Underberg Accommodation at Meadow Lane Country Cottages | TravelGround
+79

Meadow Lane Country Cottages

59 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5from 59 reviews for Meadow Lane Country Cottages
Cleanliness
4.6/5
Service
4.7/5
Location
4.7/5
Safety
4.7/5
Value for money
4.7/5
Claas P - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Claas P
With friends

Overnight stay to drive Sani Pas route.

The accommodation is neat, well located and value for money. Definitely recommend it. Will stay here again, the hospitality is of outstanding quality.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Oornagverblyf om Sani Pas roete te ry.

Die verblyf is netjies, goed geleë en waarde vir geld. Beveel dit beslis aan. Sal weer hier oorbly, die gasvryheid is van uitstaande gehalte.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Nicholas B - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nicholas B
With friends

The place is tranquil and amazing. Meadow Lane Country Cottages will definitely be seeing us (and me) again. 2022, we will be booking a larger crowd.

The only reason for the 4 star on cleanliness is not that the place wasn't clean. It was up to standard (in terms of price, etc.) but that the paint in the bathroom of our cottage was coming off and there were patches of mould on the wall from the water/shower mist. Company was great. People were great (we didn't see anyone). Location was great.

Ilana M - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ilana M
Family with teenagers

Awesome, stunning views, a piece of heaven on earth.

We simply adored it. Would love to go there again.

Carol L - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carol L
Individual traveler

Tranquil and safe.

Really enjoyed our stay. The cottage was upmarket and clean, well equipped. Already telling my friends about it.

Keasha L - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Keasha L
With spouse/partner

Stunning, delightful, tranquil home away from home.

We only had the opportunity to stay one night, but it was certainly worth it. Absolutely delightful and very friendly.

Hein P - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hein P
Family with teenagers

Had a delightful stay.

We really enjoyed our stay. Well situated for exploring the area. The fishing was fun in the well stocked dam.

Keith W - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Keith W
With spouse/partner

Quiet surrounds.

A super stay in a quiet relaxing environment away from the city.

Regardt B - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Regardt B
With spouse/partner

Really, really enjoyed our stay. Would recommend to anyone.

The cottage that we have booked was really clean and you could see that a lot of effort and thought went into creating the cottage. Owners would go out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable. Just a really lovely place to get far away from the rush of the city life. Thank you Meadow Lane, we had a lovely stay. Will book with you again in the near future.

Naomi P - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Naomi P
Family with teenagers

Awesome.

Will definitely go back there.

Lorraine V - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lorraine V
With friends

Tranquil surroundings and newly renovated unit (Love Cottage).

Tranquil surroundings and well maintained property. Our cottage (Love) was beautifully renovated with spacious porch to have a lekker braai.

Philip M - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Philip M
With spouse/partner

Friendly and very neat.

The service is exceptional. Stayed in Faith Cottage. Incredibly neat. Small detail that makes the big differences. The environment is absolutely stunning.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Vriendelik en baie netjies.

Die diens is uitsonderlik. Het in die Faith Cottage gebly. Ongelooflik netjies. Klein detail wat die groot verskille maak. Die omgewing is absolute stunning.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Pierre V - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pierre V
With spouse/partner

Truly a place where your soul can catch your body.

Perfectly located, beautiful, peaceful and quiet. And the fishing is pretty relaxing when you're looking for something to do.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Waarlik 'n plek waar jou siel jou liggaam kan inhaal.

Perfek geleë, pragtig, rustig en stil. En die baarshengel is lekker ontspannend as jy iets soek om te doen.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Philip T - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Philip T
With friends

Net wat nodig is om weg te kom van die gejaagde lewe.

Rustig. Netjies en skoon. Goeie basis om die omgewing vanaf te verken.

Ronelle P - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ronelle P
With spouse/partner

Pragtig en rustig.

Love Cottage is pragtig en het 'n romantiese atmosfeer. Jy voel asof jy op 'n plaas is met die poue, beeste, perde en voëls. Lesley gaan uit haar pad uit om jou verblyf spesiaal te maak.

Gerrie K - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerrie K
Family with young children

Sal weer gaan.

Sal weer gaan. Baie mooi en netjies.

Nadia B - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nadia B
Family with young children

Baie lekker rustig.

Dit was baie rustig en die plekkie waar ons gebly het was netjies en skoon. Die mense wat daar werk was almal baie gaaf. 'n Baie lekker wegbreek van die stad se lawaai en veilig vir die kinders om rond te hardloop en hulself te geniet. In die aande kan jy voor die kaggel sit en hulle het goeie verskeidenheid van DVD's wat jy kan kies terwyl jou bed warm word deur die verwarmerkomberse wat hulle op die beddens gesit het. Dit is so stil in die aande, jy hoor nie kriek of voël nie. In die oggend word jy vriendelik gegroet deur al die verskillende voëls, selfs die poue wat daar is kom tot op jou stoep en eet die broodkrummels wat jy vir hulle gee en daar is ook 3 pragtige hondjies wat kom groet. Honey (1 van die hondjies) is altyd reg om saam jou te stap en die kinders het dit baie geniet om die 2 perde en donkie wortels te voer.

Hanlie K - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hanlie K
Family with teenagers

Heerlik. Presies reg geleë om 'n klomp goed in die omgewing te gaan doen.

Die huisie was skoon en netjies. Lekker om video te kyk naby 'n vuur in die koue aande. Meadow Lane is naby aan heelwat goed in die omgewing.

Sandeep R - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sandeep R
With friends

The stay was amazing. Lesley was a great host and took care of everything.

I would definitely recommend it to my friends and family.

Pieter D - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Pieter D
With spouse/partner

Alle verwagtinge oortref.

Baie aangename mense, uitsonderlike bestemming en ligging. Kan definitief aanbeveel.

Kananelo M - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kananelo M
Individual traveler

Meadow Lane Country Cottages has so much tranquility.

I really enjoyed my stay!

Tina V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tina V
With spouse/partner

Fantastic! We would definitely come again.

Thanks Lesley for a wonderful stay. We enjoyed the tranquillity and the cosy cottages. We will see you next year!

Estelle C - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Estelle C
With friends

Gerieflik en netjies.

Die plek is klein, maar netjies, behalwe vir die badkamer. Dit lyk regtig erg en mens wil nie eintlik naby die bad kom nie. Die "mould" is baie erg. Die mat in die sitkamer is ook gebrand.

Michele N - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michele N
Family with young children

Heerlik om te ontsnap van die gejaag.

Alles was soos dit geadverteer is. Ons het snoesig vakansie gehou en heeltemal afgeskakel. Die poue, perde en donkie is pragtig. Ons kinders het lekker gespeel. Almal was vriendelik en behulpsaam.

Sanet M - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sanet M
With spouse/partner

We only slept over for one night and would recommend this place. Friendly people who gave us better accommodation than we had booked at the same price. I wish we could've stayed for longer.

Beautiful environment and the accommodation is convenient, beautiful, neat and clean.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ons het een aand oorgeslaap en sal dit aanbeveel. Vriendelike mense wat vir ons beter akkommodasie gegee het as wat ons bespreek het vir dieselfde prys. Ek het gewens ons kon langer bly.

Pragtige omgewing en die akkommodasie is gerieflik, baie mooi, skoon en netjies.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lizelle S - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lizelle S
Family with young children

Fantastic.

It was fantastic, thank you.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Dit was fantasties, baie dankie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Theuns B - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Theuns B
With spouse/partner

Very nice.

We had a great time and the area is so beautiful and peaceful. The little house are well-equipped. Bathroom needs some maintenance though.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker.

Ons het baie lekker gebly en die omgewing is rêrig baie mooi en rustig. Die huisies is goed toegerus. Die badkamer kort egter bietjie aandag.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mario F - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Mario F
With spouse/partner

Relaxing.

See stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ontspannend.

Sien sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Elize H - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Elize H
With friends

Very calm, relaxed and peaceful.

Very nice overnight accommodation on your way to the Southern Coast,

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie rustig, ontspanne en vreedsaam .

Baie lekker oornagverblyf op pad Suidkus toe.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lyn V - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lyn V

A home away from home.

Cottage was very well equipped, clean and comfortable. Bathroom needs some upgrading but otherwise quite acceptable. Surroundings are beautiful, peaceful and very well maintained. Hosts are friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a break from the everyday hustle and bustle of life, this is the place to go. We will definitely visit again if we are in that area.

Veruschka W - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Veruschka W
Family with young children

Uitstekend en diens uit boonste rakke!

Verwelkoming en gasvryheid was puik. Ligging uitstekend. Sal enige tyd weer daar gaan rus.

Caroline D - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Caroline D
With spouse/partner

Cosy, friendly and pretty.

Lesley was very efficient, helpful and friendly. She accommodated a change of plan and helped manage a family crisis back home. The cottage is well equipped and cosy, especially with a fire burning in the sitting room. The grounds are very pretty and tranquil. The visiting greedy peacocks are a delight.

Joane T - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Joane T
Family with young children

Lieflik!

Wat n pragtige plek! So mooi en rustig, mens kan behoorlik ontspan en natuur geniet. Verblyf fantasties, sal definitief weer daar bly.

Johann K - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Johann K
Family with young children

Awesome spot - we'll be back.

Great spot - we'll definitely be back. Beautiful and very relaxed.

Hettie P - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hettie P
With spouse/partner

Eenvoudig fantasties.

Lekker stil en rustig. Baie dankie Lesley weereens vir jou bedagsaamheid.

Nadine V - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nadine V
With friends

Baie gerieflik en lekker.

Ons het dit baie geniet by Meadow Lane Country Cottages. Almal is vriendelik en behulpsaam. Die plekkie is gerieflik en die tuine is baie mooi. Ons sal definitief hul aanbeveel.

Mziwamadoda S - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mziwamadoda S
With friends

Excellent value for money.

The hosts are fabulous people and even offered to pick up our race numbers for the Sani Stagger. The venue is super and very easy to reach. I will be staying here again and again and again.

Laulene B - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Laulene B
With friends

Wegbreek uit die stad waar jy heerlik kan rus.

Meadow Lane is netjies, veilig met gasvrye eienaars. Grace cottage is net reg vir 2 volwassenes en 2 kinders, ek sou nie meer mense aanbeveel nie. Die omgewing is pragtig en mens kan rêrig rus daar. Neem wel kennis dat daar geen TV is nie, maar ek het gevind dit is deel van die bekoring. Die verblyf is baie goeie waarde vir geld.

Estelle B - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Estelle B

Baie, baie lekker, gerieflik en pragtig!

Ons was 'n groep van 12 vriende waarvan 6 van ons saam op skool was en in 1972 gematrikuleer het. Ons het besluit om deur Lesotho te reis en met Sani Pas op te ry en daarvandaan na Katse Dam en dan weer uit by Fouriesburg. Ons het die eerste aand van ons toer by Meadow Lane geslaap en dit was perfek geleê om die volgende oggend te vertrek na Sani Pas. Dit was baie gerieflik en bekostigbaar en in 'n pragtige omgewing.

Theresa M - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Theresa M
With spouse/partner

Tranquil, relaxing setting.

Lovely setting, quiet and relaxing. Owners made an effort to come and introduce themselves, wonderful people.

Rozanne S - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rozanne S
With spouse/partner

Daar was meer as genoeg spasie om gemaklik te kan bly.

Ons het die tydjie by Meadow Lane regtig baie geniet. Die plekkie is goed toegerus, netjies, bekostigbaar en baie rustig.

Michelle S - Jul 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michelle S
Family with teenagers

Ongelooflik mooi, netjies en skoon.

Pragtige plaas, skoon lug, baie spasie en die huis was netjies en skoon. Ek sal beslis weer daar gaan bly.

Kobus P - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kobus P
With friends

Stil, rustig en naby aan lekker bergfietsroetes.

Ons het hier gebly vir die Sani2C resies en het dit baie geniet. Daar is 'n enkelspoor-bergfietsroete oorkant die pad wat 'n goeie opwarmingsroete is voor die groot dag. Dis stil, skoon en sal verseker daar gaan bly voor die resies in toekoms.

Trevor D - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Trevor D
With spouse/partner

Happy with everything and everyone.

We found Meadow Lane neat, clean and friendly and the whole property absolutely stunning and memorable. We felt that we had made new friends and would certainly return, especially to the two bedroom cottage. Both bathrooms need attention.

Div G - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Div G
With spouse/partner

Heerlik gebly die 2 nagte!

Lekker stil en rustig met gelukkig geen selfoonsein of selfs TV nie.

Willem D - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Willem D
With spouse/partner

Baie mooi ligging en tuin.

Aangename ervaring en baie rustige omgewing.

Anthony H - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Anthony H
Family with teenagers

Genotvol!

Baie geniet. Kyk net asb na die rusbanke. Lyk asof dit bevlek is.

George S - Mar 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
George S
Family with young children

Very neat setting with a lot in the area to keep the little ones busy.

We were a family of 10 adults (30 to 80yrs) and 5 little ones (6mnths to 3yrs) and everyone found the accommodation to suit them. The cottages, although fairly old, were comfortable and neat. Service was excellent and the management and staff very friendly and helpful. Close enough to Sani Pass for an excursion. We spent a very pleasant week there.

Jo K - Mar 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jo K
With spouse/partner

Lovely place to unwind

Reception very friendly - first impression are of a beautiful park - a comfortable affordable accommodation. I would really like to go there again.

Harvey H - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Harvey H
With spouse/partner

Friendly, nice owner

I stayed in the studio, which was a bit on small size even for a studio. Didn't like the fact cars are parked right outside door. Otherwise a very good stay.

Trixy P - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Trixy P
Family with teenagers

Het die omgewing se aktiwiteite geniet!

Die badkamer was nogal knap en die emalje in die bad is bietjie afgedop. Daar was ook net 4 koppies, borde, messe, vurke en glase wat self gewas moet word voor die volgende ete.

Charlene W - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Charlene W

So heerlik rustig!

Dit was baie rustig. Groot teleurstelling dat die kaggel nie in `n werkende toestand was nie.

Linda M - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Linda M
Family with young children

Safe, tranquill and warm

It was a wonderful, warm, and cosy place. We felt very safe and that it was good value for money.

Garth E - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Garth E
With spouse/partner

We stayed only one night but enjoyed it -

A great location. Not being religious we were a little overwhelmed by all the bible quotes attached to the trees. Otherwise, a lovely stay.

Pearl G - Sep 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Pearl G
Individual traveler

Nice quiet place. Ideal if you need to time to relax away from the city buzz.

Had a nice quiet weekend at Meadow Lane Country Cottages.

Tristan S - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Tristan S
Family with teenagers

Nie te sleg nie.

Dit is jammer hulle waarsku jou nie vroegtydig van die water nie ...

George M - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
George M
With spouse/partner

Soos hieronder!

Mooi geleë. Lekker verblyf met 'n kaggel en waardevolle inligting rakende Katse Dam en Lesotho.

Michelle M - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Michelle M
Family with young children

Very lovely place but quite far out

It's is a lovely place and we enjoyed our time here. The only problem was directions, as we were not told it was about 120km after we branch off at R617 off ramp. However, it was a lovely stay after we arrived.

Brennan A - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Brennan A
With spouse/partner

Perfect

Would recommend to anyone. Had a great stay! Relaxing setting and you stay in a perfect little cottage!

Angelo L - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Angelo L
With friends

Absolutely amazing, right from the booking to our stay there. Highly recommended!!!

There was absolutely nothing I could fault, our stay was comfortable, the service was amazing and the cottage was super clean. I highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the Underberg area - wow!

From R700
per night (sleeps 2)
From R700
per night (sleeps 2)
From R700
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 18 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Drakensberg Gardens Road, Underberg, Southern Drakensberg, 3257, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDc3YzViYjJjLTI3OWUtNGY5OC1hYWYwLWEyMzNhZWFkNDM2NA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R700  per night (sleeps 2) 59 5 1 5 Drakensberg Gardens Road Underberg 3257 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-18:00 10:00 -29.748156644872 29.444242569492
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com