Himeville Accommodation at Dunford's Loft | TravelGround
+25
+25

Dunford's Loft

43 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 43 reviews for Dunford's Loft
Cleanliness
4.5/5
Service
4.4/5
Location
4.6/5
Safety
4.7/5
Value for money
4.2/5
Karin L - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Karin L
Individual traveler

Small room with bunk for 1 person or 2 friends.

Small room at back of house with double bunk for 1 person or 2 friends. Self-catering and safe with beautiful gardens. Private braai area with no view, but free to walk around front of home for the view. Very friendly hosts. Great base for sight-seeing the Underberg/Sani area.

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Karin,
Thank you so much for your review.
Loved having you and Lexi the staffie.
Keep well,
Frank and Marge.

Dunford's Loft
Gerda B - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gerda B
With spouse/partner

Thank you very much for friendly service although we stayed very briefly there.

Very well located near Sanipas which we drove the next day. The sofas in the living room are just laid out and dirty. The fireplace was a winner on cold New Year's Day.

This review has been translated, click here to view the original version.

Baie dankie vir vriendelike diens alhoewel ons baie kort daar gebly het.

Baie goed geleë naby Sanipas wat ons die volgende dag gery het. Die banke in die sitkamer is net uitgesit en vuil. Die kaggel was 'n wenner op die koue nuwejaarsdag.

You are reading the original review, click here to view the translated version.

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Gerda,
Thank you for posting a review we appreciate your positive comments.
Also thank you for bringing the cane 2 seater lounge seat to our our attention. We have replaced it.
Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Geraldine V - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Geraldine V
With spouse/partner

Rustig en gemaklik.

Baie rustig, maar klein goedjies kan gedoen word om dit beter te maak, bv. daar was net 'n halwe rol toiletpapier. Gelukkig het ons in ons kar nog gehad! Geen komplimentêre badseep nie. Ons het vergeet om in te pak. Die eienaar het ons gesien toe ons aankom en per toeval weer vroeg die oggend voor ons ry. Bietjie teleurstellend, maar hopenlik is hulle ander tye meer beskikbaar en toeganklik.

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Geraldine,
Thank you staying with us and posting your review. Apologies for the toilet paper. There should have been an extra full roll especially since your stay was 2 days. We provide liquid soap for hand washing but not bath soap shampoo etc .We strive to give our guests their space and privacy but we are always available as we live on the property.I detect that this made you feel neglected and that is never our intention. We are never too busy not to address any issues/requests our guests may have.
Kind regards, Frank and Marge.

Dunford's Loft
Lenie G - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lenie G
With friends

Puik en super skoon!

Pragtige uitsig en ruim kamers. Kaggel vir koue weer en vol toegeruste kombuis. Ek beveel dit aan en kom weer terug.

Karin W - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Karin W
With spouse/partner

Convienent for our trip to Hole in the Wall.

Frank is very helpful and friendly. Did not like the TV programs, not even channel 101 or sport. The cottage we stayed in needs a bit of refurbishing, curtains are torn and the chair not comfortable. Otherwise very happy, will go there again if in the area.

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Karin,
Thank you for your positive comments.
Regarding the issues you mentioned, we have removed the cane 2-seater and have replaced it. Our website does mention that the cottage has easy view DStv which is not the full bouquet. It's a bit of a hassle but you are welcome to bring your decoder and "marry" it to the TV. Once again, thank you for your comments, we take our guests' opinions very seriously.
Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Marianna S - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marianna S
With spouse/partner

We had a great stay!

Staying at Dunford's Loft was a great experience. It was comfortable and had all the extra's we required. Frank and Marge were very friendly and went the extra mile. Will definitely stay there again! Thank you!

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Marianna,
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was our pleasure to host you.
Enjoy the Kruger.
Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Terrence S - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Terrence S
Family with teenagers

Thank you for the hospitality.

Thank you to Frank for the hospitality.

This review has been translated, click here to view the original version.

Dankie vir die gasvryheid.

Dankie aan Frank vir die gasvryheid.

You are reading the original review, click here to view the translated version.

Thomas N - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Thomas N
On business

Voldoende.

Waarde vir geld, maar die matras glad nie op standaard nie.

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Thomas,
Thank you for bringing the mattress issue to our attention.Sincere apologies that it was not comfortable.
We bought that mattress 2 years ago and have now ordered a high density foam one to replace it.
Having said that we are really sorry that it wasn't up to standard and is being replaced.

Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Lisanne H - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lisanne H
With friends

Awesome place to stay with lovely view of the mountains!

Second time we have stayed there and will most definitely stay there again. Maple Cottage has everything you need and is warm and cosy especially with the fireplace.

Dunford's Loft's response

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to host you again.
Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Anton V - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Anton V
With spouse/partner

Lovely, peaceful and quiet with friendly owner.

The place where we slept was neat and well-equipped. We had enough blankets and I loved the fireplace.

This review has been translated, click here to view the original version.

Heerlik, rustig en stil met vriendelike eienaar.

Die plek waar ons geslaap het was netjies en baie oulik ingerig. Daar was genoeg komberse en ek het baie gehou van die kaggel.

You are reading the original review, click here to view the translated version.

Adel M - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
2/5
Adel M
Family with young children

Het die nodige geriewe.

Baie klein leefarea. Koffietafeltjie in die sitarea sou lekker gewees het. Elektriese komberse was great!

Lisa S - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lisa S
With friends

Cosy and close to our intended location.

DStv not working correctly.

Dunford's Loft's response

Thank you for the kind remarks, we enjoyed hosting you.
Sorry, you had issues with the DStv, It's working at the moment.
Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Ivan T - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ivan T
Individual traveler

Ek was op 'n motorfiets-toer. Sal dit vir al die motorfiets-mense aanbeveel.

Ek is van Potchefstroom. Himeville was my verste oornag-dorp op my motorfiets-toer van Potch tot Boesmansnek-grenspos en weer terug. Als wat jy nodig het (veilige en skoon verblyf, vriendelike ontvangs en behulpsame eienaars).

Dunford's Loft's response

Oops sorry, Ivan, Peach cottage doesn't have a TV and it's been updated on the listing. However, DStv is working in all the other cottages.
Kind regards,
Frank.

Dunford's Loft
Hennie N - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hennie N
With spouse/partner

Lovely quiet atmosphere on the outskirts of Himeville overlooking a wetland and the Drakensberg.

We received a lot of hospitality. For silence and a place to switch off with a glass of wine in front of a fireplace, this is a place to be. It's also very safe to walk to a dam or just through the town.

This review has been translated, click here to view the original version.

Heerlike stil atmosfeer aan die buitewyke van Himeville met 'n uitsig oor 'n vleiland an die Drakensberge.

Ons is baie gasvry ontvang. Vir stilte en 'n plekkie om af te skakel met 'n glasie wyn voor 'n kaggelvuur, is hierdie 'n plek om te wees. Dis ook baie veilig om na 'n dam of net deur die dorp te wandel.

You are reading the original review, click here to view the translated version.

Magda M - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Magda M
With spouse/partner

Pragtige en rustige plek!

Goed ingerig, ons het die goedkoopste eenheid geneem en selfs dit was heerlik.

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Magda,
Thank you so much. It was a pleasure to host you.
Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Henk D - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Henk D
With friends

Beautiful view, peaceful and comfortable.

Place to rest and recharge your batteries.

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Henk,
Thank you so much.
It was our pleasure to host you.
Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Lebo M - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lebo M
With friends

Very welcoming and friendly.

The owner was eager to help when we told him we got a puncture and made sure we arrived safely at the venue. Constant communication. The chalet was very cosy and clean. I will definitely go back for a retreat.

Christo W - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Christo W
Family with young children

Very good.

This was everything we expected.

This review has been translated, click here to view the original version.

Baie goed.

Alles was wat ons verwag het.

You are reading the original review, click here to view the translated version.

Albert D - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Albert D
With spouse/partner

Peaceful area and safe.

We had a lovely rest, felt safe and would recommend this as an overnight stay.

This review has been translated, click here to view the original version.

Rustige omgewing en veilig.

Ons het heerlik geslaap, veilig gevoel sal die plek aanbeveel vir oornag stop.

You are reading the original review, click here to view the translated version.

Braam G - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Braam G
With spouse/partner

Baie nice.

Baie lekker, privaat oornagplekkie. Baie dankie. Baie behulpsamme gasheer. Jy is awesome.

Rudolph V - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rudolph V

Uitstekend.

Baie lekker gebly. Goeie diens, goeie ligging. Beveel die plek aan.

Green G - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Green G
With spouse/partner

Dunford was clean and comfortable and the host was very kind.

See stars.

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi,
Thank you so much. It was our pleasure to host you.
Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Lisanne H - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lisanne H
With friends

Comfortable accommodation with everything you need and loved the fireplace!

Would definitely stay there again!

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Lisanne,
Thank you so much, it was our pleasure to host you.
Stay well and kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Geja H - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Geja H
With spouse/partner

Waarde vir geld!

Baie vriendelike ontvangs, netjies, waarde vir geld. Heerlik geslaap, beslis aan te beveel!

Bernadette L - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bernadette L
With spouse/partner

Wonderlike ontvangs en vriendelike mense, alles wat ons nodig gehad het en meer in 1 naweek. Dankie Frank en Marge.

Netjies, lekker warm water en stortgeriewe, kaggel, alles was awesome!

Leon V - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leon V
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam.

Plek is aangenaam, stil en baie netjies. En ek sal dit enige tyd vir iemand aanbeveel.

Dunford's Loft's response

Baie dankie, dit was ons plesier.
Beste groete
Frank en Marge

Dunford's Loft
Nadine N - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nadine N
With spouse/partner

Comfortable, beautiful views, friendly and helpful host.

Everything you need is there, comfortable stay. Beautiful views and very peaceful. Would love to go back!

This review has been translated, click here to view the original version.

Gemaklik, pragtige uitsig, vriendelike en behulpsame gasheer.

Alles wat ons nodig gehad het was daar, gemaklike verblyf. Pragtige uitsig en so rustig. Sal graag weer daar bly!

You are reading the original review, click here to view the translated version.

Dunford's Loft's response

Baie dankie.
Dit was ons plesier
Beste groete
Frank en Marge

Dunford's Loft
Jaco E - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Jaco E
With friends

Gerieflik en vriendelike ontvangs.

Baie sentrale gerieflike verblyf met al die nodigste.

Johan P - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan P
With friends

Okay.

Very neat and the owner was friendly. There were a few problems, like the light in the bathroom that wasn't working and no hot water. We only realised it early the morning and could therefore not bring it under the owner's attention.

This review has been translated, click here to view the original version.

Okay.

Baie netjies en die eienaar was vriendelik, daar was wel 'n paar probleme soos bv. die lig in die badkamer het nie gewerk nie en daar was geen warm water nie. Ons het dit eers vroeg die oggend agtergekom en kon dit dus nie onder die eienaar se aandag bring nie.

You are reading the original review, click here to view the translated version.

Helene A - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Helene A
With spouse/partner

Dit was voldoende.

Dunford's Loft is voldoende. Ek sou net graag vooraf wou weet dat daar nie 'n oond is nie, maar slegs 'n mikrogolfoond en tweeplaatstofie, sodat ek daarvolgens kon beplan.

Karien C - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karien C
With spouse/partner

Very pleasant accommodation.

Very warm reception and everything was very neat. Can definitely recommend it.

This review has been translated, click here to view the original version.

Baie aangename verblyf.

Baie vriendelik ontvang en alles was baie netjies. Kan dit regtig aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review, click here to view the translated version.

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Karien,
Thank you so much.
It was our pleasure to host you. You are wonderful guests.
Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Susana P - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Susana P
With spouse/partner

Lovely cottage with beautiful view.

We stayed in Pin Oak 1, a lovely cottage on the property. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Lots of peace and quiet.

Christo B - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Christo B
With spouse/partner

Nifla! Wonderlik! Great!

Frank, thank you for a warm welcome. We enjoyed the fire pit and fire place tremendously, thank for the wood and the calmness of the fire in the fireplace, as the rain came down. The mornings and afternoons with the beautiful garden and the mountains was good for our souls. The fresh ciabatta bread baked especially for us was a tasty and delicious gift we enjoyed. Will definitely recommend it especially before leaving for Lesotho. Pin Oak 1 had everything we needed for self catering.

Dunford's Loft's response

Goeiedag Christo and Rita,

Thank you so much. You have reconfirmed why we do this. With guests like you
It's like having family visit.

Stay well and God bless.
Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Johann K - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johann K
With friends

Rustige omgewing met mooi uitsig.

Vriendelike diens met netjiese eenheid, wat 'n baie mooi uitsig het.

Miranda B - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Miranda B
With spouse/partner

Vriendelike gasheer en gemaklike verblyf in 'n pragtige omgewing.

Ons het lekker gebly en geslaap. Kothuis het als wat mens nodig het. Die eienaars moet oorweeg om die sitkamerstel te stoffeer of te vervang. Die bed slaap gerieflik.

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Miranda,

Thank you for bringing the couch issue to our attention. We have replaced it and at present are busy re-upholstering the one that
was in the cottage. Thank you for staying with us and your kind comments.

Warm regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Derrick L - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Derrick L
With spouse/partner

Heerlik.

Wonderlike rustige plek om in te bly vir 'n kort tydperk. Pragtige uitkyk op die berge terwyl die vuur brand in vuurput. Skoon en toegerus met die nodige.

Sheldon D - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sheldon D
With spouse/partner

Cosy and friendly.

We enjoyed our stay in the very cosy and friendly environment.

Mike T - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mike T
With spouse/partner

Netjiese eenheid in 'n stukkie ongerepte natuur.

Die eenheid is netjies met al die benodighede vir ons verblyf. Die gaste het ons laat welkom voel met ons aankoms in Himeville en daarna ons ons privaatheid gegee. Die honde het my hart gesteel en bygedra om die akkommodasie 'n huislike atmosfeer te gee. Die ligging is uitstekend, naby die al hoof vakansie aantreklikhede in die area. Sal dit definitief aanbeveel vir iemand wat soek vir 'n stil "wegkom" naweek. Sien julle weer.

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Mike,
Thank you so much for your positive review and very kind comments. It makes our heart glow to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you and you will always be most welcome to visit us again.
Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Johann V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Johann V
With friends

Baie lekker gebly.

Ons het in Peach cottage gebly, 'n "budget cottage". Plekkie is redelik klein, na 'n paar dae kan dit beknop begin raak, veral as die weer sleg is. Ons enigste versoek sal wees dat die matrasse vervang word. Andersins het ons eintlik lekker gebly. Frank en sy vrou het uit hulle pad gegaan om ons te help. Ons het 'n plek gesoek om basies te stort en slaap, daarvoor is die Peach Cottage perfek.

Cobus V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Cobus V

Die eenheid was skoon en netjies. Beddegoed was 100%.

Baie vriendelike mense en lekker groot erf.

Albert B - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
3/5
Albert B
With spouse/partner

Cosy, comfortable and clean.

Well situated and clean. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Value for money with a scenic view too. Will definitely go there again. Just disappointed in the full DSTV advertised, as there was basically nothing to view. No sport channels!

Dunford's Loft's response

Hi Albert,
Thank you for your lovely review.
Sorry that you were disappointed with the TV. The website does say that it is Easy view DStv which obviously has a limited bouquet of channels. If we have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future possibly consider bringing your decoder/smart card to be able to view full DStv.
Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Wilma T - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Wilma T
With spouse/partner

Het was een heerlijk verblijf, rustig!

Een prima uitvalbasis voor de Sanipass.

Dunford's Loft's response

Good Day Wilma,

Thank you so much for your rating. We loved hosting you.

Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
Supriya T - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Supriya T
With friends

Enjoyed our stay.

Very welcoming hosts. The place was very quite and nice. It's very nice if you want to go away from your busy schedules and enjoy nature's beauty.

Dunford's Loft's response

Good Day Supriya,

Thank you so much for your stars in your rating. We really appreciate it.

Kind regards,
Frank and Marge

Dunford's Loft
From R620
per night (for 2 people)
From R620
per night (for 2 people)
SECURE PAYMENT VIA
TRAVELGROUND.COM
From R620
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 21 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 73 Thomas Street, Himeville, 3256, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGNkZDgxMmI4LWYzNTgtNGJkMC1iNjU3LTExMGVjZjNmZjM3Mw?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R620  per night (for 2 people) 43 5 1 4.5 73 Thomas Street Himeville 3256 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.742621689023 29.513054460313
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com