The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Korundum Lodge | TravelGround
+31

Korundum Lodge

Lodge

Review Summary

3 out of 5from 9 reviews for Korundum Lodge
Cleanliness
3.8/5
Service
2.9/5
Location
2.7/5
Safety
3.0/5
Value for money
2.7/5
Audrey R - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Audrey R
With friends

Our stay was nice and relaxing. The rooms are so clean, enjoyed our sleep.

The owner is friendly and it's a quiet place.

Bethany P - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Bethany P
On business

Enjoyed our stay and will come back.

We went to Dadaville on business. Enjoyed our stay and facilities. Will come back to Korundum Lodge on our next trip.

Gillian J - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Gillian J
Family with young children

Waldrift is horrible and the roads are terrible.

Wouldn't go to Waldrift again.

Cecile V - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Cecile V

Worst experience ever.

The lodge had a baby shower while we stayed there. There were no parking and the people made a noise till late at night. The room we slept in's tiles were loose and there were no towels. There weren't a shower either. The area made me feel very unsafe and the roads are in a bad state, you need a 4x4 to get by. I won't recommend this lodge to anyone.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Slegste ervaring nog.

Die Lodge het 'n ooievaars tee genooi terwyl ons daar gebly het. Daar was nie parkering vir ons nie en die mense het tot laat nag geraas. Die kamer waar ons geslaap het se teëls was los en daar was nie handdoeke nie. Daar was ook nie 'n stort nie. Die area het my baie onveilig laat voel en die paaie is in 'n baie slegte toestand, jy het n 4x4 nodig om daar uit te kom. Ek sal nie hierdie lodge vir enige iemand aanbeveel nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Anise V - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Anise V
With spouse/partner

Ook maar net probeer slaap tussen harde musiek in jou ore, nee wat!

Dis skoon en netjies, maar uiters swak woonbuurt met stortingsterrein reg langs die plek - nee - sal glad nie aanbeveel nie! Geraas tot laatnag met musiek! Glad nie eers daar ontbyt geëet nie - sommer vroeg gery om weg te kom.

C S V - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
C S V
On business

Neat and clean.

Breakfast could improve.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Netjies en skoon.

Ontbyt kan dalk verbeter.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mpoleleng M - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
2/5
Mpoleleng M
With friends

Worst accommodation experience.

My friends and I had the worst experience at Korundum Lodge. Firstly, we asked Nozi before coming to her lodge whether our rooms were the self-catering rooms and she said yes and when we got to the lodge and tried to use the kitchen she told us not to use her kitchen because our package isn't the self-catering one, even though we told her specifically that we want self-catering. Secondly, the pool is so small, she invited her family, relatives and their children and other guests to the lodge to use the pool and therefore the pool was overcrowded and we couldn't use the pool since these children used the pool and never gave us an opportunity to swim, and there was no way we could all fit in that pool. Thirdly, two people were sharing a room, they put two single beds together to make it seem like it was a queen size bed and covered the bed with sheets for a queen size bed and a duvet for a queen size bed, this caused us to not have a good sleeping experience at all as the beds would shift and the sheets would move. Another complaint, we asked if the package includes breakfast in the mornings, Nozi said it does but we were not given breakfast at all. Another complaint, some of the ceilings weren't in good condition in the rooms and the rooms were hot but only had fans which barely cooled the room down. The lodge says it's a three star lodge but it honestly doesn't deserve three stars at all, we weren't treated well at all. I would definitely not recommend this lodge to anyone. Korundum Lodge is more like a B&B than a lodge. Regards.

Korundum Lodge's response

Hi Mpoleleng

Thank you for your review. The concerns brought forward are noted and will definitely be addressed. We will make sure that there are no misunderstandings with our future guests. We thank you for highlighting all that you highlighted.

Korundum Lodge
Neo K - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Neo K

Definitely not what I expected, I would never go back.

What's advertised is different to the actual experience. The advert should be specific: individual rooms are not self-catering and meals are not included in the package. Also the lounge and TV area are not communal and situated in the main house. We could not enjoy the pool (very small one by the way), as family and friends were invited over by the owner and the children took up the entire outside area. Further, Korundum shouldn't be advertised as a lodge, it's more like a B&B (well, without the breakfast). Very disappointing!

Korundum Lodge's response

Hi Neo,

Thank you for the review, I would like to clarify the following points that you are raising:
1. The individual rooms are advertised as individual rooms and they are not advertised as self-catering units.
2. There is nowhere we advertised the TV room as communal, yes, it is in the main house. Every room has its own TV.
3. We have a 6m x 4m pool. It may not be that big but it's big enough for people who want to make use of it. Had you really wanted to make use of it, you should have indicated that I believe you would have been given a chance. The swimming pool is there for everyone who has booked at the lodge.
4. We advertise ourselves as a lodge because of the number of rooms that we have.
A B

Korundum Lodge
Jan E - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jan E
With spouse/partner

Het dit baie geniet.

Het baie lekker gebly en die eienaar is vriendelik en behulpsaam, hulle gee om vir hulle besoekers. Dis gerieflik as jy blyplek soek indien jy na 'n troue of funksie toe gaan vir een aand.

From R650
per night (for 2 people)
From R650
per night (for 2 people)
From R650
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 31 people
  • Check-in: 15:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 11:00
  • Address: 19 Korundum Avenue, Waldrift, Vereeniging, 1939, Gauteng
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGIxMGU3NmMxLWYyM2ItNDA4MC04NDJkLTYwZDMxMDk2YWRkZQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R650  per night (for 2 people) 9 5 1 3 19 Korundum Avenue Waldrift 1939 Gauteng 0860 022 102 15:00-19:00 11:00 -26.62241 27.947761
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!