Underberg Accommodation at Cedar Garden | TravelGround
+24

Cedar Garden

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 48 reviews for Cedar Garden
Cleanliness
4.7/5
Service
4.5/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.3/5
Corlene T - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
2/5
Corlene T
With friends

Ons verblyf was aangenaam en ons gasvrou Helga was regtig baie vriendelik.

Ons gasvrou was baie vriendelik en behulpsaam! Meubels in ons woonstel was egter baie oud en lyk glad nie soos die foto's op die internet nie. Sou graag lugreëling in die kamer wou hê. Alles was egter baie netjies, skoon en goed toegerus.

Peter D - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Peter D
With friends

Highly recommended.

Lovely time spent at the Cedar Gardens, very happy with everything.

Cedar Garden's response

Thank you, Peter, hope to see you again!

Cedar Garden
Francois M - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Francois M
With friends

Uitstekende diens!

Waarde vir geld, netjies, goed ingerig en net wat mens verwag van ‘n gastehuis!

Giel C - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Giel C
With spouse/partner

Aangenaam.

Baie netjies en skoon. Personeel baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig. Kamers keurig uitgerus.

Cedar Garden's response

Baie dankie vir die vriendelike woorde.
Groete,
Helga

Cedar Garden
Johan N - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan N
With spouse/partner

Very comfortable accommodation with delicious breakfast.

The gardens and surroundings are beautiful and receive good advice on dining outlets from the receptionist. Enjoyed the stay.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie gemaklike akkommodasie met heerlike ontbyt.

Die tuine en omgewing is pragtig en goeie advies rakende eetplekke van ontvangsdame ontvang. Het die verblyf geniet.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Cedar Garden's response

Baie dankie vir die vriendelike woorde Johan, ons hoop ons sien julle weer eendag!

Cedar Garden
Klaas E - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Klaas E
With spouse/partner

Een van die mooiste dorpe ooit besoek.

Baie mooi kamer, goeie ontvangs en lekker ontbyt. Huis het pragtige tuin en bome lieflike omgewing!

Cedar Garden's response

Baie dankie vir die vriendelike beskrywing, ons hoop julle kom kuier weer!

Cedar Garden
Elsje V - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elsje V

Na 'n lang dag wat ons die omgewing verken het, is ons hartlik ontvang en ons verblyf was so gemaklik, ons kom weer!

Dankie dat jul gasvryheid ons vankansie nog meer spesiaal gemaak het.

Jot H - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jot H
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig.

Baie rustige, ontspanne omgewing.

Pierrette S - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Pierrette S
With friends

Messy and old.

The condition of the house is dismal. The carpets are dirty. The bottom of the shower is moldy. The breakfast is mediocre and the coffee is undrinkable. Looks like the house has not been maintained for many years. The reception of the owner was great. She was nice. We had to stay 2 nights, but we decided to leave after the first night. We were too uncomfortable! This B&B does not deserve any star.

Cedar Garden's response

Dear Pierrette

I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As to the age of the house, there is not much I can do about that, it was built in 1954 and still reflects the old colonial English interior and style. I do agree, the carpets look worn, but they are clean. Not many B&Bs offer a coffee machine that grinds fresh beans for every cup and our breakfasts are delicious, that is why 50% of our guests return time and time again.
I have taken note of the carpet complaint and will look into the matter.

Kind regards
Helga

Cedar Garden
Hannes V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hannes V

It was fantastic.

Simple and just perfect for my needs. Service was fantastic.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was fantasties.

Eenvoudig net perfek vir my behoefte. Diens was fantasties.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Cedar Garden's response

Thank you Hannes. We so enjoyed having you both to stay with us.

Cedar Garden
Roger D - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Roger D

Very pleasant stay, comfortable room size.

Very nice stay, one issue with shower which was resolved. Breakfast delicious.

Xander C - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Xander C
Individual traveler

Baie lekker gebly by Cedar Garden.

Ek het baie lekker gebly en beveel Ceder Garden graag aan!

Elsa M - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Elsa M
With spouse/partner

Nice stay and very friendly service.

Very professional service, went the extra mile to wait until we arrived.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Keurige verblyf en baie vriendelike diens.

Baie professionele diens, het moeite gedoen om te wag tot ons arriveer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Koos H - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Koos H
With spouse/partner

Very clam and the rooms are comfortable, clean and neat.

No TV in the room. The communal lounge/TV room is unpractical since it can't accommodate different viewers. Breakfast was served on time. The guesthouse's manager is a bit in one's face too often about every day's goings-on. The garden is a tranquil paradise. Cedar is close to town and literally within walking distance.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie rustig en kamers gemaklik, skoon en netjies.

Geen TV in die kamer nie, die gemeenskaplike sit-/TV-kamer is totaal onprakties vir uiteenlopende kykers. Ontbyt was flink en op tyd bedien. Gastehuis bestuurderes so bietjie te 'in die gesig' oor elk se daaglikse doen en late. Tuin is 'n paradys om tyd in te spandeer en rustigheid te ervaar. Cedar is gemaklik naby aan die dorp geleë en letterlik in loopafstand.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Neville A - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Neville A
With spouse/partner

Clean, friendly and affordable.

An ideal home base. Nothing to do at Cedar Gardens itself but ideally situated where one can travel from to see the many attractions in the area. Breakfasts are very good and there are several restaurants in close proximity for dinners. Many venues on day trips where one can enjoy light meals or lunches.

Cedar Garden's response

Thanks Neville.
We loved having you both.

Cedar Garden
Hannah T - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hannah T
Individual traveler

Lieflike gastehuis!

Pragtige groot kamer, baie netjies en skoon. Kyk uit op 'n tuin met groot bome. Heerlike ontbyt. Bestuur is uitstekend: Monica, Helga en Toni laat mens tuis voel. Ek het baie lekker daar gebly!

Cedar Garden's response

Dankie Hannah, we enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again - M,T & H

Cedar Garden
Hannes V - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Hannes V
With spouse/partner

It was fantastic.

Stunning flower garden. Outstanding accommodation. Hospitality and customer service so so good.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was fantasties.

Die blomtuin is asemrowend. Die akkomodasie uitstekend. Die gasvryheid en kliëntediens is baie, baie goed.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Cedar Garden's response

Baie dankie vir die vriendelike woorde

Cedar Garden
Francois M - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Francois M
With spouse/partner

Spacious manor house in a parklike garden. Service was average, breakfast was good and the beds had seen better days.

An old world manor house set in a park is the best way to describe this B&B supervised by two elderly ladies that make you feel at home. Spend the evening reclining before a fire in either of two fireplaces while sipping sherry and reading a good book. Original Italian tiles on the bathroom floors look quaint, but is cold on the bare feet. Unfortunately the beds are of the same generation as the house and a fair English breakfast hardly compensates for a poor nights’ sleep. Not good value for money

Cedar Garden's response

Dear Francois
Thank you for your comments and I accept that a second bathmat would have been helpful. This is the first complaint re the beds, but I can assure you that they are not as old as the house! What concerns me most, is that you did not enjoy our breakfast? We pride ourselves serving a delicious breakfast at times required by our guests. Please visit us again and we shall endeavor to give you a memorable stay and you can join our long list of satisfied guests!
Kind regards,
Helga

Cedar Garden
Helena D - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Helena D
With spouse/partner

Baie aangename verblyf.

Pragtige huis met 'n wonderlike groot tuin. Kamer was baie gerieflik. Gasvrou baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Heerlike ontbyt.

Cedar Garden's response

Baie dankie vir die vriendelike komentaar, ons sien uit daarna om julle weer hier te sien. Groete Helga

Cedar Garden
Herman G - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Herman G
With spouse/partner

Uiters aangenaam.

Dis 'n pragtige groot woonhuis, en ek sal graag meer van die geskiedenis van die huis wil weet. Lekker gebly. Sal beslis weer kom.

Charl B - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Charl B
With spouse/partner

Heerlik gebly.

Ons ontvangs was great, die verblyf was baie lekker, rustig en veilig. Die ontbyt was heerlik. Baie mooi plek met tuin. Ons het heerlik gerus.

Cedar Garden's response

Baie dankie vir die vriendelike woorde en ons hoop julle kom kuier weer!

Cedar Garden
Shawn G - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shawn G
With spouse/partner

Dit was aangenaam en baie lekker. Die B&B is in 'n goeie en veilige plek geleë.

Die verblyf was uitstekend met goeie, vriendelike diens.

Pieter C - Jun 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Pieter C
With spouse/partner

5-ster verblyf!

Pragtige ou Engelse woning en groot tuin, luuks omskep in baie gastekamers. Wonderlike, vriendelike diens met heerlike, stylvolle ontbyt.

Louis D - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Louis D
With friends

Goed!

Ons het die hele huis vir onsself gehad.

Chris B - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chris B
With spouse/partner

Hospitable owners

Well located in delightfull garden setting. Dining facilaties/decor were pleasing and we received good breakfast service.

Jan B - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jan B
With spouse/partner

Heerlijk huis, prachtige tuin.

Heerlijk groot huis. Vriendelijke ontvangst. Fijne zitkamer met koffie en thee faciliteiten. Ontbijt goed geregeld. We hebben er erg genoten.

Michael L - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michael L
Family with young children

Wonderful experience

Friendly staff, excellent garden and food . The place is also within reach of other attractions.

Loredana H - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Loredana H
With friends

Nice people, lovely garden and and a peaceful place to relax

We explored the Sani Pass and it was a very adventure day for us. Cedar Garden is a very good optional to stay at if you're hoping to enjoy hiking and other outdoors activities.

Carlo L - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carlo L
With spouse/partner

Alles was letterlik soos dit behoort te wees!

Dis werklik nie nodig om op die bogenoemde uit te brei nie. Ons het ook gekyk na die twee selfsorg eenhede en beplan om daar oor te bly met 'n volgende besoek aan die omgewing.

Alexander P - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Alexander P
With spouse/partner

Cedar garden is peaceful, clean but slightly over priced.

We arrived, we slept, we left. Accommodation was clean and tidy, but I think that at their current price, they could have at least put decent toilet paper in the bathroom.

Louis V - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Louis V
With spouse/partner

Oor die algemeen goed.

Baie goeie diens van Lekkelaap; ek beveel julle sterk aan, en sal weer in die toekoms van julle gebruik maak.

Louis V - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Louis V
With spouse/partner

Baie skoon, mooi en veilig.

Een van die beter en mooier plekke waar ek nog oornag het.

Rose D - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rose D
On business

Stunning gardens

Worth every cent. Absolutely amazing gardens and service.

Pierre R - Sep 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Pierre R
With spouse/partner

It's great

It's a great, clean place to stay. Loved the bed.

Diederik D - Jun 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Diederik D
With friends

Goeie waarde vir geld

Goeie waarde vir geld. Skoon en netjies. Vriendelike en huplvaardige personeel.

Mohamed M - Apr 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mohamed M
With spouse/partner

Very good !!

The place is beautiful and quiet and the owners are very friendly and helpful , Thanks a lot.

Coen B - Jan 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Coen B
With friends

Marvellous stay, delicious breakfast and the garden is fabulous

Will definitely book again.

Jeanette B - Oct 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jeanette B
With spouse/partner

Wonderful garden and lovely people.Can recommend it. Will be back.

The room was beautiful and clean. The garden is breathtaking

Pierre N - Sep 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pierre N
With spouse/partner

Excellent-we enjoyed it

We enjoyed our stay at Cedar garden. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Hugh D - Sep 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Hugh D
With spouse/partner

Comfortable, secure and pleasant stay.

Picturesque modern and welcoming.

Andre P - May 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Andre P
With friends

Very good

This was a most enjoyable stay, and staff were very helpful.

Bonga M - Apr 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Bonga M
With spouse/partner

Great place to be and very kind and helpfull staff and easily accessible location.

This was a great place to be, well located and at a reasonable price, the staff was really great and helpful,very accommodating.I would recommend this place for everyone who wants to be around Underberg and surrounding areas.

Jacqui M - Feb 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacqui M
With spouse/partner

It's like home away from home.

We had a wonderful stay, even though we didn't know how far it was to travel to, but now we know. I didn't expect such hospitality ... wow! It was out of his world.nPlease consider installing fans in the rooms, as it was quite hot.nOverall it's a small town with friendly people. I would recommend the establishment to family and friends.nnRegardsnMrs Msibi

Ulrich W - Jan 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ulrich W
Individual traveler

The staff was very helpful and super-friendly, the environment is beauty at it's best!

Underberg is a good place if you want to discover the Drakensberg. You should not miss Sani Pass and the Reichenau Mission if you are around the area.

Michael C - Aug 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Michael C
With friends

Not quite what we expected

Ceder Garden is very clean and neat, however upgrading needs to be done in the kitchen and bathroom. It was extremely cold in the rooms in garden cottage. Electric blankets, underfloor heating or a fireplace or some sort of heat is necessary.

Tanya B - Jul 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Tanya B
Family with young children

What a beautiful FAMILY home to be allowed to visit!

We all felt incredibly at home at the end of a long journey from the Transkei. After a very comfortable nights sleep we headed off well rested, up Sani Pass and into Lesotho. Many thanks for the warm hospitality!

Colin F - Nov 2010
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Colin F
With spouse/partner

Excellent accommodation and attention from the staff is commendable.

Tamryn K - Aug 2010
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Tamryn K
With spouse/partner

Very good stay, with beautiful gardens and scenery. Awesome tour guide up Sani Pass!

Monica made our stay very homely. She was great with recommendations for places to eat around underberg, which was a great help. She has the most beautiful gardens, and it really made for excellent, authentic berg scenery. The best part of our trip, was up to Sani Pass, where Helga provided us with the most knowledgable tour guide, Stuart. It made the day to have someone know his history so well. Well worth it!

From R1 100
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 100
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 100
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 8 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 1 Polo Way, Underberg, 3257, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGY5ZmFhMTQ5LWM4MzQtNDQwMC04ODdmLWNjZTU0MjRhYWU3NA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 100  per night (for 2 people) 48 5 1 5 1 Polo Way Underberg 3257 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.790458558294 29.495136737824
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com