Pongolapoort Dam Accommodation at Mpeti Game Reserve | TravelGround
+91

Mpeti Game Reserve

14 reviews
Game Lodge

Review Summary

4.1 out of 5from 14 reviews for Mpeti Game Reserve
Cleanliness
3.6/5
Service
4.1/5
Location
4.0/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.1/5
Athelia H - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Athelia H
With friends

Lovely over night stop.

Wow, the food at the restaurant was amazing. We had fisherman's catch and Springbok carpaccio, absolutely lovely. Sesane camp is very rustic with ceiling fan, so be prepared for the heat, don't forget your bug spray and mozzie plug-in's. Lovely fire pit for those late evening night cap and chat. Very basic shower and toilet separate from the sleeping quarters. But all in all worth the money we paid. Take your own ice, there is a shop outside the entrance gate, suggest to get there before going in.

Ilse O - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ilse O
With spouse/partner

Great.

Great stay. Awesome service. Very hot in the tents. Aircon would be a bonus.

Sanja H - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Sanja H
Family with young children

Advertisement and reality not the same.

Advertisement does not mention at all that there are no bathroom facilities within the units, to visit an outdoor toilet with small children in such area in the evening is not acceptable.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Advertensie en werklikheid nie dieselfde nie.

Advertensie noem glad nie dat daar geen badkamergeriewe binne die eenhede is nie, om met klein kinders in so gebied in die aand 'n buitetoilet te besoek is nie aanvaarbaar nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chantelle S - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Chantelle S

Good.

Great stay but need to improve directions by putting up board or posting more accurate address/GPS coordinates. Also no shop available which will make a stay definitely more convenient as nearest town is more than 30 kms away. Otherwise great place, nice vibe and good value for money.

Theo P - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Theo P
With friends

Comfortable.

Definitely value for money.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gemaklik.

Beslis goeie waarde vir geld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mariaan T - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mariaan T
With friends

Become one again with nature with great amenities.

Our overnight stay en route to Mozambique was wonderful. Warm reception and spotless facilities. Enough firewood. It will help a lot if the turn-off can be marked better.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Word weer een met die natuur met puik geriewe.

Ons oornagverblyf na Mosambiek was heerlik. Hartlike ontvangs en silwerskoon geriewe. Genoeg vuurmaakhout. Dit sal baie help as die afdraai beter gemerk kan word.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Emsie C - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Emsie C
Family with teenagers

Kwaliteit verblyf, en diens.

Baie lekker, baie oulike en ordentlike diens.

Sam S - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sam S
Family with teenagers

Baie aangenaam, dankie.

Lekker verblyf vir selfsorg. Mooi en netjies. Kamers ontsaglik warm t.s.v. waaiers. Storte en badkamers uitstekend. Braaigeriewe fantasies. Dankie.

Sasha D - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sasha D
With friends

Mind blown.

What a beautiful reserve. The ranger really made us feel like friends. He took us on a sunset game drive to the dam, which was breathtaking. He also managed to capture my engagement on camera without us realising it. Now we have that memory forever. The staff are super friendly and we felt right at home. Will go back without a doubt.

Petro W - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Petro W
With spouse/partner

Ons as gaste het meestal gevoel soos ‘n oorlas.

Baie teleurgesteld omdat ons nie in Mkuze-wildreservaat was nie. Ligging misleidend uitgebeeld. Personeel het baie min entoesiasme getoon rondom aktiwiteite. Bitter min belangstelling van bestuur rondom gaste se verwagting. Amper asof hul huiwerig is om klagtes aan te hoor. Ons as gaste het meestal gevoel soos ‘n oorlas.

Jacques P - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacques P
With friends

Very good overnight stay on the way to Mozambique.

Basic facilities, with a lovely bushveld atmosphere in a fantastic setting. Had a great time and the staff were very friendly.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie goeie oornagverblyf op pad Mosambiek toe.

Basiese geriewe, met 'n heerlike bosveld-atmosfeer in 'n fantastiese omgewing. Het baie lekker gekuier en die personeel was baie vriendelik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Sias O - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
1/5
Sias O
Family with young children

The rooms and bathrooms are dirty.

We arrived late at night at Mpeti, the lady was very helpful in making sure we got the place. It's just a pity about the unity given to us for one night. It was dirty, the bedding was old, the bathrooms were outside, and toilet paper was all over the floor and window frames. I talked to the lady and asked if she might have another unit for us, because I was travelling with my wife and two children. She replied that this was that I booked. The pictures of the units on the website are very nice, but they are not what you get. The unit was not cleaned. It's a pity because the game reserve looks very nice.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die kamers en badkamers vuil.

Ons het laat die aand by Mpeti uitgekom, die dame was baie behulpsaam om seker te maak ons het die plek gekry. Dis net 'n jammerte oor die eenheid wat vir ons gegee was vir die een aand. Dit was vuil gewees, die beddegoed is oud, die badkamers is buite geleë en toiletpapier was die hele plek vol op die vloer en op die vensterraam. Ek het met die dame gepraat of sy dalk 'n ander eenheid vir ons het, want ek het met my vrou en twee kinders gereis. Sy het geantwoord dat dit is wat ek bespreek het. Die foto's op die webblad is baie mooi van die eenhede, maar is nie wat jy kry nie. Die eenheid was nie skoongemaak nie. Dis 'n jammerte want die game reserve lyk baie mooi.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mpeti Game Reserve's response

Good Day Bongani,
Thank you very much for your feedback and review. We do apologize for your unpleasant experience at the Sasane Unit that was booked. Please note that your feedback will be used and we will take the necessary steps to correct the issues that you have brought to our attention. We do hope to see you and your family again soon and I highly suggest you book at the Main lodge or the Mpeti Self Catering Villa for a much more luxurious stay!
Once again please accept our apologies for the unpleasantries during your stay.
Warm Regards,
Rita Riekert
General Manager
Mpeti Lodge

Mpeti Game Reserve
Bernhard B - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Bernhard B
Family with young children

Dit was 'n baie lekker kuierplekkie in die bos!

Dis was 'n heerlik breek en oornagplekkie tussen Durban en Nelspruit vir ons gewees. Baie vriendelik en gasvry. Baie hout en ys vir 'n lekker kuier gratis. Net een klein dingetjie die verblyf in die boskamp het net dakwaaiers en geen lugverkoeling so dit was twee lang, warm nagte, dis al ding wat bietjie gepla het verder geen probleem, dit was 'n lekker bos ondervinding vir die kinders.

Elize S - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elize S

Asemrowend mooi.

Was baie lekker. Sal dit vir enige iemand aanbeveel.

From R1 800
per night (sleeps 8)
From R1 800
per night (sleeps 8)
From R1 800
per night (sleeps 8)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 46 people
  • Check-in: 12:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: R66/R64 Vryheid, Nongoma Road, Pongolapoort Dam, Candover, Mkuze, 3965, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAlZB1dNRCkhw4TNgtoPMjzrQqNQfQ0MzagXw9lJBxSur8g3LhLc?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 800  per night (sleeps 2) 14 5 1 5 R66/R64 Vryheid, Nongoma Road Pongolapoort Dam, Candover 3965 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 12:00-18:00 10:00 -27.490547726412 31.918283962952
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com