The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Chic Shack | TravelGround
+11

Chic Shack

Self Catering

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5from 27 reviews for Chic Shack
Cleanliness
5.0/5
Service
4.9/5
Location
5.0/5
Safety
4.9/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Jacques G - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacques G
With spouse/partner

Kort, maar heerlik!

Was net twee dae daar, maar het ons tyd daar baie geniet.

Chic Shack's response

Thank you for your comment, we really appreciate it. We would like to welcome you back in the future.

Chic Shack
Chantelle H - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chantelle H
With spouse/partner

Rustig, skoon, netjies.

Die plekkie is lekker naby aan al die besienswaardighede geleë, die plekkie is skoon, netjies, en meer as genoeg spasie. Wat 'n wonderlike kuiertjie. Wonderful host!

Shane W - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shane W
With spouse/partner

Die perfekte wegbreek van die besige stadslewe.

Wonderlike gasvrou. Ek en my verloofde het elke oomblik geniet. Dit was die perfekte wegbreek vir ons. Die privaatheid is fantasties. Ons het waarlik elke sekonde geniet. Dit is pragtig en die stilte is sowaar die beste gedeelte van die hele naweek, asook om die swembad vir onsself te gehad het was 'n bonus.

Chic Shack's response

Thank you for your positive review, you were lovely guests.

Chic Shack
Kobus K - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kobus K
With spouse/partner

Bill en Mare, die eienaars is 'n toonbeeld van ware gasvryheid en uiters behulpsaam.

Hierdie is 'n ideale wegbreekplekkie naby aan Kaapstad en sentraal geleë binne stapafstand van die dorpskern van Riebeeck-Kasteel. Bill en Mare het uit hul pad gegaan om ons verblyf so lekker as moontlik te maak. Die inhuis-braaiplek en swembad maak dit geskik om sommer net by die Chick Shack te ontspan en te rus. Ons sal vir seker weer daar gaan bly en ek kan die venue met die grootste vrymoedigheid aanbeveel. Dankie Bill en Mare vir 'n heerlike naweek.

Chic Shack's response

Thank you for your lovely review.
It was a pleasure hosting you.

Chic Shack
Sonja D - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sonja D
With spouse/partner

Peaceful, just what we needed.

Beautiful place, everything you need for a peaceful getaway. Owners are very friendly and available if you need them. Would definitely recommend and we want to go back again as well.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustig, net wat ons nodig gehad het.

Pragtige plekkie, alles wat jy nodig het vir 'n rustige wegbreek. Eienaars is baie vriendelik en daar om enige van jou vrae te beantwoord. Sal definitief aanbeveel, en ook self weer wil teruggaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Susan W - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Susan W
With spouse/partner

A comfortable, clean cottage in a great location.

Marè was a friendly and considerate hostess. The cottage has access to a lovely garden and a great view of the mountain.

Chic Shack's response

Dear Susan, thank you for your kind review. Would really like to welcome you back any time soon. Kind regards, Maré.

Chic Shack
Joan B - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Joan B
With spouse/partner

Idyllic and peaceful! A true gem.

The cottage is very clean and comfortable. It has all the necessary comforts.

Karla F - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karla F
With spouse/partner

Perfek!

Kon nie vir beter vra nie! Sien my beslis weer!

Chic Shack's response

Hallo Karla,

We would love to have you back any time soon.

Kind regards

Chic Shack
Marina C - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marina C
Individual traveler

Rustig, gasvry, netjies, veilig.

Eienaars baie gasvry en vriendelik. Pragtige, rustige tuin. Binne loopafstand van eetplekke en winkeltjies.

Chic Shack's response

Dear Marina,

Thank you for appreciating your accommodations, means a lot to us. Hope to welcome you back.
Regards
Maré

Chic Shack
Bernd T - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bernd T
With spouse/partner

Quiet getaway from the rat race, silence and tranquillity at its best!

We felt so at home, the braai room, makes you feel as if you were camping out, but still indoors, the room is very cosy in winter.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustige wegbreek van die stad se gejaag, stilte en rus op sy beste!

Ons het so tuis gevoel, die braaikamer, laat mens voel asof jy uitkamp, maar tog nog steeds binnenshuis is, die kamer is baie snoesig in die winter.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chic Shack's response

Dear Bernd,

Thank you for staying at Chic Shack and leaving your accommodation so neat and tidy. Would love to welcome you back anytime. Your honest review is very kind.

Kind regards,
Maré

Chic Shack
Al-mare K - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Al-mare K
With friends

Well equipped unit. Slept well.

Very neat cottage. Enjoyed the braai and you get a basket of wood and the fire is ready to light.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Goed ingerigte eenheid. Warm geslaap.

Baie netjiese kothuis. Het die braai baie geniet en jy kry 'n mandjie hout by en die vuur is reg vir aansteek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chic Shack's response

Dear Al-mare,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you again in Riebeek Kasteel. Kind regards, Maré.

Chic Shack
Fanie V - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Fanie V
With spouse/partner

Very clean and neat with a peaceful atmosphere.

It's very safe and everything works in the building. It's super clean and neat with a very kind host that makes you feel at home immediately. It's centrally located and walking distance from everything. Would definitely recommend this place for a weekend getaway.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie skoon en netjies met ‘n rustige atmosfeer.

Dit is baie veilig en alles werk in die gebou. Dit is uitsonderlik skoon en netjies met ‘n baie gawe gasvrou wat jou onmiddellik laat tuis voel. Dit is baie sentraal geleë in die dorp en is loopafstand van alles af. Sal vir seker die plek aanbeveel vir ‘n naweekwegbreek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chic Shack's response

Dear Fanie,

Thank you for your kind review.

Regards,
Chic Shack

Chic Shack
Carita R - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carita R
With spouse/partner

Simply the best

We travel a lot. In SA and abroad. Chic Shack is just in a different league. Especially our chalet: Love Life. The setting is so beautiful and peaceful, with the springbuck almost in your backyard. We lacked nothing! The chalet is spotless, the bedding perfect and last, but not least, our landlord and lady just awesome! We will definitely go back!

Chic Shack's response

Dear Carita,

Thank you for your honest review.

Kind regards,
Maré

Chic Shack
Liné B - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Liné B
With spouse/partner

Comfy.

Had a lovely stay with beautiful scenery.

Zylia L - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zylia L
With friends

Rustig, skoon en gerieflik.

Sien sterre.

Lyall P - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lyall P
With spouse/partner

We loved staying at the quaint and charming Chic Shack.

We loved staying at the quaint and charming Chic Shack. The room was clean, cool and comfortable on a very hot day and our hostess was simply amazing! We will certainly return to Chic Shack if we found ourselves in those parts again!

Chic Shack's response

Dear Lyall

Thank you for your honest review and taking the time to give us a review, it is much appreciated. kind regards Maré

Chic Shack
Marius V - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marius V
Individual traveler

Dit was baie gerieflik.

Mare is baie aangename gasvrou. Daar was alles wat ek benodig het vir die een aand wat ek daar gebly het. Ek sal weer daar gaan bly.

Chic Shack's response

Hi Marius, Thanks for your review of the Bliss Room, would welcome you back anytime. Regards

Chic Shack
Kate O - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kate O
With spouse/partner

Wonderful, comfortable place to stay in Riebeek Kasteel

We had such a wonderful stay at Chic Shack. The cottage was so comfortable, with the air conditioning and a pool. We felt so welcomed and so at home. Wonderful bed, great linen, and all the amenities you could want. Just a short walk down the road and you're in the centre of town. Close to all the restaurants and galleries. But yet the rooms are beautifully quiet with a wonderful open field behind them for a pretty outlook. We will definitely be back!

Chic Shack's response

Thank you Kate. I hope to welcome you back sometime. Kind regards

Chic Shack
Albert D - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Albert D
With spouse/partner

Lovely!

The owner Mare is friendly and always available. To see the Springboks walking past so closely on the premises is a big plus!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlik!

Eienaar Mare is vriendelik en altyd beskikbaar. Om die Springbokke te sien verbyloop so naby aan die eiendom is 'n groot plus!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chic Shack's response

Dankie, Albert.

Chic Shack
Angelique S - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Angelique S
With spouse/partner

It was fantastic.

It was amazing. Thank you, Mare, for accommodating us firstly on moving the date and secondly for such a gorgeous place. Wow! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Not even to mention the surrounds, absolutely breathtaking.

Chic Shack's response

Angelique, It was a pleasure hosting you, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Maré

Chic Shack
Rudi M - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Rudi M
With spouse/partner

Very pleasant.

Lovely stay. Neat and clean. There were some problems with the TV and WiFi, but immediately sorted out when we brought it to their attention. Would definitely recommend and go back again. Very friendly service. Good location within walking distance of most activities.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie aangenaam.

Heerlik gebly. Netjies en skoon. Daar was 'n paar haakplekke met die TV en WiFi, maar onmiddellik uitgesorteer toe ons dit onder hulle aandag bring. Sal definitief aanbeveel en self weer teruggaan. Baie vriendelike diens. Goeie ligging, binne loopafstand van meeste aktiwiteite.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chic Shack's response

Good day Rudi,

Thank you for your honest opinion and taking the time to give s a review. We do appreciate it.

Kind regards
Maré

Chic Shack
Kristin A - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kristin A
On business

Perfect accommodation to get away from the city.

The owner was very welcoming and we were very impressed with the facilities available to us. The location of this establishment is perfect and in close proximity to grocery shops as well as restaurants and pubs. Our unit offered everything we needed. They have great attention to detail. Would recommend this place to anyone! We will definitely be back again. Thank you so much for your warm hospitality.

Tayla H - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tayla H
With spouse/partner

It was amazing.

The owner is very friendly, the place is clean and just beautiful. It was amazing. I wish I could've stayed longer to enjoy the beautiful scenery and the peacefulness of the place. I would recommend this place to everyone. They have to experience it.

Chic Shack's response

Dear Tayla,

I really appreciate your positive review.

Warm regards,
Maré

Chic Shack
Winnette V - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Winnette V
With spouse/partner

Pleasantly surprised but unfortunate timing.

We happened to pass through while there was some sort of tournament in town. The owner informed us of this upon making our booking and advised that we make a reservation for dinner beforehand. This was thoughtful and appreciated. We were so impressed by everything that was provided in our room. There was even washing powder and pegs. And cutlery and dishes even though its not really a self-catering room. Lovely personal touches everywhere. WiFi didn’t work though, even after they restarted the modem. Unfortunately the owner was not in town and had someone else stand in for her. Everything went smoothly until we were woken at 01:00 by noises in the main house that lasted way too long for us to get any decent sleep. In the morning at around 08:30 we wanted to check out but there was no one around and no reaction to phone calls or the bell. We had to hide the key somewhere and left them a message of where to find it. We were quite annoyed at this stage by everything and doubt that we will return, which is unfortunate because it’s a nice place.

Anzette L - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anzette L
With friends

Ek en my sussie het so lekker geslaap dat ons verby die uitkloktyd geslaap het.

Maré was baie gaaf en het ook toegelaat dat ons later in die dag eers inklok. Die Bliss Room kamer is ruim en netjies en die kamer is werklik waarde vir geld.

Michelle B - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Michelle B
With spouse/partner

Great location. Wonderful views and within walking distance of all amenities. The property has a no child policy.

Very relaxing stay at the lovely pool area.

Bessie B - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bessie B
With spouse/partner

Kwaliteit en aandag aan detail plus 'n uitstekende gasvrou maak dit 'n volpunte-akkommodasie.

Alles in die woonstel getuig van kwaliteit en 'n kunstige hand. Die ekstras soos beskuit, badprodukte, tissues en handgemaakte koppies maak dit 'n luukse ervaring. Die gasvrou het daarin geslaag om 'n gesellige en pragtig plekkie te skep sowel as om ons vriendelik te ontvang en welkom te laat voel.

Chic Shack's response

Dear Bessie,

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to give me a review, it is much appreciated.

Kind regards,
Maré

Chic Shack
From
R970
per night (sleeps 2)
From
From R970
per night (sleeps 2)
From
R970
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 2 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 19 Fontein Street, Riebeek Kasteel, 7307, Western Cape
  • No children under 18
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAZ6okddilNZvFCVV6QQnLbvRhPxR1y01rr6NkFHZcyog2u1Vn2d?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R970  per night(sleeps 2) 27 5 1 5 19 Fontein Street Riebeek Kasteel 7307 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-18:00 10:00 -33.38532729392 18.894424761902
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!