The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Fynbos Garden Suite | TravelGround
+18

Fynbos Garden Suite

13 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 13 reviews for Fynbos Garden Suite
Cleanliness
4.5/5
Service
4.4/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.5/5
Atu M - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Atu M
Individual traveler

Amazing.

Beautiful scenery. Loved it.

Corlette V - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Corlette V
With spouse/partner

No WiFi, no DStv, cleaning service not every day. Had to connect new gas bottle for hot water ourselves. So advert and actual services are null and void.

Not happy with stay at all. No services. Think we were overcharged for what we received.

Fynbos Garden Suite's response

First of all, I must point out that I was in Cape Town for the time that the guests were here, but I spoke to them every day and my neighbour was always on hand to help them, which she has done in the past. She also has a guest house.
1. I was never told about the Wi-Fi. The guest knew I had a problem with the DSTV and I asked him to assist me by telling me when he would be home so that I could get my DSTV man in George to try to fix it telephonically when he was there. He refused, was very rude and abusive and put the phone down. When my DSTV man finally got hold of him he was similarly very abusive. The TV was finally fixed but only a day before the guests were due to leave. I conceded that this was unsatisfactory and agreed to give him a refund if we could discuss the matter. No response.
2. Secondly, the unit is advertised as a self-catering one, and no cleaning services are offered. There are cleaning materials in the unit, and the refuse bin was emptied every day. The linen on the bed was changed after three days which is the norm in such a unit.
3. The gas in the unit ran out on a Saturday (which by Murphy's law always happens when there is no staff!!) There was a new gas bottle and my neighbour asked Mr. van Heerden, the guest, to just help attach it. She reported that he was quite agreeable and connected the new bottle. Apparently this is not acceptable.
I must add that Mrs. van Heerden was very pleasant and told me please not to stress. I have her message to prove this. She loved the unit, enjoyed the quiet and the atmosphere and had no problem with the TV.

Fynbos Garden Suite
Zanthea P - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zanthea P
With spouse/partner

Ons het die uitsig en blyplek baie geniet en die tannie wat daar bly was baie behulpsaam en vriendelik.

Baie dankie vir 'n lekker blyplek.

Natalie W - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Natalie W
Family with young children

Nooit weer nie.

Die plekkie is baie stylvol en gerieflik, maar ek sal nie weer van dit gebruik maak nie. Ons was basies geforseer om Kersfees op 'n ander plek te gaan spandeer, a.g.v die eienaar se familie wat kom kuier het, ons het nie toegang tot die swembad of braai gehad nie. Hoekom het sy ons nie vroeër in kennis gestel nie of vir die webtuiste laat weet van dit? Hoekom die plek verhuur as sy weet dat sy planne het. Ons het vol betaal en dit was nie min geld nie. Ons het een aand vriende oorgehad, glad nie raserig of enige iets nie, maar omdat ons kinders het maak kinders mos nou bietjie geraas, voor 10 toe kry ek oproep: "kan ons asb. klaar maak, sy wil gaan slaap!?" As daar musiek of enige iets uit die wil was, sou ek verstaan het, maar almal is met vakansie so hoekom moet ek my kids vroeg bed toe stuur? Ek sal definitief nie 'n familie met kids aanraai om gebruik te maak van haar plek nie. Ons het 2 dae vroeër uitgeklok. Sal jy asb. ook net die adres verander, ons het gedink die plek is in George, soos op julle website.

Fynbos Garden Suite's response

This review needs a reply.It is exaggerated and not correct. I mentioned to the guest as soon as they arrived - (5 days before Xmas) that I hoped they didn't mind if my family came for lunch on Xmas day. Natalie said that would be fine. I also told them that practically all the restaurants in Wilderness are closed on Xmas day but that I would help them find something pleasant and acceptable I also suggested a beach or river picnic which is made by a local resident. They made no effort to ask me to help. On Xmas day, my family children and grandchildren ( we were 8) had lunch inside the weather was not favourable for swimming but if the guests had wanted to there would have been no problem. They used the braai and pool very often during their stay .
On or about 27/28 December I saw Natalie early in the morning. She made no mention of the fact that they were going to Port Elizabeth and would spend the night there. When it became dark and late, I put on lights for them to make it easier to go to their unit. By morning there was no sign of them. They stayed away for another night - without a word -. I had no way of contacting them. I became very anxious thinking they may have had an accident. I eventually phoned the police to see if there were any reports of accidents. But nothing. Fortunately during the late after noon of the second day I managed to get hold of them and asked what was going on. They said they;d be back the following day. When they finally arrived I asked where they had been and why they couldn;t have advised me. That I had been very worried and even phoned the police. She told me that they stayed with family for 2 nights where there were also children. She could see that I was very angry.
Re asking them to keep their children quiet before 9pm. This is not true. On two or three previous nights the children had been running around until approx. midnight and I never said a word. On that specific night I asked them at around 11 p.m. (definitely not before 10) if they could wind down the noise. No one expected them to send their children to be early, but it is intrusive to have children making a noise until midnight. I deny that they left 2 days early. They were due to leave on the 2 January. On the 1st they packed up and left saying that they wanted to get back home earlier. They didn't mention any problem.
I will be happy if they dont return to my guesthouse. My guestbook is full of comments from guests over the last 6 years \ guests who raved about the unit and facilities, and the hospitality they received. Incidentally the guests made the booking early in 2019, and asked if they could payoff the deposit over a period of months. I agreed although I could have let the suite many times over at that time of the year. On the whole Natalie kept up the payments although sometimes a little delayed. But that was fine and when they arrived, they had paid up all that was owing.

Fynbos Garden Suite
Bradford S - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bradford S
With spouse/partner

Fantastic place and area.

This place was awesome. Very relaxing place to go to.

Fynbos Garden Suite's response

Dear Bradford and Kesia, thank you for your very positive review. It was a pleasure to have you here. Regards Karen

Fynbos Garden Suite
Karen L - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karen L
With spouse/partner

Was fantastic.

Highly recommend the place. Very quiet. The place is very clean and tidy. Karen is very hospitable and friendly. Will definitely go there again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Was fantasties.

Sal die plek hoog aanbeveel. Baie rustig. Die plek is baie skoon en nietjies. Karen is baie gasvry en vriendelik. Sal definitief weer daarheen gaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Marius C - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marius C
With spouse/partner

Rustig, netjies en vriendelike diens.

Indien jy wil wegbreek na 'n rustige en netjiese plekkie, dan is dit net vir jou/julle. Karen het ons so tuis laat voel. Baie dankie vir jou vriendelike gasvryheid. Ons gaan beslis weer kom.

Fynbos Garden Suite's response

Baie dankie Marius vir u baie positiewe opmerkings. Dit was 'n plesier om u hier te ontvang, en u sien uit na u terugkoms.

Fynbos Garden Suite
Riaan T - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Riaan T
With spouse/partner

Very neat and comfortable place hidden, quiet and breathtaking location.

Very nice stay in Fynbos Garden Suite, friendly service, very nice place, a gem in Hoekwil. Will definitely recommend for someone who wants to get away for quiet natural weekend. The facilities are very neat, clean and can braai which is always a plus.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie netjies en gerieflike plekkie weggesteek, rustig en asemrowende ligging.

Baie lekker gebly in Fynbos Garden Suite, vriendelike diens, baie mooi plekkie, 'n gem in Hoekwil. Sal definitief aanbeveel vir iemand wat wil wegkom vir rustige natuurnaweek. Die geriewe is baie netjies, skoon en kan self braai wat altyd 'n pluspunt is.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Murray H - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Murray H
With spouse/partner

Rustige verblyf en waarde vir geld.

Heerlik rustige verblyf naby Wilderness en in die natuur geleë. Pragtige tuin met baie voëls en 'n heerlike swembad om af te koel. Die verblyf self is ruim en die kombuis bied alles wat mens benodig vir n paar dae vakansie. Gasvrou was baie akkommoderend en ons het ons verblyf daar baie geniet.

Merle M - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Merle M
With spouse/partner

Little piece of paradise.

Karen is a wonderful hostess and our time at Fynbos Garden Suite was exceptional. Location and views are fantastic, the unit is fully equipped and very private. We will go again anytime.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Klein stukkie van die paradys.

Karen is 'n wonderlike gasvrou en die tydjie by Fynbos Garden Suite was uitsonderlik. Ligging en uitsig is fantasties, die eenheid is ten volle toegerus en baie privaat. Ons sal enige tyd weer gaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jessica B - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jessica B
With spouse/partner

Great hospitality and amenities.

The accommodation was great, we enjoyed the fireplaces that were available and we did not need to bring anything. The only downside to our stay, was the road works (10 minute stop-and-go's) on the only available road to access the accommodation. Obviously this is beyond the control of the owner, but a warning beforehand would have been appreciated. Otherwise we had a wonderful stay.

Fynbos Garden Suite's response

Thank you so much for your positive review. I apologise for the road delays, but they cannot be avoided as we never know on what section they are working on before-hand. Feel free to visit us again when the road has been completed.

Fynbos Garden Suite
Tia B - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tia B
With spouse/partner

Wonderlike ervaring met 'n pragtige kamer, uitsig en vriendelike diens. Baie dankie Karen!

Dit was baie lekker, ons sal dit beslis aanbeveel. Rustig en pragtig, baie dankie vir die gasvryheid.

Tiaan L - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tiaan L
With spouse/partner

Baie mooi en goed toegeruste blyplek in pragtige natuurskoon.

Ons het baie lekker gebly in hierdie baie goed toegeruste tuinwoonstel in die mooi Wilderness/Hoekwil natuur. Alles is mooi skoon, goeie kwaliteit en gerieflik, met alles wat mens nodig het, in 'n pragtige omgewing.

Fynbos Garden Suite's response

Dear Tiaan,

Thank you for the very positive review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Karen Marshall

Fynbos Garden Suite
From R600
per night (sleeps 2)
From R600
per night (sleeps 2)
From R600
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 2 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 11:00
  • Address: 10 Bosbok Avenue, Hoekwil, George, 5638, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGY2ZmY0NDgyLTUzZTAtNDQ5MS04Y2Y4LWMwMWZkNGNkZDBlNQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R600  per night (sleeps 2) 13 5 1 5 10 Bosbok Avenue Hoekwil 5638 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 11:00 -33.965252445751 22.604477405548
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!