The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Retro Motel | TravelGround
+81

Retro Motel

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5from 21 reviews for Retro Motel
Cleanliness
5.0/5
Service
4.9/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.6/5
Daniel V - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Daniel V
With spouse/partner

Pragtige tuine, unieke akkommodasie en 'n heerlike ontbyt!

Die gaste Thomas en Claudi hanteer 'n mens soos ou vriende en is baie behulpsaam.

Retro Motel 's response

Ons sien uit om julle weer te ontvang na goeie reen!

Retro Motel
Debbie G - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Debbie G
Family with teenagers

Very accommodating.

We received a very warm welcome and we were very well looked after by our host. The rooms were well appointed and exactly what we needed for a relaxing stay. We will definitely be back.

Retro Motel 's response

Thank you Debbie! Looking forward to seeing you again!

Retro Motel
Hanna-let V - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hanna-let V
On business

Lekker gebly.

Ons het baie lekker gebly. Ons sal graag weer by julle bly.

Retro Motel 's response

Baie dankie Hanna-Let, was lekker om julle hier te he! Sien uit na julle volgende kuier. Lekker naweek!

Retro Motel
Nicholas M - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Nicholas M

The staff was very friendly and immediately available for any queries.

Retro Motel is, as one would say, nostalgic. Very comfortable, clean linen, cooling (air cons, well not in every room - can be improved). But it is a great stopover for features in the surrounding area.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die personeel was baie vriendelike en dadelik beskikbaar vir enige navrae.

Retro Motel is, soos mens sal sê, nostalgies. Baie gemaklik, skoon linne, verkoelings (aircons, well nie in elke kamer nie - kan verbeter word). Maar dit is puik oorslaapplek vir funksies in omliggende area.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Retro Motel 's response

Baie dankie vir jou terugvoer, Nicholas, ons neem dit ter harte. Lekker naweek!

Retro Motel
Bernadette B - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Bernadette B
With spouse/partner

Amazing!

The room was neat, well appointed!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Amazing!

Die kamer was netjies, goed ingerig!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Retro Motel 's response

Good afternoon Bernadette. It was lovely having you!

Retro Motel
Jill A - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Jill A
With spouse/partner

So good for the soul!

This was an absolute gem in an unexpected place. We only spent 1 night after a wedding, but felt like we had been away for a week. If you love the 50's, quirky places, relics form the past, amazing plants and the simple things in life ─ you will love this. The hosts are wonderful people and we will definitely be back.

Retro Motel 's response

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you! It is so pleasant to have guests that are like-minded and have an appreciation for the Retro era we are all about!

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Retro Motel
Gerrie C - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerrie C
With spouse/partner

Pragtige plekkie, goeie waarde vir geld.

Baie vriendelik ontvang, verskriklik skoon en netjiese verblyf met goeie verskeidenheid koffies, ens. Lekker veilig en oulike decorations in die kamer. Regtig baie tevrede en sal weer daar bly as ek weer in die area is. Grondpaaie is maar stowwerig in die area maar dit is nie venue se skuld.

Retro Motel 's response

Baie dankie vir die terugvoer, Gerrie. Ek sien uit om julle enige tyd terug te verwelkom.

Retro Motel
Danica B - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Danica B
With friends

Baie oulik.

Baie oulike plekkie. Lekker gekuier.

Retro Motel 's response

Dankie vir julle ondersteuning. Ons hoop om julle weer hier te sien.

Retro Motel
Terri-lynn P - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Terri-lynn P
With spouse/partner

Home away from home.

Lovely atmosphere. Claudi is very helpful. Loved the decor and the experience. My next visit would definitely be with a larger group of friends.

Retro Motel 's response

Thank you Terry-Lynn, it would be lovely having you, you should definitely stay longer and have a swim with the tadpoles in the Wetland Pool, the water is heating up nicely!

Retro Motel
Rika J - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Rika J
With spouse/partner

Besonders.

Ek en my eggenoot was al twee maal by Retro Motel. Ons het elke oomblik daar geniet. Die eienaars is so beleefd en so bedagsaam. Hulle het ons dadelik herken en ons op ons name genoem. Dit was baie spesiaal gewees vir ons.

Retro Motel 's response

Dankie Rika. Ek is bly dat julle dit geniet hier by ons.

Retro Motel
Maryna D - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Maryna D
With spouse/partner

Delightful.

What a wonderful place to stay. So much attention to detail in the rooms. It was comfortable and very clean. The gardens and natural pool was a delight. Thomas, our host, made us feel right at home. I can definitely recommend the Retro Motel and will certainly stay there when I'm in the area. Although very close to the busy R 573, the rooms are very quiet, but unfortunately the road noise is quite intrusive when you're enjoying the natural pool in the evenings.

Retro Motel 's response

Thank you for the kind words, Maryna.
We look forward to hosting you again.
Regards
Retro Motel

Retro Motel
Caroline N - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Caroline N
With spouse/partner

A clean and comfortable compact room.

A lovely quaint retro room! We needed a bed and shower as we attended a sporting event in the area so were out all day, and this suited our needs perfectly. The following comments, which did not affect our stay, was the soap holder hanging on the shower arm was high to reach as I am short. Also the body wash and body cream containers are very hard plastic so one could not squeeze the contents out easily. So, very minor issues, else we were very satisfied.

Retro Motel 's response

Thank you for your comments, we have taken note and we hope to see you soon.

Retro Motel
Nick H - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nick H
With spouse/partner

Run well.

Close to river for rowing. Basic but comfortable.

Retro Motel 's response

Thank you for the feedback. Have a great weekend.

Retro Motel
Elanza V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Elanza V
With friends

Beautiful place!

It was a beautiful place! The rooms were lovely and neat. Friendly and good service. Will definitely return!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Pragtige plekkie!

Dit was 'n pragtige plek! Kamers is baie mooi en netjies. Vriendelike en goeie diens. Sal definitief weer gaan!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Retro Motel 's response

Goeiedag Elanza,

Dankie vir die terugvoer dit was lekker om julle hier te ontvang. Hoop ons sien julle binnekort weer!

Retro Motel
Marie D - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Marie D
With spouse/partner

Nostalgia with style.

We enjoyed the visit at Retro a lot. The place is cozy, beautifully furnished and the owners are so friendly and considerate.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Nostalgie met styl.

Ons het die kuier by Retro baie geniet. Die hele plek is gesellig, pragtig ingerig en die eienaars is so vriendelik en bedagsaam.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Retro Motel 's response

Beste Marie,

Dit was 'n plesier om julle hier te hê. Ons hoop ons sien julle binnekort weer!

Groete,
Retro Motel

Retro Motel
Chante P - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Chante P
With friends

It was a wonderful getaway with so much character.

We were really impressed by how beautifully vintage everything was - to the very last detail. It was a relaxing, hidden little place, definitely value for money and recommendable.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was 'n pragtige wegsteek-plekkie met so baie karakter.

Ons was baie verbaas om te sien hoe mooi en vintage alles is tot op die laatste klein detail. Dit was 'n rustige plekkie weggesteek, definitief waarde vir geld en 'n plekkie wat ek definitief sal aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Retro Motel 's response

Hi Chante, baie dankie. Ek is bly julle het jul verblyf geniet. Ons sien uit daarna om julle weer te ontvang.

Retro Motel
Amanda D - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Amanda D
With spouse/partner

Absolutely unique place. It's truly a "Retro Motel" with all the trimmings!

The highlight was definitely the nice and friendly owners. We stayed in the Elvis room with decor that suited it perfectly! It's clear from the rooms, reception, swimming pool and garden that they have a love and passion the era and for nature. Will definitely book again and stay longer than one night, or even host a function here. A special thanks to our Ponytail Palm that will serve as reminder of the beautiful garden!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Absolute unieke plekkie, so waar 'n "Retro Motel" met al die "trimmings"!

Die hoogtepunt was definitief die eienaars wat beleefd en vriendelik was. Ons het oorgebly in die Elvis kamer met die perfekte dekor om dit te weerspieël! Dit is duidelik vanuit die kamers, die onthaalarea, swembadarea en tuin dat hul 'n groot liefde en passie vir die eras en die natuur het. Sal definitief weer bespreek en langer as een aand wil bly of selfs 'n funksie hier hou. 'n Spesiale dankie vir ons Ponytail Palm, wat sal dien as 'n herinnering van die mooi tuine!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Retro Motel 's response

Baie dankie, dit was heerlik om julle hier te he! Ek hoop regtig ons sien julle weer!

Retro Motel
Mike M - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mike M
With spouse/partner

Amazing place. Amazing hosts. Fantastic place.

Retro Motel is a great place to stay for the weekend. Beautiful gardens, great rooms and amazing hosts. Claudi and Thomas were brilliant. Will definitely recommend a stay here to anyone.

Retro Motel 's response

Hi Mike! Thank you for your kind words - it was an absolute pleasure hosting you! Looking forward to the next time!

Retro Motel
Francie R - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Francie R
With friends

Lovely, incredible personal service, would love to go again - this time for longer!

The quiet atmosphere, beautifully different garden, personal and friendly service - everything was top notch! Truly nourishment for the soul. The attention paid to the small things was special. I realise that it is not a self-catering house, but a microwave would have been handy.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlik, ongelooflike persoonlike diens en sal bitter graag weer wil gaan, vir langer.

Die stil atmosfeer, pragtige anderse tuin, persoonlike en vriendelike diens was uit die boonste rakke. Ware sielskos! Die aandag wat daar aan die klein dingetjies geskenk was, is baie spesiaal. Ek besef dis nie 'n selfsorghuis nie, maar 'n mikrogolf sou baie handig gewees het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Retro Motel 's response

Baie dankie! Ek hoop regtig om julle weer te sien! Sal 'n mikrogolf oorweeg, maar wil nie graag kos reuke in die kamers hê nie!

Retro Motel
Ferdi C - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ferdi C
With spouse/partner

Baie netjiese kamers en rustige ligging.

Baie lekker gebly hier. Die kamers is netjies en diens uitstekend!

Retro Motel 's response

Baie dankie Ferdie! Was 'n voorreg om julle hier te he!

Retro Motel
Stacey-lee L - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stacey-lee L
With spouse/partner

Awesome decor! Amazingly friendly and welcoming hosts!

What an awesome weekend! Thomas and Claudi, you made us feel so welcome and so comfortable! The breakfast was amazing! Your conversation and advice on the local cuisine and things to do made our weekend that much more enjoyable! And the decor was spectacular! You are absolutely wonderful people and we will be coming back for another mini getaway for sure.

Retro Motel 's response

Hi Stacey-Lee,

Thank you for the kind words, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Retro Motel
From
R950
per night (sleeps 2)
From
From R950
per night (sleeps 2)
From
R950
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 8 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Plot 180, Ringduif Crescent, Zeekoegat, Pretoria, 0035, Gauteng
  • No children under 10
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAcef58d60fde531d16e3f1bce78ae0010a8a4ea2df8624852c210c593feee2785ab70a3777d4decce59b12ed4c9725cd6d1b5?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R950  per night (sleeps 2) 21 5 1 5 Plot 180 Ringduif Crescent, Zeekoegat 0035 Gauteng 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -25.633882939902 28.326406792535
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!