Malmesbury Accommodation at Fynbos Estate | TravelGround
+59

Fynbos Estate

10 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5from 10 reviews for Fynbos Estate
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
4.5/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
5.0/5
Value for money
4.6/5
Deodi F - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Deodi F
With friends

A weekend to remember.

We attended a wedding as a group of friends and Fynbos Estate could not have had a better location. The road was fairly off-road, but easily accessible by most vehicles. The fireplace kept the house cozy and we had a good time. One drawback to the house is its braai area. It is on one side of the farm, added almost as an afterthought. We couldn't really enjoy it and the coals were falling out of it all the time. It is too small and so we could only braai piece by piece. A standard size grill wouldn't fit. Then we also struggled with the power. If a heater is turned on (provided) then the power cuts out. And if you don't notice this, you'll be without hot water as the geyser does not stay warm. If they do not want you to use heaters, they should preferably remove them from the unit. With all of these negatives it was still a wonderful place and we will come back again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Naweek om te onthou.

Ons het as n groep vriende 'n troue bygewoon en die ligging van die Fynbos Estate kon nie beter gewees het nie. Die pad was redelik off-road, maar maklik toegangbaar deur meeste voertuie. Die kaggel het die huis lekker snoesig gehou en ons het lekker gekuier. 'n Nadeel vir die huis is wel sy braaiplek. Dit is een kant van die his geplaas, amper as 'n nagedagte. Ons kon nie lekker om hom kuier nie en die kole het heeltyd uitgeval. Hy is te klein en kon ook net stuk-stuk braai. 'n Standaardgrootte-rooster sal nie op hom pas nie. Dan het ons ook gesukkel met die krag, indien daar 'n verwarmer aangeskakel word (wat voorsien word) dan sny die krag uit. En as mens dit nie oplet nie, dan sit jy sonder warm water aangesien die geyser nie warm bly nie. Indien hulle nie wil hê mens moet verwarmers gebruik nie, moet hulle dit liefs uit die eenheid verwyder. Met hierdie negatiewes was dit steeds 'n heerlike plek en sal ons weer terugkom.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Fynbos Estate's response

Hello
I am glad you gave us 5-star ratings despite one or two things that gave problems. thank you for your feedback.
We haven't had anyone have a problem with the size of the braai but I think we will add another section to ensure there is always enough space. We do have our braais outside for safety and they are not, sit-around braais.
With regard to power, it is a power-saving house, so you can't put on at once say, a heater, kettle and say hairdryer. Normally it isn't a problem. I am sorry, it gave trouble. With regard to water, it is solar and would not have been affected by the power tripping. The hot tap there needs running a long while to get hot.
All in all, it is lovely you had a good time.
Diana

Fynbos Estate
Tarn H - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tarn H

Great, close to Cape Town getaway!

Awesome location, great for small children. Pool area is awesome!

Lauren M - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lauren M
Family with teenagers

A wonderful discovery.

This is one of those unexpected finds that you know you must return to with a big party of friends and family. Our Honey Badger Cottage was perfect for our needs with teenagers (lots of private spaces), but it was also well equipped for cooking, with thoughtful asides like lots of ice and wood. The facilities from swimming pool, table tennis table, volleyball-net and delicious extras (champagne, chilli and past sauce and spare onions) were all much appreciated. However, the best part was meeting Diane and Johann and their lovely staff, and hearing about their passion for wine and the natural wilderness that they have helped preserve through their private nature reserve. My highlight was definitely our walk up Dragonsridge mountain with its magnificent views and a profusion of pincushion protea. Osama, the cat, also made the trip! I want to return for a proper wine tasting and to hear more about their organic farming and social development work.

Franske W - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Franske W
With spouse/partner

Clean, tidy, very basic accommodation.

Accommodation was clean and tidy. Very basic. Beautiful setting.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Skoon, netjiese baie basiese akkommodasie.

Akkommodasie was skoon en netjies. Baie basies. Mooi omgewing.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Este M - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Este M
With friends

Very nice weekend on the most beautiful farm. Will definitely go back.

We had such a lovely time at Fynbos. The cottage (Honey Badger) is fully equipped and our hosts provided us with more than enough wood for the fireplace. The best part is the patio overlooking the beautiful farm. We will definitely return!

Samantha B - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Samantha B
With friends

Delightful owners, beautiful setting, delicious wine and wonderful location.

An oasis that is only a short drive from Cape Town. We stayed in the Eagle Cottage and had a great time. All the rooms were comfortable and cosy. Wine tasting with the owners is made by arrangement and well worth the experience to enjoy their divine wine and friendly explanation on what they do and why they do it.

Fynbos Estate's response

Dear Samantha,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Much appreciated
Hope you are having fun and that we get to see you soon.

Warmest Regards
Diana

Fynbos Estate
Barry H - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Barry H
With spouse/partner

Fantastic.

Fantastic and wonderful people.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Fantasties en wonderlike mense.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Meagan J - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Meagan J

Our stay was relaxing, safe and ideal.

The estate is beautifully natural, tranquil and tucked away. The cottage has everything one needs. The shower was a little bit cramped but aside from that everything was great.

Dirk C - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dirk C
With spouse/partner

As jy net wil wegkom, dis die plek.

Wonderlike wegkomplek uit die stad en dis baie naby. Wonderlike uitsig. Jy hoor net die voëltjies. Treat jouself.

Paula S - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Paula S
With spouse/partner

Excellent.

What a wonderful place to go and relax and get away from the hurriedness of the everyday life.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uitstekend.

Wat 'n wonderlike plek om te gaan ontspan en weg te kom van die gejaagdheid van die daaglikse lewe.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Fynbos Estate's response

Baie dankie. Ek hoop om julle gou weer te sien.

Fynbos Estate
From R900
per night (for 2 people)
From R900
per night (for 2 people)
From R900
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 42 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Fynbos Estate, Joubertskloof, Malmesbury, 7299, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGY2M2E0MDIyLTM2ZDgtNDU4ZC1iOTdkLTkwMmI1NjlhZTlkZQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R900  per night (for 2 people) 10 5 1 5 Fynbos Estate Joubertskloof 7299 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -33.558133115123 18.784781098366
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com