Dinokeng Accommodation at Owl Spot | TravelGround
+47

Owl Spot

23 reviews
Game Lodge

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5from 23 reviews for Owl Spot
Cleanliness
4.7/5
Service
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Safety
5.0/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Nicole M - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nicole M
Family with teenagers

Wonderful gem close to home.

We booked a stay at the Owl Spot while my brother was here from Australia, as he was desperate to get into the bush, but only here for a week so we couldn't go anywhere that required lengthy travel. We were so pleasantly surprised to find that the 2 units we had booked were close enough to each other, but both very private. Marizanne was wonderful to deal with, going our of her way to ensure we were looked after, and very helpful when I asked about having a game drive, and she organised it all for us. The bird life was incredible and we spent many hours just sitting on the patio looking at various beautiful birds in the trees around us. The unit was clean, spacious and well equipped for our stay. I would definitely recommend a stay, we will certainly be back.

Warren B - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Warren B
With spouse/partner

Lovely, quiet spot.

Nice and quiet in the bush, great hosts, perfect and clean accommodation.

Jochie T - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jochie T
With spouse/partner

What a wonderful privilege to be so close to the city and so close to the veld! Lovely relaxation!

There are only four houses on Owl Spot and each one is wonderful on its own. We stayed in Marsh Owl. The house is well equipped (I have my own coffee plunger) and very convenient. Marizanne is a dear hostess and makes every effort to facilitate her guests' stay. Bring your own wood and ice. We were uncertain about the timber regulations on the transport of timber in certain areas. Remember mosquito repellents too! We watched such beautiful stars in the clear sky and enjoyed the animals walking to the watering hole. There are lovely birds in the area! And silence, wonderful silence! Lovely, comfortable stay!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Wat 'n heerlike voorreg om so naby aan die stad en so naby aan die veld te kan wees! Heerlike ontspanning!

Daar is slegs vier huise op Owl Spot en elkeen is wonderlik op sy eie. Ons het in Marsh Owl gebly. Die huis is deeglik toegerus (ek het my eie koffie plunger) en baie gerieflik. Marizanne is 'n dierbare gasvrou en doen baie moeite om haar gaste se verblyf te vergemaklik. Bring eie hout en ys. Ons was onseker oor die hout n.a.v. regulasies oor die vervoer van hout in sekere areas. Onthou ook muskietafweermiddels! Ons het so lekker sterre gekyk in die helder lug en die diere geniet wat watergat toe stap. Daar is lieflike voëls in die omgewing! En stilte, wonderlike stilte! Heerlike, gemaklike verblyf!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Marcelle J - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marcelle J
With spouse/partner

Pragtige omgewing vir as jy wil wegbreek van die geraas van die stad en net stilte wil ervaar.

Die eenheid was netjies en skoon met als wat jy nodig het, die zebras, blouwildebeeste, kudus en elande het voor ons verby geloop. In die aande kon jy die jakkalse hoor terwyl jy langs 'n vuur sit. Die diens was puik en Marizanne en Jacques was altyd hulpvaardig. Sal dit beslis aanbeveel en vir seker weer gaan.

Helena B - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Helena B
Family with young children

Ongelooflik netjies en rustig! Sielsrus.

Baie lekker week gehad. Die kinders het dit geniet en lekker gespeel. Dit was lekker om vir die kinders die wild in die omgewing te wys en verduidelik. Die nag besoek van die Jakkalse was spesiaal en iets besonders.

Eloise W - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Eloise W
Family with young children

Lovely, clean and new!

We had a really lovely stay at Owl Spot. Accommodation is great, chalets seem recently refurbished so sparkling clean and new! Best shower I have had in a holiday house and awesome bathtub too. Well equipped kitchen, great braai area and stoep. Such a treat to have soft green grass around the house too! Dinokeng itself can be a bit hit and miss in terms of animal spotting, so would recommend doing the guided game drive with Jacques and Marizanne. Very reasonably priced. Such a convenient spot to get to. Great hosts and overall a good experience. We will be back.

Belinda B - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Belinda B

Amazing, net naby aan die natuur is al wat ons vra.

Regtig baie rusting en pragtig binne en dan die diere in die omgewing, sal vir seker weer gaan.

Maria C - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Maria C

Owl Spot is highly recommended, such a lovely place!

I can highly recommend Owl Spot, we had a really special time. The peace and quiet is amazing, and we thoroughly enjoyed the game drive with Jacques. We will definitely be back!

Katrien L - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Katrien L
Family with young children

Dit was heerlik by julle! Dankie.

Het vreeslik lekker gekuier stil en privaat!

Marike D - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
1/5
Marike D
With spouse/partner

Dis baie duur vir wat jy kry.

Daar word nie eens skoonmaakdienste aangebied nie. Eienaar sê sy kom self in so jy sal dan mos natuurlik sê dis nie nodig. Krag was af, daar is geen lig of lampe beskikbaar nie. Het 'n generator, maar dit werk nie. Ek voel ons het heeltemal te veel betaal en niks gekry soos ons verwag het nie. Nie aanbeveel nie, dis te duur vir te min.

Jaco M - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jaco M
With spouse/partner

Beautiful place, neat, well equipped in a beautiful area.

Luxurious, well equipped and quiet close to nature. Hostess's enthusiasm of Dinokeng is infectious. Can highly recommend it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Pragtige plek, netjies, goed toegerus in pragtige omgewing.

Luuks, goed toegerus en stil naby die natuur. Gasvrou se entoesiasme oor Dinokeng aansteeklik. Kan dit definitief aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lariska T - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lariska T
With friends

People who goes to a lot of trouble.

Very nice place, nice and private. Always nice to hear lions in the evenings, had lovely romantic bush picnics. Would definitely recommend it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Mense wat verskriklik baie moeite doen!

Baie mooi plekkie, lekker privaat gewees. Altyd lekker om leeus in die aande te hoor, heerlike romantiese bospiekniek gehad. Sal dit definitief aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Daniel C - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Daniel C
With spouse/partner

Amazing long weekend away.

My wife and myself spent a long weekend at Owl Spot lodge, the accommodation was wonderful and the owner was very friendly and willing to assist with any questions and queries. The game drive was also very informative and well worth it.

Gerhard G - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerhard G
With spouse/partner

Incredibly neat place with little to no buzz around you except the sounds of the many bird species.

Two houses on site and each one is very private. Lovely quiet and clean away from the hustle and bustle of the city. House looks like the photos, with no negative surprises! Layout is well planned and has everything you need. You can just relax and enjoy the rich bird and animal life around you. Game drive with Marizanne was wonderful and learned a lot. Would recommend the place and would also like to go again if the opportunity presents itself.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ongelooflike netjiese plek met min tot geen gewoel om jou behalwe die geluide van die vele voël tipes wat naby jou kom voer.

Twee huise op die perseel en elk is baie privaat. Heerlike stil en skoon weg van die stad se gewoel. Huis lyk soos op die foto's, met geen negatiewe verassings nie! Uitleg is mooi beplan en daar kort niks nie. Jy kan net ontspan en die ryk voël en diere lewe om jou geniet. Wildrit saam met Marizanne was heerlik en het baie geleer. Sal die plek aanbeveel en sal ook graag weer wil gaan as die geleentheid hom voordoen.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Hannes M - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hannes M
With spouse/partner

Absolutely refreshing bush sounds in a pristine neat unit in the Bushveld.

Baie aangename verrassing met groot ruimte binne en groot onderdak stoep vir buite kuier. Pynlik netjiese kombuis en badkamer en heerlike groot stoep lapa met braaigeriewe wat uit kyk op dié Bosveld. Ongelooflik voëllewe en bosgeluide, ‘n ware lafenis en verkwikking met persoonlike aandag en diens. Ideaal vir dié wegbreek en spesiaal gereëlde game drive beskikbaar buiten dié self-drive roetes. Omhein en veilige toegang.

Sonja V - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sonja V
With friends

Ideal weekend getaway with hospitality and bird song.

Good value for money - the accommodation is convenient and well equipped, the guesthouse is personal and warm, the area is beautiful and the animal and bird life is rich.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ideale naweekwegbreek-plek vol gasvryheid en voëlgesang.

Goeie waarde vir geld - die akkommodasie is gerieflik en goed toegerus, die gastediens is persoonlik en warm, die omgewing pragtig, en die dier-en voëllewe volop.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Yolande J - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yolande J
With friends

Incredibly delicious.

Thank you so much for letting us stay in this beautiful place for a weekend. Everything was beautifully clean. It is not always that you find a place that looks exactly like the pictures on the internet, we were pleasantly surprised! Thanks again!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ongelooflik lekker.

Baie dankie dat ons in hierdie pragtige plekkie kon bly vir 'n naweek. Alles was pragtig skoon. Dit is nie altyd dat jy 'n plekkie kry wat presies lyk soos die foto's op die internet nie, ons was aangenaam verras! Weereens dankie!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Daniel R - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Daniel R
Family with young children

Was baie lekker en stil.

Ons het dit baie geniet die kinners het lekker gespeel. Ons het baie uitgerus met die stilte van die bos elke aand langs die kampvuur.

Eon E - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Eon E
Family with young children

Very nice in nature.

Very nice stay with everything we needed. The only problem was that we thought there was a king-size bed but it was just a queen. Other than that I can recommend Owl Spot for any family.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker rustig in die natuur.

Baie lekker verblyf met als wat ons benodig het. Die enigste probleem was dat ons gedink het daar was 'n koninggrootte-bed maar was toe net 'n queen. Anders as dit kan ek Owl Spot aanbeveel vir enige gesin.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chris S - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chris S
With friends

Exceptional gem awaiting your discovery!

This is a gem to be discovered! Beautiful clean chalets in the heart of the bushveld of the Dinokeng Nature Reserve on the outskirts of Pretoria. Everything you need in this beautiful tranquil piece of nature. Enjoyed one of the best steak braais the Friday evening upon arrival and after our game drive on Saturday we prepared oxtail and lamb potjies outside our chalet with a huge bonfire at the braai area. Jacques and Marizanne have a passion for what they do and they will make a massive success of this new venture!

Shaun  - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shaun
With spouse/partner

Nice and quiet accommodation in the bushveld.

We had a great stay at Owl Spot for a quiet, peaceful weekend. Would definitely recommend going there again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker stil verblyf in die bosveld.

Ons het baie lekker gebly by Owl Spot, was 'n stil, rustige naweek. Sal definitief aanbeveel om te gaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Len R - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Len R
With spouse/partner

Baie beïndruk met die eenheid.

Juweel van die bosveld. Sal beslis weer daar bly. Baie mooi netjiese goed versorgde eenheid.

Theunis S - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Theunis S
With spouse/partner

Rustige juweel in die bosveld.

Ons het die voorreg gehad om 'n heerlike naweek te kon geniet byOwl Spot Lodge. Elke aand die heerlike bosveld stilte langs 'n vuur met wilde diere se geluide in die agtergrond. Wat meer kon ons voor vra om net te kon ontspan en te vergeet van die alle daagse gejaag. Jacques, ons toergids, het die Sondagoggend vir ons die beeldskoonheid van Dinokeng ordentlik laat beleef en die bederf met die koffiestop in die Reservaat was heerlik. Owl Spot Lodge is die ideale verblyf as mens net wil wegbreek en ontspan, die eenhede was pragtig skoon en ten volle toegerus met alles wat mens sal benodig.

From R1 000
per night (sleeps 2)
From R1 000
per night (sleeps 2)
From R1 000
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 16 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Kaallaagte Farm, Kaallaagte Road, Hammanskraal, 0400, Gauteng
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAI1Ggj8Zo6szl1FiFSHKxPCjkU3qVm7zXXmFSUWx33V67XY6Lzt?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 000  per night (sleeps 2) 23 5 1 5 Kaallaagte Farm Kaallaagte Road 0400 Gauteng 0860 022 102 14:00-21:00 10:00 -25.396636 28.377041
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com