The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Gypsy Guest House Clarens | TravelGround
+47

Gypsy Guest House Clarens

28 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5from 28 reviews for Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
4.9/5
Location
4.8/5
Safety
4.7/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Christa R - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Christa R
With spouse/partner

Pragtig, gemaklik, ontspanne, vriendelik.

Heerlik ontspanne atmosfeer. Gemaklik en vriendelik ontvang.

Sandra F - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sandra F
With spouse/partner

Absolutely loved it.

We really loved our stay at Gypsy. Our room was simply gorgeous and I marveled at the detail and use of color at the guest house. Sandy was attentive, friendly and helpful. The garden is gorgeous and the Gypsy wagons looked simply divine. It was a treat to encounter such lovely service and creativity. I wished that we could stay longer. We were very comfortable.

Faan F - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Faan F
With spouse/partner

Ons is vriendelik ontvang.

Die kamer was baie netjies met alles wat ons vir die twee dae nodig gehad het.

Buddy D - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Buddy D
With spouse/partner

Besonders op alle gebiede!

Het baie welkom gevoel, veral die vars geplukte blomme in die eenheid. Alles was met sorg gedoen. Dankie Sandy en Jana.

Wilmie K - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Wilmie K
With spouse/partner

Aangename mense wat ons verblyf baie aangenaam gemaak het.

Ons het baie lekker gekuier in baie netjiese kamers.

Peter V - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Peter V
With spouse/partner

Heerlike, rustige atmosfeer en stapafstand van die middedorp van Clarens.

Baie vriendelike ontvangs. Die verblyf was alles wat ons verwag het en meer. Sal hulle ten sterkste aanbeveel.

Annamart A - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Annamart A
With spouse/partner

Rustig en ongekompliseerd.

Waardeer die feit dat hulle ons ook voor die tyd gekontak het om ons welkom te heet en rigting aanwysings te gee. Jana het ons daar ontmoet en rondgewys. Het ook vir ons 'n draagbare braai by ons huisie beskikbaar gestel. Het Sandy, die eienares, die oggend van ons vertrek ontmoet. Werklik gawe mense En sal weer daar gaan bly.

Marli J - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Marli J

Anderse maar besonderse ervaring.

Sandy en haar span kry dit reg om Clarens se kunssinnige atmosfeer uniek vas te vang in die andersheid van die Gypsy gastehuis.

Carmen J - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carmen J
With spouse/partner

Great!

Will recommend gypsy Guest House to anyone! The room was very neat and spacious. There is alot of effort put into everything. Sandy is an absolute sweetheart, she made us feel very welcomed.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Hi,
Thank you for the wonderful review.
It was a pleasure to host you.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Riette B - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Riette B
With spouse/partner

Uniek! Vriendelik en baie aangenaam.

Ons het van die eerste oomblik wat ons die webblad gesien het, geweet heirdie gaan 'n avontuur wees. Sandy is 'n wonderlike gasvrou en sy het elke oomblik vir ons gemaklik en spesiaal gemaak.

Annette H - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Annette H
With friends

Great weekend away in a tranquil setting.

We loved Gypsy guest house. It was a perfect walking distance away from Clarens square. Great setting for a fun yet relaxing weekend.

Peter M - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Peter M
Family with teenagers

Interesting setting in a small town with lovely views of the mountains.

As the town is small everything is within walking distance. The stay suited our needs for the one night but would be ideal for longer stays.

Detlev H - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Detlev H
With spouse/partner

Excellent, will visit them again!

Clean and friendly!

Louise V - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Louise V
With spouse/partner

Comfortable and magical!

An exceptional experience. Wonderful, helpful staff.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gerieflik en magical!

'n Uitsondelike ondervinding. Wonderlike, behulpsame personeel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Colla R - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Colla R
Family with teenagers

Fabulous.

Baie vriendelik, mooi huisie, lekker gebly daar! Sal definitief altyd by die Gypsy Guest House bly as ons Clarens toe gaan.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Hi Colla,
Thank you for the fabulous review.
We appreciate and glad you enjoyed your stay!
Regards,
Sandy

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Adri S - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Adri S
With spouse/partner

Ons het baie lekker gebly!

Die Gypsy Guest House is baie veilig, in 'n natuurskone omgewing en die rustigheid daar laat jou gemaklik ontspan. Dit was goed vir my hart en siel!

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Hi Adri,
Thank you for review. So glad that is was good for your heart and soul. That is an awesome compliment to us, as that is what we want our guests to feel!
Regards,
Sandy

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Anika V - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anika V

What a magical place and experience!

What a lovely and magical experience! I would gladly visit Clarens again just to stay at the Gypsy Guest House. Beautiful rooms, lovely gardens and absolutely excellent service. Highly recommended! Thank you so much Sandy. And thank you Henry for the wonderful experience.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

That is such a lovely review, thank you Anika.
It is such a pleasure and so glad you had such a magical experience!
Our goal achieved.
Regards,
Sandy and Henry

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Hetta V - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hetta V
With spouse/partner

Wonderful, mystical with good service and accommodation.

The best service ever. The quality is the best and the additional services that is presented is top shelf. Sandy, you have something special to present to clients, a job that is well done. Good luck with your gypsy wagons, people will enjoy them. Thank you again for the dinner arrangement, we enjoyed it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Wonderlik, mystical met baie goeie diens en verblyf.

Die beste diens ooit. Kwaliteit van die beste en die addisionele dienste wat gebied word is uit die boonste rakke. Sandy, jy het iets spesiaals om jou kliënte te bied, 'n werk wat goed gedoen is. Sterkte met jou gypsywaens, mense gaan hulle geniet. Nogmaals dankie vir die aandete-reëlings, ons het dit geniet.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Wow, thank you Hetta!
I am so grateful and so encouraged by your review.
Thank you so much.
Regards,
Sandy

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Leonie C - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leonie C
With friends

Awesomeness.

What a jewel of a place. Nice and quiet and clean. Wonderful staff. Even washed our car! I would definitely recommend the Gypsy Guesthouse.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Awesomeness.

Wat 'n juweel van 'n plek. Lekker rustig en skoon. Wonderlike staf. Het selfs ons kar ook gewas! Beslis sal ek die Gypsy Guesthouse aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Hi Leonie,
Thanks for the great review. We appreciate it hugely!

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Nidia P - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nidia P
With spouse/partner

Super guesthouse!

Gypsy Guest House in Clarens was the perfect place for me to get away with my husband on our wedding anniversary. It was peaceful en an absolute lovely place. My husband and I would definitely make use of Gypsy Guest House again and will bring along more people next time. Thank you Henry and Sandy!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Oortreffende gastehuis!

Gypsy Guest House in Clarens was die perfekte plek vir 'n wegbreek naweek saam met my man vir ons huweliksherdenking. Dit was heerlik rustig en 'n absolute pragtige plekkie. Ek en my man sal beslis weer gebruik maak van Gypsy Guest House en sal volgende keer sommer 'n paar mense saam vat. Baie Dankie Henry en Sandy!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Hi Nidia,
So glad you had such a great time. Thank you for the excellent review. We appreciate it. :)

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Karlien L - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Karlien L
With friends

Vriendelik, eklekties.

Vriendelike diens, oulike dekor en heerlike kuier, ontdek tuin.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Hi Karlien,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it!

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Christa F - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christa F
With friends

Hou jy van juweelkleure?

Pragtige gekleurde mure, ongewone ou kandelare, 'n deur na die tuin toe en 'n baie vriendelike, professionele eienares, maak die verblyf by Gypsy Gastehuis 'n moet vir enige reisiger. Alles wat moet werk, werk goed en ons is 'n kortpad aangebied na ons kamer as gevolg van my mede-reisiger wat moeilik loop. Ons het nou ons blyplek in Clarens gevind en kan nie wag vir 'n volgende besoek nie.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Hi Christa, thank you for the wonderful review!

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Elsabé V - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Elsabé V
With spouse/partner

Baie gerieflik, netjies en kreatiewe binneversiering.

Welkome ontvangs deur gasvrou. Dankie vir heerlike beskuitjies, koffie, tee, melk en suiker wat uitgesit was. Baie goeie tarief.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Hi Elsabé, thank you for the great review!

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Ina V - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ina V
With spouse/partner

Kan nie wag om die pkek klaar te sien nie.

Weet hulle is besig met renovations, maar dit was baie rustig, aangenaam. Sal weer kom kuier.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Hi Ina,
Thank you for the great rating. We are busy installing the new kitchen and updating the one bathroom now, in the unit that you stayed in. It will be ready for guests again soon.
We also can't wait for the lawn to grow back after building, so we are putting down instant lawn this week. Always exciting developments at our place!
We look forward to having you back.
Regards
Sandy and team of Gypsy Guest House

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Talita D - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Talita D
With spouse/partner

Gypsy magic!

Hoewel ons net een aand hier oorgeslaap het was ons veral beïndruk met die gasvryheid en vriendelike verwelkoming deur Henry. Ons eenheid was gerieflik en skoon met heerlike beddegoed. Vol vrolike juweelkleure! Ons kan nie wag om terug te keer en langer tyd hier deur te bring nie. Baie dankie Sandy en span, julle is besig om 'n wonderlike, magiese plek te ontwikkel!

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Liewe Talita,
Baie dankie vir u bemoedigende resensie. Ons kyk woord om vir julle terug te hê en meer van ons wonderlikke Clarens to wys.
Groete,
Sandy
Gypsy Guest House.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Onica G - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Onica G
With friends

Stil en rustig.

Die verblyf was heerlik. Beddegoed en handdoeke en matte was sag en skoon. Maak net seker dat kombuis en leefarea ingesluit is by die bespreking, blykbaar was dit 'n "added bonus" toe ons daar aankom. Die ligging is fantasties, naby aan alles, tog rustig en baie stil. Ons vermoed daar is bietjie van 'n probleem met die toilette, daar is snags 'n erge stank. Overall baie lekker gebly en sal weer teruggaan. Dankie Sandy en Henry.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Hi Onica,
Thank you for your review. Reviews help us grow our business, so we always appreciate the feed back.
I think there was a misunderstanding regarding the kitchen. Scratch patch unit, as the name implies, is still to reveal its true gem colours. (hence the lower rate compared to our other units) an exciting, total renovation is due early next year.
As this unit is self catering, the kitchen will always be included.
The layout of the unit is going to change completely, and the lounge will not be as big as it is now, so perhaps that is what was meant "enjoy the large lounge - as it wont be like this after the renovation.". The kitchenette and bathrooms are also going to be completely redone. We guarantee that you wont recognise the place when we are finished. (see out Facebook page for other before and after pics of the rest of the house)
As for the toilets, we apologise profusely. If we had known - we would have arranged a plumber to sort it out during your stay.
The toilets and plumbing were fixed after your departure.
So glad you enjoyed the stay, and we look forward to having you back.
Regards,
Gypsy Guest House Clarens.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Ryno C - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Ryno C
With friends

Value for money!

Excellent value for money! The units were renovated recently and it's fantastic. It is new owners who works very hard to upgrade everything. The last few units should also be done soon. Very friendly and hospitable. We will definitely be back again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Waarde vir geld!

Uitstekende waarde vir geld! Die eenhede wat onlangs oorgedoen is, is fantasties. Dit is nuwe eienaars wat baie hard werk om alles op te gradeer. Laaste paar eenhede behoort ook binnekort klaar te wees. Baie vriendelik en gasvry. Ons sal definitief binnekort weer terug wees!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Good day Ryno,

Thank you for your awesome review!
We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Regards,
Gypsy Guest House Clarens

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
Chris W - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Chris W
Family with young children

Very relaxing, but upgrade still in progress.

We stayed in the 3-bedroom unit. It's not upgraded yet like the other units. Didn't have a sink for dishes. When it's done it would be a great stay.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie potensiaal, maar moet klaar opgradeer word.

Eenheid waarin ons gebly het was die drieslaapkamer-eenheid. Dis nog nie opgegradeer soos die ander kamers nie. Het nie 'n opwasbak gehad vir skottelgoed nie. Indien dit klaar is, sal dit seer sekerlik baie lekker gewees het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gypsy Guest House Clarens's response

Hi Chris,
Thank you for your input, as a new venue we really appreciate your feedback.
Thank you for rating our customer service so high, as this is something that is really important to us.
On our listing it does say that it is a makeshift temporary kitchen, which is serviced, so no need to do your own dishes.
I will change the listing details to make this more clear to future guests.
Best Regards,
Gypsy Guest House

Gypsy Guest House Clarens
From R799
per night (sleeps 2)
From R799
per night (sleeps 2)
From R799
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 6 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 101 Malherbe Street, Clarens, 9707, Free State
  • No children under 10
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA0iHYKLqtD9RMRLRaOw20xsBUhelhVrpqhgB5agfCbBqUAkE5H9?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R799  per night (sleeps 2) 28 5 1 5 101 Malherbe Street Clarens 9707 Free State 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -28.518693821544 28.415597262566
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!