St Michael's-on-Sea Accommodation at Mountjoy Guest Lodge | TravelGround
+23

Mountjoy Guest Lodge

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 16 reviews for Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Cleanliness
4.7/5
Service
4.2/5
Location
4.6/5
Safety
4.5/5
Value for money
4.3/5
Warren K - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Warren K
With spouse/partner

Was my best experience ever being accommodate by the guess lodge.

Would love to visit soon.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Hi Warren,
Thank you for your wonderful review and rating. We are so pleased to see that you had a great experience with us. Thank you so much for your support and positive feedback.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, from all of us here at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Cheyl C - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Cheyl C
With spouse/partner

A very pleasant stay.

Safety, the wooden steps are quiet slippery when it rains. Establishment should think of having concrete steps instead, especially for the older visitors.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Hi Cheyl,
Thank you for your wonderful rating and review. We are so pleased to see you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please consider 1 of our ground floor rooms in the future and thank you for your recommendation. Thank you for your support.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, from all of us here at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Melanie V - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Melanie V
Family with young children

Ontevrede.

Eienaar glad nie tegemoetkomend teenoor gaste nie, die gasvrou is wel vriendelik en behulpsaam gewees.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Hi Melanie
We hope you are well and thank you for your review and rating.
Before guests book with us, they are able to see all relevant info about our accommodation, facilities and services provided so that guests have the choice to book with us if our accommodation meets their needs.
You approached the owner for a refund because you thought our accommodation was self-catering and you felt the area was too busy during the December holidays. We by no means advertise as self-catering and put pictures of our rooms up so guests can see exactly what they are getting when booking with us. We feel it is the responsibility of the guests to ensure that our accommodation is suitable for them before making a booking. In addition, more info about our accommodation was sent to you via email once your booking was finalised. We are not sure how much more clear we could have made it that we are not self-catering and what to expect here at Mountjoy.
The period you booked for was between Christmas and New Year which is the busiest time of the year at holiday destinations and on top of this would not be able to grant you a refund as we had held this room for you during this peak season. You were made aware that no refunds are granted on early departures as we as a business would then loose out as a result.
We hope you have a great 2020 and wish you all the best.
Kind regards from all of us here at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
David B - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
1/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
David B
With friends

Die verblyf daar het 'n suur smaak in my mond gelaat as gevolg van swak ontvangs en behandeling sowel as die probleme om by die kamer uit te kom.

Ek het 'n klagtelys deurgestuur na die webtuiste en die antwoord van die bestuur was dat ek hulle sleg behandel het - feit is egter dat ek geïrriteer geword het nadat hulle ons sleg behandel het - dit was duidelik moeite vir hulle om ons te ontvang: Hulle was duidelik geïrriteer omdat hulle eerstens na die ontvangstoonbank moes kom – toe was die man al ongeskik met my omdat ek glo nie die regte prosedure gevolg het met die “klokkie” nie – daar staan lui die klokkie, maar daar is nie ’n klokkie nie. Toe ek die “huistelefoon” gebruik hoor ek niks – maar toe kom die man en sê vir my ek moet die telefoon gebruik en luister. Dis net daar dat ek my begin vererg het – geen welkomwoord nie – ek word sommer dadelik aangeval (terloops my neef was saam met my en kan dit bevestig). Omdat ek moes vra oor die warm water – hulle het dit eers aangesit toe ons aankom, later was daar beurtkrag en toe ek vra word ek vertel ek moet net wag! Die hek na die parkering se paneel is in totale duister en ek kon nie in die reën die nommers mooi sien nie – toe ek bel en vra dat hulle asb. die hek vir my moet oopmaak word ek onbeskof vertel ek moet die regte kode insit (twee keer) my neef moes toe help. Die parkeerarea is ook pikdonker en ons moes in die reën ons pad na die kamer probeer vind – geen aanwysings of beligting nie. En dan die ongelooflike steil trap in die reën - glad en gevaarlik.

Norma H - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Norma H
With friends

Mountjoy is well kept and clean, situated close to the beach and I would recommend it.

There are stairs going to the rooms upstairs, so when I book next time it will be a room downstairs. One can take a lovely stroll down to the beach which is very close to the guest house. It was a lovely stay, most enjoyable.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Hi Norma,
Thank you for your wonderful review and rating.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for your support.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards from all of us here at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Vanessa S - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Vanessa S
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker gewees.

Die diens en verblyf was lekker gewees.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Baie dankie Vanessa vir jou uitsonderlike review! Dankie dat jy die tyd geneem het vir dit. Dit was lekker om julle by ons te kan verwelkom en ons sien uit daarna om jou weer te sien. Wonderlike naweek vir julle!

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Rita V - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rita V
Individual traveler

Waarde vir jou geld.

Skoon en netjies. Stewige ontbyt.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Dear Rita,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and rating. We appreciate you taking the time to do so.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the breakfast.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
From all of us here at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Lilian N - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lilian N
With spouse/partner

Exceeded our expectations.

We were pleasantly surprised at the size, comfort and cleanliness of the room. Only wanting a bed to sleep in, the budget room's price was perfect and the breakfast was super.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Hi Lilian,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review and rating. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. We loved having you and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
From all of us here at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Andrew N - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andrew N

Friendly service.

We were warmly welcomed and the rooms were in excellent conditions. Great atmosphere.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Vriendelike diens.

Ons was vriendelik ontvang en die kamers was in puik toestand. Lekker atmosfeer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Hi Andrew,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and rating! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We loved having you!
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regard from all of us here at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Anne-marie B - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anne-marie B
With spouse/partner

Lekker stil en lugverkoeling het baie gehelp en natuurlik die ontbyt was heerlik gewees.

Ons het baie lekker gebly en sal dit definitief aan enigeen aanbeveel. Ons sal weer soontoe gaan, dit is veilig en skoon en dit is loop afstand van die strand en restaurant en ook nie ver van al die winkels af nie. Ons het dit baie geniet. Dankie vir jul gasvryheid en vriendelik.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Dear Anne-Marie,

Thank you for your wonderful review and rating. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We loved having you and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
From all of us at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Susan V - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Susan V
Individual traveler

Fantasties.

Groot gerieflike kamers in veilige en rustig omgewing. Veilige parkering weg van straat met vriendelike personeel.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Dear Susan,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and rating. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to get the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards from all of us here at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Semone F - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Semone F
With spouse/partner

We had a pleasant stay at Mountjoy. Value for money.

I would recommend Mountjoy to friends. Just a walk away from the beach and comfortable accommodation.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Dear Semone, thank you so much for your great review and rating. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards from all of us here at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Shawn D - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shawn D
Individual traveler

Fantasties baie lekker met ‘n great atmosfeer

Die kamer was baie mooi uitgelê. Sal miskien net aanbeveel dat daar kragpunte langs die bed is en miskien net ‘n klein bar fridge vir ‘n boksie melk of so. Andersins, geen klagtes nie. Great mense en great plek. Weereens, baie dankie.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Dear Shawn,

Thank you for your review and rating. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments and will do all we can to improve in the future.

Please visit again soon!

Kind regards,
All of us here at Mountjoy Guest Lodge

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Leandra K - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Leandra K

The staff was friendly and the B&B is in walking distance of the beach.

I would recommend Mountjoy to my friends. The staff is friendly. The beach is in walking distance and the restaurant C-Bali is also in walking distance.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Hi Leandra,
Thank you so much for your rating and review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we loved having you and your mom. We hope to see you again soon. Keep well.
Kind regards,
From all of us here at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Toni N - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Toni N
On business

Neat and well presented.

It was nice and cosy and breakfast was awesome.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Hi Toni,
Thank you so much for your great review and rating.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really loved having you.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
From all of us here at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
Madeleine D - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Madeleine D
Individual traveler

The people were extremely friendly and helpful and made my stay very pleasant.

I lost both my parents earlier this year in very quick succession and at Mount Joy was just what I needed. A nice and quiet and quaint setting with the friendliest people that made me feel right at home so I could start healing and recharging my batteries.

Mountjoy Guest Lodge's response

Hi Madeleine,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear of your immense loss, but we are glad you were able to get some peace and quiet here at the Mountjoy Guest Lodge. We hope to see you again in the future. All the best on your healing journey.
Kind regards
From all of us on the Mountjoy Team

Mountjoy Guest Lodge
From R580
per night (for 2 people)
From R580
per night (for 2 people)
From R580
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 28 people
  • Check-in: 13:00 to 23:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 12 Crown Road, St Michaels-on-Sea, Margate, 4265, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAdMuTffk6ZaN8a9VCrn2SyzXbpvkMmHOJidYCAyOhFPYplFKXZy?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R580  per night (for 2 people) 16 5 1 5 12 Crown Road St Michaels-on-Sea 4265 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 13:00-23:00 10:00 -30.823610830451 30.402486076057
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com