The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Ndumu River Lodge | TravelGround
+45

Ndumu River Lodge

Lodge

Review Summary

3.7 out of 5from 13 reviews for Ndumu River Lodge
Cleanliness
3.9/5
Service
3.8/5
Location
3.3/5
Safety
3.7/5
Value for money
3.8/5
Raymond L - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Raymond L
Family with teenagers

Comfortable stay with everything we needed.

We stayed in the big house which has more than we expected.

Joan P - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Joan P
With friends

Lovely peaceful getaway.

Based on some of the other reviews I wasn't quite sure what to expect, and I can't emphasize just how pleasantly surprised I was! Even straight after lockdown, the grounds are beautifully maintained, everything is pristine and the accommodation is excellent. The restaurant meals are very good. Ndumu River Lodge is perfectly located for a day drive to Tembe Elephant Park.

James A - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
4/5
James A
With spouse/partner

Extremely disappointing. A restless night.

This lodge has a lot going for it. The grounds are beautiful, and the rooms clean, well provisioned and well kept. It was unfortunate then, that my partner and I hardly got any sleep the night we stayed there. That was firstly due to what the staff called Happy Hour at the lodge bar, which involved loud music that was played from before 5pm until after 9pm that night. The fact that our chalet was a matter of 30 m from this bar only made things worse. This Happy Hour wasn't communicated to us when we checked in either. Secondly, the fact that it seemed anyone from the surrounding villages was free to come and go in and out of the gate during these festivities, which frankly is not on from a security point of view. I understand the need for community integration when running a commercial tourism operation, however there are other more effective ways (and less intrusive for guests) of doing this. To make matters worse, once the Happy Hour had ended, another night club in close proximity to the lodge played music equally as loud, and this only ended around 3 or 4am. I know, because I was still awake then. I understand it was festive season and people were having a good time. But we chose this lodge for its perceived tranquil-looking setting as portrayed on both your and their website. And it was anything but tranquil. What if we had been an elderly couple on a birding weekend? And to that point, how on earth does this lodge have a recommendation from BirdLife SA? If this is the normal run of things at Ndumu, due to the noise you are not likely to see a bird within 5 kilometres of the place, ever. Include more information about where this lodge is situated and the possibility of loud music on weekend evenings on your website. This was disappointing in the extreme. We will not be back. I actually feel cheated out of the money I paid for the night. Anyway, there it is.

Alwyn C - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
2/5
Alwyn C
With spouse/partner

Treurig en kamplekke onvoorbereid en heelnag geraas.

Moenie gaan nie. Naby pad en mense geraas. Kampplekke skuins en probleem om in te kom. Ndumu is 'n sterwende reservaat. Daar is niks te sien nie.

Karen G - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Karen G
Family with teenagers

Most unhappy, we left early.

We did not expect to be so far from Ndumo Game Reserve. We all got bitten by bedbugs or fleas.

Vauneen K - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
1/5
Vauneen K
Individual traveler

Don’t camp nobody worries about you.

Will not be back. Not one person was seen or inquired about camping until I left. Restaurant prices were ridiculous.

Ndumu River Lodge's response

That is the whole idea, peace and quiet, and no one to bother you.
If you cant afford to eat in a 5 Star restaurant then there is always KHC (Kosi Hot Chicken) down the road, they are affordable.

Ndumu River Lodge
Sonia D - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Sonia D
Family with teenagers

Rustig.

Kamers is netjies. Daar is nie veel om te doen.

Yue G - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Yue G
Family with teenagers

Peaceful place.

It’s a good place for family to stay, not far from the Tembe Elephant Park, the rooms were clean and quiet.

Quintin K - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Quintin K
With friends

Was besonders verras - vriendelik ontvang.

Die diens en staf was besonders vriendelik. Omgewing en oord baie netjies en na omgesien. In kamp is kort birding staproete waar jy uile kan besigtig. Die Ndumo Reserve is 17 km weg en is wêreldklas vir enige entoesiastiese birder. Gidse is besonders en natuur is besonders mooi met groot koorsboomwoude. Sal definitief beide aanbeveel vir enige iemand.

Sanet M - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Sanet M
With spouse/partner

Awesome, veral vir voëlkykers.

Net jammer oor personeel se honde (3) waarvan die een (Lola) die voëls jaag en doodbyt as hy dit in die hande kry. Ons laaste 2 dae het die honde omtrent om ons gedrom en was daar geen kans om enige voëls te verfilm nie, al die voëls het soos mis voor die son verdwyn by die eenheid. Ons eerste 2 dae het ons die mees awesome voëls net daar op die die terrein en by die eenheid afgeneem, dit was 'n belewenis. Ten spyte van dit, het ons al dié wêreld aanbeveel om dit te gaan beleef, dit is die moeite werd.

Coreen V - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Coreen V
With friends

Fantastic!

Friendly, helpful staff. Everything was clean and neat. Close to Ndumo Game Park and Thembe Eliphant Park. Highly recommended.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties!

Personeel baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Alles baie netjies en skoon. Naby geleë aan Ndumo Wildpark en Thembe Olifantpark. Kan definitief hul aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ndumu River Lodge's response

Dankie vir die kommentaar, en dankie dat julle vir Ndumu River Lodge gekies het om te bly.

Ons as personeel is daar om al die gaste te onthaal en seker te maak hulle is gemaklik en tevrede met ons diens. Ons vat die kommentaar in 'n posetiewe lig en verbeter waar ons kan, sodat ons gaste met 'n tevrede hart kan vertrek.

Vriendelike groete
Mercia Willox

Ndumu River Lodge
Danie B - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie B
With friends

Had a great stay.

See the stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker gebly.

Sien sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Raymond L - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Raymond L
Family with teenagers

We were very impressed by the quality of the hospitality and friendliness.

We were very impressed by the quality of the hospitality and friendliness. Very good value - bar and restaurant was very good.

Ndumu River Lodge's response

Thank you for the compliments, it is good to hear from you.
Us management and staff in all the departments always try our best to improve the service and to make everyone happy.
To ensure our visitors feel at home, not for us only, but for the benefit of SA Tourism.

It is much appreciated

Kind regards,
Siboniso Mnguni

Ndumu River Lodge
From R295
per night (sleeps 2)
From R295
per night (sleeps 2)
From R295
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 156 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Ingwavuma Magistrate Road, Ephondweni, Nduno, 3969, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDQ0MzVhYzI3LTYxZDQtNDMxYi1iY2U1LTcwMGE2ODE0MTk3Nw?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R295  per night (sleeps 2) 13 5 1 4 Ingwavuma Magistrate Road Ephondweni 3969 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -27.03361 32.26142
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!