Ficksburg Accommodation at The Green Acorn Guest House | TravelGround
+63

The Green Acorn Guest House

22 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4.3 out of 5from 22 reviews for The Green Acorn Guest House
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
4.1/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.3/5
Value for money
4.3/5
Estie E - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Estie E
Family with teenagers

Geen etes beskikbaar op 26 Desember nie. Geen restaurant in dorp was oop.

Hulle kan mens gerus inlig dat daar geen etes beskikbaar was nie en dat die hele dorp gesluit is. Daar was 'n dame wat vir ons oopgesluit het, en daarna was ontvangs gesluit. Ons moes werkers by hulle kwartiere gaan opsoek om by die hek uit te kom. Die kamer was oorvol met dubbelbed en 2 enkelbeddens. Daar is min spasie vir tasse en muurproppe is moeilik bekombaar. Toilet het die heeltyd geloop. Volgens webtuiste is daar lugreëling in al die kamers, maar daar was nie eers waaiers nie en dit was bitter warm. Ek sal beslis nie weer daar bespreek nie.

The Green Acorn Guest House's response

Hello Estie,
I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. I think that there must be a miscommunication somewhere. The room that you stayed in is one of our economy rooms. Seeing as you booked for three people at a special rate, we gave you a room with two single beds and a double bed in it. I'm afraid Ficksburg does have a lack of restaurants and we are hoping we can fix this this new year. The restaurant on the property is individually run and not run by the guest house, thus making it difficult to accommodate our guests over the Christmas period.
Sorry you left before having our delicious breakfast. I think you would have enjoyed it.

The Green Acorn Guest House
John O - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
John O
Family with young children

Aangenaam, gasvry, lekker.

Aangenaam gebly. Gasvrye gasvrou gehad wat baie behulpsaam was. Veilig, lekker parkering.

The Green Acorn Guest House's response

Thank you for the review. We really appreciate it.
See you next time, John.
Regards, Christine.

The Green Acorn Guest House
Faan G - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Faan G
With spouse/partner

Pleasant.

Pleasant accommodation with delicious breakfast!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Aangenaam.

Aangename verblyf met heerlike ontbyt!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Albie D - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Albie D
With spouse/partner

Goeie waarde vir geld. Goeie ontbyt.

Kroeg aand lekker. Goeie aandete. Lekker vibe. Netjiese kamer. Uitstekende ontbyt. Vriendelike diens. Sal aanbeveel.

Gonda D - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gonda D
Family with young children

Interessante kamers, maar het lekker gebly, restaurant reg langs die Green Acorn met heerlike kos.

Het baie lekker gebly. Netjies, vriendelike ontvangs met heerlike ontbyt! Interessante kamers.

The Green Acorn Guest House's response

Thank you for the review. We enjoyed having you stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon!

The Green Acorn Guest House
Johann S - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johann S
With spouse/partner

Beautiful decor and layout.

Was very impressed with everything, even though we didn't have hot water, the rest made up for it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie mooi dekor en uitleg.

Was baie beïndruk met alles, alhoewel ons nie warm water gehad het nie, het die res opgemaak daarvoor.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Green Acorn Guest House's response

Good day,
Thank you for the review and the feedback. Please note that we had replaced the geyser in the Rondavel a few days before your arrival. We believe the temperature gauge was not set high enough and therefore the geyser was not giving of hot enough water. We apologise for this and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have now set the temperature up and have made sure that there is piping hot water available.
We hope to see you next time.

The Green Acorn Guest House
Johan W - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan W
With spouse/partner

Wat 'n ervaring, so lekker gebly.

Ons het ons verblyf terdeë geniet. Die teater op die perseel was 'n groot verrassing. Die vertoning was uit die boonste rakke. Ontbyt die volgende oggend uitstekend. Dankie Christine vir al jou moeite!

The Green Acorn Guest House's response

Thank you for the review. We really appreciate it and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. It was only a pleasure to have you here and we enjoyed looking after you!

The Green Acorn Guest House
HO d - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
HO d
With spouse/partner

Oornagverblyf op pad na Swaziland, ideaal vir die doel.

Die gastehuis se ontvangs was nie goed nie want die klokkie by die hek het geen reaksie getoon nie, ek moes bel om toegang te kry. Die persoon wat my ontvang het kon nie ons bespreking opspoor nie en moes eers 'n lang soektog op tou sit om ons bespreking te bevestig en ons kamer aan te wys. Alles was verder baie goed insluitende die ontbyt wat werklik meer was as wat ons kon baasraak.

The Green Acorn Guest House's response

Good Day
Thank you for the review. Sorry that your check-in experience wasn't to your standard. What sort of time would have suited you - and surely it did not take more than 10 minutes before you saw your room. Unfortunately, the name on the booking form and the one that you gave at check-in, did not coincide therefore causing a confusion with the intern who assisted you in a friendly way, but this did not affect your checking in. There were no queries or rejections and I believe you were promptly shown to your room and given all the information needed.
Should you have reported your complaints to the manager or owner, we would have ensured that we make up for any ill feelings.

The Green Acorn Guest House
Marie D - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marie D
With friends

Very friendly staff, quirky accommodation, will definitely recommend Green Acorn Guest House.

A gem in the Eastern Free State, beautiful gardens, quirky with attention to detail accommodation, very helpful and interested staff, an amazing breakfast included. Will definitely recommend the Green Acorn Guest House to future travellers. And as a bonus, an incredible restaurant, Cafe Chocolat, can be found on the premises. Very tasty food, great gin selection as well as craft beers, made for a very pleasant overnight stay in Ficksburg.

The Green Acorn Guest House's response

Thank you for the review. It is always good to hear the feedback from the guests. We hope to see you here again soon and we thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Green Acorn Guest House in Ficksburg.

The Green Acorn Guest House
Lukie J - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lukie J
With spouse/partner

Homey and peaceful.

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was beautiful, neat and reception was hearty and friendly.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Huislik en rustig.

Ons het ons verblyf daar baie geniet. Die kamer was pragtig en netjies en die ontvangs was hartlik en vriendelik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Green Acorn Guest House's response

Dankie dat julle by ons gebly het.
Thank you for the lovely review. We hope to see you again next time.

The Green Acorn Guest House
Ettienne H - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Ettienne H
Individual traveler

Rusting en gemaklik.

Baie vriendelike en hulpvaardige mense en bestuur. Uitstekende restaurant op perseel en goeie ontbyt.

The Green Acorn Guest House's response

Thank you for the review.
We hope to see you again next time when you are in the Ficksburg area.
Keep well.

The Green Acorn Guest House
Conrad H - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Conrad H
On business

Baie goeie diens en pragtige kamers!

Baie goeie en vriendelike diens, pragtige kamers en baie lekker ontbyt. Baie dankie. Ek sal vir seker weer terug wees.

The Green Acorn Guest House's response

Goeiedag Conrad,

Baie dankie vir die resensie. Dit was lekker om jou heir te he en ons hoop om jou weer te sien!

Goed gaan
Christine

The Green Acorn Guest House
Ireze V - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ireze V
With spouse/partner

Dit was wonderlik!

Die ontbyt, atmosfeer en gasvryheid was tops. Lanklaas soveel vriendelikheid ervaar by vakansie-akkommodasie. Jy sal nie verkeerd gaan om hier te bly of oornag nie.

The Green Acorn Guest House's response

Thank you for the lovely review.
We really enjoyed having you stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Keep well.

The Green Acorn Guest House
Susan P - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Susan P

An antique experience.

You are kindly welcomed and informed. The rooms are tidy and cleaners do good work. There is a restaurant on the premises. Everybody is friendly.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ervaring van oudhede.

Mens word vriendelik verwelkom en ingelig. Die kamers is netjies en skoonmakers doen goeie werk. Daar is 'n restaurant op die perseel. Almal is vriendelik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Green Acorn Guest House's response

Good Day

Thank you Susan for the great review. This is much appreciated. We enjoyed having you stay with us.
Good luck with the future dance competitions.

Have a great day further.

The Green Acorn Guest House
Johan O - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan O
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker gebly.

Die ontbyt was wonderlik.

Melanie V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Melanie V
Family with young children

Verblyf was aangenaam.

Ongelukkig het ons nie die eenheid gekry wat ons bespreek het nie, maar is darem 'n ander soortgelyke opsie aangebied. Wind het ons bietjie gepla met 'n groot storm heel aand, maar verder lekker gebly. Eenheid was skoon, diens vriendelik en ontbyt heerlik.

Maryna F - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Maryna F
Family with teenagers

Dit was heerlik en ons gasvrou is van top gehalte! Heerlike ontbyt!

Dit was heerlik en ons gasvrou, Sandra het soveel inligting oor die area gehad. Sy het ook vir ons 'n keuse gegee oor die kamers aangesien ons 2 tiener seuns saam met ons gehad het. Hulle het hul eie kamer gehad! Die ontbyt is persoonlik gemaak en was heerlik en ongelooflik smaaklik! Veral die aspersie pannekoek!

Danie G - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie G
With spouse/partner

Fine as an overnight spot.

The bedside tables are rickety. Not what we expected. Pics on the internet doesn't reflect reality. Good overnight spot.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Goed vir oornag.

Bedkassies lendelam. Nie wat ons verwag het nie. Foto's op internet nie dieselfde as werklik nie. Goed vir oornag.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Magda L - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Magda L
Family with teenagers

Very interesting, hospitable, comfortable and breakfast was superb!

Very interesting, hospitable, the loveliest breakfast!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie interessant, gasvry, gerieflik, ontbyt is van die beste!

Baie interessant, gasvry, heerlikste ontbyt!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Christine C - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Christine C
With spouse/partner

Neglected.

Room was clean, but everything was very old and tatty. Holes in sheet, bed and pillows full of lumps, paint is chipping etc.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Verslete.

Kamer was skoon, maar alles baie oud en verslete. Gate in laken, bed en kussings vol knoppe, verf dop af ens.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Willem D - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Willem D
On business

An experience unlike any other.

The breakfast table was scrumptious and attractive at first sight. I stuffed myself before embarking on the long journey back home. The stay was refreshing and I snored like a king on that comfortable bed. The only ailment was that the bathroom window had no curtain, so guests from the surrounding houses could peek inside.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Ervaring soos min.

Die ontbyt tafel was smullend en aanloklik op die oog af. Ek het behoorlik my maag trommeldik geëet voordat ek weer moes vertrek en my lang reis aanpak terug huis toe. Die oorbly was verfrissend vir die siel en ek het omtrent balke gesaag in die gemaklike bed. My enigste kwaal is dat ek nie 'n gordyn voor my badkamervenster gehad het nie en mense dus van die omliggende huisies my kon beloer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Wilmarie O - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wilmarie O
Individual traveler

Best place for a tranquil getaway.

I was so impressed with this beautiful little place. Everythign was clean and neat. The owners were so friendly! Thanks a bunch. When I'm in the area again, I would stay here again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Beste plek vir 'n rustige wegbreek.

Ek was so beïndruk met die pragtige plekkie. Alles was skoon en netjies. Eienaar was die vriendelikheid vanself! Baie dankie, as ek weer in die omgewing is sal ek beslis weer by julle kom kuier.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

was R700
From R467
per night (for 2 people)
was R700
From R467
per night (for 2 people)
was R700
From R467
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 44 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 7 Fontein Street, Ficksburg, 9730, Free State
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA0KU8fh9mWyV2RhabwfYkYnElzBHOJHmi6PV0qOKfYWyUj6FDud?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format was R700, now From R467  per night (for 2 people) 22 5 1 5 7 Fontein Street Ficksburg 9730 Free State 0860 022 102 14:00-18:00 10:00 -28.869926980971 27.872802615165
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com