North Coast Accommodation at The Hatchery | TravelGround
+167

The Hatchery

18 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

3.8 out of 5from 18 reviews for The Hatchery
Cleanliness
3.7/5
Service
3.7/5
Location
3.7/5
Safety
4.1/5
Value for money
3.9/5
Christa M - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christa M
Family with teenagers

Breathtaking!

By far the highlight of our holiday. Just sorry we couldn't stay longer. If you want to rest and breathe this is the right place. An incredible experience. Even my teenagers were happy here and our dog was treated like royalty. We will definitely go back to the Hatchery and definitely visit for much longer. The staff is friendly and helpful, the accommodation is always clean and tidy and the communal kitchen has everything you need. Just bring yourself, your food and rest.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Asemrowend!

By verre die hoogtepunt van ons vakansie. Net jammer ons kon nie langer bly nie. As jy wil rus en asem skep is hierdie die regte plek. 'n Ongelooflike ervaring. Selfs my tieners was gelukkig hier en ons hond is soos royalty behandel. Ons sal definitief teruggaan na die Hatchery toe en beslis baie langer kuier. Die personeel is vriendelik en hulpvaardig, die blyplek is altyd skoon en netjies en die gemeenskaplike kombuis het alles wat jy nodig het. Bring net jouself, jou kos en rus lekker.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Hatchery's response

Baie dankie vir die terugvoering, Christa.
Ons is in die sewende hemel om te hoor dat jul en die tieners dit geniet het. Die hondjies geniet dit altyd by die Hatchery en hul is baie welkom.
Sien jul volgende keer.
Groete, Annemarie.

The Hatchery
Sonette L - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sonette L
With spouse/partner

Awesome place.

If you are looking for a place away from the city, traffic and the rush, The Hatchery is just the place for you. This is where you can get the kids away from technology and teach them to enjoy nature and how to invent games like in the days of old. Then, Bawinile. Thank you for the warm welcome, the flowers, the willingness to help. You are an asset to The Hatchery. I'm definitely coming back.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Awesome plekkie.

Indien jy 'n plekkie soek, weg van die stad, verkeer en die gejaag is The Hatchery net die plek vir jou. Dit is waar jy die kids kan weg kry van tegnologie en leer om die natuur te geniet en hoe om speletjies uit te dink soos in die dae van ouds. Dan, Bawinile. Thank you for the warm welcome, the flowers, the willingness to help. You are one asset to The Hatchery. Ek kom beslis terug.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Hatchery's response

Goeie more Sonette,

Baie dankie vir die wonderlike terugvoering!! Sien daarna uit om jul weer by die Hatchery te he!

Groete,

Annemarie

The Hatchery
Karen K - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karen K
With friends

Clean, very helpful staff.

Although a bit of a rough ride to get there, clean room with air-con, very helpful very well mannered staff.

Danell D - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Danell D
With friends

Love it.

Enjoyed it very much, will definitely visit again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Love dit.

Het dit baie geniet, sal definitief weer gaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Hatchery's response

Dankie Danell vir die tyd om die resensie vir ons te doen.
Ons is baie bly dat julle dit geniet het en sien daarna uit om jul gou weer terug te hê by die Hatchery.

Groete

Annemarie

The Hatchery
Eddie A - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Eddie A
With spouse/partner

Glad nie wat ons verwag het nie.

Die plek is nie soos dit op die foto's lyk nie. Die gemeenskaplike stort is nie op standaard nie. Die plek is nie vir almal nie.

The Hatchery's response

Hi Eddie

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Should you be able please let us know specifics so that we can endeavour to improve. Wishing you all the best.

Kind Regards,

Matthew

The Hatchery
Melanie D - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Melanie D
Family with teenagers

Dit was heerlik vreedsaam, rustig, verkwikking vir die siel.

Ons het heerlik gekuier in die Forest room. Baie gemaklike beddens. Daar is wel min hakkies om goed op te hang, en min rakkies. Verder geen klagtes. Die lugversorger was 'n heerlike lafenis. Ons sal enige tyd weer daar bly en beveel dit regtig aan vir mense wat hou van eenvoudige, rustige blyplek sonder tierlantyntjies, waar mens net kan wéés. Matthew en sy personeel is besonder behulpsaam en vriendelik. Die naaste winkel is so 10 km weg, en die lekkerste swemstrand so 40 km weg.

The Hatchery's response

Baie dankie vir die terugvoer en ons is ekstase dat jul die verblyf geniet het.
Hoop om jou gou weer te ontvang.

The Hatchery
Suzaan M - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Suzaan M
Family with teenagers

Lekker en informeel.

Mooi natuurskoon. Anderse ervaring en mooi natuurskoon. Groter kar 'n voordeel vir grondpad.

The Hatchery's response

Goeie dag Suzaan,

Baie dankie vir die tyd wat jy gevat het om die review deur te stuur, ons waardeer dit.
Ons is baie bly dat die tyd by die Hatchery aangenaam was. Die natuur is absoluut asemrowend hier en laat mens vergeet van die woelige en lawaaierige stede.

Baie groete

Annemarie

The Hatchery
Etienne F - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Etienne F
With spouse/partner

Stunning. Awesome. Different.

A different quiet location. Staff is friendly and helpful. Fishing was a challenge because of the clocked mouth. Our second time there and will be back many times.

The Hatchery's response

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay Etienne. We are very pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Please feel free to check in on the status of the mouth and up to date catches from Chris at any time. We look forward to having you back at the Hatch.

Kind Regards,

Matthew

The Hatchery
Sharon O - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sharon O

The Hatchery is situated in a very beautiful setting and the Hatchery itself is rugged and amazing.

The Hatchery is close to the beach and is situated in a beautiful setting. We arrived in the dark to be met by a friendly welcome and a tour of our sleeping accommodation. The accommodation is rugged and very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and met our needs for self-catering. The only problem we encountered was the shower in the room with double bed and two single beds. It was not draining well and this was reported.

The Hatchery's response

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope the problem with the shower was resolved timeously and to your satisfaction. We are hoping that you will be able to enjoy a stay at The Hatchery again sometime in the future!

Kind Regards,
Matthew

The Hatchery
Nadia P - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Nadia P
With spouse/partner

It is a beautiful and unique place. We enjoyed the tranquillity.

The Hatchery has incredible potential. There are just a few things that need attention. Water pressure in showers does not exist. The kitchen equipment is a bit old. I would suggest that there should be a multi-plug in each room, as there are only 2 power plugs and the refrigerator is plugged in the 1. The price for the 2 sleeper is a little expensive for me compared to the price for the 4 and 6 bedroom cottages. I also suggest that they inform the clients in advance that they do not have a card machine and that the outstanding amount must be paid in cash. But besides these 5 points, we were crazy about the place! We will definitely go back!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit is 'n pragtige en unieke plek. Ons het die rustigheid baie geniet.

The Hatchery het ongelooflike potensiaal. Daar is net 'n paar goedjies wat aandag nodig het. Waterdruk in storte bestaan nie. Die kombuis toerusting is maar bietjie foos. Ek sal voorstel dat daar 'n multi-plug in elke kamer moet wees, aangesien daar net 2 kragproppe is en die yskas in die 1 geprop is. Die prys vir die 2 slaapplekkies is vir my bietjie duur in vergelyking met die prys vir die 4 en 6 slaaphuisies. Ek stel ook voor dat hul die kliënte moet inlig dat hul nie 'n kaartmasjien het nie en dat die uitstaande bedrag op verblyf kontant betaal moet word. Maar buiten vir die 5 punte, was ons mal oor die plek! Ons sal beslis weer teruggaan!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Mandy J - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Mandy J
Family with teenagers

Basic, comfortable, uncluttered, tech-free zone.

Great fishing spot with lagoon and beach access (non-swimming.) Difficult access when torrential rains made roads into mudslides which needed 4x4 to pull our station wagon out - Luckily it only happened once in 10 days, and so it even actually added to the adventure. Good spot to recenter, recharge, sip Tequila, catch a suntan and unwind, even with moody teenagers, getting over their inner city withdrawal! Teens learnt that backgammon is just as much fun as Android devices, even with no batteries are required. "Less Urban Than Durban ... Great Family Fun!"

Carien L - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
4/5
Carien L
With friends

Lekker gekuier.

Pragtige plek, maar die bestuur is ontoereikend en die ligging is nie ideal nie.

The Hatchery's response

Dear Carien,

Thank you for your feedback.Yes, our signal is intermitted and I will in future sent messages to guests that they can reach us via WhatsApp.

Hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Annemarie

The Hatchery
Jose A - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Jose A
On business

Bad deal.

An experience never to be repeated! To find the place take a long written instructions or copy the coordinates off the site. By name it's impossible. Telephone contact is non-existent. On arrival had to hunt around for the reception, until a half dilapidated sign pointed me to what can only be described as an unkempt store room. A sprawled individual eventually called someone to help me. The booked room itself was okay, but nothing special. The bed base made of pallets could have been made to size. As it was, I kept grazing my legs getting in and out of bed. I had to wait outside for the room to be prepared (it was around 18h00) and the dust and debris cleared. To compensate for the lack of an en-suite bathroom, I was pointed to an outside toilet/shower combination. That was some experience, a first for me. The so-called bathroom had clear glass windows, floor to ceiling, facing the communal dining area, in both, the toilet and the shower! What a sight for the guest and the diners. There was a communal kitchen, self-service, and an open outside dining area, but no restaurant of any kind, either in the premises or nearby. The only one known, the prawn shack, only serves pre-booked meals. The closest take-away (not even sit down) is nearly 25 km away. The room was not serviced. The advertised telephone number was not answered. E-mails were not answered. It was a disappointment. Granted, it was a last minute need for accommodation. But now we know why it was available.

Chris R - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Chris R
Family with young children

Awesome place.

We enjoyed our stay there and plan to go again. It is a peaceful place and my children enjoyed themselves.

The Hatchery's response

Dear Nadia,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and yes, the children normally have tons of fun! Looking forward having you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Annemarie

The Hatchery
Rika V - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Rika V
Family with young children

Extremely disappointing!

I’m utterly disappointed with the amount of money I paid for our stay and what we experienced in return. It was nowhere mentioned on the website that one would had to live out of your suitcase and had to shower under a no pressure shower head in the hope to get clean. It was also nowhere mentioned that one would actually require a 4x4 vehicle to get there. We seldom could find any clean cutlery or any glasses as there were not enough for all the quests. The kitchen was extremely unhygienic. Fellow guests partied into the early hours of the following mornings, with language not appropriate for small children. About the safety, there is no fencing and not much privacy from passers by. We departed three days earlier!

The Hatchery's response

Dear Rika,

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The hatchery is not for everyone and we try to make it absolutely clear in all of our content what to expect from a stay which is a rustic but comfortable experience.

Regards,
Matthew

The Hatchery
Jo B - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jo B
Family with young children

Basic

Cleaning services should have been nice. And decent wood for the braai.

Harm M - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Harm M
Family with teenagers

Very awesome spot, friendly people, relaxing place.

Nice spot, friendly people.

The Hatchery's response

Hi Harm,

Thank you for the review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we are looking forward having you back soon.

Warm regards,

Annemarie

The Hatchery
Maureen L - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Maureen L
With spouse/partner

A definite hidden gem.

Awesome spot to unwind whether with friends or partner. Rustic, peaceful, feels like you are in Mozambique! Will be back ... and bringing all my friends too!

From R810
per night (sleeps 2)
From R810
per night (sleeps 2)
From R810
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 43 people
  • Check-in: 12:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Amatikulu Lagoon, Reserve 8, Ongoye, 3800, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAADLkkbmbHZNy87IKU7tKPq3eikB44vcACd3yJakfLQxUQ4rtH6Z?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R810  per night (sleeps 2) 18 5 1 4 Amatikulu Lagoon Reserve 8 3800 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 12:00-19:00 10:00 -29.091258255354 31.631215810776
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com