The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Majuli River Lodge | TravelGround
+20

Majuli River Lodge

28 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 28 reviews for Majuli River Lodge
Cleanliness
4.0/5
Service
4.4/5
Location
4.8/5
Safety
4.5/5
Value for money
4.3/5
Dina F - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Dina F
With friends

Ons het dit baie geniet.

Ons sal graag daarvan gehou het as die bome en bosse laer afgekap kon wees sodat mens die rivier van die onderste stoep ook kon sien. Die plek is netjies en veilig. Ons het baie lekker gekuier, die dek word net ongelooflik warm daarom ons aanmerking om die bosse te kap by die onderste stoep. Baie dankie ons sal beslis weer terugkom.

Majuli River Lodge's response

Baie dankie vir u bespreking. Ongelukkig, aangesien ons in 'n bewaringsgebied is, kan ons nie die bome kap om van die onderste dek af te sien nie, maar sorg dat die fantastiese uitsig vanaf die boonste dek beskikbaar is. Ons is verheug om te hoor dat u weer by ons gaan kuier. Ons sien uit daarna om jou te sien.
Derrick

Majuli River Lodge
Braam V - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Braam V
Family with young children

Amazing location.

We absolutely loved Majuli River Lodge. Had zebras right at our doorstep, saw elephants and hippo from the porch every day. Plus kudus, giraffes and monkeys when driving around. The place was clean and the kitchen well equipped. We did day trips to Kruger Park to see more wild life. Had a magical time, enjoyed every minute. Many thanks.

Michael M - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Michael M
Family with teenagers

Great terrace with a great view but needs improvement.

The house itself is badly soundproofed, so you can hear every sound from each room in the whole house. It has a basic equipment and the dishes had to be cleaned before use. Nice was the little bar with a second fridge upstairs. The water in the pool dirty and murky although a pool guy cleaned it every morning. The charms of the house is mostly the wonderful terrace upstairs, which is perfect for wildlife watching and sundowners.

Margot M - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Margot M
Family with teenagers

Run down, dirty and unloved.

The reservation was changed without notice. When we arrived at the house and called the owner, he was very unfriendly over the phone. The house was dirty, smoked in. On the positive, the shower worked and the availability of a washing machine.

Majuli River Lodge's response

I am so sorry we changed your booking. We made a mistake and double booked so thought we would upgrade you to another house on the river that charges double what you paid. We thought that was the least we could do and we absorbed the extra cost. I am sorry it didn't live up to your expectations and I will pass on your comments to the owner.

Derrick

Majuli River Lodge
Isak R - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Isak R
With friends

Great spacious place and very nice to sit on the deck.

Great view on the river where game drinks water throughout the day. Very nice spacious place, especially the deck.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlike ruim plek en het lekker op die dek gekuier.

Dit kyk baie mooi oor die rivier uit waar wild heeldag kom water drink. Baie lekker ruim plek veral die dek bo waar mens heerlik kan kuier.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jacobus Cn T - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacobus Cn T
With friends

Lovely, peaceful accommodation with an incredible deck.

Will recommend any time.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlike, rustige verblyf met 'n ongelooflike dek.

Sal gerus die plek aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jacqualine D - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacqualine D
With spouse/partner

Blissful.

My husband and I slept over for one night. It was lovely and will always be a cherished memory.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Salig.

Ek en my man het net een aand daar oorgeslaap. Dit was heerlik en sal altyd 'n kosbare herinnering bly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Clifford H - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Clifford H
With spouse/partner

'n Stukkie hemel op aarde.

Wanneer mens vroegoggend met 'n koffie en stukkie beskuit in jou hand op die dek sit en die geniepsigheid van die nag en die oggend aan jou lyf voel kom die woorde "wees stil en weet Ek is God" by jou op. Ons besef weer hoe klein ons is en dat daar 'n groter hand is wat alles onder beheer hou.

Majuli River Lodge's response

Dankie vir u bespreking en die skryf van so 'n pragtige resensie. Dit is 'n spesiale huis in 'n spesiale plek en ons is baie bly om dit te deel.

Derrick

Majuli River Lodge
Mariane F - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mariane F
Family with young children

Unbeatable view.

The cutlery and glasses need a bit of attention. Braais were dirty. That aside, we will book Majuli any day again. My grandkids really enjoyed it, especially the zebra visit.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die uitsig kan nie beter nie.

Die eetgerei en glase kort bietjie aandag. Braaiers was nie skoon gewees nie. Behalwe bogenoemde sal ons enige tyd weer na Majuli toe gaan. My kleinkinders het dit baie geniet en veral toe die sebras ons kom besoek het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Majuli River Lodge's response

Dankie vir u bespreking en neem die tyd om 'n resensie te skryf. Ek het met die bestuurders gepraat en hulle gaan nuwe bestek en breekgoed koop om te verseker dat dit beter in die toekoms is.

Majuli River Lodge
Andre D - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre D
With spouse/partner

Excellent - location, private, pleasant.

Already recommended it to all my friends. Excellent value for money. Loved tanning on the deck while elephants, buffalo and hippos grazed down in the Crocodile River. The animals in Marloth Park are beautiful. Two small things, the cupboards in the room could use some attention, especially for people staying longer than a week. At the braai area some of the weeds can be removed. It's not negative, just constructive criticism. If I should go again, this would be the place I stay and as I mentioned I have already recommended it to friends.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uistekend - ligging, privaat, lekker.

Reeds aan al my vriende verwys. Puik waarde vir geld. Lekker op dek getan terwyl olifante, buffels, seekoeie in Krokkodilrivier baljaar. Diere in Marloth Park pragtig. 2 klein dingetjies, kaste in kamer kan bietjie aandag geniet, veral vir mense wat 'n week plus daar bly. Braai-area kan bietjie onkruid verwyder word. Dit is nie negatief nie maar opbouende kritiek. As ek weer kom is dit die plek waar ek bly en soos gesê, reeds aan al my vriende verkondig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Majuli River Lodge's response

Dankie vir u bespreking en neem die tyd om 'n resensie te skryf. Dankie dat u ons ook na al u vriende verwys.

Majuli River Lodge
Jedidiah K - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Jedidiah K

Unbelievable experience.

We had a very friendly welcome. Everything was clean, on its place. The splash pool was full and clean. The location is unbelievable. Right on the river with a beautiful view. It is a place where you can switch off and spend your holiday in a different world. But you have to love the veld.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ongelooflike ondervinding.

Ons is so vriendelik ontvang. Alles was skoon, op hulle plek. Die "splashpool" was vol en skoon. Die ligging is ongelooflik. Reg op die rivier met 'n ongelooflike uitsig. Dit is 'n plek waar jy kan afskakel en jou vakansie in 'n ander wêreld kan deurbring. Maar jy moet lief wees vir die veld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Majuli River Lodge's response

Dankie vir jou resensie. Ons is verheug dat jy dit geniet het op ons lodge en hoop om jul weer te akkommodeer wanneer jul weer in die bos kuier.
Derrick

Majuli River Lodge
Wim S - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wim S
With spouse/partner

Absoluut fantasties. Ongelooflike rustigheid en uitsig.

Dit was heerlik, net te kort. Hierdie is so klein stukkie hemel wat hier kom val het. Die uitsig is ongelooflik, so ook die rustigheid. Die dieregeluide en die voëls is uniek. Mens kry weer jou siel hier terug van die alledaagse gejaag na niks. Hier kan jy weer mens word. Baie dankie aan Maritsa en Dean vir julle vriendelikheid. As jy oor iets wil kla dan wil jy net kla dit is fantasties. Al aanbeveling wat ek sal maak is die moontlike plasing van klein yskassie bo. As mens bo op die dek sit en die natuur geniet met 'n koeligheidjie moet jy kort-kort onder by die yskas gaan hervul.

Majuli River Lodge's response

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Marloth Park and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Also thank you for taking the time to get in touch. We would love to accommodate you again if you ever decide to visit Marloth Park.
Regards,
Derrick

Majuli River Lodge
Delana P - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Delana P

Die uitsig is asemrowend.

Majuli River Lodge is pragtig. Dit was 'n heerlike wegbreek. Die beste deel van die huis is die boonste dek! Ongelooflike uitsig. Al wat pla is die houtvloer wat baie raas en geen bad.

Majuli River Lodge's response

Thank you for your booking and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
The house is quite cosy so we decided not to have a bath and instead went for showers. There is a lovely lit up splash pool directly outside the house. I will speak to the manager regarding the floors to review them and see if we can reduce the noise.
Also I see you only gave 3 stars for security. I am sorry for this. Marloth Park is statistically one of the safest places in South Africa with guards on the entrances. We also have 24 security located in the park. we maybe should have explained that to you to make you feel more secure. Sorry.
Thanks again for the booking and review. Majuli River Lodge

Majuli River Lodge
Luana B - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Luana B
With spouse/partner

Wonderfully quiet. Not disturbed by anyone.

Our stay was lovely and we really enjoyed it. Very well equipped except for the bar stools that create quite a safety hazard.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Wonderlik stil en word deur niemand gepla nie.

Ons verblyf was baie nice het dit regtig geniet. Baie goed toegerus behalwe julle kroegstoele is 'n groot "safety hazard".

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Majuli River Lodge's response

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Marloth Park and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Also thank you for taking the time to get in touch. I have my manager looking at the stools as we speak. As they are outside they get exposed to the elements more so the wood might have shrunk and made them a little wobbly. We will repair or replace immediately.

Kind regards,

Derrick

Majuli River Lodge
Ria B - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Ria B
With spouse/partner

Dit was fantasties.

Ek sal enigeen aanraai om hier te bly. Die uitsig oor die Krokodilrivier was fantasties en ons het soveel diere gesien. Net jammer die rivier was so droog. Die huisie was voldoende vir ons en natuurlik die dek was die hoogtepunt om vroegoggend die son te sien opkom terwyl jy 'n lekker koppie koffie drink. Dankie vir almal wat bygedra het.

Majuli River Lodge's response

Thanks for choosing Majuli River Lodge for your stay in Marloth Park and we are delighted you loved the house. Also thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We would love to accommodate you again if you decide to visit again.

Regards

Derrick

Majuli River Lodge
Nelie D - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Nelie D
With spouse/partner

Gemaklik en volledig toegerus.

Die plekkie is rustig en ten volle toegerus. Die lugreëling is 'n pluspunt. Dit kort bietjie opknappingswerk en 'n afdak om jou motor onder te parkeer.

Callie F - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Callie F
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam.

Met temperature van 46°C was die lugversorging hemel op aarde! Ons het die verblyf baie geniet. Wil net aanbeveel dat 'n deur by die onderste badkamer aangebring word. Die vloer was papnat na elke stort. Die boonste badkamer se stort kort bietjie aandag.

Marietjie V - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marietjie V
Family with teenagers

Dit was absoluut 'n wonderlike ervaring so tussen die diere en die veld en by die rivier.

Dit was vir ons as 'n gesin van 4 'n wonderlike ervaring. Ons het heerlik in die huis gebly, die zebras en vlakvarke het ons gereeld besoek en om op die dek te kuier vir ure aaneen en te kyk na wat in en om die rivier aangaan was heerlik. Ek hoop om weer eendag so 'n vakansie te gaan geniet, veral weer in Majuli River Lodge se huis.

Marika H - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marika H
Family with young children

Vryheid in die bos!

Ons het ons verblyf vreeslik baie geniet. Die enigste ietsie eksta wat van hulp sou gewees het, is 'n kaart van die omgewing. Ons was gelukkig en het toe sommer 'n kaart by die munisipaliteit gekry. Verder as dit, was dit ongelooflik lekker en die mense in die omgewing is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam.

Philip W - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Philip W
With friends

Beautiful setting on Crocodile River, rustic and comfortable

Beautiful location, great sightings of Elephant, Hippo,crocodiles, Buffalo and Waterbuck. House needs a bit of attention as taps leaking, microwave rusted on the inside, and some outside spots were not working but were repaired 2 days before our departure. Downstairs shower needs a door or curtain. Otherwise the sunsets on the deck and the sightings made the stay worthwhile, like I said rustic but comfortable. We had a great stay. Also reasonable close to the Crocodile gate of the Kruger.

Chantell S - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chantell S
Family with young children

Great

See the stars below!

Andre J - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Andre J
With friends

Alles wat jy nodig het vir 'n lekker tyd in die bos!

Die dec bo by Majuli maak dit. Alles wat jy nodig het om lekker in die bos te kuier, is daar.

Joey O - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Joey O
With friends

Goed!

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Dean D - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dean D

Great for a base for trips into The Kruger National Park

The house is functional, with a gorgeous deck. The only downside was that the air-cons didn't work and the one fan in the downstairs bedroom also didn't work.

Michelle H - Oct 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michelle H
Family with young children

Enjoyed every moment

We would use Majuli River Lodge again.

Debbie V - Sep 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Debbie V
Family with teenagers

We had an awesome time!

You have amazing views of the Crocodile River. Seeing the elephants was a highlight!

Jade T - May 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jade T
With friends

Amazing. Thank you Mike

Stayed in March with a friend from Australia. The place is amazing, well positioned with an awesome view. Truly thankful for Mike, he is a great guy with so much knowledge of the place and just a kind person. I will definately be back and will tell everyone I know just how much of an experience and pleasure it was to stay. nMany thanks from Jade in Australia.

Jorge O - Aug 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jorge O
Family with teenagers

Superb location for viewing game and birds!!!!

We'll be back, the entire family loved it and we could of easily stayed for a further week. The walks in the morning were great and to get so close to the game in Marloth was magical.We had the pleasure of meeting Mike on the last day and to thank him... and thank you TravelGround for your assistance and follow up.

From R1 500
per night (sleeps 4)
From R1 500
per night (sleeps 4)
From R1 500
per night (sleeps 4)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 4 people
  • Check-in: 15:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 398 Crocodile Road, Marloth Park, Marloth Park, 1111, Mpumalanga
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDkxMzU4YTUxLTU5ZTItNDBhMS04N2NhLWMyZGQ3ODgxOGYzZg?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 500  per night (sleeps 4) 28 5 1 5 398 Crocodile Road Marloth Park 1111 Mpumalanga 0860 022 102 15:00-21:00 10:00 -25.3815199 31.75878
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!