Joubertina Accommodation at Semane Lodge | TravelGround
+32

Semane Lodge

21 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.1 out of 5from 21 reviews for Semane Lodge
Cleanliness
4.0/5
Service
4.1/5
Location
4.1/5
Safety
4.2/5
Value for money
4.1/5
Boshoff S - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Boshoff S
Family with teenagers

Baie lekker geslaap hier.

Die Stone Cottage het 'n gerieflike stoepie met 'n uitsig oor die vallei. Die riverpoele is lekker groot en mens kan 80 meter lengtes hierin swem! Dis heerlik om teen die bult uit te stap met 'n pragtige uitsig oor die vallei tydens sonsondergang.

Nico F - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nico F

Absolutely unbelievable!

We were a big group that stayed in the main house. We were made to feel welcome from the first moments by unbelievably friendly and helpful staff - they deserve a special thank you. The house was clean, neat, the fridge was turned on with ice in the freezer. The house is equipped excellently for a big group of people with two en suite-bedrooms on the ground floor which made it easy for the older people that don't like climbing stairs. The second evening was cold and the fireplace in the living room did an excellent job, we were all warm. Semane Lodge's greatest attraction is the location - this is definitely the cherry on the cake! Quiet and as close to nature as you possibly can. We thoroughly enjoyed the Kouga River, pulled out some beautiful fish - and threw them back in again - because we will definitely come again. We had fun playing on our kayaks, and although the waterfall was low due to the drought, there is plenty of water to paddle up and down - with a few places to climb and pull the kayaks through the shallow water. We took our own kayaks. Communication was fast and easy from the start - please use their early check-in (11:00 am) as you should spend as much time as possible on the nice walk-in porch. When we arrived, the tables and chairs were already unpacked! Excellent service! Remember to take everything with you, it is quite a distance to town - the dirt road was in good condition, my mother drove her car without any problems. We have taken our own braai wood, but there is wood for sale if you do not have space. We moved the mobile braai under the tree and had a great time. We took our own camping chairs to use on the grass, but there was plenty of seating on the porch for those who didn't want to bother. The only negative comment I would like to mention is that the second floor's wooden floor cracks when you walk on it and it may disturb other people in the silence of the night. Undoubtedly, I recommend Semane Lodge to anyone who needs a break from the city and its noise and want to spend time with your loved ones, swimming, fishing, kayaking and hiking - not to mention stargazing when the sun goes down. Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Absoluut ongelooflik!

Ons was 'n groot groep mense wat in die main huis tuisgegaan het. Ons is van die eerste oomblik af baie welkom laat voel deur ongelooflike vriendelike, hulpvaardige personeel - hulle verdien 'n spesiale dankie. Die huis self was onberispelik skoon, netjies, yskas was aangeskakel met ys in die vrieskas. Die huis is uitstekend goed toegerus vir 'n groot groep mense, met twee en suite-slaapkamers op grondvloer wat dit maklik gemaak het vir my bejaarde ouers wat nie graag sou wou trappe klim nie. Die tweede aand was lekker koud en die kaggel in die sitkamer het hom uitstekend van sy taak gekwyt, ons was almal lekker warm. Semane Lodge se groot trekpleister is die ligging - hierdie is voorwaar die cherrie op die koek! Rustig, stil, so na aan die natuur as wat jy moontlik kan kom. Ons het die Kouga River terdeë geniet, 'n hele paar pragtige visse uitgetrek - en weer teruggesit - want ons gaan beslis weer kom. Ons het lekker op ons kajaks gespeel, en alhoewel die waterval as gevolg van die droogte laag was, is daar genoeg water om lekker op en af te roei - met 'n paar plekke waar jy moet uitklim en die kajaks deur die vlak water trek. Ons het ons eie kajaks saamgeneem. Kommunikasie was van die begin af spoedig en maklik - maak asseblief gebruik van hulle vroeg inboek (11:00 uur) want jy moet soveel moontlik tyd op die lekker kuierstoep deurbring. Toe ons daar aankom was die tafels en stoele reeds uitgepak! Voortreflike diens! Onthou om alles saam met jou te neem, dit is 'n hele entjie dorp toe - die grondpad was in goeie toestand, my ma het met haar motor gery sonder enige probleme. Ons het ons eie braaihout geneem, maar daar is hout te koop indien julle nie plek het nie. Die mobiele braai het ons tot onder die boom getrek en heerlik gekuier. Ons het ons eie kampstoele saamgeneem om op die gras te gebruik, maar daar was genoeg sitplek op die stoep vir die wat nie daardie moeite wil doen nie. Die enigste negatiewe kommentaar wat ek wil noem is dat die tweede verdieping se houtvloer kraak wanneer jy daarop loop en dit mag dalk ander mense steur in die stilte van die nag. Ongetwyfeld beveel ek Semane Lodge aan vir almal wat 'n breek nodig het van die stad en sy lawaai en rustig saam met jou geliefdes wil kuier, swem, visvang, kajakry en stap - om nie van sterrekyk te praat wanneer die son sak nie. Baie dankie vir 'n heerlike vakansie!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Chris V - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Chris V
Family with young children

Goed ingerig as jy wil wegbreek van die wêreld se gejaag.

As gevolg van ligging is jy letterlik van die wêreld afgesny, was jammer om so laat daar aan te kom kon nie regtig die omgewing verken nie, maar sal dit oorweeg om weer daar te gaan bly. Natuurskoon en ligging is bonus.

Semane Lodge's response

Ons is so bly jy het dit geniet. Ons is baie bevoreg om so 'n pragtige plek te hê.

Semane Lodge
Annelise M - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annelise M
With spouse/partner

Goeie plek om te ontspan na lang dag op die pad.

Die huisie is basies, maar netjies. Het als wat mens nodig het. Die personeel wat ons ontvang het, was baie behulpsaam.

Semane Lodge's response

Bake dankie.

Semane Lodge
Christa D - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Christa D
Family with young children

Kokkerotte.

Die woord lodge moet glad nie gebruik word nie. Dis ‘n baie ou plek met ‘n paar chalets op, dis al. Die prys wat ons betaal het is hopeloos te veel vir die chalets waarin ons gebly het. Ons het baie meer verwag vir die bedrag wat ons betaal het om daar te oornag, juis oor ons gedink het ons gaan in ‘n lodge oornag. Dit was net ek en my gesin van 5 en dan die man wat ek vermoed die opsigter is en sy vroutjie wat in die lodge was. Semane Lodge is vier chalets wat baie karig toegerus is en die plek is vol kokkerotte. Daar was ‘n dame wat nie engels kon praat nie, met ‘n baie orige hond wat ons nie met rus wou laat nie, wat ons verwelkom het, (ons het eers vir 15 minute rondgestaan en gedink die plek is verlate, ons moes maar regtig gery het, voor sy haar verskyning uit die bosse gemaak het met die hond) en ons chalet vir ons gewys. Daar word baie baie min maintenance op die perseel en gronde gedoen. Die plek is glad nie rybaar met ‘n gewone Sedan nie, dit word nie gemeld op die webtuiste nie. Die enigste rede hoekom ons gebly het, was omdat ons reeds betaal het op pad soontoe, ons het na 17:00 daar aangekom, baie moeg, en was nie lus om die 13 kilos grondpad weer terug aan te durf in die nag nie. False advertising op sy beste. Definitiewe nee, nee, nee. Bly weg!

Semane Lodge's response

Dear Rudolf,

Thank you for your review.

Semane Lodge is built to be enjoyed as a retreat away from the city and is therefore styled to be rustic and in harmony with the local environment. We do our best to keep the lodge as simple as possible for guests to enjoy the outdoors and the unspoilt beauty that the area provides. Based on this, it is self-evident that the modern facilities available at more established lodges will not be available at this lodge. The lodge is meticulously cleaned, but based on the lodge's location, some insects will unavoidably enter the lodge. We do our very best to ensure that this is an exception.

The lodge caretakers do their best to welcome guests, but please accept our apologies if you had to wait. We aim to provide our guests with a very warm welcome and have ensured that the caretakers speak at least 3 official, South African languages including English, Afrikaans and Xhosa.

In the directions provided for the lodge, we clearly do state the following: "- Turn right at the sign for Onder-Kouga and travel for 13.3 km on a dirt road through the hamlet of Kransfontein till you reach the turn-off on the left signposted Mbewu Fields."The directions were sent to you in full upon confirmation of the booking.

The road is currently undergoing a major upgrade by de Vos Engineering and road builders. It is easily passable with a sedan.

At Mbewu Fields, we put our guests first. We take our guest satisfaction very seriously, and l constantly look for ways to improve our guests' experience. We respond to criticisms that guests may have.

Regards,
Semane Lodge

Semane Lodge
Paula R - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Paula R
With spouse/partner

Afgesonder in pragtige natuur.

Ruim huis met lekker stoep met mooiste uitsig van berge. Rivier is skoon en het lekker geswem. Werkers is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Enigste negatiewe kommentaar is al die Black Wattles wat besig is om die area aan weerskante van die rivier oor te neem. Dis 'n indringer plant wat uitgeroei moet word. Ook kan die gedeelte na die rivier toe en om die rivier skoon gehou word of 'n paadjie uitgelê word om soontoe te stap sonder om jou weg deur al die plante/struikies te vind. Hou die tuine om die huisies natuurlik - sien 'n bedding is geplant met Kannas wat 'n uitheemse spesie is. Pragtige spoelklippe.

Ray H - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ray H
With spouse/partner

Tranquil, peaceful, isolation, perfect!

The directions were spot on, just when we thought 'where the hell are we heading' the Semane Lodge turn off popped up. The road from OnderKouga through to Opkoms was picturesque and worth exploring!

Jane B - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jane B

Beautiful setting!

We had a great stay and were supplied with plenty of firewood to enjoy under a starry sky.

Semane Lodge's response

Thank you, a special place for special people.

Semane Lodge
Jeanne H - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jeanne H
Individual traveler

Baie lekker en afgesonder.

Baie spesiale plek. Geen selfoonontvangs en gedurende reën tydperk sal 4x4 benodig word om weer terug te kom by die hoof pad.

Anthea H - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Anthea H
With spouse/partner

(CECILIA not Anthea) disappointed.

Very dissapointed to say the least. Place is not advertised as on website, river dirty, cannot swim or catch fish. all the other amenities are nil and void. No towels in room, although we had our own, but it is stated as such on website. Dirt road not suitable for a motor car, they should add that on website too. Will never recommend anyone to go there. We left earlier because the place was not up to standard or at least as they advertised.

Sterna L - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Sterna L
Family with teenagers

Great location for a complete get away from rat race.

We were there with family members including 2 children and had a great time despite the fact that the weather was wet and cold for a great deal of the time. The only thing I would recommend future guests to do, is to bring drinking water and your own towels. The water comes from the river so after heavy rains, it is very murky and then highly chlorinated. We had to ask the housekeeper for towels as I had not noticed that they would not be supplied when reading the description on the web page. Other than that, it is top class.

Lauren R - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lauren R
With friends

Amazing.

Had an absolutely amazing time at Semane Lodge. Was everything we had hoped for and more!

Semane Lodge's response

Thank you, it is a place for a special time in life's hectic journey.

Semane Lodge
Dorien R - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Dorien R

Sal nooit ooit weer daar wil bly nie.

Sal nooit ooit weer daar wil bly nie. Yskas het nie gewerk nie, geen glase, kamers was ongelooflik klein vir 4 volwasse persone. Handdoeke en beddegoed was in baie slegte kondiesie. Ons moes vra vir handdoeke. As gevolg van die yskas en warm weer kon ons nie langer daar bly nie. Baie baie swak toegerus. Geen ons kon niemand skakel nie, want ons fone het nie syn nie.

Kennith K - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kennith K
Family with young children

Waarde vir geld, baie mooi, veilig en sal weer teruggaan.

Sien sterre.

Jaynie N - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jaynie N
With spouse/partner

Rustige wegbreek uit die gejaag van die stad.

Presies wat ons nodig gehad het na 'n baie lang jaar. Baie vriendelike en behulpsame staff. Die berg en water is so rustig en mooi. Mens vergeet skoon van alles, asof tyd stilstaan. Ons honde het die natuur en rivier baie geniet. Die huis is luuks maar ook plat op die aarde. Geen sein of tegnologie het ons baie goed gedoen.

Renette D - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Renette D
With spouse/partner

Heerlik stil en rustig. Mens kan nie anders as om uit te rus nie! Die uitsig op die berge is wonderskoon.

Al is die +-14 km grondpad wat mens tot by Semane moet ry party plekke bietjie rof, het die verblyf, natuurskoon en stilte dit die moeite werd gemaak.

Maryke L - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Maryke L
Family with young children

Lovely nature quietness. Family time, no cellphone reception.

We just didn't have water.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lieflike stilte in die natuur. Familietyd met geen selfoonopvangs.

Ons het net nie water gehad nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Maritza C - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Maritza C

Beautiful setting, but ill-equipped for such remote, self-catering accommodation.

We stayed at Semane Lodge for 5 nights in Stone Cottage and Khayelide. We give Semane Lodge two stars. The first star is for the beautiful setting. Surrounded by rolling green hills and a short distance from rock pools with stunning white sandy shores, the natural beauty of this setting is just what a weary city dweller needs to completely unwind. Waking up to the spectacular view of the surrounding mountains every morning is sustenance for the soul. The website does not do the setting justice. The second star is for the staff – Stephen, Charles and Hope – who are super friendly and helpful. These three will go far beyond duty to make your stay as comfortable as possible. In spite of the beautiful setting and the wonderful staff, Semane Lodge has some significant drawbacks. Getting to Semane will require you to navigate a rather crude 15 km gravel road which is fine for SUV's or 4X4's but to be avoided if you drive a sedan (as my cracked radiator can attest to) – no mention of this or warning on the website. Semane Lodge is mournfully under-equipped for such remote self-catering accommodation: braai facilities, but no braai equipment (good grief, this is South Africa after all!), microwave, but no microwave bowls, no plug for the bathroom sink, no mirrors, no towels, no cleaning things (probably to force visitors to use the cleaning services offered by Semane – at extra cost, of course). I suspect prison cells are better equipped. My mother-in-law cut herself twice on the chipped crockery. However, it will cost you R50 if you should break one of these treasures (about 5 times more than these items are worth). And if you should break one of the large bowls or water jugs, it will cost you R100 (luckily these items were in no danger of being broken as they were nowhere to be found). Khayelide is not appropriate for a family holiday – the rooms are just big enough to fit a double bed/two single beds and a side table in. The lack of cupboards was a real problem considering that we had luggage for five days. In addition, Khayelide seems half-finished – the walkway in front of the rooms and the veranda off the kitchen and bathroom has no shading – a serious problem in an area with temperatures in the high 30's. If you do not have access to a shaded veranda like we had with Stone Cottage, you will be trapped in your room for most of the day. In summary, if you are looking for a get-away-from-it-all accommodation, Semane Lodge’s setting is perfect but be prepared to bring everything and the kitchen sink.

Semane Lodge's response

Dear Maritza,
Thank you for your detailed review. We apologise for the inconvenience caused. We will endeavour to change what we are able to.

Semane Lodge
Janu H - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Janu H

Had a wonderful time with friends and young kids.

See the ratings.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Wonderlike gekuier met vriende en klein kinders.

Sien die sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

George T - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
George T

Fantastiese plaas omgewing met heerlike swempoele.

In hoof huis gebly. Pragtige, skoon huis met goeie uitleg en gemaklike akkommodasie. Staf ontvangs baie hartlik. Heerlike grasperk en lekkerste rivierswem met rotse waar kinders af kon spring. Stil en afgeleë. Uur en half se ry na swemstrand by Kaap St. Francis asook Baviaanskloof.

Maryke M - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Maryke M

Paradys!

As deel van 'n groep vriende met jong kinders, het ons 'n wonderlike naweek by Semane Lodge gehad. Die omgewing is pragtig, die huis (Main House) is baie goed ingerig en die personeel verskriklik behulpsaam en vriendelik. Dankie Stephen, Barry en Priscilla! Ons kon rustig kuier terwyl die kinders baljaar op die gras. Ons sal definitief weer terugkom, die keer vir meer as 2 aande!

From R600
per night (for 2 people)
From R600
per night (for 2 people)
From R600
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 34 people
  • Check-in: 11:00 to 22:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Semane Lodge , Onderkouga, Joubertina, 6410, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGMwZmY4MTNhLWE2MGEtNDYxMi05MWM1LWU2NThhNTJlNzZlMA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R600  per night (for 2 people) 21 5 1 5 Semane Lodge Onderkouga 6410 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 11:00-22:00 10:00 -33.745940420953 23.845457732677
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com