The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering | TravelGround
+63

Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering

B&B

Review Summary

4.3 out of 5from 25 reviews for Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.6/5
Location
4.0/5
Safety
4.4/5
Value for money
4.2/5
Jacquelene S - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Jacquelene S
On business

People very friendly but not the environment and the accommodation I expected.

The room was small, no security, neglected and deserted.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Mense baie vriendelik, maar die omgewing en verblyf nie wat ek verwag het nie.

Die kamer was klein, geen sekuriteit, verwaarloos en afgeskeep.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering's response

Hello Jacquelene,

Thank you for staying at Matt's Rest B&B. It was a pleasure hosting you. Regarding your concern for security, both our properties are secured by electronic gates and CCTV cameras with a security company patrolling the areas at all times.

With kind regards,
Sharona.

Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering
Siyabonga M - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Siyabonga M
With spouse/partner

I recommend them.

I will definitely go back there because of their hospitality.

Jonathan S - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jonathan S
With spouse/partner

Was very nice, room large and comfy, good breakfast.

Apart from location, a bit out of town, everything else was excellent.

Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering's response

Thanks Jonathan we happy to hear that,hope we will see you next time.

Kind regards
Mattsrest Staff.

Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering
Marlette P - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marlette P

Fantasties.

Baie dankie vir die gasvryheid wat ons van julle af gekry het. Dit is fantastiese diens, die kamers is so skoon en gerieflik en die ontbyt was so lekker gewees.

Michele B - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
2/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Michele B
With spouse/partner

Great place, very friendly and accommodating staff.

Felt very welcome from stepping into reception. Very friendly staff. Delish breakfast offered and staff go out of their way to cater to your needs.

Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering's response

Michelle

Thank you for the complement we appreciate it .

Mattrest Staff

Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering
Manie E - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Manie E
With friends

Awesome - very convenient and good value for money.

Very nice stay and surroundings, the units are very clean and comfortable.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Awesome - baie gerieflik en goeie waarde vir geld.

Baie lekker gekuier, lekker omgewing en die eenhede is baie skoon en gerieflik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering's response

Thank you for your lovely review and hope to see you again soon.

Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering
Anli C - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anli C
With spouse/partner

Netjies, skoon, vriendelike en goeie waarde vir geld.

Baie skoon, netjies. Vriendelike diens.

Leon J - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Leon J
On business

Baie netjiese plekkie, mense vriendelik en profesioneel.

Die verblyf is baie goed onderhou, alles werk en is in goeie toestand. Ontbyt was meer as goenoeg en smaaklik. Die area is baie stil en ek het veilig gevoel.

Marius N - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marius N
With friends

Very homely atmosphere.

The rooms are spacious and very neat. We enjoyed our stay with friendly and professional service by all the staff. Parking very secure.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker huislike atmosfeer.

Die kamers is ruim en baie netjies. Ons het lekker gekuier met vriendelike en professionele diens deur al die personeel. Parkering baie veilig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering's response

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay with us at Matt’s Rest B&B We were pleased to note that you appreciated the Food & Services of our B&B, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Matts Rest Team

Matts Rest B&B or Self Catering
Anri D - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Anri D
On business

Very pleasant stay. Thank you very much!

Very pleasant stay. Thank you very much!

Liezel C - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liezel C
With spouse/partner

Friendly modern and clean.

We were greeted by a friendly receptionist. Our room was clean and neat. Food was good.

Annerie T - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Annerie T
Family with young children

Convenient rooms and good food.

The hostess goes out of way to make you feel at home.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie gerieflike kamers en lekker kos.

Die gasvrou gaan uit haar pad om jou tuis te laat voel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gerhard K - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gerhard K
Individual traveler

They go through extra lengths to make your stay a pleasant one!

I really enjoyed staying at Matt's Rest and would definitely want to return.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Hulle doen baie baie moeite om jou lekker te laat bly!

Ek het dit baie geniet om by Matt's Rest te bly en sal beslis weer teruggaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Vera B - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Vera B
Family with teenagers

Rooms very neat and breakfast was delicious.

At night, the front view of the guesthouse isn't that great. The colored lights are really off-puting. Rather use a white light. The parking is also in need of some attention. The rooms are very tidy and the breakfast was delicious.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Kamers is baie netjies en ontbyt heerlik.

Die vooraansig van die gastehuis is in die aand nie baie mooi nie. Die gekleurde ligte sit mens af. Gebruik eerder 'n wit lig. Die parkering moet ook bietjie aandag aan gegee word. Die kamers is baie netjies, en die ontbyt was heerlik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Daniel M - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Daniel M
Family with teenagers

Very nice and peaceful.

It was a nice experience even though it was very short and we stayed there for only one night for a rugby game the next day against Maritzburg College.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker en rustig.

Dit was 'n lekker ervaring, al was dit baie kort en het ons net vir 'n nag daar gebly vir die rugbywedstryd die volgende dag teen Maritzburg College.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chris V - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Chris V
With spouse/partner

Goeie waarde vir geld.

Funksioneel. Dit is naby die venue vir Pietermaritzburg Card in die Park geleë.

Bronwyn S - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Bronwyn S
With spouse/partner

What a lovely place to stay - I'll be back!

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms, although small (the one we stayed in) looked just like they do in the pictures. I was so sad that we didn't have more time there. The breakfast was so filling and delicious and it was quite central to where we needed to be. I'll definitely be back!

Vida M - Jul 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Vida M
With spouse/partner

Genotvol.

Baie aangenaam, vriendelike mense, sal gerus weer daar bly.

Jacques R - Jun 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacques R
Family with young children

Vyfster!

Ons het hierdie as 'n oornagplek na die Comrades gebruik, en dit was uitstekend. Dit sal ook baie goed werk as 'n oornagplek voor die Comrades (jy moet hulle spyskaart sien!), maar ook sommer net vir 'n gesin wat in die Pmb omgewing 'n paar dae wil oorbly. Hulle was besonder vriendelik en hulpvaardig, en die kamer was ruim en stylvol.

Jan O - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Jan O
Family with teenagers

Vriendelik en behulpsaam.

Goeie plek vir oornag. Sal weer gebruik vir 'n oornagstop.

Melanie V - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Melanie V

Nie heeltemal wat ek verwag het nie.

Alhoewel die eienaars bitter vriendelik en behulpsaam is, het die gastehuis nie voldoen aan die verwagtings nie. Ons was daar saam met ons twee volwasse kinders en hul lewensmaats. Die foto's en hoe dit rêrig lyk, stem nie ooreen nie. Daar is 'n halfgeboude gebou op die werf waarvan daar nie melding gemaak is nie. Die erf is dus by die agterste kamers onnet. Ontbyt ook te duur.

Lyndi B - Feb 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Lyndi B
Family with young children

Was a lovely stay,

Loved the stay, thank you! Lovely hosts, enjoyed our visit.

Thuli M - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thuli M
Individual traveler

Great

The best stay in Pietermaritzburg.

Mpho M - Jun 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mpho M
Family with young children

Home away from home. Cosy and clean

Very impressed. Lots of entertainment and space for kids to play. Beautiful bedrooms and friendly owner. Cosy home away from home. Would go back anytime :-)

Natasha R - May 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Natasha R
Family with young children

It was lovely - we really enjoyed it, will definitely go back again.

The people were really friendly, very hospitable. Anything that we needed they tried their best to assist with. It was really very nice.

From R840
per night (for 2 people)
From R840
per night (for 2 people)
From R840
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 29 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 11 Dennis Road, Hayfields, Pietermaritzburg, 3201, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDhiYmQxMzNkLTI5YmUtNDg4NC05N2EyLWVkNjg1ZTM4YWM2NQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R840  per night (for 2 people) 25 5 1 5 11 Dennis Road Hayfields 3201 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-18:00 10:00 -29.636323527734 30.424536763229
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!