The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Saldanha Bay Lodge | TravelGround
+102

Saldanha Bay Lodge

Self Catering

Review Summary

3.1 out of 5from 27 reviews for Saldanha Bay Lodge
Cleanliness
3.0/5
Service
3.3/5
Location
3.0/5
Safety
3.3/5
Value for money
2.9/5
Phillipina P - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Phillipina P
Family with young children

Dit was rustig en veilig.

Baie gerieflik en loopafstand van vele plekke.

Saldanha Bay Lodge's response

Baie dankie vir die resensie, ons waardeer dit opreg! Kom kuier gerus weer.

Saldanha Bay Lodge
Mark G - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Mark G
Family with young children

Dit was fantasties.

Rustige plek met goeie vriendelike diens, baie dankie.

Saldanha Bay Lodge's response

Baie dankie, ons waardeer positiewe terugvoer. Kom gerus weer.

Saldanha Bay Lodge
Melissa S - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Melissa S
Family with young children

Was very nice, kids enjoyed the pool a lot. Would really go back there. People are very friendly. Made new friends.

Friendly staff and rooms are very nice. We had warm water to shower for everyone. Was very nice. Had a lovely weekend.

Saldanha Bay Lodge's response

Hi Melissa, thank you so much for the kind words, we appreciate it dearly. Please come and visit again. Anette

Saldanha Bay Lodge
Talita D - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
1/5
Talita D
Family with young children

Shocking state of rooms for the money we paid.

Firstly the room had 1 bedroom and the rest of the beds was shoved into a lounge right next to each other so there is no movement space with a long table in the middle. 1 two-seater couch for 6 people to watch TV. The maintenance is shocking - floors is unmaintained. The shower in the one bathroom the tiles was broken out so you are standing on half tile half concrete. There was masking tape stuck on the shower glass. There was only 1 plug working in the main living room, none of the bedside lamps was working. When we pulled the bed away to see why, the table lamp is extended by a second cable with a dodgy connection but still couldn't figure out why it was not working. They either just installed a new TV with WiFi as the wires of the signal cable was hanging loose on the wall, the bracket was still there for the DStv decoder and the wall was unpainted. To top it off I was informed there is no cleaning services while we are staying there as they are all off. I would have been fine with the no cleaning if I was told about this ahead of time and could prepare. But working for a hotel group I know the expectations of a guest and I would never recommend this place. Don't know how they got their grading approved as clearly the assessor did not review that apartment room.

Wilmary B - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Wilmary B
With spouse/partner

If it's only a couple then yes, but not for a large family and also not for a long stay.

Our stay wasn't great but it could have been better. We came on time but they weren't ready for us, cardboard door almost fell on me, second rooms toilet leaked when it was too full the kitchen sink leaked. I liked how the rooms looked but small maintenance should be looked at like keys for the bathroom doors and there is no shower doors. Our room had no TV remote. If we come this way again we would come as a smaller group for a shorter period.

Saldanha Bay Lodge's response

Thank you for the review, we take all, good and bad to heart. We strive to do better and make our guests feel at home. Please come again.

Saldanha Bay Lodge
Victorine K - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Victorine K

Teleurstellend in alle opsigte.

Ons was 'n groot groep van 24 volwassenes. Op ons eerste aand voor 23h00 was ons aangesê deur die bediende, en nie eienaar haarself nie om sagter te praat. Ons het nie eens musiek gespeel nie. Die eienaar was onprofessioneel, het nie een keer die moeite of tyd gemaak om haarself voor te stel of niks nie. Sy het heeltyd opdragte en instruksies deur haar bediendes en sekuriteit gegee. Ons was heeltyd aangespreek dat ons te hard praat, in daai opsig moet die eienaar glad nie groot groepe akkommodeer nie. Dit het sommer ons eerste aand heeltemal bederf. Ons het dit as 'n jaarlikse instelling om elke jaar met die drag racing Saldanha te besoek maar sy sal ons nooit weer sien nie. 'n Lekker plek met baie potensiaal. Die hele naweek het sy onprofessioneel opgetree met personeel en al, geen integriteit nie! Die eienaar bly op die erf maar ons het haar nie met 'n oog gesien nie. Daar is nie eens afdrooglappe nie en nog ander tekortkominge, elke keer moet ons die bediende Sylvia vra. Die honde het ook met mekaar baklei tussen ons terwyl ons die Saterdagmiddag lekker gekuier het. Die bediende Sylvia moes toe die honde kom kry. Nee wat, die foto's op die webwerf is misleidend en die erf loop nie gelyk nie. Dis opdraend en afdraend die heeltyd. Jy kan lelik val en jou beseer.

Bridgette V - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bridgette V

It was fantastic and ideal for a nice relaxing stay.

Highly recommended. Very nice.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was fantasties en ideaal om lekker te ontspan.

Ek sou hierdie plek aan enige een aanbeveel. Dis lekker.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Saldanha Bay Lodge's response

Hi Bridgette,
Baie dankie vir die goeie rating, ons waardeer dit baie.
Hoop om julle gou weer te sien!

Saldanha Bay Lodge
Marcolet F - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marcolet F
With spouse/partner

The accommodation was lovely and we enjoyed ourselves.

I would recommend the lodge to anyone. The ladies who work there are also very friendly, could only ask for help then they were there. We, as a family, have enjoyed it so much that we will return any time.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die verblyf was baie heerlik en ons het ons terdeë geniet.

Die Lodge sal ek vir enigeen aanbeveel. Die dames wat daar werk is ook baie vriendelik, kan net hulp vrae dan was hulle beskikbaar. Ons as gesin het dit baie geniet sal enige tyd weer terugkeer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Saldanha Bay Lodge's response

Dear Marcolet

Thank you so much for your kind words and your great review.

It was such a pleasure hosting you and your family.

We certainly look forward to you next visit.

Warm West Coast Regards

Gaynor Francke

Saldanha Bay Lodge
Yolanda J - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Yolanda J

Website pictures and reality are 2 different things.

The units (10 and 6 sleepers) was old and unkept. Bird droppings all over chairs and tables on balcony, we had to ask them to clean. Dogs slept outside our kitchen. Smelly and dirty pool, dirty toilet had spiders and webs. Broken stove, couch, toilet and curtain rails. Very disappointed.

Roché J - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Roché J
Family with young children

Photos are a bit deceiving.

On arrival we had to phone someone to find out where to go because there is no reception entrance. We were told we could only check in at 16:00 as they had to clean but when we arrived back after 16:00 the floor was so dirty my husband had to ask for a mop to clean and the toilet had a bad urine stench. We had to mop our own floor each day as it was not done. We had to ask for a stand fan as our unit had no fans or air con, you can't leave the windows or doors open as there is no burglar proofing in the self catering unit so it gets quite warm in summer. The entrance gates motor was also not working so we had to push the gate open and closed. The unit is not well equipped with enough items for 4 people. There are no mats at the doors to clean your feet so you constantly have grass coming in from the pool side, the garden needs cleaning up in that area. Ruda (I assume cleans and runs the lodge for the owner) really tries to help where she can and you can see they work long hours so she can only do so much with limited resources. They lodge would be a lovely place if they just made a bit more effort to get the units clean properly and better equipped.

Gillian M - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Gillian M
With spouse/partner

Pleased and satisfied.

I'm very pleased and satisfied with the accommodation. The only little hiccup that occurred was that the satellite TV was disconnected the night before we booked out. If this is the norm, I should have been informed about it. Other than that the stay was enjoyable.

Rivasha M - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Rivasha M
With spouse/partner

It was disappointing.

The place was a disappointment and very unkept and untidy.

Cherylene A - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Cherylene A
Family with teenagers

We had a very pleasant stay.

We enjoyed our stay at Saldanha Bay Lodge. At first we were a bit uncomfortable with our arrangements because our girls had their own unit and my husband and I were separate from them, however it worked out perfectly. Because the environment is really safe we were totally at ease for the days we spent there. Everybody at the lodge were really friendly and we had a pleasant peaceful stay.

Ankia P - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
2/5
Ankia P
Family with teenagers

Not what was advertised at all.

We booked at Saldanha Bay Lodge, saw pics on website. What we got was a place partially refurbished, no security, no stove an old cracked fridge and the were stairs leading to an upstairs that had carpets removed and nothing else done to it. The toilet had the geyser right above the toilet. They geyser was leaking, a definite safety hazard. Toilet door could not close. There were no fans, also no air-conditioner and it was super hot. The WiFi did not work. Best part of the place was the pool. The check-in time is also super late, only at 16h00.

Rayvan M - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rayvan M
With spouse/partner

Quite nice, safe and clean.

This was a nice and quiet place, great hospitality and overall great service. I would recommend this place anytime to anyone, I will be seeing this place soon after the holidays.

Marjorie A - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Marjorie A
With friends

Cockroach galore.

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. It was dirty, smelly and there were cockroaches everywhere! We had to ask the people to come clean the place because it was filthy. The drains in one of the showers were blocked and it made the entire place smell. We had to request for a toaster (you'd think the place would come with one) and an extra drying towel. There was no grater in the kitchen and they didn't have one. It was a 6 sleeper, but it had only 4 of everything (crockery and cutlery). I was so disgusted as it was not what was advertised on the website.

At A - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
At A
Family with young children

Clean and neat.

There was a problem with the parking however. Their service is very good.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die plek was skoon en netjies gewees.

Daar was egter 'n probleem met die parkering. Hulle diens is baie goed.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Juny-ann B - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Juny-ann B
With spouse/partner

Baie baie lekker gebly en heerlik geslaap!

Dit is 'n pragtige plekkie, ons het heerlik gebly! Net dalk 'n ekstra handdoek en matjies by die bed volgende keer by sit. Maar andersins het ons lekker geslaap. Baie dankie.

Dalene O - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Dalene O

Not again!

The place was not clean! There were dirty black places. Even tough it didn't bother us, the stairs will be a problem for older people and people with small children.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Nie weer nie!

Die plek was beslis nie skoon nie! Oral was vuil swart plekke! Hoewel dit ons nie gepla het nie, sal die trappe beslis vir ouer mense en mense met klein kinders 'n problem wees.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Amelia S - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Amelia S
Family with teenagers

Chaotic, shocking, would definitely not recommend this place!

The photos and the description of the facilities definitely did not match what we saw when we arrived. There were construction workers on the property, piles of construction garbage, people trying to install televisions, and a whole room full of construction garbage and broken furniture and no working swimming pool. The woman who received us was very confused and we stood in the dust and racket while trying to sort out where we were supposed to stay. Gaynor the owner wasn't very helpful - on the contrary. Security (or the lack thereof) was a big concern, all of the rooms we looked at had sliding doors that could easily be opened from the outside, and there were contractors/workers who walked about just like they wanted to. There was one very small fridge in the communal kitchen/living room, and no locking facilities. All the guests had to use one small living and dining room, where the television was still in the process of being installed.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Chaoties, skokkend, sal dit verseker nie aanbeveel nie!

Die foto's en beskrywing van die geriewe en blyplek op web het heeltemal verskil met wat ons aangetref het met ons aankoms. Daar was konstruksiewerkers op die perseel, hope bourommel, mense wat probeer televisies installeer, een hele vertrek propvol bourommel en stukkende meubels en geen werkende swembad nie. Die vrou wat ons ontvang het was baie deurmekaar en ons het lank in die stof en lawaai gestaan om te probeer uitsorteer waar ons moet bly. Gaynor, die eienaar, was nie baie behulpsaam nie - inteendeel. Sekuriteit (of die gebrek daaraan) was 'n baie groot bekommernis, elkeen van die kamers waarna ons gekyk het, se skuifdeure het maklik van buite oopgemaak, en daar het kontrakteurs / werkers gekom en gegaan soos hulle wou. Daar was een gemeenskaplike yskas in die piepklein kombuis / leefarea, en geen toesluit fasiliteite nie. Alle gaste moes een klein sit- en eetkamertjie gebruik, waar die televisie nog in die proses van installasie was.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Saldanha Bay Lodge's response

Dear Mrs Amelia St. Leger Denny,
Thank you for your feedback. Yes, we were busy with upgrades to the property and we apologise that there were areas that were still under construction. Like other hotels, we were in the process of trying to enhance our establishment, giving guests a better experience. Unfortunately, the building schedule did run longer than we had anticipated. We apologise for the inconvenience. There was not building rubble everywhere - there was some bricks standing in a corner of the garden which had been set aside for the builder to build the braai areas in the garden. Unfortunately, since we are in a small town, we have to order things in advance as all places had already closed for the holidays. The builder meant to do the swimming pool had disappointed us and had defrauded us, but we managed to find someone to replace him and had to cut our losses. We tried our very best to have it done before Christmas, but managed to have it filled with water before the new year. In addition to that, we had a setback with the unusual rain further delaying the process. I'd also like to add that we had not advertised the facility of a swimming pool so therefore there should not have been an expectation. We only advertised the swimming pool after completion. The room that you had booked was a Family Room and we are very clear in our room description that it is a room with en-suite bathroom only. The kitchen, lounge and dining area is available for guests in the main house to use. These facilities are a bonus for guests who wish to use it. The room is not advertised as self-catering. We do have self-catering units which we advertise, but you did not book one. We always strive to make our guests feel welcome and at home and I'm sorry that you did not have that experience with us.
Warm West Coast Regards,
Gaynor Francke (Owner)

Saldanha Bay Lodge
Judith J - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Judith J
Family with young children

Only a stopover.

Rooms neat and clean. Clean premises. Lovely view. Friendly staff. Not wheelchair friendly. Stairs can be dangerous.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Het slegs geslaap daar.

Kamers netjies en skoon. Perseel skoon. Mooi uitsig. Personeel vriendelik. Perseel nog nie rolstoelvriendelik nie. Trappe kan 'n gevaar wees.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Natalie C - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Natalie C

Vriendelik en netjies.

Vriendelik, skoon en mooi.

Ingrid P - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Ingrid P

Baie teleurgesteld in verblyf.

Ons moes 16:00 inklok, maar ons kon eers 'n uur later by die eenheid ingaan omdat dit nog vuil was en glad nie ingerig was vir selfsorg nie. Dis duidelik dat werkers in die eenheid slaap, want daar was nog van hulle besittings in die eenheid en die beddegoed was definitief nie skoon nie. Ons moes sekere geriewe aanvra en daar was net 1 toilet vir 10 mense wat baie ongemaklik was. Die foto's is glad nie soos die werklikheid nie. Sal nooit weer by Hoedjiesbaai Lodge bespreek nie. Ek moes ekstra geld betaal a.g.v. 'n dubbelbespreking en moes ver van my mense af gaan slaap en heeltyd op en af ry. Dit was baie ongerieflik en glad nie my idee van 'n rustige naweek nie.

Hugo L - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Hugo L
With spouse/partner

Heel goed.

Op die webwerf kon ons nie sien dat die kamers 'n kombuis moet deel nie. Dit is voorgestel as selfsorg-eenhede, maar dit is kamers met privaat badkamers en 'n gesamentlike kombuis. Dit kan dalk misleidend wees. Die kamers was redelik skoon, maar die badkamer het bietjie aandag geverg, want die toiletrolhouer was af, die wasbak se kraan was los en die stort se pyp het water gelek waar dit uit die muur kom. Ons het self 'n gastehuis op ons plaas en my vrou sal nooit so iets aanvaar in ons plek nie. Die personeel (een persoon) was baie hulpvaardig en vriendelik. Siabonga dink ek was sy naam. Vir een nag oorslaap is die lodge goed, maar vir langer verblyf sal ek, vir dieselfde geld, iets beter soek.

Sheri-lee V - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Sheri-lee V
With spouse/partner

Built for an overnight stay and not a holiday.

The Lodge was clean and all-in-all it was built for purpose. We only slept at the lodge; we spent all day out and only returned to get some rest. It is a long shot being called self-catering as there was only 1 pot in the unit and a 1 plate induction stove. The braai facilities are communal and situated on the other side of the unit in which we stayed. We were promised a private entrance and upon arrival; the lodge helper was looking for the keys. So we never got the private entrance. Parking also seemed to be a problem as there were many evenings that we had to park in the street as all the parking was taken up. A suggestion would be to paint allocated parking bays for the various units; so as to ensure that residents have a parking. It is okay to stay there for an overnight accommodation, but not necessarily to build your holiday around it.

Dewald W - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Dewald W
With spouse/partner

Ons het baie lekker gebly en goed gerus.

Sien die sterre.

Angelo S - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Angelo S
Family with teenagers

Ons verblyf was uiters lekker en genotvol.

Die bestuurder en personeel was gaaf en het my en my gesin gerespekteer en met alles waarmee hulle kan gehelp en behulpsaam gewees. Hulle het altyd kom hoor of alles reg is en of enige probleme van enige aard het.

From R700
per night (sleeps 2)
From R700
per night (sleeps 2)
From R700
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 60 people
  • Check-in: 16:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 3 Salmander Street, Saldanha, 7395, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDA3MjgyNjlkLWZkZDYtNDY0Mi04NWE0LTQyYjU2OTI4ZDI5Nw?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R700  per night (sleeps 2) 27 5 1 4 3 Salmander Street Saldanha 7395 Western Cape 0860 022 102 16:00-18:00 10:00 -33.0101 17.94546
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!