The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Hill Billy Cottages | TravelGround
+14

Hill Billy Cottages

37 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 37 reviews for Hill Billy Cottages
Cleanliness
4.5/5
Service
4.6/5
Location
4.6/5
Safety
4.5/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Erika B - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Erika B
Family with teenagers

Heerlik, rustig stil en veilig.

Ongelooflike uitsig en baie om te doen in die area.

Hill Billy Cottages's response

Baie dankie Erika.

Hill Billy Cottages
Pieter R - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter R
With spouse/partner

Ongelooflike ervaring.

Baie netjiese plek met alles wat benodig word.Hilda is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam, die hout was oorgenoeg om te braai en die uitsig op die berg is ongelooflik mooi. Spesiale naweek.

Hill Billy Cottages's response

Hi Pieter, Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.

Hill Billy Cottages
Spencer E - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Spencer E
With spouse/partner

Lovely owners, comfortable accommodation, has all you need.

Depending on your cottage you have different views, not all units see the mountains. Nicely equipped, comfortable accommodation on a working farm. Full DStv a bonus as here is little to no night-life.

Hill Billy Cottages's response

Thank you for the nice review, we try our best.

Hill Billy Cottages
Nick G - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Nick G
With spouse/partner

Gelukkig het ons net 2 aande daar geslaap!

Op die oog af het dit nie te sleg gelyk nie, maar glad nie soos op die foto nie. Plek was vol spinnerakke en spinnekoppe. Ons het 'n hele blik Doom uitgespuit. Die plek het nie skoonmaakpersoneel nie. Ons moes eie bed opmaak, uitvee en skottelgoed was. Die braai was skoon toe ons daar aankom maar dit is glad nie die volgende dag skoongemaak nie. Nie R1000 'n nag werd nie. Die hek moes ons oopskuif en dan gesukkel om dit toe te sluit. Dit lyk of daar elektriese heining om die plek is maar daar was geen krag op die heining nie.

Hill Billy Cottages's response

Hi Nick, Im sad you didn't say something to me while you were here. I don't advertise that units are serviced. Just so you know fence has been repaired and so has the gate. I do supply a dishwasher and tablets.I apologise about the braai, that is my mistake.

Hill Billy Cottages
Gail H - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Gail H
With spouse/partner

We'll be back!

Warm and cosy with all we needed for a stress-free break. Fireplace in July greatly appreciated! We'll be back to try the new place. Thanks, Hilda, for your friendly caring, but we never got to meet the friendly bloke on the tractor who gave us a wave in the mornings! Perhaps next time?

Gerhard V - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Gerhard V
With spouse/partner

Pragtige omgewing en uitsig.

Die chalet het alles wat jy nodig het. Daar was egter nie hout vir die stofie beskikbaar nie en die dubbelbed was onmoontlik om op te slaap. Onderhoud aan die plek is bietjie agterstallig.

Lerato M - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lerato M
With friends

Picturesque location, neat and safe cottage.

Picturesque location, neat and safe cottage however, we found it unacceptable when the owner asked us to leave at 9:30 the afternoon prior our departure because there were other guests arriving on the day. That did not sit well with any of us as we felt that our being there was now an inconvenience and we should make way for new guests, new money.

Hill Billy Cottages's response

If I don't have a swop over, the guests may spend the day. Check-out time is 10 am.

Hill Billy Cottages
Johan M - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan M
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker.

Baie lekker met baie lekker gaste.

Jess D - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jess D
With friends

Absolutely perfect!

What a lovely little house situated in the heart of the Drakensberg, this little place is central to everywhere you want to go. So peaceful with no hassle.

Ian G - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ian G
With spouse/partner

Peaceful and relaxing.

Excellent value and fully equipped for a longer stay getaway.

Angela V - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Angela V
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik geleë en besonderse mooi uitsig.

Van die oomblik wat ons daar gekom het, het ons welkom gevoel. Die plekkie is volledig toegerus en ons kon werklik net geniet wat daar te bied was. Pragtige uitsig op die berge en plekkie sentraal geleë.

Debbie B - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Debbie B
With spouse/partner

Baie ontspannende plekkie.

Geen klagtes nie. Wonderlikke kliëntediens en vriendelikheid.

Frederick C - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Frederick C
With spouse/partner

Great stay at Hill Billy Cottages.

We went down to Champagne Valley for a wedding and stayed at Hill Billy's just for one night. The stay was lovely. I queried beforehand if we might check in earlier than the check in time and the owner was very helpful and replied quickly asking that we just call when we arrive. They were very friendly and welcomed us to the area with open arms. Disappointed that we could only stay for one night, would definitely return.

Hill Billy Cottages's response

Thank you for staying with us, it was lovely meeting you.

Hill Billy Cottages
Anelle H - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Anelle H
With spouse/partner

Wonderful, cosy accommodation. Made us feel totally relaxed.

We enjoyed our stay at Hill Billy Cottage. Really cosy. Has everything you need. Location great. Hilda very friendly and helpful.

Alma M - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alma M
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig en gasvry. Goeie ligging.

Hilda en William is baie vriendelik en gasvry. Ons het soos familie gevoel. Die omgewing is pragtig en rustig. Die verblyf was lekker ruim en gerieflik. Sal graag weer teruggaan.

Devanathan N - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Devanathan N
Family with teenagers

A very neat, tidy and comfortable cottage of your own in tranquil and safe surroundings.

A fenced free standing cottage with covered parking and automated gate was great to have, made us feel safe so as to enjoy the tranquillity of this farming environment. A well maintained and well furbished interior with all of its provisions made for a good and comfortable living. The literature and pamphlets provided on the dining table makes for an informant Champagne Valley. Unfortunately we could not visit all that was on offer due to timing as certain places closed earlier and some closed all together as it was the weekend. A meet, greet and little chat with Hilda brought out the friendliness of a good host. Great, enjoyed our short stay as it was a stopover on our road trip to Mpumalanga and elsewhere. Will recommend this cottage. Just a thought: Maybe Hill Billy could look at lighting up the signage area at the roadside entrance way and a little sign on the left a few meters before the entrance, taking the terrain and situation into account. Thanks!

Alan T - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alan T
With spouse/partner

Hillbilly Cottages is well positioned to most if not all attractions within the Champagne Valley.

Our host was friendly and very helpful during our 4 night stay. We will make use of this accommodation on future visits to the area. Hilda and her spouse Bill were friendly and accommodating and provided useful information about the area.

Nolene A - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Nolene A
Family with young children

Pragtige omgewing! Kinders kon heerlik in die buitelug speel.

Hilda is baie vriendelik en gasvry. Ons het heerlik gebly en lekker gerus. Beddens en banke so bietjie hard. Plek was netjies en skoon.

John L - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
John L
Individual traveler

Value for money and fantastic kitchen.

Outside sign near road could be better as almost missed - tree growing in front of it. It is a bit dated and rustic but for the price you pay it is very good value for money. Fantastic kitchen with big fridge all the equipment you need. Beautiful fire place for winter. For the price I would certainly use it again. Suggestion when the wind is blowing the tree branches scrape across the tin roof. Suggest that should be cut back. Close to major hotels and to Winteron.

Hill Billy Cottages's response

Hi John, Thank you for the constructive criticism. As you left I had a gentleman arrive to give me a quote to upgrade the unit. My son and I will be cutting the trees shortly so the grass can grow too. Hopefully when you come again it will look different. Regards, Hilda

Hill Billy Cottages
Frans R - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Frans R
With spouse/partner

Onder standaard akkommodasie.

Skoon selfsorg-eenheid, maar geleë op 'n plasie/plot waarvan aktiwiteite sigbaar is. Kon nie behoorlike stort neem nie want waterdruk het opgeraak. Op TV is net free to air kanale beskikbaar en dekodeerder het gevries. Elektriese bekabeling voldoen nie aan statutêre vereistes nie o.a. 220 volt kabels wat met “chocolate blocks” geheg word. Veiligheidsdeur kan nie behoorlik toemaak nie.

Welma L - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Welma L
Family with young children

Ons het lekker gebly. Vriendelike ervaring.

Sien sterre.

Mada R - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mada R
With friends

Wonderful and pure farm.

Lots of appreciation for the hostess and her family, the environment and so much rain!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Wonderlik en pure plaas.

Groot waardering vir die gasvrou en haar gesin, die omgewing en boonop oorvloedige reën!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Adriaan J - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Adriaan J
With spouse/partner

Not on standard.

Bugs in the bed. Noisy. Was a very unpleasant experience.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Nie op standaard.

Goggas in bed. Lawaaierig. Baie onaangename ervaring gewees.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Yvette S - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yvette S
With spouse/partner

Clean and comfortable - ideal for our short visit to the mountain.

Always clean and comfortable. Friendly hosts welcome you. Ideally located in the heart of the Drakensberg Mountains.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Skoon en gemaklik. Ideaal vir ons kort besoek aan die berg.

Hillbilly Cottages is altyd skoon en gemaklik. Vriendelike gashere verwelkom jou. Ideaal geleë in die hartjie van die Drakensberg.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Yvette S - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yvette S
Family with teenagers

Ideaal geleë, skoon en gemaklik.

Die ontvangs by Hillbilly was vriendelik, ons is verwelkom met gemaklike verblyf, 'n groot glimlag en 'n warm vuur. Die plek is in die hartjie van die vallei, na aan al die fasiliteite. Dit is is ideale plek vir 'n lekker naweek weg! O, en hulde verkoop heerlike vars groente op die plaas!

Hill Billy Cottages's response

Baie dankie Yvette.

Hill Billy Cottages
Sharyn W - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Sharyn W
With friends

Super staying on a farm, but it should be mentioned in the write-up.

A little problem with leaking due to heavy rains, but it can easily be resolved. But we didn't get the cottage advertised - don't know where that was/is?

Hill Billy Cottages's response

Hi Sharyn,
The roof has been repaired and I'm sorry it leaked. We just painted it and that was the first rain since.
The A-frame is next to the swimming pool, as far as I can recall you asked for unit 1 and unit 3.
The A-frame has stairs and sleeps 6.
It was lovely meeting you and I hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise.
Regards,
Hilda.

Hill Billy Cottages
Henry D - Jul 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Henry D
With spouse/partner

Heerlik gekuier en gerus!

Dit was 'n heerlike, rustige naweek. Baie geniet. Chalet silwerskoon en met alle nodige geriewe. Sal dit aanbeveel.

Diane M - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Diane M

Fabulous location and suited our group.

Cottages had so much character with everything we needed and close to many amenities. Hilda and William lovely helpful people. A definite recommendation.

Sharon B - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sharon B
With spouse/partner

A convenient and cosy place to stay with very helpful and friendly hosts.

This is a very cosy cottage with all the amenities including a braai and full security fence with lockable gate. There is undercover parking for the car. Lovely garden with trees. The hosts, William and Hilda, were very attentive. They gave us a gas cooker and numerous portable lamps to cope with the load shedding. Highly recommended!

Lianne M - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lianne M
With friends

Warm and friendly with spectacular scenery.

The accommodation is warm and comfortable with everything you need and the hosts are most accommodating and very friendly.

Izak V - Mar 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Izak V
With spouse/partner

Absoluut ongelooflik en fantasties!

Hilda is 'n baie aangename gasvrou en die kothuis is 'n oase. As jy op die stoep sit het jy die mooiste uitsig op die berg, die voëllewe is onbeskryflik: valke, duiwe, suikerbekkies, swaeltjies en die hoep-hoep loop op die stoep voor jou verby. Dit was ongelooflik, gaan beslis weer terugkom en sal dit aanbeveel vir enige iemand wat wil wegkom van die stadsgewoel. Daar is die heerlikste restaurante om by te eet aan beide kante van die kothuis.

Lindie L - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lindie L
With spouse/partner

Asemrowend en ons het heerlik gebly!

Skoon, pragtig, lieflik, asemrowend. Hilda is so gaaf en vriendelik. Kan dit vir seker aanbeveel!

Peter P - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Peter P
With spouse/partner

Thank you, lovely place

We really enjoyed it, a lovely and quiet place! Thanks so much!

Darryl C - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Darryl C
With spouse/partner

Stunning little cottages with EVERYTHING you need..

Excellent place to stay. We attended a wedding & could only stay for 1 night. We both loved the place, so scenic & green & cottage is perfect for two. Didn't want to get up the next morning as the bed was so soft & comfy. Clean, very friendly service from Hilda. Very impressed and will definitely go back!

Natanya R - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Natanya R

Outstanding!

Amazing, scenic, tranquil ...

Derek S - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Derek S

Excellent facilities, astounding hosts

Warm and cozy in the middle of winter. The hosts was outstanding opening their house for me when I wanted to watch the British Formula 1 GP as I forgot my simcard at home. Their friendliness and concern made me well part of the family. Highly recommended

Francois E - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Francois E
With spouse/partner

Skoon, gerieflik, gemaklik en toeganklik. Gaan weer hier bly ...

Skoon, gerieflik, gemaklik en toeganklik. Tot skottelgoedwasser in plek ...

From R800
per night (for 2 people)
From R800
per night (for 2 people)
From R800
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 12 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Weltevreden, R600, Champagne Valley,, 3340, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDM5ZDRmOGJhLTEyNmItNDk1Zi1iNDMzLTYzYzczMzBmMmY3NQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R800  per night (for 2 people) 37 5 1 5 Weltevreden R600 3340 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-18:00 10:00 -29.005492543666 29.45644393781
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!