The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House | TravelGround
+11

Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House

Self Catering

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5from 38 reviews for Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House
Cleanliness
4.5/5
Service
4.7/5
Location
4.7/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.7/5
Hyron J - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hyron J
With friends

It was nice.

It was a wonderful and nice place.

Kirsten D - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kirsten D
Family with young children

Stunning views, quiet, tranquil, relaxing.

We loved our stay. It really feels like a home away from home. It has everything you need, literally just bring your food and basic necessities, it has everything else. The house is very neat, very homely and comfortable. The view from the deck is amazing. It is so peaceful and quiet. We even extended our stay with an extra day, we just loved it so much. We will most definitely recommend this to anyone. We will also most definitely return for another stay.

Josslyn D - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Josslyn D
Family with young children

Awesome stay, awesome house, awesome atmosphere, amazing view, kitchen appliances and utensils needs an upgrade but everything else was way beyond perfect.

Awesome, awesome,

Petro G - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Petro G
With spouse/partner

Veilig, lekker en rustig.

Baie mooi uitsig, geen probleme gehad, als was mooi uitgewys aan ons. Ideale plek net vir ontspan.

Rashied J - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rashied J
Family with young children

Dit was 'n ongelooflike ondervinding.

Die atmosfeer, die uitsig van die balkon af, die spasie, die slaapkamers, alles is perfek. Die braaifasiliteite is awesome. Binnekort sien julle weer my en my familie.

Agassi L - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Agassi L
With friends

Peaceful, felt relaxed. Really feels like a home away from home and I love their couches.

Really a beautiful place, incredible view, spacious and loved everything. Just one thing: hope they will have cutlery in future.

Bradley B - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Bradley B
Family with young children

Excellent view.

Value for money and great view.

Ursulia D - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ursulia D
Family with young children

Excellent.

We enjoyed our stay, but would advise to give other holiday makers more information. It was our first time and we didn't know that the launching of the boat was supposed to be arranged before.

Tiffany B - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tiffany B
Family with young children

Lovely

We had a great time - from waking up in the mornings to going to bed. It has been fun and we enjoyed us so much.

Elwin P - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Elwin P
Family with teenagers

Had a great relaxing time.

Had a great view and sea breeze.

Gaynor B - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gaynor B
Family with young children

It was probably the best stay I had. The house we stayed in was so nice and comfortable.

The surrounding was so peaceful and beautiful. Clean air all around. I would definitely recommend it to my family and friends. It was also no my last visit there. I would definitely go back there.

Anzel K - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anzel K
With friends

Die perfekte wegbreek!

Lekker rustig en afgesonder met die mooiste uitsig. Die huis het alles wat jy benodig en die slaapgeriewe was lieflik. Sal dit definitief aanbeveel. Volpunte.

Bettie E - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bettie E
With friends

Baie lekker en mooi uitsig.

Geen gaste handdoeke, eetgerei panne en kastrolle nie op standaard nie, stoof plate nie skoon nie.

Varushke G - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Varushke G
Family with young children

Breathtaking.

Peaceful and relaxing.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Asemrowend.

Rustigheid en vrede.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shamothea F - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shamothea F
With friends

It was fantastic, it is relaxing and quiet. Just what I needed.

I was surprised when we arrived, the house is fully furnished and lovely.

Tashee B - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tashee B
With spouse/partner

Amazing, tranquil stay and value for money!

My partner and I went to Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House to unwind and destress. It was truly an amazing stay. The tranquility was second to none and Maresa was literally the nicest host we ever came across. We're definitely going back there when we visit the Eastern Cape again!

Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House's response

Thank you for such a lovely review.
Please come and visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Maresa

Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House
Janneke F - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Janneke F

Ons het vreeslik lekker gekuier.

Alhoewel ons baie lekker gekuier het is daar 'n paar voorstelle. Daar is byvoorbeeld nie genoegsame glase in die huisie vir 6 mense nie en die kaste was nie baie skoon in die kombuis nie so daar kan vir seker beter skoongemaak word voor ander mense inklok. Verder het ons dit baie geniet daar.

Shaun V - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shaun V
Family with young children

Very relaxing stay.

Safe and secure with parking for two vehicles. Very relaxing atmosphere with birds and ocean sounds. Close to Jeffrey's Bay as well.

Mike & Jenni M - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mike & Jenni M
With spouse/partner

Beautiful setting and views to die for.

Set in the pristine, important bird area of Gamtoos Mouth this cottage gives panoramic sea views and comfortable living, we logged over 90 species of birds within 2 days. We really enjoyed our stay and the privacy that the house offers.

Kauthar L - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kauthar L
Family with young children

Relaxed breakaway with family.

The house lovely family home, just the distance from the beach is far and if you get guests you must drive all the way to and from main gate to open for them. But in general it's a great getaway from city life.

Anne J - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Anne J
Family with young children

Excellent value for money.

Cosy, clean, nice big patio, beautiful view.

Jp B - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jp B
With friends

Perfect getaway.

I would recommend Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House for anybody that just needs a little quiet getaway from the city life. The place was very clean and had everything you needed. Definitely a place close to my heart.

Lourie N - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Lourie N
With friends

Lekker privaat, skoon, veilig en rustig.

Die beddegoed was skoon asook die huis en baie netjies. Die TV was die enigste ding wat nie gewerk het nie, maar was wel seker 'n goeie ding ook.

Saroop S - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Saroop S
With friends

Will definitely go back.

Had a great stay. Kitchen needs cutting board and a box freezer - the fridge-freezer is too small to accommodate meat etc. Cooking pots need to be upgraded. Bottom garage needs light when walking up at staircase at night. It's hard to see where you are stepping. Overall a great place to stay. Owner very friendly and helpful.

Lisa H - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lisa H
Family with teenagers

Was delightfully surprised.

I will choose this destination again.

Luzane P - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Luzane P
With friends

Beautiful and stunning view.

The view was awesome. The house was clean and neat. The only downside to it is we had no iron and the toilet could not flush. That was a bit of an inconvenience. Other than that it's a beautiful house with a stunning view. We had a fab time.

Agassi L - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Agassi L
With friends

Perfect to relax.

Beautiful view, very quiet, the house has a nice setup. Loved the couches. It is the perfect place for you to break free and just relax.

Alida F - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alida F
Family with young children

Amazing place.

Lovely place to stay. Very quiet and relaxed with an awesome view.

Marco K - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marco K
Family with teenagers

Dit was 'n lafenis vir die siel.

Rustig en deel van die natuur. Die uitsig is asemrowend. Die ligging van die kamers is ideaal. Hout was beskikbaar sowel as rooster.

Leigh H - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leigh H
With friends

A really enjoyable weekend away. Beautiful views from the deck.

Will definitely be going back soon.

Lelache C - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lelache C
Family with young children

Very pleasant holiday. Only problem is the heat.

The house is more equipped for a winter holiday. Heaters, fire place, gas burner etc. Can get very hot, just need some roof fans please. Cannot leave the doors open for fresh air, mosquitoes can get a bit too much. Otherwise very nice place.

Eloise G - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Eloise G
With spouse/partner

Very peaceful.

Relaxing stay and appreciated.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie rustig.

Ek lekker ontspan, waardeer dit baie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House's response

Thank you for your review, Eloise.
Glad you had a wonderful stay. Please come again!

Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House
Tania P - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tania P
With friends

Beautiful place had so much of everything.

The hidden gem of our beautiful Eastern Cape. Simply love the place.

Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House's response

Thanks for the lovely review, Tania! You are more than welcome to visit again.

Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House
Brynthia B - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Brynthia B
With friends

Lovely weekend away.

I enjoyed every bit of it.

Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House's response

Hi Brynthia,
Thank you for your review. Please don't hesitate to visit us again!

Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House
Roxanne K - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Roxanne K
Family with young children

This place is home away from home.

We loved the view and everything that is needed is right inside the house, if not, there's a shop with friendly owners. The owner of the house was really friendly and welcoming.

Natasha L - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Natasha L
Family with young children

Pragtige uitsig met alle geriewe wat 'n mens benodig.

Sien sterre.

Merle C - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Merle C

A cozy, warm and welcoming weekend.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the home was warm and welcoming and just what we needed after a stressful week. Most of the kitchen appliances were made use of and appreciated, especially the coffee machine and food processor! Perhaps just give your future guests a heads up about the instruction manual and what necessities are not provided. All in all, awesome stay!

Yvette F - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Yvette F
Family with teenagers

Beautiful view, but really needs to be cleaned. No pride in cleanliness.

Although there is a beautiful view, the cleanliness of the cutlery and crockery is a lot to be desired. Chipped plates, mugs and glasses, dirty towels and dry cloths, other peoples clothes hanging in the cupboards. Cheese grater unusable as it is rusted beyond use. No colander. Fridge was dirty, dishwasher dirty. The pots still has burnt food in them. The plates dirty, the dishes dirty. Overall the accommodation is pleasant but who wants to clean up before one starts a holiday.

Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House's response

Dear Yvette.

I'm sorry that you found the place to be so dirty. I honestly deemed it to be up to the standard the week before you arrived.
This is my holiday house, hence the clothes in the cupboard.
I do have a domestic who comes to clean for me before and after every guest.
I shall definitely attempt to rectify the cleanliness issues.
I am sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Gamtoos River Mouth Holiday House
From
R1 000
per night (sleeps 6)
From
From R1 000
per night (sleeps 6)
From
R1 000
per night (sleeps 6)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 6 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Plot 343, Chapangu Eagles End, Gamtoos River Mouth, 6001, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAS95UrjPThqiiN0buQriju44PfWiB0Q5arh4bROtoOC0C4krkLF?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R1 000  per night(sleeps 6) 38 5 1 5 Plot 343 Chapangu Eagles End 6001 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -33.957456605654 25.050656880951
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!