The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Strathnaver Cottage | TravelGround
+8

Strathnaver Cottage

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5from 29 reviews for Strathnaver Cottage
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
5.0/5
Location
4.7/5
Safety
4.7/5
Value for money
4.7/5
Martie D - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Martie D
With spouse/partner

Gerieflike cottage met heerlike ontbyt.

Die gasvrou Pat is 'n lieflike mens wat ons baie welkom laat voel het. Die Cottage is omring met 'n pragtige tuin. Besonderse lekker ontbyt geëet buite op die stoep van die 170 jarige oue huis.

Pc T - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Pc T
With spouse/partner

Pat is an excellent host and the breakfast is outstanding

It was a very enjoyable stay. Worth going onto the list of places to return to.

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Thank you so much for your review it was a pleasure to meet you both and I so enjoyed our chats.
Regards
Pat

Strathnaver Cottage
Geoff W - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Geoff W
With spouse/partner

Delightful.

No restaurants were open in Darling the night we stayed at Strathnaver Cottage, so the owner kindly prepared a delicious 3 course evening meal for us. That epitomized her qualities as a host!

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Thank you so much, Geoff, it was a pleasure to meet you both. Regards Pat.

Strathnaver Cottage
Jaco G - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jaco G
On business

Baie dankie vir 'n rustige tyd wat ek kon deurbring, dit was my tweede keer en sal definitief volgende jaar weer daar oorbly.

Ek neem elke jaar deel aan die DBX Bergfietsren wat in Darling aangebied word.

Carlo M - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Carlo M
With spouse/partner

Charming, quiet cottage with a lovely hostess.

We so enjoyed meeting Pat at Strathnaver Cottage. She is a warm host who knows a lot about Darling town. She served us delicious breakfasts and recommended worthwhile attractions nearby, such as The Old Forge, Waylands and The West Coast National Park. The cottage was warm and neat. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay!

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Thank you so much. I so enjoyed your visit and meeting you both. My very best wishes for much success in your future and maybe another visit to Darling some time. Kind regards Pat

Strathnaver Cottage
Lionel B - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Lionel B
With spouse/partner

Excellent!

Friendly personal service from Pat with a welcoming glass of wine and sherry. Accommodation is very cosy and neat. Breakfast was delicious. Lovely little garden. I can wholeheartedly recommend this place and will choose it again to stay over when in Darling.

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Thank you both for your visit to Strathnaver I so enjoyed meeting you.
My best wishes for your future travels and hope to see you again in Darling sometime.
Regards,
Pat

Strathnaver Cottage
George G - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
George G
With spouse/partner

Hospitality and service superb.

Peaceful and quiet garden setting. Breakfast outstanding.

Carel S - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Carel S
With spouse/partner

Two night stay.

Shower water runs very slowly. Hostess is great.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

2 nagte se oornag.

Stortwater loop bitter, bitter stadig. Gasvrou is puik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Strathnaver Cottage's response

So sorry about the shower Carel I had no idea , somebody had turned the inlet tap to slow, my apologies.
Pat

Strathnaver Cottage
Dion B - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Dion B
With spouse/partner

Ideale plek om oor te slaap. Rustige atmosfeer en baie netjies. Baie lekker!

Netjies, skoon en tannie Pat se ontbyt was uit die boonste rakke! Sal enige tyd weer daar oornag.

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Baie dankie Dion ek waardeur dit. Groete Pat

Strathnaver Cottage
Anthony W - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anthony W
Individual traveler

Pat was pleasant and very accommodating. Really a lovely place for a quiet weekend.

Room was clean and delightful.

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Thank you Anthony.

Strathnaver Cottage
Billy H - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Billy H
Individual traveler

Loved staying here!

Pat was very hospitable. There were flowers in my room and the bed was very comfortable with great linen and bedding. The private entrance was very useful. Ormonde winery is literally up the street so the location was great too.

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Thank you for your very kind review, Billy. It was great to have you stay and I hope you will be back to Darling again one day.

Kind regards,
Pat

Strathnaver Cottage
Johan D - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan D
Individual traveler

Gerieflike verblyf met uitstekende ontbyt.

Ek het my paar dae hier baie geniet. Daar was bouwerk op die perseel langsaan wat klein bietjie raserig was, maar hulle het nooit laat aangehou nie. Die eenheid is agter in ‘n fraai tuintjie. Klein ekstratjies in kamer laat mens baie welkom voel. Die ontbyt was uitstekend.

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Baie dankie Johan, ek is so bly jy het Strathnaver geniet, ek hoop jy sal weer kom kuier.

Strathnaver Cottage
Jaco G - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jaco G
On business

Uitstekend en sal definitief weer teruggaan volgende jaar.

Wat eerste opval is die rustigheid, was 'n belewenis om wakker te word met voëls se geluide en die rustigheid in te neem. Diens was uitstekend en natuurlik die ontbyt was uit die boeke. Gasvryheid van die eienares was 'n verdere pluspunt, ek sal definitief weer teruggaan, hopelik om nog 'n dag langer te kan bly.

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Thank you Jaco for your very kind review. I enjoyed meeting you and hope you enjoyed your ride with the views of the Darling farms. We hope you will be back again next year for another biking event.
Kind Regards,
Pat

Strathnaver Cottage
Tania L - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Tania L
With spouse/partner

Oornag.

Die gastehuis het veilige parkering en 'n aparte ingang wat perfek was vir ons. Die plekke was netjies en skoon. Dit is geleë in 'n rustige deel en was heerlik om die volgende oggend op die stoep te kon sit en na die voëltjies te kon luister. Tannie Pat, ons gasvrou, het ons op die hande gedra en die ontbyt was uit die boeke. Ons gaan beslis weer daar oornag!

Leanie V - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leanie V
Individual traveler

So homely and cosy. Fantastic!

The hostess is a lovely, friendly lady. The room is beautiful and comfortable. Cottage surrounded by lush, green garden and flowers. Of course the cats were a big plus for me. The breakfast is great and one feels like you are home without having to do anything yourself. Loved every moment and will return soon!

Daniel V - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Daniel V
With spouse/partner

Wonderful homely stay.

Lovely cottage in a serene garden made for a relaxing visit. Pat welcomed us like old friends. The delicious breakfasts were to die for or should I say to pop for. Thanks Pat, for your wonderful hospitality.

Frik V - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Frik V
With spouse/partner

A real treat.

Pat is an outstanding hostess and goes out of her way to provide information and make your stay enjoyable. The room was exceptionally nice and with the garden we got the feeling of a real English cottage in a countryside garden.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Ware fees.

Pat is 'n uitstekende gasvrou en gaan uit haar pad uit om inligting te verskaf en jou verblyf aangenaam te maak. Die kamer was besonder keurig en met die tuin het ons die gevoel gekry van 'n regte Engelse kothuis in 'n plattelandse tuin.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Thank you Frik for your comments. I so enjoyed your stay and your enthusiasm and enjoyment for all activities. I hope to see you both again one day.
Best regards,
Pat

Strathnaver Cottage
Danie V - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie V
With spouse/partner

Home away from home.

Pat's hospitality is unbelievable, not to mention the delicious breakfast in the morning. We will definitely visit again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Huis weg van die huis af.

Pat se gasvryheid is ongelooflik, om nie eers te praat van die lekker ontbyt in die oggend nie. Ons sal beslis weer gaan kuier.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Thank you, Danie, I so enjoyed your visit and hope to see you both again!

Very best wishes
Pat

Strathnaver Cottage
Christel V - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christel V
Individual traveler

Ek het nog selde beter geslaap as hier!

Strathnaver Cottage is 'n baie aangename verblyf versteek in 'n fraai tuin. Die atmosfeer is rustig en die kamer keurig. Pat is 'n baie aangename gasvrou en behalwe vir 'n heerlike ontbyt, het sy my van alle relevante inligting voorsien. Ek het lekker gebly en sal graag in die toekoms weer van hierdie akkommodasie gebruik maak as ek my in Darling bevind.

Kathy D - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Kathy D
With spouse/partner

Great stay. Maybe add a bar fridge and air conditioning. Shower door has one panel missing. Very friendly host.

See stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker gebly. Daar kort 'n yskassie en dalk 'n verkoeler in die hitte. Die stortdeur se een paneel is weg. Baie vriendelike gasvrou.

Sien sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Heinrich Z - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Heinrich Z
With spouse/partner

Strathnaver straal goedheid uit.

Die een nag se verblyf was aangenaam. Die plekkie is volledig toegerus. Dit was lekker koud met ons aankoms, maar 'n glasie port het die ingewande vinnig opgewarm. Die gasvrou, Pat, is 'n gawe en fantastiese persoon. Met 'n stewige en heerlike ontbyt het ons lekker gesels, nogal oor kennisse wat ons lewenspad gekruis het. Terloops sy ken haar wyne en het kursusse aangebied. Ons sal weer daar gaan oorbly as die geleentheid daar is.

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Thank you both for your kind review - it was a delight to meet you and I so enjoyed our chats. I hope you managed to see some flowers in the end and weren't disappointed
Regards,
Pat

Strathnaver Cottage
Pierre F - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Pierre F
With spouse/partner

Comfortable.

Lovely stay. Pat is very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Would strongly recommend.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gemaklik.

Heerlik gebly. Pat baie gasvry, vriendelik en hulpvaardig. Sal dit sterk aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Carla E - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Carla E
With spouse/partner

Oulike kothuisie.

Strathnaver Cottage is 'n baie oulike kothuisie in die eienaar, Pat, se agterplaas. Pat is 'n lieflike dame wat vir ons die heerlikste ontbyt gemaak het vir die oggend van ons vertrek, soveel so dat ons amper vir die res van die dag nie weer kon eet nie! Ons het ook Pat se vier katte ontmoet. Behalwe vir die stortdeur wat nie lekker was nie (Pat weet daarvan en het verskoning gemaak!), was alles perfek. Daar was selfs 'n bietjie sjerrie met ons aankoms in die kamer. Ek sal Strathnaver Cottage ten sterkste aanbeveel.

Danie F - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie F
With spouse/partner

Iets anders, só rustig!

We were treated like family. Our room was very neat. There were unexpected surprises and treats. Lovely embroidery and dainty teacups. Breakfast was a feast. We were fortunate to meet the darling of Darling!

Strathnaver Cottage's response

Dear Dankie,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we hope to see you both again one day!

Regards,
Pat

Strathnaver Cottage
Kobus En Marika T - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Kobus En Marika T
With spouse/partner

Pleasant, satisfying and peaceful.

We enjoyed the stay at Pam's. The accommodation was engulfed in old worldly tranquility. Room very neat with fresh flowers that we really appreciated. We had our little glasses of sherry on the veranda and felt spoiled. Breakfast was tops and the hostess charming. We'd stay there again if necessary - the place is just a bit small and the little sink not sufficient. We would, however, recommend her place to friends should they travel in that direction. Worth the price. Thank you to Pam.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Aangenaam, bevredigend en rustig.

Ons het lekker oornag by Pam, 'n ouwêreldse rustigheid het die plek omsoom. Die kamer was baie netjies en daar was vars blommetjies in ons kamer wat hoog op prys gestel word aangesien dit baie droog was gedurende ons besoek. Die glasie sjerrie, wat ons op die stoepie kon geniet was 'n heerlike verrassing. Die ontbyt was uit die boeke uit en die gasvrou sjarmant. As dit moet, sal ons weer daar oornag, die plekkie is bietjie klein en die wasbakkie ontoereikend. Ons sal haar tog aanbeveel aan vriende sou hul in daardie rigting reis. Die plekkie is sy prys werd. Baie dankie aan Pam.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Pieter W - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter W
With spouse/partner

Top-notch hospitality from hostess and neat.

Value for money, clean, hospitable hostess, pleasant and good company.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die gasvryheid van die eienares en die netheid van die blyplek was uit die boonste rakke.

Waarde vir geld, skoon en die gasvrou was baie gasvry, aangenaam en goeie geselskap.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jonathan E - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jonathan E
Individual traveler

Beautiful room, fantastic breakfast and wonderful hostess.

The beauty and variety of South Africa's geography, fauna and flora is legendary, but it is her people that for me make this the most special country in the world. Pat Mackay is one such person. A perfect overnight at the start of my self-drive exploration of the West Coast/Namaqualand region.

Ansie W - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ansie W
With spouse/partner

Clean, safe and a wonderful hostess.

We had a lovely stay and will go again. The hostess is lovely and breakfast was hearty and special. However, there isn't a TV in the room.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Skoon, veilig met 'n lieflike gasvrou.

Baie lekker gebly en sal weer gaan. Gasvrou dierbaar en ontbyt heerlik en spesiaal. Het egter nie 'n TV in die kamer nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Carike H - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carike H
Individual traveler

Fantastic accommodation!

Delicious breakfast. Pat is very hospitable and the room was lovely. Stunning garden.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantastiese verblyf.

Heerlike ontbyt. Pat is so gasvry en die kamer was lieflik. Haar tuin is pragtig!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

From
R1 000
per night, for 2 ppl
From
From R1 000
per night, for 2 ppl
From
R1 000
per night, for 2 ppl
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 2 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 24 Mount Pleasant Street, Darling, 7345, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGRiZGE1ZGZjLTgyMTItNGE3Yi04NDNhLTM2Mjc2ZDAwODA5MA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R1 000  per night, for 2 ppl 29 5 1 5 24 Mount Pleasant Street Darling 7345 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -33.377567605396 18.375661373066
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!