The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at The Family Beach House | TravelGround
+17

The Family Beach House

11 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

3.9 out of 5from 11 reviews for The Family Beach House
Cleanliness
3.5/5
Service
3.9/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
4.0/5
Value for money
3.9/5
Vijayalan G - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Vijayalan G
With friends

The place was not like we expected. We stayed here 3 years ago. So much had changed (in a bad way).

See stars.

Vanessa C - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Vanessa C
With friends

Perfect.

Perfect for large parties.

Anisha D - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Anisha D
Family with teenagers

Worst accommodation that I had the misfortune of booking.

What a nightmare! We booked for 4 nights, and our troubles started as soon as we arrived. The house was not clean or aired at all, we had to scrub everything before using anything. The sewerage started overflowing on the first night and things just got worse from that point onward. Despite knowledge of the sewage blockage prior to our arrival, nothing was done to fix it. The entire house smells of dampness and mustiness. My sister and her family had to leave as the kids started wheezing due to the combination of the stench of the blocked sewer and the musty house. Numerous calls and messages to the managing agent was unsuccessful, leading to us effectually calling the plumbers ourselves. Needless to say, this unfortunately put a major damper on our long awaited and planned for vacation.

The Family Beach House's response

Dear Mrs Dessai,
Thank you again for bringing this issue to our attention. As per our previous conversation we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. We are pleased to inform you that the soakpit for the shower and kitchen water (not sewerage), has been fixed, it was very unfortunate that there was no quick fix for this issue. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you have additional information to share.

The Family Beach House
Fiona K - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Fiona K
Family with young children

Wonderful holiday home. The beach is just a stone's throw away. Loved the quite atmosphere. Very family friendly.

This is a very wonderful holiday home with lots space for large families or large groups. The beach is just a stone's throw away and has a very quiet and welcoming atmosphere. I loved the family friendly vibe of the house. Although the house is a bit old it is well kept.

The Family Beach House's response

Hi Fiona,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We hope that you will be back soon to make more family memories.

Kind Regards,
Annchen

The Family Beach House
Paul W - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Paul W
Family with young children

Great location, beautiful beach - old house that needs maintenance - but has everything one needs.

We wanted a simple holiday. The house had everything we needed. The house is in need of maintenance. A pre-arrival inspection would have sorted out all the problems. 3 out of 4 light bulbs didn’t work in the kitchen and one in the passage. Sent the owner a message, had no reply. Lounge suites have tears in it. The remote gate was broken. Apparently all above issues have existed for a while. The house is simple - we didn’t let the above detract from our stay. If we were to come back and found another house that was looked after better we would go for that one instead.

Johan B - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan B
Family with young children

Baie lekker.

Sal enige tyd aanbeveel. Sal baie graag net die paadjie meer oop wil hê waar jy kan afstap strand toe. Veilig en huis lekker ruim vir oud en jonk.

Jeanette P - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
4/5
Jeanette P
Family with young children

Good place, very spacious. Only problem is the access to the beach, not too secure.

Good place for a family weekend.

Vijayalan G - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Vijayalan G
With friends

Highly recommended venue.

Very clean. Spacious. Has everything you will need. Basically on the beach.

Riana P - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Riana P

Baie lekker gebly!

Ons het baie lekker gebly en welkom gevoel, heerlike huis vir 'n familie-wegbreek, daar is plek vir almal en dit is reg op die strand! Sal definitief weer oorweeg! Die huishoudster se klein seuntjie het net op 'n stadium effens lastig geraak, veral rondom etenstye.

Yvonne V - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yvonne V
With spouse/partner

'n Baie aangename ervaring.

Almal met wie ek gepraat het was baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Sal beslis mense aanbeveel om daar te gaan bly.

Heleen B - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Heleen B
With spouse/partner

Baie tevrede!

Baie tevrede! Het dit baie geniet en sal dit beslis aanbeveel aan vriende en familie.

From R1 200
per night (sleeps 12)
From R1 200
per night (sleeps 12)
From R1 200
per night (sleeps 12)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 12 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 21 Umvoti Drive, Blythedale Beach, North Coast, 4449, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDI5ZTU3MWQ0LTdiMzktNDk4OS04NzAzLTc4ZjE3NDA0MGY2YQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 200  per night (sleeps 12) 11 5 1 4 21 Umvoti Drive Blythedale Beach 4449 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.375023810518 31.347213155116
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!