The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Gold Reef Place Guest House | TravelGround
+26

Gold Reef Place Guest House

Guest House

Review Summary

4.1 out of 5from 35 reviews for Gold Reef Place Guest House
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
4.2/5
Location
4.0/5
Safety
4.1/5
Value for money
4.2/5
Petro P - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Petro P
With friends

Uiters teleurstellend.

Die verblyf was vuil. Rotte in die kamer. Bedlampie se skerm geskeur. Beddens wankelrig. Kussings knopperig en geskeur. Matrasse uitgedien. Lakens vuil. Nie genoeg handdoeke en toiletpapier nie. Ontbyt swak voorberei. Kos swak gehalte en nie genoeg vir die hoeveelheid mense wat daar gebly het nie. Sout en peper houers vuil en taai. Nie genoeg tafels en stoele in die eetkamer vir al die gaste nie. Ontvangs vuil en baie onvriendelik. Net belanggestel in ons geld wat ons dadelik moes betaal het toe ons aangekom het. Het vir die volgende 3 dae nie weer die bestuur gesien nie. Ons voel dat Gold Reef Place Guest House nie op die webtuiste se lys van verblyf moet wees nie. Dit doen julle naam skade aan. Hulle adverteer dat hulle 'n 3 ster-verblyf is, maar is nie eens 1 ster werd nie. Ons het min betaal ver die verblyf, maar verwag tenminste skoon en netjiese verblyf. Kry hulle van julle boeke af. Die ander gaste was ook baie ontevrede. Almal was dit eens met hulle eie ondervinding.

Ferdinand V - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ferdinand V
With spouse/partner

Gemaklik.

Ons was baie vriendelik deur Ivy ontvang. Kamer was netjies. Dit was gerieflik geleë naby Nasrec-sentrum waar ons funksie was. Het Sondag-oggend 'n heerlik vullende ontbyt geniet. Sal beslis weer daar oornag.

Geraldine P - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
5/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Geraldine P
With friends

Ivy is great maar die eenhede kort 'n goeie skoonmaak.

Ivy is baie vriendlik en behulpsaam. Die kamers kort 'n goeie skoonmaak, waaier het nie gewerk nie, wasbak is los en stort het black mould. Ontbyt was aangenaam.

Gold Reef Place Guest House's response

Good day,

Thank you for your review. We have noted your concerns and have passed on the message to the relevant staff. Pity these concerns were not addressed whilst you were here, we have spare fans in the office, the other concerns have been addressed.

Many Thanks
Gold Reef Place.

Gold Reef Place Guest House
Sonica N - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Sonica N
With spouse/partner

Kamers bietjie klein maar netjies en skoon.

Ons het een aand hier gebly om 'n konsert by Soccer City by te woon. Die kamer was baie klein maar goed toegerus met 'n yskas, TV en waaier. Netjies en skoon en mooi beddegoed en gemaklike bed. Ligging is naby aan Soccer City en die erf is veilig.

Gold Reef Place Guest House's response

Thank you for the nice words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the concert.
Dawn

Gold Reef Place Guest House
Marissa V - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marissa V
With spouse/partner

Baie gasvry, heerlike ontbyt, rustig en stil.

Baie dankie aan Wayne en Dawn wat met baie moeite ons verblyf by Gold Reef Place aangenaam en gemaklik gemaak het. Sal vir seker hul in die toekoms weer ondersteun.

Gold Reef Place Guest House's response

Thank you for the nice words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Dawn

Gold Reef Place Guest House
Revathi G - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Revathi G
With spouse/partner

It’s not bad but it’s average.

It was not bad and very safe place to stay.

Zuki S - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zuki S
With spouse/partner

Everything was in order, I however think they should invest in the beds. The least that a person needs is a comfortable bed, not just a bed.

Nothing bad to say. Except for the uncomfortable bed all was well.

Tapeswar L - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tapeswar L
With friends

Excellent, we were at home!

A very well-located and safe place.

Melanie T - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Melanie T
Family with teenagers

Netjies en skoon, vriendelike en behulpsame personeel.

Vriendelike behulpsame personeel wat die ekstra myl gaan om behoeftes te akkommodeer. Gastehuis skoon en netjies.

Jean-pierre V - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jean-pierre V
With spouse/partner

First time here - and will definiteley be back.

I visit UNISA in ormonde yearly for the trade show. Have stayed at various places, but in future I would rather stay at Gold Reef Guest House.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Eerste keer hier - sal beslis weer in die toekoms hier tuis gaan.

Besoek jaarliks UNISA in ormonde vir 'n trade show. Het al by verskeie plekke gebly, maar ek sal beslis in die toekoms eerder by Gold Reef Guest House bly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Irene G - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Irene G
With friends

Very hospitable, friendly and the environment is peaceful and safe.

See rating.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Hulle is baie gasvry, vriendelik en die omgewing was baie rustig en veilig.

Sien sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Wilma P - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Wilma P
With spouse/partner

Calm and relaxing.

The hostess Ivy was so friendly and helpful. Thank you very much for the lovely breakfast, Ivy.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustig en ontspanne.

Gasvrou Ivy, baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Baie dankie vir die heerlike ontbyt, Ivy.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Nosipho B - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nosipho B

Very good.

We had a good stay. Mr Lovemore was a pleasant assistant. Thank you.

Loraine V - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Loraine V
With friends

Awesome service.

Homely environment, and awesome hospitality. The staff are so helpful and friendly. Definitely seeing me again, thanks team.

Rialda D - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Rialda D
With spouse/partner

Netjiese en skoon blyplek, sentraal geleë t.o.v. FNB Stadion.

Daar is alles wat mens nodig het en dis baie sentraal geleë indien jy blyplek soek naby die FNB Stadion.

Gold Reef Place Guest House's response

Baie dankie

Gold Reef Place Guest House
Medina N - Jul 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Medina N
With spouse/partner

Excellent.

I really enjoyed my stay at the guest house the staff was excellent and very friendly.

Jose F - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Jose F
Family with teenagers

Very unprofessional!

Well what can i say about this place? It's not bad. The people are just very unprofessional! I booked 4 outside rooms for my family and some friends, but when i got there they wanted to accommodate us in a house. So i was quoted for something that i didn't get. We had to drive back to the Free State that same night, after the One Direction show.

Elmien V - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elmien V
With spouse/partner

Pleasant stay

Wonderful, helpful staff who even helped us with transportation to and fro in the area. Thank you.

Jan H - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jan H
Family with teenagers

Good

Overall we had a nice stay.

Sunet S - Sep 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sunet S
On business

Service was excellent, thank you

Staff was professional, very friendly and helpful.

Neels A - Aug 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
4/5
Neels A
With spouse/partner

Goeie waarde vir geld en lekker naby aan Gold Reef City.

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Beverly H - Jul 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Beverly H
Family with young children

Excellent value for money. Lovely and clean and staff were very friendly and accommodating

We were pleasantly surprised. A really lovely cottage. We felt really comfortable especially with a young boisterous granddaughter.

Liz P - Jul 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liz P
With spouse/partner

Great accommodation and friendly staff

We loved the fact that the venue was close to Gold Reef City and accessible to many other places we wanted to visit. It was a pity that there was a large group of men staying at the accommodation who felt the need to drink and make a lot of noise until the early hours of the morning. Our room joined theirs and the noise could be heard through the walls which means privacy was an issue. But the staff were super friendly, and they made a great breakfast. The room was clean and all our winter requirements were met. Thank you!!

Tsabana N - Mar 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Tsabana N
Family with young children

Nice place to stay at away from home.

Overall good place. My only problem was with ants in my child's room and in our toilet. I assume it is because of food spillages.

Skhumbuzo K - Mar 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Skhumbuzo K
With spouse/partner

It was enjoyable stay

My wife loved it!

Snenhlanhla X - Mar 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Snenhlanhla X
With spouse/partner

Wonderful

Our stay was fine, except for not having DStv in the rooms, but the place is great!

Bongumusa M - Feb 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bongumusa M
With spouse/partner

We had a pleasurable time in a safe and welcoming environment with great customer service

Gold reef place is in a great looking and safe area. The place overall is neat. We had fun and the staff treated us with a lot of respect.

Consolidated Store Holdings (pty) Ltd M - Feb 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Consolidated Store Holdings (pty) Ltd M
On business

Standard 3 star accommodation

Although the room did not have any air-con and the TV channels are limited, Gold Reef Place can be recommended as good 3-star accommodation.

Belinda O - Dec 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Belinda O
On business

Good

Pleasant stay. Friendly people.

Willem P - Nov 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Willem P
Family with teenagers

Enjoyed our time here

A wonderful place to stay, and spend time with the family.

Gerhard V - Jun 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerhard V
Individual traveler

It was nice to stay at Gold Reeef Place and the service was very good

I found the accommodation excellent and the service as well. Would recommend it to anyone.

Boitumelo M - Apr 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Boitumelo M
Family with young children

Wonderful,friendly and professional service

The service was excellent. The owner went out her way to accommodate my family (2 adults and 2 kids). Staying at Gold Reef Place was real value for money, as it is very close to most of the tourists attractions in both Johannesburg and Soweto.

Andre V - Jul 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre V
Family with young children

Of all the places we stay in this one was by far the best.

It was safe, clean, the owner was very helpful.

George M - Apr 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
George M
Family with young children

Thank you for the hospitatlity

I had a wonderful stay and hospitality and i enjoyed

Duncan S - Mar 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Duncan S
With friends

Good stay, friendly hostess.

It was quick and easy to check into our rooms. A key to the room and to the dining room was given as well as a remote for the gate. It was a good stay. Just the bin needs to be fixed. The night light outside could be adjusted a little lower as it was super bright when trying to sleep.

From R720
per night (sleeps 2)
From R720
per night (sleeps 2)
From R720
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 22 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 12 Malcolm Avenue, Southdale, Johannesburg, 2135, Gauteng
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGZjYjNmZGRlLWNiZTAtNDc0Zi1iY2E3LWRmNDBhYjY0YTk4Mg?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R720  per night (sleeps 2) 35 5 1 5 12 Malcolm Avenue Southdale 2135 Gauteng 0860 022 102 14:00-20:00 10:00 -26.239388046791 28.022797107697
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!