The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Cowrie Cove Guest House | TravelGround
+15

Cowrie Cove Guest House

Guest House

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5from 21 reviews for Cowrie Cove Guest House
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
4.9/5
Location
4.9/5
Safety
5.0/5
Value for money
4.7/5
Owen H - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Owen H
Individual traveler

Lovely guesthouse, beautiful sub-tropical garden, highly recommended.

See stars.

David L - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
David L
With spouse/partner

Dit was die beste verblyf nog.

Baie lekker gebly, als was die beste en veral omdat daar toegang na die strand is van die huis. Om in oggend langs see te stap en sonsopkoms te kan kyk is die beste.

Corne C - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corne C
Family with teenagers

Fantasmagories.

Waar om te begin? Gashere en personeel was ongelooflik vriendelik en behulpsaam. Kamers uit die boonste rakke. Die badkamers is 'n ervaring op sy eie. Mens gaan baie ver soek vir beter! Beslis vyf-ster.

Gert V - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gert V
With spouse/partner

Kamers baie modern en skoon.

Die verblyf het gevoel soos 'n huis weg van jou huis af. Personeel baie bekwaam en vriendelik. Die ontbyt was heerlik met 'n groot verskeidenheid van geregte.

Heinrich E - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Heinrich E
On business

Best accommodation in Umhlanga ever!

Cowrie Cove is an oustanding accommodation option. I will only make use of them in my future travels to Durban and surrounds.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die beste verblyf in Umhlanga ooit!

Cowrie Cove is 'n uitsonderlike verblyfopsie. Ek sal in die toekoms slegs hulle gebruik vir reise na Durban en omgewing.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Anthony W - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anthony W
On business

Extremely delighted with this gem!

I have travelled to Durban on a handful of occasions and have been disappointed more often than not. I stumbled across Cowrie Cove Guest House on TravelGround, and have to say the entire experience was a pleasure. The pictures do not do the venue justice. The service is attentive, but not overbearing. They seemed to mirror exactly what I like when I go away: have the facilities and service, yet do not impose a contrived customer service upon their guests. The bed was king-sized and super firm. I had a wonderful and peaceful sleep. In the morning I let myself out the back gate and went for a morning run on the beach only 50 m away. Only to return to a stunning shower which I stood under for 15 minutes. As a Capetonian, we are short on water right now, so barely get 2 minutes under the showerhead before you have to jump out. Breakfast was a feast and a complete bonus. Nowhere did I read breakfast was included and was surprised when they said it was. Great value for money. I tried to be a good boy and refrain from the full fry up, but the cook gave me half a pig in bacon rashers! It was yummy. I have now found my special haven when I return to Durban.

Ayesha A - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ayesha A
With spouse/partner

Fantasies!

Amazing hospitality! Will definitely be back at Cowrie Cove again!

Eddie G - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Eddie G
Family with teenagers

Very nice guesthouse.

Wetook our 2 dogs along, felt very welcome. Great stay.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker gastehuis.

Ons het ons twee worshonde saam geneem, baie welkom gevoel. Verskriklik lekker gekuier.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Alex N - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alex N
Family with young children

Lovely place with fantastic breakfast and big comfortable rooms with own entrance to the beach.

People are very friendly en service is excellent. Lovely place with fantastic breakfast and big comfortable rooms with own entrance to the beach. 24 hour good coffee machine coffee really added to the experience.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlike plek met fantastiese ontbyt en groot gerieflike kamers met eie toegang tot die strand.

Mense is baie vriendelik en diens is uitstekend. Heerlike plek met fantastiese ontbyt en groot gerieflike kamers met eie toegang tot die strand. 24 uur lekker koffiemasjien-koffie het die prentjie afgerond.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Zaheera R - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Zaheera R
With spouse/partner

Lovely accommodation and excellent location.

Access directly onto the beach, beautiful comfortable rooms and excellent hospitality.

Natashia M - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Natashia M
With spouse/partner

Regtig baie lekker, rustig en gerieflik!

Nie regtig baie privaatheid gehad buite agter by die kamers nie, gaste het heeltyd verby geloop en by kamers ingekyk. Die groot los matte in kamers het kolle opgehad. Verder was die verblyf regtig baie lekker, netjies en rustig. Vir ontbyt het ons 'n verskeidenheid van kase en kosse gehad. Die privaat strand is presies wat ons gesoek het en sal regtig enige tyd weer terug kom. Personeel was vriendelik.

Louisr V - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Louisr V
Family with teenagers

Uitstekend!

Sal vir seker weer hier kom bly.

Wendy R - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wendy R
With spouse/partner

Very accommodating to our needs and friendly and most helpful.

I would recommend Cowrie Cove. We had a most enjoyable stay in an excellent atmosphere. They serve very nice breakfasts and the ideal location for the more mature wanting a quiet area to stay in.

Neil M - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Neil M
With spouse/partner

Excellent guest house.

Very friendly owners and staff.

Cherylene D - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cherylene D
Family with teenagers

An experience were memories were made ...

From the moment the charming owners greeted us to the minute that we departed is an example of how it should be done. The owner realized that my husband was tall and up-graded us the minute a king-size bed became available. We were there for the Commonwealth Championships Trails and requested a late check-out on the Sunday. We offered to pay extra for just one room. Not only did she agree to a late check-out, but allowed us to stay in both the rooms and enjoy a day at the pool. The staff was superb. The breakfast a five star experience. This guest house is highly recommended.

Esti P - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Esti P
Family with young children

Dit was heerlik om daar te bly. Ons sal definitief weer by Cowrie Cove bly.

Wonderlike mense en fantastiese ontbyt elke oggend. Beste kamers en diens!

Mandla M - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Mandla M
Family with young children

Excellent service and welcoming experience.

Breakfast was excellent all the time, though we would have loved an option for dinner and lunch. Manual coffee-brewing would have been a preferred choice. Other than this, excellent service, I am sure if we visit again it will be our first choice.

Cowrie Cove Guest House's response

Thank you for the feedback Mandla,
We have noted your your comments and appreciate your input.
Regarding the coffee facilities there are 2 options available throughout the day:
1 ) All rooms are equipped with instant coffee sachets and coffee plungers for filter coffee
2) There is a self service coffee station available 24/7 which gives options of filter coffee/espresso/hot chocolate,cappuccino and choccochino throughout the day.
It is not feasible to have coffee machines in each suite as there is no charge for the current facilities and should we install machines in each suite we would have to increase our rates.
Regards,
CAROLINE SWART - OWNER COWRIE COVE GUEST HOUSE.

Cowrie Cove Guest House
Joey L - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Joey L
Individual traveler

Baie netjiese en huislike atmosfeer. Die ligging is goed en diens is beste gehalte.

Carol, die eienaar is baie vriendelik en laat jou baie welkom voel. Sy gaan ook uit haar pad om jou te help waar sy kan.

Johann B - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johann B
With spouse/partner

'n Rustige wegbreeknaweek!

Vriendelike, uitstekende diens!

Louwtjie V - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Louwtjie V
On business

Puik.

Sal beslis weer kom.

From R2 200
per night (for 2 people)
From R2 200
per night (for 2 people)
From R2 200
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 24 people
  • Check-in: 12:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 11:00
  • Address: 4 Cowrie Terrace, La Lucia, 4019, KwaZulu-Natal
  • No children under 12
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDI0ZjVkMWEyLTBiNDgtNGY3Zi04NmNlLTVkOTNhNWUzOWE0Yw?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R2 200  per night (for 2 people) 21 5 1 5 4 Cowrie Terrace La Lucia 4019 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 12:00-19:00 11:00 -29.7578345 31.0668323
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!