The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Suburban Oasis | TravelGround
+8

Suburban Oasis

9 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.6 out of 5from 9 reviews for Suburban Oasis
Cleanliness
4.6/5
Service
4.3/5
Location
4.8/5
Safety
4.7/5
Value for money
4.6/5
Cornell-joan M - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cornell-joan M
On business

Excellent in all aspects!

I was extremely pleased with the accommodation in all aspects. I couldn't have been more at home at this home away from home.

Deborah T - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Deborah T

Everything was on par, it was all I expected and more.

We had an awesome stay, will go back there any day. The hospitality and service showed by owner was great, had a very relaxing time. Truly home away from home.

Suburban Oasis's response

Awww!! Thanks so much for the kind words... Only a pleasure having you stay. Looking forward to seeing you back here again!

Suburban Oasis
Natasha S - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Natasha S
With friends

Dit was baie lekker en ontspannend.

Ek en 3 vriende het besluit om hier te bly en toe ons die eienaar ontmoet het was hy baie vriendelik. Ons het baie ontspan en ons tyd daar geniet. Sal enige tyd weer gaan.

Suburban Oasis's response

Dankie! Natasha, julle is enige tyd weer welkom!

Suburban Oasis
Ntombi M - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ntombi M
With friends

Don't look any further.

The house is as good as it looks on the pictures, very clean and has a homey feel to it. It would be great for solo travelers, families, partners or a group of friends looking for a getaway. Peter is a great host, we got a bottle of wine and other goodies to start you off at a self catering stay. I commend him on his willingness to assist even on the dumbest things. I would definitely recommend his place.

Suburban Oasis's response

Thanks Ntombi,
It was my pleasure hosting you folks during your stay army place in Cape Town. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the recommendation.
All the best!

Suburban Oasis
Tiisetso D - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Tiisetso D
Family with young children

The treatment we received from Peter left a bitter taste in our mouths and we are not to return.

Check in time at Suburban Oasis is 14:00 which is fairly standard. Peter made sure to remind me that indeed check in time is strictly at 14:00. There was no room whatsoever for flexibility or exceptions. This was a little disturbing. I arrived at the guesthouse at 13:45 and Peter asked me to look at my time, clearly unhappy I didn't arrive at 14:00. For goodness sake, I was just 15 mins early. Nonetheless, I asked him if I should wait outside and only then did he open up for me. The place is OK overall. It doesn't look as spacious as it does in the pictures. In fact, the bedrooms are tiny. There is hardly any room to walk around. The geyser must be the smallest on the market. It certainly isn't big enough for the four people the place is meant to accommodate. Only 2 people could take quick hot showers. Thereafter, the water gets cold. Unfortunately, the rooms were also cold. When I raised this with Peter, he was quick to tell me that no one else has complained about that. As someone in this kind of industry he ought to know that we are all different. He told me about an extra duvet in the bedroom cupboard. I had a look at the duvet. Not only was it literally thrown at the bottom of the cupboard without being folded, it was dirty, had stains on it and smelled bad. I made Peter aware of this. He brought a fleece blanket which wasn't sufficient, but we decided to let it be. There is a fireplace in the living room which helped to keep the living room warm. On the day we left, Peter was extremely pushy. He sent me numerous messages telling us we need to leave at exactly 10:00 even telling me our bags should already be outside before then. He then mentioned that other guests were coming on the day we were leaving. There is nothing untoward about that at all however what I found strange is that he mentioned the guests were coming in before 14:00. I really wasn't offered the same courtesy. When we arrived, he was the one who had cleaned the place, but for these new guests, Peter had a arranged for a cleaning lady to come in and clean the place. Whoever these guests were, they were clearly far more important than us. Even after we had left Peter kept calling and texting to ensure we had left. It was a nasty goodbye indeed. We are not to return.

Suburban Oasis's response

Dear Tiisetso,

My check in and check out times are clearly mentioned in my listing and are to be respected. Early check-in and late check-outs are only possible by prior arrangement and then only when I have no guests leaving or arriving the same day that you are arriving or leaving. All off my other local and overseas guests have honoured and respected this without question or complaint.

After you confirmed your reservation you contacted me pleading me to let you bring an additional 5th person even though you knew that my place only has 2 double beds and is best suited for 4 guests which I explained to you, however, you where happy with this and the prospect of one of your group sleeping on the couch.

Prior to your arrival I reminded you that I had people checking out on the morning of your arrival at 10 am and we need time clean the place before your check in at 2 pm however you ignored my messages ignored and decided to arrive(20mins) early and I had no choice but to let you check in early. The geyser is big enough for 4 people to take showers, not to languish in for extended periods and there were 5 of you. There are extra fleece/ blankets in the unit, an indoor fireplace and a heater...which have been sufficient for all of my guests prior to your stay. Nevertheless, I still came and dropped off an extra double thick fleece for you that evening.

I messaged you the evening before your departure to remind you of your check out time at 10 am the following morning as I had new guests arriving at 2 pm that day, however, you chose not to acknowledge or respond to my message. The following morning I tried messaging you again in this regard to no avail. I then tried calling you and you chose not to take my calls. Eventually, just before 10am, you messaged me requesting to leave all of your luggage at my place until 3:30 pm. I reminded you that I had guests arriving at 2 pm that it would not be possible to leave all of your luggage at my cottage. This clearly upset you and you kept on trying to get me to change my mind and to find alternatives which were not possible at such short/ last minute notice.

I'm sorry that you have taken this all so personally when clearly it is not as I run a business and we all have rules to follow and adhere to or we run the risk of inconveniencing the next guests. As mentioned, I have no problem with flexibly of check-in and check-out times when the situation allows for this. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Cape Town and wish you well!

Suburban Oasis
Samantha A - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Samantha A
Family with young children

Amazing place to go and spend some quality time with your family.

Beautiful place, loved it.

Suburban Oasis's response

Thanks Samantha, you are very welcome!

Suburban Oasis
Isobel V - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Isobel V
Family with young children

It was lovely!

The place is well equipped, comfortable and safe. Will definitely stay there again in the future! Peter is a good host and was very helpful.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was heerlik!

Die plekkie is baie goed toegerus, gerieflik en veilig. Sal verseker weer daar bly in die toekoms! Peter is 'n goeie gasheer en was baie behulpsaam.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Suburban Oasis's response

Dankie Isobel, julle is baie welkom!

Suburban Oasis
Lameez A - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lameez A
Family with young children

Very clean and neat.

Very safe and secure. Great place.

Suburban Oasis's response

Thanks Lameez.

Suburban Oasis
Talita M - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Talita M

Goed toegeruste eenheid, baie sentraal en die ligging is ideaal om verskillende aktiwiteite/plekke in die Kaap te bereik en te verken.

Die eenheid voldoen aan die vereistes vir 'n gerieflike verblyf. Die ligging is ideaal. Dis baie sentraal en gerieflik naby aan verskillende restaurante en plekke van vermaaklikheid, asook binne bereik van roetes waarmee besienswaardighede regoor die Kaap verken kan word. Ek sal die eenheid aanbeveel.

Suburban Oasis's response

Dankie Talita, julle is enige tyd welkom.

Suburban Oasis
was R795
From R530
per night (sleeps 4)
was R795
From R530
per night (sleeps 4)
was R795
From R530
per night (sleeps 4)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 4 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 23:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 28 Hampstead Road, Claremont, Cape Town, 7708, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAKcWv2wzoRGcQ7hUn4BCTFIsOeOdXE3zPHTuPSKiPDfq2WwqPi8?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format was R795, now From R530  per night (sleeps 4) 9 5 1 5 28 Hampstead Road Claremont 7708 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-23:00 10:00 -33.987522703564 18.481276093254
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!