The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Sons of the King Guesthouse | TravelGround
+25

Sons of the King Guesthouse

11 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4.3 out of 5from 11 reviews for Sons of the King Guesthouse
Cleanliness
4.3/5
Service
4.2/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.4/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Katherine J - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Katherine J
With friends

Big, old house with all self-catering facilities.

Self-catering just off the main road in De Rust. Within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Converted house with lovely decor and big back garden with a stoep. The washing machine was a real winner, as was the filter coffee!

Katrien V - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Katrien V
Family with teenagers

Okay.

Nice house, everything was okay, we enjoyed our stay.

Christopher W - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christopher W
Family with young children

We had an excellent stay the environment was very comfortable and excellent.

Sons of the King Guesthouse was so fabulous to stay with my family.

Sons of the King Guesthouse's response

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate it and are pleased you enjoyed your family time.

Sons of the King Guesthouse
Janri Joyce D - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
2/5
Janri Joyce D

Gemaklik, met goeie ligging vir my doel.

Ons verblyf was aangenaam. Verblyf is in 'n ou huis, maar alles mooi netjies en baie naby aan kerk vir Meiringspoort 21,1 km resies. Vereiste vir 2 aand se bespreking maak dit net effe duur.

Judith V - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Judith V
With spouse/partner

Stil en rustige huis.

Ons het die hele huis vir onsself gehad. Die huis het karakter en ons kamer het sy eie toilet en stort en deel net kombuis. Kan die plek aanbeveel.

Sons of the King Guesthouse's response

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it.

Sons of the King Guesthouse
Gerda F - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerda F
With spouse/partner

'n Ontspanne plaaskuier-ervaring.

Baie gawe eienaars. Ideaal vir ’n gesin.

Amore S - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Amore S
With spouse/partner

Cozy old house in town.

We stayed in room number 3 and shared the house with 3 strangers. We never saw or heard them. If you're used to camping and sharing facillities you will have a good time here. The house was neat and clean and had everything we needed. Friendly, helpful owner.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gesellige ou dorpshuis.

Ons het in kamer nommer 3 gebly en die huis gedeel met 3 ander vreemdelinge. Ons het hulle nooit gesien of gehoor nie. As 'n mens gewoond is aan kamp en geriewe deel, sal jy lekker bly hier. Die huis was netjies en skoon en alles wat mens nodig het was daar. Die eienaar was vriendelik en behulpsaam.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Hilga D - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Hilga D
With spouse/partner

Dit is waarde vir geld, maar plek kort bietjie instandhouding.

Plek is goed geleë. Plek is netjies. Huis kort definitief aandag - instandhouding. Maar nog steeds waarde vir geld.

Anne-marie S - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Anne-marie S
With friends

Excellent!

We will always book Sons of Kings Guesthouse when ever we are in De Rust. The owners will go out of their way to accommodate any needs.

Salomine T - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
4/5
Salomine T
Family with young children

Restoration project.

What the advertisement online doesn't say, is that the house in being renovated and only has 3 room available. The water pressure in the available bathroom was so bad, I couldn't wash the shampoo from my hair. This is a very good example of a website telling a better story than the reality. The tariff should have warned me!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Restourasie projek.

Wat die advertensie op die webtuiste nie sê nie, is dat dit 'n huis is in die proses van restourasie, met 3 bruikbare kamers. Die waterdruk in die bruikbare badkamer is so swak dat ek nie die sjampoo skuim uit my hare kon was nie. Hier is 'n goeie bewys van webtuiste foto's wat 'n baie mooier storie vertel as die werklikheid. Die prys moes my gewaarsku het!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Sons of the King Guesthouse's response

Thank you for your review. The shower has already been attended to. We usually make sure that the rooms in the house that are not available to guests are locked. We do apologise if you were not correctly briefed when you arrived and that your children were able to explore in rooms that are usually locked. Yes it is old, and old houses are in constant need of attention. Many people enjoy the old world feel and the fact that a house like this takes you back in time. The Dover stove in the kitchen and the creaky sprung floors have a charm of their own.Thank you for mentioning that you found our prices reasonable. I assume that the 3 usable rooms are the 3 bedrooms available to the guests. You didn't mention the lounge with the well tuned upright piano, the big farm kitchen, the lovely braai veranda, beautiful garden and a huge green lawn that are also part of the holiday experience.

Sons of the King Guesthouse
Dirk L - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Dirk L
With spouse/partner

'n Huis met persoonlikheid.

Die naam van die gastehuis het dalk iets te doen met 'n religieuse groepering wat Joodse tradisies met die Christelike geloof kombineer. Die gasvrou self was ongelukkig nie daar om hierna uit te vra nie. Ons is deur 'n buurvrou ingewag. Ons was veronderstel om haar te bel 'n uur voor ons opdaag, maar dit eers gedoen toe ons in die dorp aankom. Dit was 'n fout. Ons eie skuld, ja, maar as gevolg daarvan was die yskas nog nie koud nie en die krane gemerk H nog nie in staat om warm water te lewer nie. Ons was alleen in 'n ou plattelandse woonhuis met drie kamers wat uitverhuur word en een gemerk "privaat". Die huis het die atmosfeer van 'n gesinstuiste, want die eienaars, wat op Oudtshoorn werk, kom dikwels nog self vir 'n naweek na De Rust. Daar hang familiefotos en skilderye deur die gasvrou se broer teen die mure, die boekrakke staan vol boeke en CD's, en 'n klavier in goeie toestand pryk in die enorme sitkamer. Die kombuis is tot die gaste se beskikking. Die groot dubbelbed is van 'n muskietnet voorsien, wat bygedra het tot die Victoriaanse atmosfeer. Die huis is ver van die hoofstraat af, en 'n mens kon glad nie die N12 se verkeer hoor nie.

From R500
per night (for 2 people)
From R500
per night (for 2 people)
From R500
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 6 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 5 Le Roux Street, De Rust, 6655, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGZjNzg4ZWM4LWEwNmItNGVmZC1iMTgzLWQxYjhmY2NjNzYzOA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R500  per night (for 2 people) 11 5 1 5 5 Le Roux Street De Rust 6655 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -33.489783283499 22.539097114086
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!