The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Dargle Forest Lodge | TravelGround
+85

Dargle Forest Lodge

22 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 22 reviews for Dargle Forest Lodge
Cleanliness
4.3/5
Service
4.5/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.7/5
Jacques S - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Jacques S
With spouse/partner

Die omgewing is puik met rustigheid vir jou siel.

Sien sterre.

Mariska M - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Mariska M
With spouse/partner

Beslis die plek vir mense wat wil afskakel binne die groen rustigheid van die Midlands.

Pragtige, stil rusplek met genoeg om te verken in die omgewing.

Emma V - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Emma V
Family with young children

A perfect break if you want peace and quiet and good quality family time.

We loved our stay and wil recommend it to others. We wish Bridgette and Sean all the best as they continue to with their vision.

Louise V - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Louise V
Family with teenagers

Heerlik.

Ons het 'n heerlike tyd gehad. Ons het die Natalse Middellande verken en elke dag lang ente gaan stap. Perfekte manier om 'n jaar van dolle gejaag af te sluit. Die houthuis is basies, maar die gemeenskaplike kombuis is goed toegerus. Die kuier area het groot tafels waar ons geëet, gewerk en gespeel het. Die uitsig is absoluut die grondpad werd en ons het elke oggend op die rand van die kloof begin. Ons sal definitief terug wees.

Sonet D - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sonet D
With spouse/partner

The right place to just relax.

Most beautiful sunrise, just the sounds of the birds that wake you up in the morning. 360 degrees of mountains and trees.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die regte plek om net te ontspan.

Mooiste sonsopkoms, net die geluide van die voëls wat jou wakker maak in die oggend. 360 grade van berge en bome.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Elma C - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elma C
With spouse/partner

Fantasties.

Lekker rustig en skoon.

Karen T - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Karen T
Family with young children

Beautiful views, comfortable accommodation, very quiet, perfect for relaxing and family time.

Fresh air and lots of family time. Wonderful playground for kids outside and incredible mountain views. Children enjoyed the pool a lot. The days that it rained were no problem, they have a wonderful games room with fireplace, board games, darts and a soccer table, plenty to keep yourself and kids busy. So nice to walk in the mountains and the dogs make you feel very safe and play with the kids as well. Owners very friendly and come and check every now and then to see if everything is still alright. Would definitely recommend Dargle Forest Lodge.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Prentjiemooi uitsig, gemaklike verblyf, baie rustig, perfek vir ontspan en familietyd.

Vars lug en baie familie tyd. Wonderlike speel plekkie vir kinders buite en ongelooflike uitsig vanaf die berge. Kinders het die swembad verskriklik geniet. Die dae wat dit gereën het was geen probleem, hulle het wonderlike speelkamer met kaggel, bordspeletjies, darts en 'n sokkertafel, baie om jouself en kinders mee besig te hou. So mooi om in die berge te gaan stap en die honde laat jou baie veilig voel en speel te lekker saam die kinders. Eienaars baie vriendelik en kom loer nou en dan om te sien of alles nog reg is. Sal beslis Dargle Forest Lodge aan beveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Herman G - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Herman G
With spouse/partner

Prentjiemooi.

Beautiful, hier kan jy asemhaal.

Hendrik S - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Hendrik S
With spouse/partner

Rus vir die siel.

Dit was 'n ongelooflike ervaring. Asemrowende uitsigte en stilte. 'n Ware plek om die siel en gees te voed. Selfs die roete daarheen steel jou asem en oortref alle denkbare verwagtinge. As dit reën, liefs 4x4, en nie Chevy Spark 1.2 nie. Maar ons het dit tog gedoen ─ respek vir die klein karretjie.

Jenny G - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jenny G
With spouse/partner

Loved it!

We stayed the weekend with our 3 dogs in the self catering accommodation. It’s a beautiful rustic spot with the best view. We didn’t anticipate it being a wet and rainy weekend but we still enjoyed our stay and will be back. The wall heaters warmed up the room nicely.

Rob J - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rob J
Family with teenagers

Great getaway.

Very quiet and relaxed, rustic, but everything you need, great that we could take our puppy along.

Trav W - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Trav W
With spouse/partner

A great escape and a great place to stay.

Dargle Forest Lodge completely exceeded my expectations. We stayed in the self-catering cabin and I absolutely loved the rustic-chic look of it. Peering out the massive windows from the kitchen onto the rolling hills was spectacular. All basic amenities are provided and I have nothing bad to say about my stay. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would highly recommend this lodge and will definitely ensure another visit!

Conrad B - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Conrad B
With spouse/partner

Very nice and peaceful place to visit and just relax. Great views - would certainly enjoy coming again.

We had the self catering cabin, which had everything one could require, and is well recommended. if perhaps 1 suggestion for the self catering units: consider a built-in braai in a safe area close to the unit, or attached to the unit with chimney. We used the provided little metal braai in an open spot on the grass away from any trees, which worked well for sitting at the fire, and made sure to completely kill any hot coals with water before going to sleep, but a dedicated braai might be less of a worry or fire hazard. Would certainly enjoy coming again with friends.

Mariska M - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Mariska M
Family with teenagers

Place where your soul can rest.

Was a great peaceful weekend in the most beautiful area with very friendly service. Liked it a lot.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Plek waar jou siel tot rus kom.

Was 'n heerlike rus naweek in die mooiste omgewing met baie vriendelike diens. Mal daaroor.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Hanneli V - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Hanneli V
Family with young children

Rustig met beeldskone natuurskoon.

Die plek bied fantastiese uitsigte oor 'n pragtige vallei. Netheid kon beter, maar huisie was goed ingerig. 'n Ekstra kombers sou gaaf wees om die koue nagte te weerstaan.

Dargle Forest Lodge's response

Thanks for the feedback. Always good to see where we can improve. All our beds have an extra blanket on them. We have just added a 2nd extra thick blanket to each bed now for the chilly nights.

Dargle Forest Lodge
Richard G - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Richard G
Family with young children

Beautiful place.

A beautiful getaway, simple and basic, but that's all we wanted.

Leigh A - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Leigh A
With spouse/partner

A charming venue for newly weds and families.

Leigh and I chose Dargle Valley Lodge because it was excellent value for money and I had always wanted to stay in a log cabin. We were impressed by the comfort factor. The log cabin had everything one could possibly expect, except a TV and a bar of soap. While Leigh and I were quite happy to be free of the TV, we would have appreciated a bar of soap. Despite this, we were very impressed. The kitchen was kitted out nicely and there was lots of storage place to store your clothes and personal items. The cabin was very clean and spacious and would be best described as cosy. The veranda of our log cabin was an ideal spot to enjoy the exquisite view whilst sipping a glass of wine. We enjoyed taking a walk to the main gate, seeing some interesting wildlife and beautiful scenery. The family dogs were a real attraction to the two of us and we were very impressed with their lapa area. I felt that Dargle Family Lodge would be a perfect family venue but I do feel that the swimming area needs to be enclosed by a childproof fence. We have made some fantastic memories and would definitely return. Thank you for a very special time!

Ryan O - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Ryan O
With spouse/partner

Dit was definitief beter as wat ek verwag het.

Die roete op pad na Dargle Forest Lodge is nogal onplesierig en op sekere gebiede nogal rof. Maar dit is rybaar selfs met 'n klein kar, as jy kan opsit met al die rondrukkery van die pad. Dit is definitief die moeite werd! Die uitsig vanaf die cabins is beeldskoon met swaar mis in die vroeë oggend en laat aand. Die lodge self is familie vriendelik met 'n mooi groot lapa-area, genoeg braaiers en 'n onderdak met 'n gasstofie. Die huisies self is redelik klein maar pragtig binne en het 'n huislike gevoel. Die ligging vir my persoonlik was net reg met baie om te doen binne 40 minute se ry. Ek beveel dit hoog aan aan diegene wat 'n goedkoop wegbreekplek van die stad af wil kry.

Jeanne V - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jeanne V
On business

Rustig. Mooi. Sal vir enigiemand aanbeveel.

Ons het elke oomblik geniet by Dargle Forest Lodge. Die uitsig en omliggende area is asemrowend mooi. Die geriewe was netjies en in 'n goeie toestand. Die diens oor die algemeen was puik.

Fg S - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Fg S
With spouse/partner

Nice!

Very nice accommodation. Beautiful area.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Nice!

Baie lekker verblyf! Mooi omgewing.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Erika F - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Erika F
Family with teenagers

Uitstekend.

Dargle het ons verwagtinge oortref. Grondpad effens sleg en daar is nie baie goeie roete aanduidings (voorstel. Die diens was puik, uiters netjies en skoon. Alles wat ons nodig gehad het was daar. Dargle julle is tops!

Marietjie S - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marietjie S
With friends

The quiet, peace and views are memorable. What a wonderful experience.

Me and my friend really enjoyed it and would love to do this again. We were surprised at how they leave the Spaza Shop open and you can take anything out of it and just tell them afterwards and pay for it then. We couldn't believe our eyes that they trust people that much.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die stilte, vrede en uitsig was net 'n onvergeeflike, wonderlike ervaring.

Ek en my vriendin het dit vreeslik baie geniet en sal dit weer doen. Dit was vir ons verbasend om te sien dat hulle die Spaza Shop ooplos en jy enige iets daar kan uithaal en dan net vir hulle moet sê wat jy gevat het en dit dan betaal. Ons kon ons oë nie glo dat hulle soveel vertroue in hulle medemense het nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

From R200
per night (for 2 people)
From R200
per night (for 2 people)
From R200
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 28 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Portion 17 OF Hazelmere, Dargle, 3265, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA4U8m6MjEZNKaRxb7ZSDbwIL7hkOabicKj5tH3UtVd0lgJe4Zje?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R200  per night (for 2 people) 22 5 1 5 Portion 17 OF Hazelmere Dargle 3265 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.547201 29.996231
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!