggel. Die braai was gepak en aangesteek. Beddegoed was heerlik en die beddens gemaklik. Ons was 3 dames op 'n motorfietsreis deur 4 lande en was moeg en stowwerig. Ons het welkom en warm gevoel en bederf. Die plek is pragtig. Ons is opgegradeer na die hoofhuis wat groot is vir 3 dames. 'n Heerlike plek naby restaurante en Notties.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Cindi P - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cindi P
Family with teenagers

We loved our stay in this peaceful and happy place, with all the comforts of home.

It was easy to make this booking and the owners were friendly and responsive. The accommodation delivered everything we were expecting. We really enjoyed our stay.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Dear Cindi,

Thank you for your review. We love getting great feedback from our guests who have enjoyed our very special little piece of heaven.

We hope that you and your family will visit us again in the near future.

Regards,
Ollie

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Brett L - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Brett L
With spouse/partner

Pragtige wittebrood-verblyf.

Ons het ons verblyf in die kajuit liefgehad. Ons het 'n hele paar spinnekoppe in die huis teëgekom, wat nie regtig iemand se skuld is nie. Maar Colin was super, en het 'n warm vuur reggehad vir ons toe ons aankom. Die grondpad kan 'n bietjie verraderlik wees vir 'n voorstedelike sedan, maar ons het reggekom, want dit was droog. (Ek kan indink dat die heuwel 'n bietjie moeilik kan wees in nat weer.) Die meer was mooi, alhoewel 'n bietjie mistiger en vol onkruid as wat in die foto's getoon word. Maar ons het 'n goeie verblyf gehad, en het lekker geëet by Nottinghamweg. Kyk net uit vir slaggate, veral naby die dorp.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lovely honeymoon stay.

We loved our stay in the cabin. We did encounter quite a few spiders in the house, which I suppose can't really be helped. But Colin was super, and had a roaring fire ready and waiting for us when we arrived. The dirt road in can be a little treacherous for a suburban sedan, but we managed ok, as it was dry. (I imagine that hill out could be a tad tricky in wet weather.) The lake was pretty, albeit a bit murkier and weedier than shown in the picture. But we had a great stay, and had some good eating at Nottingham Road. Just look out for potholes, esp near the town.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Dear Brett
Thank you for choosing Brambleberry to celebrate your honeymoon. We thank you for your review and valued feedback.
The road and the dam are currently not at their best due to 2 massive storms that we have had in the recent weeks. We are sure that you saw the number of trees that have been upended, etc. In addition to the mud issue, we are also battling an alien grass that stems from upstream which we understand is from a dairy farm. The natural flow of the river into & out of our dam make this a very difficult situation to rectify, despite us having spent huge amounts of money trying. We believe that most of the dams on our route are dealing with the same problem. We hope to reach a resolution in the area shortly.
We really hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Ollie

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Johan L - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Johan L
With spouse/partner

Die akkommodasie het nie aan ons verwagting voldoen wat deur die ligging geïnspireer is nie.

Die ligging is 'n privaat vallei. Dit is baie meer intiem as wat mens sou verwag. Gevolglik trek die klank van stemme en musiek so duidelik dat die afstand tussen die 3 eenhede omtrent nie saakmaak nie. Daar loop ook gereeld goedere-treine langs die perseel verby wat deur die hele vallei gehoor kan word. Die eienaars was nie teenwoordig nie, en daar blyk min riglyne te wees vir die optrede en bedaagsaamheid van gaste.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

We respect that our venue cannot meet everyone’s expectations but always welcome comments of any nature. With a zero-disappointment target, this feedback is only the second of this nature in many years but motivation to take note and do whatever we can to improve the experience even more. Perhaps the intimacy is not for everyone, but never a problem in the past, so we will take note to highlight this asset more in our communication. The tranquility, peace of the location and absolute beauty is what attracts so many guests back year after year, including titled dignitaries from overseas.

The quiet of the valley is nature’s recipe and the peaceful lumbering of the trains in the distance is viewed as soothing and unobtrusive and of course part of the Midlands Valley, but once again we will highlight this more. The freedom to enjoy the time in our paradise without restriction or need for major rules is one of our major assets, as most guests love the freedom to do their own thing, in our informal, but warm and inviting countryside log accommodation. We rarely have need to pamper self-catering guests but where needed, requests of any nature are in the capable hands of our Manager Colin, who receives nothing but rave reviews from all guests as he caters to their every need within the safe and secure environment.

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Anina W - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anina W
Family with teenagers

This was the best 1 night sleep over - wish we could stay longer!

We received excellent customer service from the staff at Brambleberry, even before we arrived, upon our arrival and as we were leaving. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and very well equipped - and the view of the dam and plantations was amazing. Very peaceful and quiet. We would love to visit Brambleberry again and bring friends along to perhaps then stay in the bigger cabin and stay for 2 nights or longer!

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin's response

Dear Anina,

Many thanks for your review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Can't wait to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Ollie

Brambleberry Lakeside Cabin
Ethilda O - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ethilda O
Family with young children

Most beautiful pine forest, you could get lost there, doesn't feel like it's South Africa!

We were literally speechless when we arrived, it was like a hidden cottage between pine forests. Would definitely go again one day, only negative thing was that the kettle did not work and there was no water the 2nd day we were there. But we didn't report it, we were back on the road early, but would've likes to start the cold foggy morning with hot coffee.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Mooiste dennewoud, raak weg daar binne, voel nie of dit in Suid Afrika kan wees nie!

Ons was letterlik spraakloos toe ons arriveer het, dit was soos ‘n weggesteekte kothuis, tussen dennewoud. Sal beslis eendag weer wil gaan, al wat 'n nadeel was, was die ketel het nie gewerk nie, en daar was geen water die 2de dag wat ons daar was nie. Maar ons het dit nie aangemeld nie, ons was vroeg in die pad weer, maar sou graag die koue mistige oggend met warm koffie wou begin het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

From R750
per night (sleeps 4)
From R750
per night (sleeps 4)
From R750
per night (sleeps 4)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 28 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Off the District Road D830, Nottingham Road, 3280, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAACXNURREvUoX4isoIMokq55ycMMojbKNP4PhkIBPoWek7lqGq9s?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R750  per night (sleeps 4) 20 5 1 5 Off the District Road D830 Nottingham Road 3280 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.384325264519 30.014270246029
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!