The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at The Flying Penguin | TravelGround
+59

The Flying Penguin

12 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5from 12 reviews for The Flying Penguin
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.7/5
Patricia D - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Patricia D
With spouse/partner

Short stay with my husband.

We loved the location. It is in a safe and quiet area and it has beautiful views. My husband and I were very impressed with the sevice and especially the breakfast that came at an extra cost but worth the money. We had a fantastic stay!

Antoinette O - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Antoinette O
With spouse/partner

Asemrowende uitsig, vriendelike en behulpsame gashere!

Beste uitsigte! Dakwoonstel is goed toegerus met alles wat jy nodig het, baie netjies en bed is baie gemaklik! Ons het verskriklik lekker gebly. Sal vir seker weer terugkeer! Ons gashere was uitstekend, behulpsaam en baie vriendelik!

Theana B - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Theana B
Family with teenagers

Wonderful view. Lovely, open space.

We had a great stay, and slept well. Friendly, helpful host.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Wonderlike uitsig. Heerlike, oop spasie.

Ons het baie lekker gebly, gekuier en geslaap. Vriendelike en behulpsame gasvrou.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Sonja G - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Sonja G
With spouse/partner

Clean and neat.

Good reception, the place is clean and convenient. One can see the ocean from the room or patio.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Skoon en netjies.

Goed ontvang, die plekkie was skoon en gerieflik. 'n Mens kan die see sien as jy in kamer of op stoep staan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Stephani L - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stephani L
With spouse/partner

Beeldskoon.

Goeie diens, fantastiese ligging en baie vriendelik.

Angelique S - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Angelique S
With spouse/partner

Great stay! Plus the view is an experience.

Will definitely stay at The Flying Penguin again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Het heerlik gebly! Plus die uitsig is 'n belewenis.

Sal beslis weer by The Flying Penguin gaan bly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Willem V - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Willem V
Individual traveler

Property very big.

Stayed in peace and quiet. Property nice and large.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Perseel baie groot.

In rus en vrede gebly. Perseel lekker groot.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Flying Penguin's response

Baie Dankie! Ek is bly jy het jouself geniet.

The Flying Penguin
Esme R - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Esme R

Breathtaking view and neat.

The accommodation is on the third floor, beautiful view, large lounge and main bedroom, everything you need. Friendly hosts, easily accessed. We will stay there again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Asemrowende uitsig, netjies.

Die verblyf is op die 3de verdieping, pragtige uitsig, groot sitkamer en hoofslaapkamer, alles wat jy nodig het. Vriendelike gashere, maklik bereikbaar. Ons sal weer daar bly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shirley W - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Shirley W
With spouse/partner

Fairly good and decent accommodation.

The accommodation is basic, was disappointed to discover it wasn't serviced and that there is no dresser with mirror or hairdryer, but otherwise it was lovely. The bed was comfortable and the view was good. It was nice to be able to sit outside on the verandah. The kitchenette was adequate.

The Flying Penguin's response

Thanks so much for your feedback.

I have made sure that our descriptions make it clear now how often our units are serviced. For example in the case of the penthouse which is primarily a self-catering apartment, we change linen and service every 5 days.

We also now have a hairdryer for each unit.

Regarding a dresser with a mirror, we took note of your feedback and do now have mirrors and a table either under the mirror or close to it. The table placement varies in each unit as we are limited as to where to place a dresser or table and mirror, due to the extensive sliding doors and glass windows which were our priority when building, as these sliding doors maximize the wonderful views of the bay that our guests can enjoy.

I'm glad you found our bed comfortable. Since when this review was made, we've upgraded all our beds to even further comfort. They are all now king size in all units.

The Flying Penguin
Thea L - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Thea L
With spouse/partner

Best accommodation in a week.

Very clean, fresh and neat place. Nice view. Kitchen needs cutting knives.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Beste verblyf in 'n week.

Baie skoon vars en netjiese plek. Mooi uitsig. Kombuis benodig net snymesse.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Flying Penguin's response

Thank you for your kind review. We thought that we had sufficient kitchen knives, but clearly, we were mistaken. We'll address this so that future guests don't need to run into this issue.

The Flying Penguin
Anriette V - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anriette V
Family with young children

Lovely view. Could relax with the children.

Picturesque. Every front room has a sea view. Friendly hostess and everything clean and neat. Towels were changed. Bottle of milk in fridge indicated how dedicated they are to their guests. Would have appreciated a larger braai upstairs, but we were still able to have a good braai on the veranda. Would return to this lovely place.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Mooiste uitsig, kon so lekker ontspan met die kinders.

Prentjiemooi, elke vertrek voor het 'n see-uitsig. Vriendelike gasvrou met alles so mooi skoon en netjies. Handdoeke is geruil en die botteltjie melk in die yskas wys dat hul ingestel is op hul gaste. Bietjie groter braai sou lekker wees bo, maar ons kon steeds heerlik op die stoep braai. Lieflike plekkie, sal vir seker weer gaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Paul V - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Paul V
With spouse/partner

Wonderful!

We highly recommend a stay at the Flying Penguin. It is a beautiful house with a lovely garden, very cosy and clean, and with an extremely friendly welcome!

The Flying Penguin's response

Hi! Thanks for your review. We love it when we hear that we are doing things right and that our guests are happy. Visit again someday.
Regards,
Lizette

The Flying Penguin
From R1 050
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 050
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 050
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 8 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 46 Freesia Rd, Murdock Valley, Simon's Town, 7975, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAhxXVYP42MDYPzNNoTkikR9eH3cp1WC29SOHNEWSGeClU27fr1a?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 050  per night (for 2 people) 12 5 1 5 46 Freesia Rd Murdock Valley 7975 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-20:00 10:00 -34.211071 18.46011
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!