The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Ironstone Cottage | TravelGround
+12

Ironstone Cottage

21 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 21 reviews for Ironstone Cottage
Cleanliness
4.7/5
Service
4.6/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Oscar B - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Oscar B
With spouse/partner

Lekker rustig en netjies. Alles wat mens wil hê.

Die eetgerei het bietjie aandag nodig.

Willem H - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Willem H
With spouse/partner

Karoostilte en natuurskoon op pad tussen Kaap en Gauteng.

Eenvoudige plaashuisie, smaakvol en outentiek gemeubileer, ‘n oase laatmiddag na 'n lang pad vanaf Bredasdorp op pad na Pretoria. Daar is 'n paar kilometer grondpad op pad soontoe en 'n effens hoër voertuig is nodig om die huisie te bereik. Baie skoon, lekker beddens en beddegoed. Selfsorg, voldoende toegerus vir kosmaak of braai. Ons twee Schnauzers het die vryheid baie geniet. Die tydelike swembad was heerlik om in af te koel. Ons sal graag weer hier oornag. Veral in hierdie tyd van Covid is daar geen blootstelling aan ander mense nie.

Ryan H - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ryan H
With spouse/partner

A great place to stop overnight!

Unfortunately the gravel road leading to the farm had just been graded and the sharp slate rock slit one of our tyre; however, the owner (Nilene) was very kind and went out of her way to ensure that we got a spare tyre at Tyre Mart the following morning. Thank you! Nevertheless we had a very pleasant overnight stay at Ironstone Cottage while travelling down to the coast. The unit is spacious and cosy, with a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains!

Tanja H - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tanja H
Family with teenagers

'n Egte Karoo kothuis met koloniale geur en pragtige uitsig.

Die kombuisie is goed toegerus en die beddens het lekker geslaap. 'n Rustige, stil atmosfeer met uitsig oor die Karoo. Die aanwysings na die huisie was baie duidelik en ons kon alles maklik vind. Kan dit aanbeveel.

Thia B - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thia B
With friends

Net wat nodig was.

Baie karakter, met alles wat mens nodig het vir 'n nag se oorslaap - die plonspoel was die kersie op die koek.

Joanne P - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Joanne P
Family with teenagers

Amazing stay in a wonderful cottage.

Ironstone cottage was an awesome find. I have already recommended it to a few people and I will definitely stay there again. I loved it. The views are spectacular! Stunning stars, great amenities and a very comfy bed.

Lindy S - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Lindy S
With friends

We had a lovely time and enjoyed staying in the Karoo and on the farm.

We really enjoyed our time there - one bathroom was a bit of a struggle and the Wi-Fi would not work, but otherwise very enjoyable. The bathrooms were beautifully done.

Melissa V - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Melissa V
With spouse/partner

Peaceful.

Peaceful and lovely cottage.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustig.

Rustige, lieflike kothuis.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Julia J - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Julia J
With spouse/partner

Very comfortable self-catering unit - need high-clearance vehicle to access the property.

Lovely, homely self-catering cottage that has every required to enjoy a farm stay.

Lizél D - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lizél D
Family with young children

Beautiful little Karoo house!

We really enjoyed our time at Molweni cottage. The beds and bedding are great quality and the little house is tastefully furnished. The swimming pool is a great treat after our long trip on a really hot day. We will be back!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Pragtige klein huisie in die Karoo!

Ons het dit vreeslik geniet by Molweni kothuis. Die beddens en beddegoed is van uitstaande gehalte en die huisie is smaakvol gemeubileer. Die swembadjie was 'n heerlike lafenis na ons lang reis op 'n besonderse warm dag. Ons sal vir seker weer teruggaan!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Liné G - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Liné G

Lekker plaasgevoel met mooi natuur.

Netjies, baie goeie deurlopende kommunikasie en hulp van bestuurder/eienaar. Plaasatmosfeer. Baie mooi plek vir fotograwe, stil en rustig. Dankie vir 'n lekker nag se rus.

Reinhold D - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Reinhold D
With spouse/partner

A wonderful place in the nature.

We spend three wonderful days in the cottage. Well equipped and absolutely clean. The garden, the fireplace and braai facilities are a dream.

Alfreda B - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Alfreda B
With friends

Not value for money.

A bit pricey for what it has to offer. Needs a few improvements.

Tanya D - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Tanya D
With spouse/partner

Heerlike plaasnostalgie.

Nostalgiese plaasgevoel, lekker privaat. Kwaliteitlinne het gesorg vir 'n heerlike nagrus. Aandag aan kleinere detail en afronding kan aanbeveel word. Vir seker 'n plekkie vir iemand wat 'n bietjie wil wegkom van 'n besige lewenstyl.

Kim A - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kim A
With spouse/partner

An absolute delight, with percale linen, this is excellent value for money and highly recommended.

Picture percale linen, fluffy towels, jugs overflowing with lavender, bookshelves filled to the brim and a cottage with a magnificent view. Molweni Cottage is an absolute delight. Highly recommended. Excellent value for money. We look forward to our next stay. Thank you.

Susannah V - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Susannah V
Family with young children

Very pleasant stay. Thank you.

Easy to book and very good communication. A very pleasant overnight stay.

Michelle P - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Michelle P
Family with young children

Gives you a nice farm atmosphere!

We enjoyed the stay. Was clean and neat. You get a real farm house atmosphere. Everything you need is there.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gee vir mens die lekker plaas-effek!

Ons het lekker gebly. Was baie skoon en netjies gewees. Regte plaashuis-effek wat mens kry. Daar is redelik alles wat mens nodig het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Elmarie E - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elmarie E
Family with teenagers

Relaxing farm atmosphere.

Food for the soul in the Karoo. Bring a lot of wood for the nice outside braai area.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustige plaasatmosfeer.

Sielskos in die Karoo. Bring baie hout vir die pragtige buite-braaiput.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Colette T - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Colette T
Family with young children

Quiet and peaceful stay just perfect for a long day on the road.

We really rested well here. Not too far from Graaff-Reinet. Will definitely stay here again on the way to Cape Town. Stunning, quiet and tranquil. Karoo tranquility at its best.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Stil en rustige blyplek net reg na 'n lang dag op die pad.

Ongelooflik lekker gerus hier. Nie te ver van Graaff-Reinet. Sal verseker weer hier gaan bly op pad Kaap toe. Pragtig, stil en rustig. Karoo stilte op sy beste.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Hennie V - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Hennie V
With friends

Not bad but would not stay there again.

There were too many shortcomings which I already gave feedback to the owner.

Ironstone Cottage's response

I am sorry you felt it necessary to leave a negative review, in view of the 'too many shortcomings' listed below, especially after I reduced my price at your request because you were pensioners as well as accommodating you for a last minute change in dates at no further charge. Further to this I then spent my time and airtime getting you further accommodation when you needed rooms for another last minute decision of your own and finally, when a member of your party lost a ring I spent the morning driving to and from the two cottages to search for this ring. How you can rate the location as one when you specifically chose to stay in a farm cottage seems very curious.

With reference to your 'shortcomings'/'feedback':

1. The gas stove running out. If you had called me immediately, instead of merely sending me an email, I could have told you there was a full gas cylinder waiting for just such an emergency on the cottage verandah, and would have sent someone to change it for you. I apologise, in any event, for any inconvenience this may have caused.

2. No microwave or electric blankets - neither are listed in our inventory specifically because we have chosen not to have them, thus you have no reason to expect them. The cottage has a fireplace, is well insulated and has feather and down duvets.

3. No wood or ice - I do not understand this complaint - when I received your complaint and checked in the cottage in the morning - the bundle of wood that I had personally left beside the fireplace was used up and there was ash and burnt logs in the fireplace, and there were two ice trays full of ice in the freezer!

4. The security door not opening easily - as with a lot of security doors, on occasion one has to merely 'jiggle' the door slightly to release the pin.

5. Shower door not opening easily - thank you for bringing this to our attention as it is now fixed.

Ironstone Cottage
Sandra J - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sandra J

A beautiful, Olive Schreiner "Story of an African Farm" type of place.

Thank you to Nilene for prompt and helpful advice.

From R1 400
per night (for 4 people)
From R1 400
per night (for 4 people)
From R1 400
per night (for 4 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 4 people
  • Check-in: 15:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 09:00
  • Address: Broederstroom Farm, Erasmuskloof, Graaff-Reinet, 6280, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAU3Cdj4V3GMSWXCYVH9DlKTfA2QIUOMkmVELDQtZT3cxnUIrq4p?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 400  per night (for 4 people) 21 5 1 5 Broederstroom Farm Erasmuskloof 6280 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 15:00-19:00 09:00 -32.225272728497 24.604911804199
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!