The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Shades of Provence | TravelGround
+70

Shades of Provence

56 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5from 56 reviews for Shades of Provence
Cleanliness
4.7/5
Service
4.6/5
Location
4.8/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.6/5
Janetta Williams W - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Janetta Williams W

Baie lekker.

Baie lekker plek met vriendelike mense.

Shades of Provence's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review, Janetta. Hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Clara

Shades of Provence
Chane H - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chane H
With spouse/partner

Baie netjies, skoon en goed onderhou. Franse styl, maar daar is weer gedoen om dit mooi te laat bly lyk.

Vriendelike ontvangs en lekker braaiarea. Baie gerieflike loopafstand om die dorp te verken.

Shades of Provence's response

Many thanks for your lovely review, Chane. Much appreciated. Best wishes, Clara

Shades of Provence
Lizmare S - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lizmare S
With spouse/partner

Ons was baie vriendelik verwelkom en het sommer "tuis" gevoel met ons instap by Shades of Provence.

Die kamer was lekker ruim en so fantasties mooi! Hulle sal ons definitief in die toekoms weer sien!

Shades of Provence's response

Thank you very much for your lovely review, Lizmare. We're very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Clara.

Shades of Provence
Jacques G - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacques G
With spouse/partner

Een nag oorslaap in pragtge Riebeek Kasteel

Pragtige kamers, lieflike rainshower! Was net aanvanklik onder die indruk dat dit 'n B&B is, maar dit was op die einde van die dag toe nie 'n probleem nie. Hoop hulle swembad is binnekort weer in werking!

Elaine H - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Elaine H
With friends

Die grootste bederf, met aandag aan die kleinste detail. Dankie vir 'n onvergeetlike verblyf.

Ons is met sóveel hartlikheid ontvang en het onmiddellik tuis vevoel. 'n Regte stukkie Franse platteland.

Charl V - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Charl V
With friends

Gerieflike huis, vriendelike personeel baie lekker kuierhuis.

Kort dalk net diefwering op die vensters.

Teresa H - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Teresa H
Individual traveler

Safe, quiet, private and 100% satisfactory.

I had a great time, watching TV, drinking coffee and had all the facilities to enjoy a quiet dinner. I slept well and felt safe. Value for money!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Veilig, rustig, privaat en 100% bevredigend.

Ek het lekker gekuier, TV gekyk, koffie gedrink en al die geriewe gehad om rustig aandete te maak. ek het lekker geslaap en veilig gevoel. Waarde vir geld!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lizelle K - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lizelle K
Individual traveler

Wonderful and peaceful.

Wonderful, peaceful accommodation.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Wonderlik en rustig.

Wonderlike, rustige verblyf.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely review, Lizelle.

Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Doreen J - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Doreen J
With friends

Vriendelike ontvangs. Heerlik, ontspannend.

Ons is baie vriendelik ontvang. Dekor van die hele huis is pragtig. Rustig en stil.

Greg M - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Greg M
With spouse/partner

Great location and accommodation that has everything one needs.

Had a most enjoyable stay - rooms are perfect, with lounge and pool area fantastic to relax at. Also within easy walking distance to restaurants.

Johan B - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan B
With spouse/partner

Very cute and good service.

I will go back and the restaurants are also very nearby and good variety.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie oulik en goeie diens.

Ek sal weer daar gaan bly en die eetplekke is ook baie naby en goeie verskeidenheid.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Johan V - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan V

Incredibly convenient and great for big group. Alarm / Safety not too great.

Shades offer everything to travellers who want to relax and it felt like we were in another world.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ongelooflik gerieflik en fantasties vir groot groep. Alarm/Veiligheid nie te waffers nie.

Shades bied alles aan die reisigers wat wil ontspan en dit het gevoel of ons in 'n ander wêreld was.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Many thanks for your kind reply, Johan. We are very pleased that you and your group enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

The house has a full alarm system, with instructions by the main entrance. We have a secure fence surrounding the property and automated gates which can only be accessed by a secret code.

Shades of Provence
Anna-mari S - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anna-mari S
With spouse/partner

Wonderlik!

Wow, wat 'n ongelooflike mooi plek, stylvol gemeubileer. Ek soek daai plekkie met 'n seer hart! Ons het te lekker daar gebly en het wraggies elke oomblik geniet. Veral daai kaggel in die aand met die koue! Sal definitief teruggaan na Shades of Provence! Pragtig!

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Anna-mari,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. Best wishes, Clara.

Shades of Provence
Peter H - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Peter H
On business

Comfortable and affordable.

This is a very neat and quaint establishment, nicely located and quiet. the room was very clean and modern. the bed was extremely comfortable. My only comment would be that they should offer a breakfast, as the establishment they referred me to was still closed at 8h00, which is not great if you are there on business.

Shades of Provence's response

Many thanks for taking the time to write us this lovely review, Peter!

Shades of Provence
Karine D - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karine D
With friends

Lovely house.

Great location, fantastic to go away with 2/3 families, just book the house, as it is awkward to have another couple there when you have 80% of the rooms! Must have been awful for them, although we restrained our teens to a side of the house.

Shades of Provence's response

Thank you for your kind review, Karine!

Shades of Provence
John V - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
John V
With spouse/partner

Nice accommodation in a beautiful area.

Very friendly reception. Everything was clean and neat and with such a lovely place you can only have a good time. Can definitely recommend it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker verblyf in pragtige omgewing.

Was baie vriendelik ontvang. Alles was skoon en netjies, en met so 'n oulike plek kan 'n mens net lekker kuier. Kan definitief aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Corlie B - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corlie B

Absoluut fantasties!

Ons het as 'n groot familiegroep die afgelope naweek by Shades of Provence gebly. Dit is 'n pragtige plek, so goed ingerig met baie vriendelike personeel! Alles so netjies en skoon. Die pragtigste samestelling van meubels, geriewe, kleur en ontspanning! Ek en my familie sal die plek enige tyd aanbeveel! Shades of Provence is beslis op my lys vir nog 'n kuier aan daai deel van ons pragtige land! Shades of Provence kry 10 uit 10 by my!

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Corlie,
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate it and are so happy that you and your family enjoyed our home away from home. I hope your son's wedding was a success and I wish him and his new wife much love and prosperity.
Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Betsie E - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Betsie E
With friends

Accommodation was comfortable, but didn't really meet our expectations.

Signs of negligence outside and inside are clear. It seems like the owners don't really come there a lot to maintain the place.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Verblyf was gerieflik, maar het nie heeltemal voldoen aan ons verwagtinge nie.

Tekens van verwaarlosing binne en buite is duidelik sigbaar. Dit blyk dat die eienaars min daar kom om na instandhouding te kyk.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Betsie,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy our establishment. We spoke to our manager Gina and she said that you did not mention anything about your dissatisfaction. It is difficult to improve things in these situations. We go to the guest house at least twice a month to check that everything is running well. We live in Cape Town and have 3 young children, therefore, it is difficult to go there more often. Most feedback and reviews we get are positive, and we trust that Gina is doing a good job. The style of our guest house is shabby chic/ country, which means that it is not meant to look glossy and elegant. We do make sure, however, that everything is clean and functional.

Regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Eve S - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Eve S
Individual traveler

Geen klankdempers, mens hoor elke geluid vanuit kombuis en ander gaste.

Ek self sal nie weer daar gaan bly nie a.g.v. die feit dat mens elke geluid binne die huis kon hoor.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Evelyn,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I am sorry that the noise you experienced upset your stay and I wish that you did not penalise us on all the other categories of the review. The score you gave us is significantly lower than the one we generally get, hence this has been a dilemma for us.

Out of hundreds of guests who have been with us in the last 3 years, nobody has every complained about the level of noise. Perhaps you're overly sensitive to noise, in which case taking a room in a guest house shared by other guests, could be problematic. You stayed with us on a Saturday night, which is generally our busiest night, so there is a chance that some of the guests made more noise than they should have. However, I'm afraid that is not something I can control. I have asked my manager if you mentioned this to her, as she could have asked guests to speaking in sorter voices, but she said that nothing was brought to her attention.

Once again, apologies for the inconvenience.

Regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Nadine J - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nadine J
With friends

Awesome, uniek.

Awesome, unieke verblyf, netjies en alles wat jy nodig sal hê.

Shades of Provence's response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a beautiful review, Nadine. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Christel B - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Christel B
With friends

Lovely!

Was a pleasant visit, everything that's needed was there as well as a lovely area outside. A lot of space!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlik!

Was aangenaam om daar tuis te gaan, alles wat nodig is en heerlike buite area. Lekker baie spasie!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Pieter,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your time at Shades of Provence.

Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Luke S - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Luke S
With spouse/partner

Nice and quiet after a tiring journey.

The location is good. The area is peaceful. The guesthouse is clean and neat. The staff are helpful. Would definitely stay there again if ever we are in the area.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker rustig na die langpad se moegheid.

Die ligging is goed. Die omgewing is stil en rustig. Die gastehuis is skoon en netjies. Die personeel is baie hulpvaardig. Sal beslis weer daar gaan rus indien in die omgewing.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Luke,
Many thanks for taking the time to write us a lovely review. It is much appreciated. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Sanel B - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Sanel B
With spouse/partner

Gemaklike en gerieflike akkommodasie.

Ons het lekker gebly. Als was mooi skoon. Die lugversorging en swembad was 'n groot plus vir die somer.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Sanel,
Many thanks for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our guest house and look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Carla H - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carla H
With friends

Wonderful, clean and neat accommodation in a splendid setting.

A beautiful place to stay in close proximity to shops and restaurants.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Carla,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review! Much appreciated.

Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Shelley J - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shelley J
Family with teenagers

A perfect start to our holiday.

Beautiful house and garden, stunning decor, very comfortable bedrooms and clean bathrooms, enormous open-plan area downstairs with two lounges and two kitchens, spacious outdoor entertainment area. Ideal for a large group to take over the whole house if you want privacy. We loved relaxing on the shaded veranda and dipping in the pool. All in all our extended family had a fabulous stay!

Shades of Provence's response

A belated thank you, Shelley, for taking the time to write us this lovely review. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes,
Clara.

Shades of Provence
Paul L - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Paul L
With spouse/partner

Verskriklik lekker gekuier.

Baie lekker gekuier - pragtige tuin, vriendelike diens. Sal definitief terug wees.

Shades of Provence's response

Thank you so much, for your review Paul. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our establishment!. Hope to welcome you back.

Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Hantie P - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Hantie P
With friends

Cosy and comfortable stay. Pity the WiFi did not work, but I'm not sure if it had anything to so with them.

Rooms were tidy and there are lovely entertainment areas which made it worthwhile to return in the future.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gesellige en gemaklike verblyf. Tog jammer dat die WiFi nie gewerk het nie, maar is nie seker of dit hulle toedoen was nie.

Kamers was netjies en daar is heerlike kuierruimtes wat dit beslis die moeite werd maak om weer te gebruik in die toekoms.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review Ronel. Much appreciated. Apologies for the Wi-Fi issues; most of the village experienced difficulties this past week. We are however looking into it to try to prevent it in the future.

Warm regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Callie V - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
1/5
Callie V
With spouse/partner

Netjies, goeie ontvangs, sentraal geleë, duur.

Die woning is baie sentraal geleë en die dame wat mens ontvangs is vriendelik en hulpvaardig. Die woning was baie netjies, badkamers gerieflik en beddens van die beste kwaliteit, maar myns insiens te duur. Vir daardie tarief moet ontbyt ten minste ingesluit wees.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Callie,

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our guest house. Regarding the price, a quick search would show you that we offer the same rates as similar places in Riebeek Kasteel. For lower rates, I doubt that you would get cleaning service for a self-catering establishment. You would also probably get a room much less private with direct access to the street.

Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Alicia B - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alicia B
With spouse/partner

Oulike plekkie.

Ek het baie van die plekkie gehou baie privaat en romanties. Sal beslis weer daar bly al was hulle besig om te bou daar.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Alicia,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and top scores, it is much appreciated! Also, thank you for being understanding of the building. It's never a good time.

Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Denise C - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Denise C
With friends

Fantastic.

We had a great time, the place is neat and the people are friendly. Nice pool and braai facilities. You will definitely see us again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Ons het verskriklik lekker by julle gekuier, die plek is netjies, mense is vriendelik, lekker swembad en braaigeriewe. Jul sien ons beslis weer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Denise,
Many thanks for your beautiful review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Keyna B - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Keyna B
Family with young children

Great house and location.

Even though we were unable to book the one half of the house for just ourselves, we still had a great stay at Shades of Provence! We shared with another lovely couple who seemed very kind and the owner of the home was very accommodating and gave us lovely tips for where to go for supper and breakfast in town. The rooms we booked were spacious and beautifully furnished. All in all, I would definitely recommend and I am going to look into booking the whole house some time for a family weekend away!

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Keyna,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back with your family.
Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Sven A - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sven A
With spouse/partner

Fantastic.

What a lovely place, would definitely stay at Shades of Provence again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Wat 'n lieflike plek, sal definitief weer kom kuier by Shades of Provence.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Many thanks for your beautiful review, Elize! Much appreciated.
Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Corine R - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corine R
With friends

Unbelievable!

What a gem! Fantastic for a group of 8 if you rent the entire house. So spacious, so neat, stunning decor. Feels like a home far away from the buzz. Definitely worth it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ongelooflik!

Wat 'n juweel van 'n plek! Vir 'n groep van 8 mense waar jy dan die hele huis huur, is dit fantasties. Baie ruim, uiters netjies en pragtige décor. Dit voel soos 'n tuiste iewers ver weg van die gejaag van die lewe. Beslis die moeite werd.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Thanks so much for your kind words, Corine!
Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Marcia G - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marcia G
With spouse/partner

It was very relaxing.

It was very neat, relaxing and safe.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was baie rustig.

Dit was 'n baie netjies, rustig en veilig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Thank you, Marcia for your lovely review! Best regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Hercules M - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Hercules M
With spouse/partner

We enjoyed our stay of 4 nights a lot. It's a beautiful and peaceful place.

See stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ons het ons verblyf van 4 dae baie geniet. Dit is 'n pragtige en rustige plek.

Sien sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Hercules,
Many thanks for your review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Michele M - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michele M
Individual traveler

Fantastic!

Very comfortable guesthouse, beautiful rooms. Very clean and neat. Would definitely visit again!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties!

Baie gerieflike gastehuis, pragtige kamers. Baie skoon en netjies. Sal beslis weer besoek!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Amanda,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is much appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Michael H - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Michael H
With spouse/partner

Lovely house with all the necessary facilities and more.

We were there on a weekend when the home owner wasn't in town, but everything went smoothly. The accommodation is well-equipped and the room we stayed in, the Olive Room, was beautiful. The house has two living areas with sliding doors between the two rooms on the top floor for guests on each side. The patio and swimming pool area is nicely furnished with couches and chairs. There is a braai area with tables. We really enjoyed it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lieflike huis met alle geriewe en nog meer.

Ons was daar op 'n naweek toe die huiseienaar uitstedig was maar alles het glad verloop. Die verblyf is goed gemeubileer en die kamer waar ons was, die Olive room, was pragtig. Die huis bied twee leefareas met skuifdeure tussen in en twee kamers bo vir gaste aan elke kant. Die stoep en die swembadarea is goed toegerus met heerlike rusbanke en stoele. Daar is 'n braai-area met tafels vir gebruik. Ons het dit baie geniet.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Michael,
Many thanks for your lovely review. Sorry we couldn't be there. We hope to accommodate you in the future again.
Warm regards,
Clara
P.S. We have just increased our security.

Shades of Provence
Amanda V - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Amanda V
With spouse/partner

Beautiful house in a perfect location.

This guesthouse is perfectly located close to the main centre of town. We walked everywhere. It is beautifully decorated in a cottage style, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. The town itself is an absolute delight! Full of quirky, eccentric places and people. We will definitely be back!

Shades of Provence's response

Many thanks for your beautiful review, Amanda. I am so sorry I didn't get to meet you and your husband. I'm happy he had a special birthday weekend and I look forward to meeting you in the future.
Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Renske Smit S - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Renske Smit S
With spouse/partner

Shades het ons verwagtinge oortref.

Love Shades of Provence. Ons sal definitief graag weer wil gaan. Riebeek Kasteel is die mooiste dorpie met die heerlikste kos by Mama Cucina.

Nicole F - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nicole F
With spouse/partner

Lovely place!

Stunning place in the middle of the pretty town. Very relaxing and nice with everything you need. Exactly what we needed.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was lieflik!

Pragtige plekkie in die middel van die mooie dorpie. Baie rustig en ontspanne met als wat jy nodig het! Dit was presies wat ons nodig gehad het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Elsa K - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elsa K
With spouse/partner

Sprokieshuis met alles waar jy net lekker kan kuier!

Hierdie huisie het alles wat jy nodig kan hê: 'n lekker kaggel en 'n goeie fee by name van Giena. Netjies en skoon. Jy wil nie weggaan nie. Sentraal om 'n groot gedeelte van die Wes-Kaap te besoek, ook saam met vriende. Sal definitief aanbeveel en sal graag weer van hierdie huis gebruik maak.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Elsa,
I am so happy to hear your wonderful review! Many thanks; I appreciate it. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Shades of Provence and I hope that next time I will be able to come through myself to welcome you.
Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Helene T - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Helene T
Family with teenagers

Will definitely stay over here again!

A lovely overnight stop, well-equipped and very centrally located.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Sal verseker weer hier oorbly!

'n Heerlike oorblyplekkie wat baie goed toegerus en baie sentraal geleë is.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Helene,
It was great having you at Shades of Provence! Many thanks for your lovely review! Hope to welcome you back again!
Warm regards,
Clara
P.S. Waiting for your mailing address.

Shades of Provence
Cayley C - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cayley C
With spouse/partner

It was absolutely perfect!

Very welcoming. Clean and cosy. Fully equipped rooms and kitchen.

Shades of Provence's response

Many thanks for your lovely review, Cayley! Much appreciated! Hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Sonya B - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sonya B
With spouse/partner

Outstanding. Outstanding. Outstanding.

Thank you so much for an unforgettable stay at Shades of Provence last Friday. The place is gorgeous and even my other half was so impressed (and that does not happen every day). Then we had the pleasure of meeting your beautiful mom and your stunning mother-in-law, lovely 2 ladies. The lady that works there, unfortunately I did not get her name, really made us feel so at home. It was just a pity we did not meet you and your family, because after speaking to Margaret and Rosa (I think), it felt like we knew you as well. Thank you again for making your place available to us, I will definitely recommend it to everybody.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Sonya,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Thanks to guests like you my job is amazing! Your words just make me regret that I was not there to welcome you myself. Best wishes! Clara

Shades of Provence
Kitty G - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Kitty G
On business

Comfortable and quiet.

Merveilleux!

Shades of Provence's response

Merci beaucoup!

Shades of Provence
Christie S - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christie S

Ons het dit vreeslik geniet!

Pragtige, goed toegeruste, gemaklike en netjiese plek met puik diens. Die huis en tuin is pragtig en alles leen hom tot 'n warm atmosfeer waar mens net lekker kan kuier. Die huis is baie goed toegerus en netjies. Clara is so 'n aangename mens en het uit haar pad gegaan om ons tydjie daar onvergeetlik te maak.

Christie V - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Christie V
With spouse/partner

'n Ervaring wat ek sal onthou.

Enige iemand kan gerus vir 'n aand of naweek hier tuisgaan.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Christie,

Thank you for your lovely comment and review! I am happy that you chose to stay with us and I hope to meet you next time. I hope the wedding was also memorable :)

Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Leo K - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leo K
With spouse/partner

Gemaklike verblyf.

Shades of the Valley het alles wat mens nodig het vir 'n goeie naweek. Die kamers is goed uitgerus en daar is volledige kombuise en braai areas vir gaste.

Shades of Provence's response

Hi Leo,

Thank you for your lovely review and comments! It was very nice meeting you and I hope to meet again in the future!

Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Sybil D - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Sybil D
With spouse/partner

Lekker bekostigbare verblyf!

Lekker geleë ook. Dankie! Ons het baie lekker gebly by Shades of the Valley. As ek net kan aanbeveel dat daar miskien 'n losstaande kas bo ingesit kan word sal dit goed wees. Die stort is ook baie oop, so 'n stortdeur wat dit bietjie meer beskerm sal goed wees. Verder was dit heel aangenaam.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Sybil,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments! I'm sorry I missed you; my mom is very fond of you :) I am extremely happy that your family will be staying with us next year, for your brother's wedding! So exciting!

Best wishes,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Yvonne B - Jul 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Yvonne B
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig en voel soos huis.

Ek wou graag ontbyt vir die prys ingesluit gehad het, maar het weer op webtuiste gaan kyk en sien dat ontbyt beskikbaar is. Voel dat dit duidelik moet aangedui word dat ontbyt nie beskikbaar is nie, aangesien die eienaar dit duidelik gestel het by aankoms dat daar nie ontbyt is nie alhoewel by voordeur ingang 'n B&B-bordjie is. Die plafon in die kamer is ook nie geverf nie en hulle is besig om daaraan te werk. Origens het ons baie lekker gebly.

Shades of Provence's response

Dear Yvonne,

Thank you for your review and I apologise for the delay of my response!

When you came to us, we had just taken over from the previous owners (just over a month prior) and we were told that they had switched to Self Catering in the beginning of the year, hence we understood that all websites listing the guest house had been updated. I apologise if you came across a site which hadn't. The sign on the house outside which says "Bed and Breakfast" also says "$2.00 per night". Generally guests understand that it is for decoration purposes only, just like the coffee sign inside the house which says "25c'. As you know, we don't charge for coffee. Finally, yes, the roof was faulty and it was fixed long time ago. In fact, the house house has been renovated and upgraded and it looks great! :o)

Kind regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Annerie K - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Annerie K
Family with young children

Netjies, vriendelik en huislike atmosfeer.

Ons is baie warm ontvang en het verblyf geniet. Hul het moeite gedoen vir ons kinders.

Shades of Provence's response

Hello Annerie,

We are the new owners of Shades of the Valley and, although this review is not really for us, we are happy that you enjoyed yourselves at our guest house. We renovated and upgraded it this winter and it looks great! :)

Warm regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Riana V - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Riana V
With spouse/partner

Aangenaam verras.

Ons ondervinding was baie aangenaam. Skoon, netjies en die handdoeke lekker skoon. Ontvangs vriendelik en ontbyt heerlik!

Shades of Provence's response

Hello Riana,

We are the new owners of Shades of the Valley and, although this review is not really for us, we are happy that you enjoyed yourselves at our guest house. We renovated and upgraded it this winter and it looks great! :)

Warm regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Estelle W - Mar 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Estelle W
With spouse/partner

Het vreeslik tuis gevoel!

Die gasheer en -vrou is wonderlike mense. Hulle het ons vreeslik tuis laat voel. Die kamers is besonders mooi met lugversorging en 'n pragtige badkamer.

Shades of Provence's response

Hello Estelle,

We are the new owners of Shades of the Valley and, although this review is not really for us, we are happy that you enjoyed yourselves at our guest house. We renovated and upgraded it this winter and it looks great! :)

Warm regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Adele M - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Adele M
With friends

Baie lekker gebly ... ontbyt was heerlik! Veral die chips saam met die ontbyt. Vriendelike mense.

Vriendelike mense. Ligging goed. Kamers skoon en netjies.

Shades of Provence's response

Hello Adele,

We are the new owners of Shades of the Valley and, although this review is not really for us, we are happy that you enjoyed yourselves at our guest house. We renovated and upgraded it this winter and it looks great! :)

Warm regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Jan S - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Jan S
With spouse/partner

Wonderlik! Baie vriendelike atmosfeer.

Dit was 'n heerlike ervaring. Bed was baie lekker en ontbyt nog beter. Bodemlose koffie was 'n wenner by ontbyt!

Shades of Provence's response

Hello Jan,

We are the new owners of Shades of the Valley and, although this review is not really for us, we are happy that you enjoyed yourselves at our guest house. We renovated and upgraded it this winter and it looks great! :)

Warm regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
Estée H - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Estée H
With spouse/partner

Ons het 'n wonderlike tyd gehad in die gastehuis.

Valerie, die gasvrou, het ons baie tuis laat voel en ons sal definitief weer kom kuier.

Shades of Provence's response

Hello Estee,

We are the new owners of Shades of the Valley and, although this review is not really for us, we are happy that you enjoyed yourselves at our guest house. We renovated and upgraded it this winter and it looks great! :)

Warm regards,
Clara

Shades of Provence
was R800
From R600
per night (for 2 people)
was R800
From R600
per night (for 2 people)
was R800
From R600
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 12 people
  • Check-in: 13:00 to 17:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 24B Fontein Street, Riebeek Kasteel, 7307, Western Cape
  • No children under 7
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAn2ZPJh6saDcReBjwP02OSWH8k6Y7J0qX0rFrJVfu9D0QztSvbO?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 was R800, now From R600  per night (for 2 people) 56 5 1 5 24B Fontein Street Riebeek Kasteel 7307 Western Cape 0860 022 102 13:00-17:00 10:00 -33.385959478022 18.895705276127
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!