The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Cycasia Lodge | TravelGround
+70

Cycasia Lodge

27 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 27 reviews for Cycasia Lodge
Cleanliness
4.5/5
Service
4.6/5
Location
4.3/5
Safety
4.5/5
Value for money
4.5/5
Zfo P - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zfo P
With friends

We really had a great time and the establishment was well organized for us.

Thank you to Gill and the team, Saturday we had a car tyre issue and they were able to help us out at no cost since car broke down outside the accommodation.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Thank you for the great review, We are happy that we were able to assist and that you had a great time at Cycasia.

Kind Regards,
Gill and the Cycasia team

Cycasia Lodge
William Alfred R - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
William Alfred R
Family with teenagers

Wonderlik.

Dit was wonderlike gewees. 'n Moet as jy 'n rustige vakansie by die see soek. Waarde vir geld.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi William, we so enjoyed hosting your family and look forward to seeing you all again when the beaches are open. All the best for the new year.
Regards, Gill Steve and Samantha.

Cycasia Lodge
Joshua N - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Joshua N
With spouse/partner

Unforgettable experience.

Toilet need door, to avoid bad smell around the room.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi Joshua I am glad you enjoyed your stay. That room is too small for a door sadly but I have noted your point. Regards Gill

Cycasia Lodge
Robert G - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Robert G
With spouse/partner

Just overnight.

It was very basic and not easy to find. Very clean and neat! Needs a bell at the main gate to advise that you are wanting to enter or depart. Stood waiting for 15 minutes until we could get in.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi Robert,
We do not have a reception at the property and you should have received a contact number to phone when you were close by so that we can be there when required. If it was a check-in after normal office hours. Our office is outside the gate. Our cheaper rooms are small with all your basic needs, to accommodate those that need a cleanroom less than 2 days and are on a tight small budget We have other units which are only R60 different in the price we, however, require a minimum stay of 2 nights or 5 in the holiday season.
Sorry, you had to wait at the gate, but at least we know it is secure.
Regards.
Gill

Cycasia Lodge
Delene H - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Delene H

Loved it.

I really enjoyed my stay at Cycasia. The beach was great! I requested certain kitchen utensils and Steve was very accommodating. Perhaps a TV could be available in the room?

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi Delene, thank you for choosing us. We are working on the TV or Wi-Fi situation. We have had a TV stolen twice when the lodge was unoccupied so hence we have not replaced them.
Regards,
Gill

Cycasia Lodge
Nikita A - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nikita A

Amazing and peaceful place. Definitely coming back next year.

Beautiful and private location.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Good day Nikita, thank you so much, sorry the weather was so bad on Monday for your drive back. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Take the house next time its so much nicer for a group. Best wishes to you all Gill and Steve

Cycasia Lodge
Shaun J - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shaun J
With spouse/partner

Mens het niks meer nodig nie.

Baie ordentlike plek. Skoon, netjies en nie te vêr van die strand af nie. Het baie lekker gebly.

Madelein A - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Madelein A
With spouse/partner

Very pleasant and private.

It was very nice to stay here. Steve and Gill are very nice people and really made us feel welcome. Will stay there anytime again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie aangenaam en privaat.

Dit was baie lekker om tuis te gaan. Steve en Gill is baie aangename mense en het ons regtig welkom laat voel. Sal enige tyd weer daar gaan bly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Dear Madelein,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Cycasia, even though we were without power some of the time. We look forward to welcoming you back any time with the family.

Wishing you a wonderful Easter and rest of the year.

Best wishes,
Gill and Steve

Cycasia Lodge
Bernice V - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bernice V
Family with teenagers

Gerieflik, netjies met pragtige tuine en swembadarea.

Ons het baie lekker gebly. Ek sal dit veral aanbeveel vir groot groepe. Sodat julle minstens die huis met die "honeymoon suite" en die woonstel saam bespreek. Plek was aangenaam maar nie altyd die gaste nie.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Dankie Karen sorry the guests in the house were a bit noisy. Luckily they were only there for 2 nights of your stay. I do try to keep these groups to a minimum when the lodge is full, but they were the first to book sadly. Have a great new year. Regards Gill

Cycasia Lodge
Liza M - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Liza M
Family with young children

Heerlike seevakansie-verblyf by Umzumbe.

Dis die ideale plek om by te ontspan, geen TV, geen WiFi, goeie selfoonopvangs. Naby genoeg aan die see, maar nie loopafstand. Lekker stil om 'n massiewe groot erf. Kan tot 30 mense op terrein huisves.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Baaie dankie Liza. Welkom terug enige tyd. Gill en Steve

Cycasia Lodge
Andre F - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre F
Individual traveler

Skoon en veilige hawe.

Die tuin-chalet is ideaal geleë in 'n rustige boomryke area. Die stilte is hoorbaar! Baie netjies en skoon. Yskas en ander geriewe is nuut en handig.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Dankie ons wens jy sal terugkom enige tyd. Steve and Gill

Cycasia Lodge
Riette R - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Riette R
With spouse/partner

Quiet area, kitchen crockery, stove and braai facilities definitely need an upgrade.

The photos look much better than the reality, but it's also no cover for parking.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Stil area, kombuis breekware, stoof en braaigeriewe moet definitief opgradeer word.

Die fotos lyk baie beter as die werklikheid, daar is ook geen afdak of spesifieke parkeer area.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi Jaco, Please point these items out to us when your are there so we can ensure all is rectified. There are a few portable braais available. Cleaning is an additional charge on a daily basis, as advertised, should you have needed it. I must admit I was not happy that your dogs were left inside the unit after we had specifically fenced off the garden area for your stay. We are always open to comments that can improve what we offer our guests. I was not made aware of any problems when I visited you on site, as I can assure you it would have been remedied. We do not advertise covered parking, it is all off street parking and very close to your unit. Regards Gill and Steve

Cycasia Lodge
Jeanette P - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Jeanette P
Family with young children

Great family breakaway accommodation.

The place was very neat and so spacious. Everyone had a wonderful time. The beach was also a short drive away.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Dear Jeanette,

So glad you enjoyed your family time. We are looking forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
Steve and Gill

Cycasia Lodge
Michael D - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Michael D
Family with young children

The accommodation is basic. It's rough and ready.

The room can do with a deep clean. Linen should be fresh and beds made neatly. On the whole the place needs a general face-lift and a bit of maintenance. There are beams and an alarm system but no fence. Hence safety can be a bit of a concern.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi, I am so very sorry that you had this experience. Not sure which room you were in. We don't have a major fence around the property to allow the freedom of local wildlife, but the accommodation is well secured and fenced. We are upgrading all the time, but will speak to by cleaning staff. Again sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, you are one of the few who has ever made a comment such as this.
Regards,
Gill

Cycasia Lodge
Laren G - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Laren G
With spouse/partner

Beautiful place.

Neat and tidy accommodation with friendly staff and owner. Dog friendly.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Thank you, Lauren, looking forward to welcoming you back sometime.

Regards
Gill and Steve

Cycasia Lodge
Laren G - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Laren G
With spouse/partner

Great atmosphere and serene surroundings.

Hospitality of the owner was great and the area is lovely.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi Laren, thanks so much, hope we have more time to greet you next time.

Cycasia Lodge
Marette T - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marette T
Family with young children

Baie spasie, mooi en stil.

Ons plek was mooi skoon en netjies. Die tuin is sprokiesmooi en gras kort, kon lekker met kinders op gras speel en gaan stap. Mense ook vriendelik en behulpsaam.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi Marette, we so enjoyed having you stay, your children are a delight. Hope to have you stay again sometime.
Regards Gill and Steve

Cycasia Lodge
Gordon M - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gordon M

Worth every cent.

Very surprised and impressed with Cycasia Lodge and the owners. They went out of their way and prepared our room a day early as we had to arrive earlier than expected. Very impressed with just about every aspect. Thank you to Cycasia Lodge for a wonderful start to our honeymoon.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Dear Gordon,

Thank you so much, I hope you had a divine cruise!

We found a small veil left behind, please give send me an address if you would like us to send it to you.

Best wishes for a fantastic future together.

Regards,
Gill and Steve

Cycasia Lodge
Oswald S - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Oswald S
With friends

This is place that provides you the sense of peace and tranquility.

Very clean and friendly people. The rustic environment is ideal for people who wants to break away from the noise ─ and that's just what we experienced!

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi Oswald, thank you. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming your family again sometime.
Regards, Gill and Steve.

Cycasia Lodge
Gerrit G - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerrit G
Family with young children

Waarde vir geld en vreedsaam.

Gashere was ongelooflik behulpsaam en vriendelik. Ons kon heerlik ontspan weg van die geraas en net ons eie ding by ons blyplekkie doen. Sal Cycacia Lodge beslis aanbeveel.

Rekha M - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
2/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rekha M
Individual traveler

The place is lovely. The owners are hospitable and friendly.

I would recommend this place to anybody.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Thank you Rekha wishing you all the best for the year ahead and next time stay for longer. Regards Gill and Steve.

Cycasia Lodge
Frans V - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Frans V

Kon nie vir better vra nie.

Die diens was uitstekend. Gill is net 'n oproep weg en gretig om te help. Dankie vir als, ek en my dogtertjie sal weer kom inloer.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Baie dankie lekker om jou te ontmoet.

Cycasia Lodge
Varuschka L - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Varuschka L
With spouse/partner

Baie mooi en idillies.

Cycasia is is prentjie mooi en die eienaars is gasvry. Ons was bederf met die honeymoon suite. Jy kan jou vleisie braai in die stilte van die see en voëltjies in die agtergrond.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi Varuscha thank you for choosing us before your cruise hope you had a great time.

Cycasia Lodge
Tracy F - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tracy F
With spouse/partner

Excellent. Highly recommended

We have dogs and needed the animal friendly place they went out of their way to make us feel at home and our dogs were safe. Very friendly. Great service. Nicely secluded, everything neat and clean.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi Tracy.

Thank you reviews are gratefully received. We would welcome you back anytime. Regards Gill and Steve.

Cycasia Lodge
Mbali N - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Mbali N
With friends

I wish our weekend can start again.

We had an amazing stay with the girls, the place was so amazing in different ways, I would definitely recommend it to anyone and we even wish we can reverse the clock hence we had more than just fun.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi Mbali, thanks so much we enjoyed having you and welcome your return.

Cycasia Lodge
Zama N - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zama N
With friends

Amazing! Beautiful house with an enormous stunning garden. Our host, Jill, has a heart of gold.

We were a group of 14, we absolutely enjoyed every minute. Our rooms and bathrooms were clean. We really felt safe. Jill kept in contact the entire weekend making sure that we're okay. The view from our bedrooms were of the huge garden, which was totally magnificent! Cycasia Lodge is a true hidden gem! Thank you Jill.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi Zama, thank you. You were a great group to host. I am glad the sun came out. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cycasia Lodge
Naresh R - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Naresh R
Individual traveler

Excellent getaway for peace of mind.

Enjoyed my stay. Great.

Cycasia Lodge's response

Hi Naresh, thank you for joining us at Cycasia Lodge hope the fishing was good. Next time bring the family. Unfortunately we only take reservations of 2 nights and more.
Regards,
Gill and Steve

Cycasia Lodge
From R500
per night (for 2 people)
From R500
per night (for 2 people)
From R500
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 25 people
  • Check-in: 12:00 to 16:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Off P71 St Elmos, Umzumbe, Anerley, 4236, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDdmNTU2MTA3LTI4ODktNGI2ZS04YzdkLWU5OTlmY2I2YTRjMA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R500  per night (for 2 people) 27 5 1 5 Off P71 St Elmos Umzumbe 4236 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 12:00-16:00 10:00 -30.625329 30.538996
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!