Table View Accommodation at Saltycrax Backpackers | TravelGround
+65

Saltycrax Backpackers

Backpacker

Review Summary

4.3 out of 5from 29 reviews for Saltycrax Backpackers
Cleanliness
4.0/5
Service
4.3/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
4.4/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Namirembe T - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Namirembe T
Individual traveler

Saltycrax is a beautiful place. I am happy with my choice.

Wish they had a heater in their rooms though, otherwise everything was great.

Rihanlo O - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rihanlo O
Individual traveler

Awesome.

Awesome place and service.

Johan C - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Johan C
With spouse/partner

Nie noodwendig conducive vir 'n paartjie. Was onder die indruk dat ablusiegeriewe in die kamer is.

Ek was van mening dat net die "dormitories" gedeelde fasiliteite het en dat die dubbelkamers ten minste ten volle toegerus is met alle fasiliteite binnenshuis.

Riaan B - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Riaan B
With spouse/partner

Baie goeie waarde vir geld.

Ons het 'n week hier spandeer en dit was regtig baie lekker gewees, goeie waarde vir geld en almal is altyd behulpsaam.

Meagan J - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Meagan J
Family with young children

Asemrowend!

Ons het dit ten volle geniet! Ons kom gou weer!

Leon V - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leon V

Excellent place with great staff!

Close to the beach, shops and restaurants within walking distance. Accommodation is neat and the staff are kind. There's also WiFi available.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uitstekende plek met baie gawe personeel!

Lekker naby aan die see, winkels en restaurante, binne stapafstand. Verblyf is netjies en personeel is gaaf. WiFi is ook beskikbaar.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Saltycrax Backpackers's response

Hi Elize

It's so awesome to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed having you guys here and to see a smile on your face every day showed that you are having fun. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and can't wait to put a smile on your face again during your stay.

kind regards,
Janco Halberg

Saltycrax Backpackers
Bernice F - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
0/5
Service
0/5
Location
0/5
Safety
0/5
Value for money
0/5
Bernice F

I didn't stay there despite having paid.

Place really messy and disorganised. Didn't feel safe there. Bedding dirty, place really neglected.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ek het glad en al nie daar gebly nie alhoewel ek alreeds betaal het.

Die plek was bitter slordig en ongeorganiseerd. Ek het nie veilig daar gevoel nie. Die beddegoed was vuil, die plek is werklik verwaarloos.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Saltycrax Backpackers's response

Dear Bernice,

Thank you for your valued feedback.

We would like to point out that the room you booked was the 10 Sleeper Dormitory. This room has the following description on LekkeSlaap:

'All bunks have new ortho-care mattresses and clean linen. This mixed dorm has personal lockers and two en-suite bathrooms. Please note that this room is to be shared with strangers unless it's booked by one group of 10 guests.'

Please also note that since it is a shared room, all guests are responsible for their own belongings and space, and therefor it does get messy sometimes because we do not touch guests personal property when sweeping, cleaning and changing linen in the dormitory room.

We are a Backpackers Hostel so the main guests we have checking in are youthful adventure travelers looking for a relaxed place to rest their heads for the night, hence the feeling of being around a lot of young people. We are not a Hotel or Guest House, and have earned our Grading through following the standards as laid out in the TGCSA guidelines.

Our linen and properly is cleaned daily and we strive to accommodate to our guests needs as far as possible, which is why we offered you an alternative option which was more private compared to the one you booked in our volunteer accommodation next door, for no extra costs.

The Manager running Saltycrax has over 15 years of experience in the tourism industry and was the person assisting you to get a new room yesterday evening.

We have recently renovated the dorm room, and are still busy with minor changes and therefor it does not look exactly like the pictures online, however we will be updating them when everything is complete.

Saltycrax Backpackers
Francois D - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Francois D
Individual traveler

Awesome.

Ek is hartlik ontvang. Kamer was skoon en ek het heerlik geslaap. Opbouende kritiek: Bestuur moet asb. sorg dat daar Doom in elke kamer is vir muskiete. Die samesyn in die kroeg was heerlik. Sal weer daar oornag en vir almal 100% aanbeveel om Saltycrax te ondersteun. Dankie.

Arno S - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Arno S
Individual traveler

Cheap and clean accommodation close to the sea.

I find this a great place to stay, especially for young people. There are many young people of different nationalities staying here. They have created a very safe place with great facilities. They have a nice bar on the premises and the atmosphere is very social. They are walking distance from the ocean and close to shops.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Goedkoop en skoon verblyf naby die see.

Ek vind die plek as 'n baie lekker plek, veral as jy nog jonk is. Daar is baie jong mense van verskillende nasionaliteite wat daar kom bly. Hulle het 'n baie veilige plek en die fasiliteite is baie goed. Hulle het 'n lekker bar op die perseel en die atmosfeer is baie gesellig. Hulle is ook loopafstand van die see en by naby winkels.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Marius B - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Marius B
With friends

Room had no curtains.

No running water in room. Contractors were re-tiling the kitchen area so I assume this was an isolated incidence.

Dawid F - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dawid F
Individual traveler

Dit was verstommend lekker by Saltycrax.

Sien gerus die sterre.

Marionette V - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marionette V
Family with teenagers

Heerlik gebly.

Goeie ontvangs, skoon, netjiese kamer, stapafstand van eetplekke en winkels af. Vriendelike mense en 'n lekker atmosfeer!

Liezl D - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liezl D
Family with young children

Netjies!

Ons is baie vriendelik ontvang en als was skoon en netjies. Daar was net nie iets vir die kinders om te doen op die perseel self nie, maar gelukkig het Litchi, Fred en die ander hond hulle besig gehou.

Vicci S - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Vicci S
With spouse/partner

Netjies en goed geleë.

Baie lekker oorgebly.

Yolandi D - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yolandi D
With spouse/partner

Heerlik gebly, sal verseker weer van Saltycrax gebruik maak.

Ons het baie lekker gebly. Nie eers die kragonderbreking kon die gees demp nie. Het ons kussing daar vergeet, het die Maandag vir Shona gekontak en teen Vrydag was dit terug by ons in Hermanus. Sien julle gou weer.

Carmon C - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Carmon C
With spouse/partner

Dit is pragtig en het dit maklik gevind.

Die kombuis was vuil a.g.v ander besoekers, maar ek sal dit beslis aanbeveel by vriende.

Zeenath K - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Zeenath K
With friends

Clean, safe, and in a convenient location

As above.

Anami M - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Anami M
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam!

Beslis aan te beveel vir vakansiegangers!

Yolandi D - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yolandi D

Ons het heerlik gebly!

Ek en my ma het oornagplek gesoek vir een aand gedurende die feesseisoen en het verskeie opsies oorweeg, maar almal was vol geboek. Ons was baie gelukkig om plek te kry by Saltycrax Backpackers in hul en suite-dubbelkamer die aand voor ons vertrek. Ek was eers skepties om my ma daarheen te vat omdat rugsakreisigerslosies meer gemik is op die jonger reisiger, maar ons was aangenaam verras oor die rustigheid en het heerlik gebly. LekkeSlaap se diens was soos altyd puik en daar was geen probleme nie.

Andra M - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andra M
With spouse/partner

Gesellig.

Vriendelik en hulpvaardig... kamer skoon en netjies. Ons het ons tydjie daar baie geniet.

Senzeni T - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Senzeni T
Family with teenagers

Its the best.

My family & I enjoyed our stay @ Saltycrax. It's safe, clean and close to most Cape Town attractions. We would stay there again when we next visit Cape Town.

Issie N - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Issie N
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker. Kan hierdie verblyf aanbeveel.

Vriendelike ontvangs. Alles baie netjies.

Cameron B - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cameron B
With friends

Great place

Great stay.

Jack D - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jack D
With spouse/partner

Very nice

Very nice place, will go back any time.

Pierre J - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Pierre J
With spouse/partner

Goeie waarde vir geld!

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Karin H - Nov 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Karin H
With friends

Baie goeie waarde vir geld, voel sommer dadelik tuis.

As ons 'n probleem sou he, is daar dadelik 'n oplossing gesoek. Die mense is baie vriendelik en hulle ontsien niks om dit vir jou 'n rustige, veilige vakansie te maak nie. Ek sal enige tyd weer van Saltycrax gebruik maak!

Willie V - Nov 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Willie V
With spouse/partner

Ons het ons verblyf baie geniet en kan dit met vrymoedigheid aanbeveel.

Sulke plekke maak dit vir die gewone besoeker aan die Kaap meer bekostigbaar: geen fieterjasies nie, net 'n gerieflike slaapplek.

Cathy V - Sep 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cathy V
On business

Friendly helpful staff,,,wonderful settings,,,,central to shops restaurants yet peaceful

Super friendly, helpful staff. ZAlways a great atmosphere at Saltycrax. Beautiful garden, peaceful surroundings, yet central to all the shops and restaurants.

Koketso M - Mar 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Koketso M
With friends

It was great staying here, the people are very friendly, I loved, loved, loved it!!!

Saltycrax is a very chilled place, and we enjoyed our stay. I would return here anytime I have to visit Cape Town. The people that work here are very welcoming, and friendly as well.

was R560
From R392
per night (for 2 people)
was R560
From R392
per night (for 2 people)
was R560
From R392
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 34 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 11:00
  • Address: 20 Briza Road, Table View, Cape Town, 7441, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJljxrMFbE2wVTuuGazNdTYX22IVcMQX2Fn01UYkN6KV6jhYnR8?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format was R560, now From R392  per night (for 2 people) 29 5 1 5 20 Briza Road Table View 7441 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-21:00 11:00 -33.821098199709 18.482754198742
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com