The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Mei-Pen-Lai | TravelGround
+21

Mei-Pen-Lai

13 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.6 out of 5from 13 reviews for Mei-Pen-Lai
Cleanliness
4.6/5
Service
4.4/5
Location
5.0/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.5/5
John C - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
John C
With spouse/partner

Unfortunately we did not have power.

While we were there for a week during the December 2020 Christmas period the local Municipal electrical sub-station caught fire, and the whole suburb was continuously without power for 3 days and 2 nights. This is no fault of the owner. However, during that time, as the units are all electrically powered, there was absolutely no way to boil a kettle or cook food; the fridge had defrosted and food started spoiling. The owner make absolutely no effort to supply even a basic gas stove and kettle to any of the 3 units. The rooms are relatively well appointed but lacked basic essentials: dishwashing liquid, shower soap, salt and pepper. The location, some 50 metres from the beach is idyllic, except during lockdown level 3. The local Spar is generator powered as is one of the restaurants. If we were guaranteed electricity or could do gas cooking and a gas fridge we may consider returning, but unlikely.

Sonja E - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sonja E
With friends

What a peaceful stay. It was very comfortable and everything was clean.

If you need a break from everyday life, you can sit on a deck chair and watch the sea. You can fall asleep at night with the sound of waves crashing. It feels like you're in another world. Very safe as the host is hands on.

Cheryl L - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cheryl L
Individual traveler

I will definitely be back.

I absolutely loved every minute of it. The setting was perfect just what I needed to relax and reassess. Hearing the waves crash, smelling the ocean and being able to look at the big blue 24/7 was amazing. The shopkeepers a mere 2 minute walk away were all friendly too. Didn't even need my car.

Mei-Pen-Lai's response

Aaaawwww, thank you my lovey!

Mei-Pen-Lai
Trudi C - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Trudi C
With spouse/partner

Teleurgesteld.

Selfsorgverblyf, maar niemand het gedink om vir ons in te lig dat die enigste supermark afgebrand het nie. Ons het afgevlieg en het dus nie vervoer gehad om na Umhlanga te gaan kruideniers koop nie. Die eenhede is nie baie privaat nie. Stortdeure was stukkend, toiletsitplek was los. Minimum kombuisbenodighede. Braaiers is nie regtig bruikbaar nie, erg geroes. See-uitsig nie soos op die foto's nie.

Mei-Pen-Lai's response

In the main, there appears to be a problem in the communication of fact and expectation between the tenant and the booking agent with respect to views and facilities. We, unfortunately, are excluded from direct communication with the prospective tenant until the booking is confirmed and it is the function and responsibility of the agent to clarify all queries and details regarding the establishment with the tenant while we are precluded from doing so. We cannot do more than present the actual layouts and photographs of views etc. as they in reality are, particularly as this is the most prime location on the beach within direct adjacent proximity of shops, 6 assorted restaurants, take-away outlets, a butcher shop and convenience store for basic supplies.

If a query had been presented directly to ourselves as to any presence or well-being of any facilities, we would have gladly informed the tenant as to the Spar's misfortune, but as it is, if any problem with transport to the adjacent Umhlanga, which is just a 6-minute drive away, had been presented to ourselves, we or the adjacent tenants would have gladly assisted. Of course, there is always the Uber option for a minimal cost, but no problems were reported to ourselves or the adjacent tenants with regard to this Spar story or inconveniences it caused.

The privacy matter is exactly as presented in the photographs, being adjacent suites and patios.

By the same token, we do apologize if the tenant had any problems as reported, but again, when queried by the acting manageress in my absence overseas at the time, the tenant had reported no problems with the suites at the time. If so, any problem of a menial nature would have been dealt with. We do regret the tenant's inconveniences and the weather at the time, as all other reviews by the adjacent tenants and those before and after this occupation were of a very positive nature.

I do hope to meet the tenant on another opportunity to better facilitate the expectations and accommodation.

Mei-Pen-Lai
Herman R - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Herman R
With spouse/partner

Outstanding and exquisite!

Most tranquil uplifting and exquisite experience. Dolphin views daily magical! Very well located allowing quick access to shops at same time peaceful walks along sandy shores. Mei Pen Lai unique comfortable and soul refreshing! Will be back!

Mei-Pen-Lai's response

How lovely, thank you so much.
Warm regards
Rory

Mei-Pen-Lai
Carine S - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carine S
With spouse/partner

Good accommodation at a fair price.

Neat and clean with everything you need. Fantastic location.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Aangename verblyf teen bekostigbare prys.

Netjies en skoon. Alles wat jy benodig is in die eenheid. Fantastiese ligging.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Johan P - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan P
With spouse/partner

Rus vir die siel.

Nie 'n plek vir die "smart" vakansieganger wat luuksheid soek nie maar die reisiger wat rus en stilte vir sy gemoed soek. Eenvoud wat jou laat ontspan met 'n gasheer wat nederig is.

Deon D - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Deon D
With spouse/partner

Uitstekend geleë, naby heerlike restaurante, op die strand. Rory die eienaar baie vriendelik en ontvanklik.

Unieke dekor en atmosfeer. Alles baie gerieflik, maar nie luuks nie. Die enigste kritiek is dat die kombuisgeriewe baie basies is. Daar was slegs een koffiebeker, geen koffie of tee nie. Nie lugversorging nie. Uitstekende waarde vir geld.

Mei-Pen-Lai's response

Apologies one coffee mug, the previous tenant had evidently broken the mug and the maid should have replaced. I am always here on call to replace any items if not satisfactory . Similarly the coffee sachets have been replenished . Thanks again for review . God Bless.

Mei-Pen-Lai
Dawid B - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Dawid B
With spouse/partner

Rolstoelvriendelik!

Ek is op krukke gewees en daar is geen trappe nie wat dit maklik gemaak het. Verder kon ek voor die deur stilhou om bagasie af te pak. Eetplekke was naby en toeganklik en Mall, Lughawe en Casino is minute weg.

Pieter M - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter M
On business

Lekker en mooi!

Wonderlike gasheer, skoon, mooi en gerieflik. Hoekom sal 'n mens soos 'n voëltjie in 'n woonstel bly as jy in so styvolle plek kan bly. Ek kom weer kuier!

Mei-Pen-Lai's response

Thank you so much Pieter.

Mei-Pen-Lai
Sharlene B - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sharlene B
Family with young children

Peaceful place to take a rest.

Peaceful and well located. Friendly owner and domestic worker.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustige plekkie om die batterye te herlaai.

Lekker rustig en goed geleë. Vriendelike eienaar en huishulp.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Madelien V - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Madelien V
With spouse/partner

Beautifully decorated, fully equipped, and the location could not be better in terms of access to the beach, stores and services.

We had the most magnificent stay. We loved the decor, and our host was gracious and welcoming and very accommodating to specific requests. The location is ideal. We travelled via Uber from the airport, so did not have a car to our disposal, however, this was no problem as it is a block away from a centre with everything one might need. I could not recommend Mei-Pen-Lai highly enough and cannot wait to stay there again!

Sulien D - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sulien D
Family with young children

Perfek verby! Om die see te hoor op jou stoep.

Beste vakansie! Vreeslik geniet so naby die see. Pragtig kamer en wonderlike eienaar! Sal nou my tas pak en terug gaan.

From R1 260
per night (sleeps 2)
From R1 260
per night (sleeps 2)
From R1 260
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 6 people
  • Check-in: 13:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 10 South Beach Road, Umdloti Beach, North Coast, 4319, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDNlODEzMDE2LTFiZjItNDQyYS1iMDhjLTZjNDAyMzk4MGM3Ng?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 260  per night (sleeps 2) 13 5 1 5 10 South Beach Road Umdloti Beach 4319 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 13:00-19:00 10:00 -29.672721 31.116202
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!