The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House | TravelGround
+3

Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House

Guest House

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 36 reviews for Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.6/5
Location
4.7/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Leon M - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Leon M
With spouse/partner

Lovely stay.

Nice breakfast on quiet farm outside Franschhoek.

Patrick B - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Patrick B
With spouse/partner

We enjoyed our stay because it was so peaceful and relaxing.

We stayed in the Coach House which was a bit cold. It would have been nice to have had a log fire. We enjoyed the animals especially the brown pony who we fed with apples. I did not know his name as it wasn't in the information brochure. We will definitely come again.

Colleen S - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Colleen S
With spouse/partner

Clean and safe, nice for weekend stay.

See stars.

Marietjie H - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marietjie H
With spouse/partner

Fantastiese ou huis.

Baie lekker ontbyt. Pragtige huis met karaktervolle meubels.

Lucius K - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lucius K
With friends

Baie rustige verblyf.

Baie rustige plaasatmosfeer asook baie geskiedenis. Swembad was 'n wenner.

David S - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
David S
With spouse/partner

Landelik en gerieflik.

Die plek kan beter aangedui word van die R45 en kan net van een rigting af bereik word sonder om die geverfde eiland/sperstreep oor te steek. Maar dis regtig al kritiek.

Jilly B - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jilly B
With friends

Delightful venue and a very friendly welcome.

I would strongly recommend Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House.

Andre W - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre W
With spouse/partner

Wonderlike, groot kamer en mooi uitsig.

Dit is 'n baie lekker atmosfeer en rustige omgewing. Is baie spyt ek het net een nag hier bespreek. Sal definitief volgende keer langer bespreek. Ontbyt was baie lekker en gesellig. Dankie Peter vir jou vriendelikheid en vertroue in mense.

Nicole B - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nicole B
Family with young children

Had a nice breakaway for our little family after a busy weekend!

Very nice, thank you! Interesting to experience such an old house as it would be years ago.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker wegbreek vir ons klein gesinnetjie na 'n besige naweek!

Baie lekker, dankie! Interessant om so ou huis te beleef soos dit sou wees al die jare terug.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Sanet R - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sanet R
With spouse/partner

Verblyf was heerlik, uitgerus in die pragtige en stil natuur.

Sal Lekkerwijn hoogs aanbeveel, vriendelike diens, pragtige landelike omgewing.

Aletta M - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Aletta M
Family with teenagers

Peter was awesome and very helpful with all our requests. Thanks once again.

Awesome, historic, memorable, value for money.

Seymore J - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Seymore J
With spouse/partner

Disappointed.

After a fantastic few days in Paarl, Yzerfontein and lastly St. Helena Bay this was a big disappointment. Apart from good customer service and breakfast, the rest was extremely disappointing.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Teleurgesteld.

Na 'n fantastiese paar dae in die Paarl, Yzerfontein en laastens St Helenabaai was hierdie ongelukkig 'n groot teleurstelling. Buiten vir die goeie kliëntediens en ontbyt was die res maar uiters teleurstellend.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Heloise S - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Heloise S
Family with teenagers

Heerlik, rustig, net reg.

Dit was ‘n uiters aangename ervaring vir my maag, siel en sak. Die poue kan dalk minder raas, maar dit het my nie soveel gepla dat ek nie weer daar sal wil bly of iemand soontoe verwys nie. Pragtige opstal en prakties, dog mooi ingerig!

Alicea O - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Alicea O
With spouse/partner

Lekker en stil wegbreek in prag omgewing.

Ons het heel lekker gebly. As jy 'n diereliefhebber is, is daar genoeg "gesiggies" op die perseel wat besigtig kan word. Die stil, rustige atmosfeer met sy natuurskoon het ons van die woelige werkslewe laat vergeet. Die verblyf het historiese waarde met sy outydse meubels en groot vertrekke. Goeie diens en gasvry behandel.

Fiona H - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Fiona H
On business

Lovely accommodation. Very good service, friendly and accommodated an early breakfast for us with a smile.

Beautiful trees, beautiful house, home from home, friendly service.

Gerhard G - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gerhard G
With spouse/partner

Quiet, but close to popular places.

Very quiet and peaceful in a farm environment. Close the town but without traffic. Between the wine farms and Allee Blue. Fridge and microwave, but no other cooking facilities in the room we stayed in. A braai was provided though. There was also no TV but the WiFi worked well.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Stil, maar naby gewilde plekke.

Baie stil en rustig in 'n plaasomgewing. Naby die dorp, maar sonder die verkeer. Tussen die wynplase en langs Allee Blue. Yskas en mikrogolfoond maar nie ander kook geriewe in die kamer waar ons gebly het nie. Daar is wel 'n braai voorsien. Daar was ook nie 'n TV nie maar die WiFi het goed gewerk.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Willem V - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Willem V
With spouse/partner

Wonderful time capsule

We enjoyed our stay. We received a warm welcome, our accommodation was clean and surrounded with interesting archaic things. In the old farm house, it feels like staying with family.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Wonderlike tydskapsule om in weg te breek.

Ons het die tyd daar geniet. Die ontvangs was warm en eg, ons verblyf was netjies en gevul met ou-wêreldse interessanthede. Dis soos om te vertoef by familie in die ou plaashuis.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Carla P - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carla P
With spouse/partner

Lieflike ou huis met pragtige uitsig!

Pragtige geskiedkundige huis vol karakter, nonnetjie uile, Kaapse ooruile en ystervark raakgeloop.

Christiaan C - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christiaan C
With friends

Out of this world.

A wonderful experience! Beautiful old farmhouse.

Marcell C - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marcell C
Family with young children

We had an incredible long weekend here. Can't wait to go back. Thank you.

Excellent overall. Great service thank you Peter and Team. Spoilt the dad's for fathers day. Quality linen and beds, always appreciated when u go away, nice and warm cottage with heaters on already, attention to detail is all I can say!

Ignis J - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ignis J
With spouse/partner

Lekkerwijn is lekker.

Lekkerwijn with its old interesting history is one of the most beautiful Cape Dutch houses in the Western Cape. Located close to Franschhoek, Stellenbosch and Paarl. Peter and his staff are so enthusiastic about their guest house. Nothing was out of place. We stayed there for 2 days with our unmarried twenty something children. They also enjoyed the private, cosiness and comfortable atmosphere that Lekkerwijn gives to you. There is also a resident horse and a dog and a peacock. We stayed in the very private "Owl suite" in the main old house. There are many old furniture dated out of the 1700's still in the house. We had the most incredible Christmas lunch with 4 people from the United kingdom (See Jane H from Farnham UK review) 2 starters, 2 salads, 2 main courses, 2 deserts, sparkling wine and coffee. Excellent companions from the UK! Will I recommend Lekkerwijn? A 100% yes!

Louise B - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Louise B
With spouse/partner

Had fun watching the cricket on TV. Had a good night's sleep in a big bed!

Very friendly reception, but they couldn't help us in Afrikaans!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlik krieket gekyk op TV. Lekker geslaap in groot bed!

Baie vriendelik ontvang, maar kon nie in Afrikaans vir ons help nie!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Nadia S - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nadia S
With friends

Dit was 'n stukkie hemel op aarde. Die tyd het stil gestaan en gesorg vir baie lekker lag, kuier en rus.

Lekkerwijn Heritage Cottage is 'n tuiste wat iets vir almal bied. Die gasvryheid is wonderlik, die kultuur wat vasgelê is in die huis is net so lekker. Die kamers is ruim en word baie goed versorg. Die ontbyt was 'n treffer elke oggend met 'n groot verskeidenheid om van te kies. Die kuierareas bied iets vir almal. Die natuurskoon was 'n groot bederf. Ek sal graag weer van Lekkerwijn wil gebruik maak vir verblyf as die geleentheid homself voordoen.

Riaan M - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Riaan M
With spouse/partner

Basic.

Basic, neat room but needs finesse. The premises needs attention. Open septic tank welcomes you at the parking area.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Basies.

Die kamer was basies, netjies, maar kort finesse. Die perseel het aandag nodig, en is onnet. 'n Oop septiese tenk begroet jou by die parkeerarea.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House's response

Dear Riaan,
Thank you for your review.
The so-called septic tank is a grey water recycling tank we have installed.
As I explained to you that all the whitewashed walls under the oak trees get black marks on them during the rainy season and all gets painted in summer
Kind Regards
Peter

Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House
Milly R - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Milly R
Family with young children

Lovely old house with relaxed atmosphere.

Wonderfully warm welcome and hospitality, we were looked after by Peter and his staff very well. The house is beautiful and the farm is great for kids with all the animals. I would recommend they fix the fireplace in the dining area for guests in winter as it was 2 degrees in the morning and the breakfast room was freezing. Other than that it was lovely and relaxing. Thanks.

Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House's response

Dear Milly,
Thank you for your review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lekkerwijn.
It was cold on a few mornings - I have put in a heater in the dining room and it seems to be working well.
Kind Regards
Peter

Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House
Ryno B - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ryno B
With spouse/partner

Rustige en in 'n pragtige omgewing.

Die selfsorg-eenheid bied al die nodige geriewe vir 'n onvergeetlike, landelike verblyf-ervaring. Pragtige omgewing met 'n pragtige verblyf-opset. Die diere op die werf dra by tot die rustige landelike atmosfeer. Die verblyf is binne kort reis-afstand van al die beste kelders en wingerde om nie eers te praat van die pragtige Franschoek nie. Sal vir seker weer by Lekkerwijn tuisgaan en ook die plekkie aan vriende en familie bemark, deur LekkeSlaap natuurlik.

Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House's response

Dear Raino,
Thank you for your lovely review about Lekkerwijn Country House.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and Lekkerwijn and we hope to see you here again.
Vriendelike Groete
Peter

Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House
Thomas M - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
4/5
Thomas M
With spouse/partner

Netjies, maar kort aandag. Vriendelike bestuurder en hulp.

Netjies en skoon, maar die tuine en die tuinwoonstel kort aandag. 'n Hoogtepunt was die ontbyt, maar oor die algemeen kort Lekkerwijn 'n opgradering veral die tuine. Mens mis 'n gevoel van gemak en ontspanning wat mens op vakansie verwag.

Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House's response

Thank you for your review of Lekkerwijn Country House.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lekkerwijn as well as the breakfast.
As we have experienced the biggest drought for a long time it is very difficult to keep every part of the garden green crisp.
We select certain parts of the garden to water and the rest we keep it as natural as we can.
Our viewpoint is to save water and not waste it.
Your low rating on security is interesting as we have no security problems at all and hardly ever make use of a security company.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Peter

Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House
Carin H - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carin H
Individual traveler

Old style beauty and grace.

Experience accommodation a century ago, with modern trimmings; the character of the house and beauty of the surroundings will call you to return again and again. Open your bedroom window early in the morning to view a misty valley with old oak trees and an astounding vineyard, and hear the calling of guinea fowls (in the enormous oak trees). This one-of-a-kind experience is also due to the fresh coffee aroma from the kitchen downstairs and enticing breakfast being prepared.

Christa R - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christa R
Individual traveler

Wonderlike atmosfeer, mooi en rustig.

Heerlike tuine en verskeie vertrekke in die huis om in te ontspan. Die bed was vir my die beste - absoluut koninklik!

Chris L - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chris L
With spouse/partner

Uitstekende diens, beslis die prys werd.

Ons is met ope arms deur Peter die gasheer ontvang. En elke oggend se ontbyt was van top-gehalte. Lekker gekuier en geslaap in die ou Kaap-Hollandse huis. Sal beslis dit sterk aanbeveel.

Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House's response

Hello Chris,
Ek gaan probeer in Afrikaans - baie dankie vir die review.
Ons is so bly dat julle die tyd by ons so geniet het en ons hoop ons sal julle weer in die toekoms by Lekkerwijn sien.

Vriendelike groete,
Peter and die hele Lekkerwijn span.

Lekkerwijn Heritage Country House
Catharina Margaretha M - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Catharina Margaretha M
With spouse/partner

Heerlike ondervinding! Personeel baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig. Pragtige omgewing!

Wat 'n plesier om daar te kon bly! Voorreg om omring te word met soveel geskiedenis en pragtige meubels uit die verlede!

Jack V - Jun 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jack V
On business

Baie aangenaam, iets besonders.

Soos bo - sal weer terugkeer wanneer die geleentheid hom voordoen.

Les W - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Les W
With spouse/partner

Accommodation and fare is acceptable

Overall it's OK. However, the close proximity to stabled horses produces an annoying fly problem - to combat this, the estate should fit fly screens and provide insect spray to control the population. Also, there are no air conditioning or fans which on the hot days is a big issue.

Engela B - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Engela B
With spouse/partner

Clean inside, not so attractive at the outside

To me, the atmosphere of the place was a bit cold. Negatives: No TV, no air-con, no hot water. Positives: clean.

Lauren M - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lauren M
With spouse/partner

Gorgeous house, wonderful staff.

We had a fabulous time. Our room was gorgeous, the bed was huge and the hosts just wonderful. Highly recommended by discerning guests!

Monique E - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Monique E
On business

Tranquil

A convenient and tranquil venue for my brief visit.

From R950
per night (for 2 people)
From R950
per night (for 2 people)
From R950
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 7 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: R 45, Franschhoek, 7680, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDk2ODhhNjZlLTcwZDUtNGYwMy1iOGI3LTRmYTE5MDZmZTFkOA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R950  per night (for 2 people) 36 5 1 5 R 45 Franschhoek 7680 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -33.86531993458 18.982036113739
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!