West Rand Accommodation at Silver Birch | TravelGround
+30

Silver Birch

55 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 55 reviews for Silver Birch
Cleanliness
4.6/5
Service
4.5/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Mariska J - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mariska J

Stunning Place, wonderful people, top notch safety.

During my two-week stay here, I was amazed at the hospitality and friendliness of our two hosts, and felt very much at home. The room had every single thing I needed as a travelling student, and the bathroom is huge! I have to also exclaim that the beds are lush, and provided myself and my companion with a proper night's rest after very long days. Breakfast each morning was something I looked forward to, and enjoyed having a chat with the other residents and the hosts themselves. Definitely staying here again next year.

Silver Birch's response

Hi Mariska, thank you for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Kevin and Sue.

Silver Birch
Luyanda S - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Luyanda S

I enjoyed my stay.

Everything was good except for the fact that they charged a lot for breakfast and dinner, but overall I had a good time.

Silver Birch's response

Thanks for staying with us. Breakfast is free its included in the price and Dinner is an optional extra. We look forward to seeing you again some time.

Regards,
Kevin

Silver Birch
Tombizodw M - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Tombizodw M
On business

They treat their customers with dignity and love and they are caring.

I would like to stay in a place like Silver Birch if I travel to another province or town.

Ephraim S - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ephraim S
Individual traveler

Silver Birch is more safer than the B&B's I visited before.

Breakfast is served on time.

Johan P - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan P
On business

Als 100%.

Netjies en gerieflik vir die 2 dae wat ons daar was, gaan weer oor 2 weke op vir besigheid dan sal ek definitief weer daar wil bly.

Nadia V - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nadia V

Great place to stay with a large group of people.

Our stay was really great. We needed to book in earlier and was accommodated really well. Rooms are really nice, and having air-con in all of them was a great plus for us. Kevin was a great host. Would stay there again for sure.

Sakhiseni S - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sakhiseni S
With spouse/partner

It's a good place to visit and have a quality time.

I enjoyed my stay there. It was peaceful. Everything was in order and I can't complain about anything.

Hendrik N - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hendrik N
With friends

Silver Birch can definitely be recommended.

We were a large group of girl friends staying at Silver Birch. Would definitely recommend, simply the best!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Silver Birch kan enige tyd aanbeveel word.

Ons was 'n groep vriendinne wat saam by Silver Birch tuisgegaan het. Ek sal Silver Birch definitief aanbeveel, die verblyf was onverbeterlik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Silver Birch's response

Thank you, Helene. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Regards,
Kevin

Silver Birch
Petronella M - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Petronella M
Individual traveler

Safe place to be.

The place is good and safe but the breakfast needs some improvements. They measure how much you should eat and drink by dishing out for you. But otherwise, it's good.

Silver Birch's response

We offer for breakfast that consists of 4 kinds of cereal, yoghurt, sausage, bacon and tomato with 2 eggs, either fried or scrambled, which we prepare for you. Toast, tea, coffee and Sir Juice orange juice. Should you want more, just ask and we are too pleased to make you happy.

Silver Birch
Lientjie V - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Lientjie V
With friends

Value for money.

Unfortunately we had to leave early the Sunday morning, but we enjoyed our time here.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Waarde vir geld.

Ons moes ongelukkig baie vroeg Sondagoggend vertrek, maar het die tyd hier geniet.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Riana-marie S - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Riana-marie S
Family with teenagers

Satisfied.

Friendly and clean, safe parking.

Cathrine-rose D - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Cathrine-rose D

This is not a 'student friendly' accommodation option.

The hostess was very friendly. However, as a parent, I was unhappy to hear how two young girls had to find their own way around. I expected a more accommodating host, considering the unsafe climate we live in today.

Silver Birch's response

Good day,

I am sorry to hear you were unhappy. Seeing your daughter was given a free lift to and from Unisa main entrance at no charge for 10 days. I feel you are not correct in saying I was not accommodating. Unfortunately, from now on all students will have to find their own way to and from Unisa for future bookings as we do not offer a shuttle service. Your daughter seemed to find her own way around. Other students took her to the shops. We always greeted your daughter with a smile and kept her safe while she was staying with us.

Silver Birch
Margaret J - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Margaret J
Individual traveler

Gerieflike ligging. Netjies.

Silver Birch is goed geleë, naby Unisa. Gerieflik met eetplekke naby. Silver Birch is netjies en die mense vriendelike en hulpvaardig.

Marelze E - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marelze E
Family with young children

It was great.

We had a great time as a family. The rooms were spacious and clean. The host made us feel welcome. Will definitely stay here again!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was baie lekker.

Het heerlik as gesin gebly. Die kamers was ruim en mooi skoon. Die gasheer het ons welkom laat voel. Sal vir seker weer daar oorbly!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gail B - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gail B
Individual traveler

Ek het baie lekker gebly.

Silver Birch is gerieflik naby UNISA Florida kampus. Dit is skoon, netjies en die eienaars is vriendelik. Die ontbyt was ook heerlik.

Riette S - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Riette S
With spouse/partner

Absolutely fantastic.

Thank you Kevin for your hospitality. It was nice to stay in a neat, clean room. Vehicle was safe. Thank you for the friendliness and delicious breakfast.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Absoluut fantasties.

Dankie Kevin vir jou gasvryheid, was lekker om by 'n netjiese skoon kamer te kom. Voertuig was veilig. Dankie vir die vriendelikheid en die lekker ontbyt.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Silver Birch's response

Thanks for the kind words. Was great meeting you. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kevin

Silver Birch
Sandra S - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sandra S
With spouse/partner

Lekker.

Wat lekker was, is om van Ontdekkers direk af te draai na die gastehuis en dan binne 7 minute by die botaniese tuin te kan wees.

Bettie M - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Bettie M
With spouse/partner

Staying at Silver Birch was a pleasant experience!

Silver Birch is neat and has everything you need! We will definitely go there again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was 'n aangename ervaring om by Silver Birch oor te bly!

Silver Birch was netjies met alles wat nodig is byderhand! Ons sal beslis weer daar tuisgaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ronel L - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ronel L
With friends

Very pleasant experience.

Very friendly reception. Everything was neat, clean and convenient.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie aangename ondervinding.

Baie vriendelike ontvangs. Alles baie netjies en skoon en gerieflik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Megan M - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Megan M
Individual traveler

Was satisfied with the accommodation and will definitely consider using them again.

I had a lovely stay at Silver Birch - adequate breakfast, good facilities and conveniently situated.

Sewela S - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Sewela S
With spouse/partner

It is a good place to stay.

It was an excellent place.

Milly V - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Milly V
Individual traveler

Accommodation was good but not for students

I am a Unisa student and the location of sliver birch was good as it's only 3 minutes by car. The host, however, was a bit rude when asked to cater a vegetarian breakfast. We received an abrupt "you'll eat what we serve and you'll like it"-attitude. Also, when traveling to Unisa we asked the host to drop us off at the appropriate entrance and the answer was a straight "No, you should be lucky you are getting a lift". I didn't mind the no, but what was said after that to three young women was appalling. The room was clean but I definitely won't be staying there again because of the rude host.

Andre V - Jun 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Andre V
With spouse/partner

Was tevrede met die verblyf, netjies, rustig en gasvry. Sal plek beslis aanbeveel vir ander toeriste.

Mense is gasvry en akkommodeer jou na gelang van jou behoefte.

Liza B - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Liza B
Individual traveler

Veilig en gerieflik geleë, maar 'n paar probleme.

Alhoewel die krag af was, het Kevin my verblyf gerieflik gemaak. Die kamer was skoon en ek het gerieflik geslaap. Heerlike ontbyt. Ek het nie daarvan gehou om agterom die huis te loop, verby die agterdeur en 'n wasmasjien om by my kamer uit te kom nie. Die afdakke is nie goed versorg nie. Ek moes ook deur 'n motorhuis ry om by die parkeerplek uit te kom en die motorhuis is nie netjies nie.

Andre V - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Andre V
With spouse/partner

Ons was tevrede met die verblyf, netjies!

Goeie prys, verblyf en ontbyt ingesluit.

Solomon Y - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Solomon Y
With spouse/partner

Good place to stay,keep it up.

Silver Birch met our standards, provided a home away from home and we would like to sleep there again. Thanks a lot Kelvin we did feel at home.

Wessel B - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wessel B
With spouse/partner

Value for money!

A very friendly atmosphere.

Jenge E - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jenge E
With friends

Veilig, gemaklik en rustig.

Internet-toegang was 'n bonus!

Marelize B - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Marelize B
Family with young children

Die gastehuis was baie skoon en netjies.

Die gesinseenheid is baie ruim met twee vertrekke. Die kinders het lekker op die grasperk gespeel. Die groot stoep en afdak was 'n heerlike kuierplek. Ons sal beslis weer daar oornag as ons weer 'n sport naweek in die omgewing het.

De Villiers A - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
De Villiers A
With spouse/partner

Baie rustige area en het veilig gevoel.

Die soektog en bespreking via LekkeSlaap was seepglad, maklik en vinnig. Daarbenewens was die e-pos en SMS kommunikasie vinnig, relevant en in Afrikaans. Ons het vir ons kort oornagverblyf goeie waarde vir geld gekry en Kevin, eienaar van Siver Birch, was baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Ons sal dié plek weer oorweeg indien ons in daardie area moet oornag.

Nicolette V - Sep 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nicolette V
Individual traveler

Excellent!

My daughter stayed for a week to do practicals at UNISA. The service was great.

Peet V - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Peet V
On business

Silver Birch se verblyf was gerieflik en skoon!

Dit is naby Unisa Florida Kampus.

Elizabeth V - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Elizabeth V
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik en vriendelik!

Gerieflik vir ons doeleindes!

Ria P - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Ria P
On business

Baie lekker gewees.

Dit was my tweede keer dat ek daar slaap, en ek sal weer gebruik maak van die fasiliteit wanneer ek weer in daardie omgewing is. Alles is skoon en netjies. Baie dankie.

Nickie N - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Nickie N

Uitstekende waarde vir geld, vriendelike diens!

Het voorheen al 'n paar keer by Silver Birch gebly. Was, en is nog altyd net 'n plesier om daar te bly!

Danie M - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie M
Family with teenagers

Baie netjies en skoon

Vriendelike diens en baie netjiese en skoon eenheid

Liesl S - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liesl S
With spouse/partner

Skoon, vriendelik, maklik om by uit te kom.

Ons het baie lekker daar gekuier. Die plek was skoon en netjies. Vriendelike mense en goeie waarde vir geld!

Wardah S - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Wardah S

Ek het dit baie geniet and sal definitief die plek aanbeveel.

Die diens wat Kevin en sy span lewer was uitstekend.

Jessie S - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jessie S
With friends

Great service

A fantastic experience all round.

Francis D - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Francis D
Family with teenagers

Lekker gebly.

'n Baie vriendelike gasheer. Ons het heerlik geslaap en lekker ontbyt geëet.

Ben T - Nov 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ben T
With spouse/partner

Verblyf was baie aangenaam.

Ons het baie lekker gebly en 'n lekker ontbyt gehad.

Sibusiso T - Nov 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Sibusiso T
On business

The facility was suitable for my needs

I was looking for a facility for business purposes and Silver Birch met those requirements.

Wilhelm D - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wilhelm D
On business

Baie netjies en gerieflik!

Baie vriendelike diens. Lekker ontbyt. Gerieflik en skoon.

Rodger P - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rodger P
With spouse/partner

Warm welcome and hosting by Kevin. Value for money.

Thank you to Kevin for making our stay so pleasant and being such a warm and amazing host. We loved the rooms which was clean. Tea and coffee in the rooms with our mints and biscuits... We felt safe once we entered the premises. Always a good old laugh and chat with Kevin which made our stay very pleasant. It was a home away from home. We will definitely recommend!

Ronnie J - Jul 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ronnie J
With friends

Very good and pleasant place.

Easy to locate. Near to the main road. Very tranquil and safe place to stay. Neatness of rooms and the reception (at a late hour) was very good. Thanks to Kevin, his wife, and the staff at Silver Birch.

Marika G - Jun 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Marika G
On business

Veilig, skoon, aangenaam.

Sal Silver Birch graag aanbeveel.

Anne B - Jun 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anne B
On business

Gasvry, ruim en gemaklik

Die ontvangs was goed. Kamers gemaklik, met heerlike warmte. Die eienaar vriendelik en gasvry. Onbyt smaaklik.

Ria P - Mar 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ria P
With spouse/partner

Wonderful

We enjoyed the stay at Silver Birch - thank you.

Alan R - Jan 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Alan R

Great

A wonderful place, good value for money and great customer service.

Cheryl J - Apr 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cheryl J
With spouse/partner

We had a very pleasant stay at silver birch. No complaints at all.

Our time at silver birch really proved to be awesome, the service was great and Kevin was indeed very helpful and very polite at all times. The food was great, the area very safe and there was always a wonderful atmosphere. Our room was always cleaned every morning, bedding changed, mints and biscuits provided every morning, clean cups and saucers provided and bathroom kept hygienically clean. We would recommend it to anyone.

Sakkie V - Feb 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Sakkie V
With spouse/partner

Kevin is a great host and cook.

Nice place to stay. Thanks for everything, it was lovely.

Stephanie D - Sep 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stephanie D
Individual traveler

Very pleasant and convenient.

Very pleasant and convenient.

Kasiboy W - Apr 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
2/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Kasiboy W
Individual traveler

Excellent

I enjoyed my stay at Silver Birch,i will definitely come back due to the excellent service that is offered there.....

Setjhaba Donald M - Nov 2010
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Setjhaba Donald M
With spouse/partner

Home away from home in the heart of soweto WOW WOW WOW

Staying at the silver birch was an experiance i will never forget, their hospitality was amazing, the room was perfect as if i never left my little home luxuries and tendecies. i loved this little couch they had it was so comfortable for me. To Mr kevin and his staff guys a big thank you and keep up the good work.

From R760
per night (for 2 people)
From R760
per night (for 2 people)
From R760
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 14 people
  • Check-in: 12:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 19 Mulder Street, Ontdekkers Park, Roodepoort, 1709, Gauteng
  • No children under 4
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGJjYmRlMDQ1LTI1NmQtNGMzYi04NDMyLTBkNDc1MGI2ZDVmYw?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R760  per night (for 2 people) 55 5 1 5 19 Mulder Street Ontdekkers Park 1709 Gauteng 0860 022 102 12:00-18:00 10:00 -26.146313 27.8919033
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com