The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at The Lookout | TravelGround
+73

The Lookout

Guest House

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5from 42 reviews The Lookout
Cleanliness
5.0/5
Service
5.0/5
Location
4.9/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.9/5
Vuyisile Q - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Vuyisile Q
With spouse/partner

We stayed for one 1 night, but it was exquisite.

An elegant place to stay in, homely with a very friendly host.

The Lookout's response

Thank you so much Vuyisile. It was lovely to meet you and so glad you enjoyed it. Kind regards Angela

The Lookout
Shailen G - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shailen G
With friends

A very warm and kind welcome by Angela, place was very clean and very impressed with the COVID protocols followed.

See stars.

The Lookout's response

Hello Shailen, thank you for the positive review. Hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Angela.

The Lookout
Elsa M - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elsa M
With spouse/partner

Netjies en rustig daar.

Alles en nog meer daar. Heerlike ontbyt ook geniet.

The Lookout's response

Hello Elsa, thank you for your kind words. Most appreciated. Stay safe. Kind regards, Angela.

The Lookout
Divya P - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Divya P
Family with young children

Fantastic view with very friendly owners.

Angela was fantastic and so friendly, she brought a camper cot and feeding chair. In addition she brought a baby bath as well. The venue was exceptionally clean. The views were amazing and the rooms came with a braai facilities. On the second day Angela brought through some toys for the children as well just to keep them entertained while were in the rooms. Overall it was an absolute pleasure to stay at the lookout. We would recommend it to anyone who is looking for accommodation in Port Alfred.

The Lookout's response

Dear Divya,
Thank you for your appreciation, and for taking the time to review us. Your family was such a joy to host, and we hope you will be back one day when you can enjoy the beaches and all the wonderful things Port Alfred has to offer.
take care and stay safe
Kind regards Angela

The Lookout
Judy M - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Judy M
With spouse/partner

Baie goeie waarde vir geld!!

Daar was n braai plek en n mikrogolfoond, meer as net n gewone gastehuis. Die kamer was baie ruim, daar was volle dstv en wifi. Dis naby die dorp met n pragtige uitsig.

The Lookout's response

Hello. Many thanks for your positive review. We appreciate it very much. Kind regards, Angela

The Lookout
Winifred W - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Winifred W
With spouse/partner

Very good.

We love place. Very good.

The Lookout's response

Hello Winifred,
Thank you for the review. Glad you got home safely and we hope you will come this way in the future.
Kind regards,
Angela

The Lookout
Prithi P - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Prithi P
Family with young children

The place was stunning

Very tastefully furnished. View as promised and looked like how it was it was in the pictures. Friendly owner

The Lookout's response

Hello,
I am so glad you liked the decor and the view. Thank you for the awesome review.
Kind regards,
Angela

The Lookout
Theuns L - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Theuns L
Individual traveler

Fantastic, excellent, very impressed.

The hospitality I experienced was wonderful. Was so impressed with the service and great food. Would definitely recommend it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties, uitstekend, baie beïndruk.

Die gasvryheid wat ek ervaar het was wonderlik. Was so beïndruk met die diens en lekker kos. Sal dit definitief aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Lookout's response

Thank you, Theuns. We are really grateful for the positive review. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards.
Angela

The Lookout
Khuthala M - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Khuthala M
With spouse/partner

Very nice.

This is a very nice place, I would recommend it to anyone who wants to go and enjoyed themselves with the loved ones.

The Lookout's response

Hi there.
Many thanks for the positive review. greatly appreciated.
Kind regards,
Angela

The Lookout
Amanda P - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Amanda P
With spouse/partner

Good experience.

Thank you very much, appreciate.

The Lookout's response

Hi Amanda,
Thank you for reviewing us. We really enjoyed meeting you, twice If I remember rightly. Hope to meet again soon.
Kind regards Angela

The Lookout
Jeanine A - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jeanine A
With spouse/partner

Uitstekend!

Mooiste plek! Sal weer daar bly!

The Lookout's response

Dear Jeanine,
Thank you for rating us so highly. We really do appreciate feedback, and you have been so nice to give us such a lovely compliment.
Happy New Year to you.
Kind regards Angela The Lookout

The Lookout
Jeanine A - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jeanine A
With spouse/partner

Uitstekend!

Ons sal graag weer daar bly!

Anna N - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anna N
With spouse/partner

Gasvry en vriendelik.

Lieflike omgewing. Sal dit graag aanbeveel.

Talita H - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Talita H
With spouse/partner

Netjiese plek en mooi uitsig.

Louise was baie vriendelik. Plekkie was baie netjies en ontbyt was heerlik.

Chris W - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chris W
With spouse/partner

Fantastic value for money and a definite choice for the next visit.

The welcome and beauty of the place was fantastic. It is a safe place with a breathtaking view of the Port Alfred Marine and the sea in the background. Breakfast and cleanliness are a plus.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantastiese waarde vir geld en 'n sekere keuse vir die volgende besoek.

Die verwelkoming en skoonheid van die plek was fantasties. Dit is 'n veilige plek met n asemrowende uitsig oor die Port Alfred Marine en see in die agtergrond. Ontbyt en netheid is 'n pluspunt.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Carien P - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carien P
With spouse/partner

Beautiful quiet place with the most beautiful views of the village.

We stayed in the tranquil, beautiful village. Felt like something from a storybook. The owner, Louise, was very friendly and their road maps in the room helped to explore the area. Will definitely go back again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Pragtige stil plekkie met die mooiste uitsig oor die dorpie.

Ons het ongelooflike lekker gebly in die rustige, mooi dorpie. Gevoel soos iets uit 'n storieboek. Die eienaar, Louise, was baie vriendelik en hulle padkaarte in die kamer het baie gehelp om die omgewing te verken. Sal definitief weer terug gaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Lookout's response

Carien,

Baie dankie! Ons almal by die Lookout wardeer jou mooi opmerkings.
Hoop ons sien julle weer eendag.

Groete.
Die Lookout Span

The Lookout
Henk R - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Henk R
Individual traveler

Uitstekende oornagplek.

Ek kan hierdie blyplek sterk aanbeveel. Die mense is vriendelik, die diens en blyplek is uitstekend. Ek sal beslis weer daar bly.

The Lookout's response

Henk,
Baie dankie vir jou positiewe opmerkings ons wardeer dit baie.
Groete,
Die Lookout Span

The Lookout
Amanda B - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Amanda B
With spouse/partner

Lovely, lovely, lovely!

Lovely hostess, lovely views, lovely equipped, lovely neat and clean. What could I complain about?

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lieflik, lieflik, lieflik!

Lieflike gasvrou, lieflike uitsig, lieflik toegerus, lieflik netjies en skoon. Waaroor sal ek kla?

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Lookout's response

Beste Amanda,

Dankie dankie dankie! Ons wardeer jou opmerkings.

Groete,
Die Lookout Span

The Lookout
Belinda T - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Belinda T

Uiters vriendelike en behulpsame ontvangs deur Louise. Eenhede skoon en versorg.

Baie dankie aan Louise wat ons gulhartig ontvang het en daagliks vriendelik gegroet het. Dit is 'n bonus dat die gasvrou op die perseel bly. Die naam skep verwagting, en ons was nie teleurgesteld. Baie dankie vir aangename, skoon en netjiese verblyf.

The Lookout's response

Julle was almal so gaaf en plieserig. Baie dankie vir jou mooi woorde, ons almal waardeer dit baie.
Groete tot volgende keer,
Die Lookout span.

The Lookout
Kobus N - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Kobus N
With spouse/partner

A very neat unit with very friendly hostess.

A pleasant experience for a night or two, but limited for longer.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Baie netjiese eenheid met baie vriendelike gasvrou.

'n Aangename ervaring vir 'n nag of twee, maar beperk vir langer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Lookout's response

Dankie vir die positiewe en behulpsame opmerkings.

Groete,
Die Lookout Span

The Lookout
Jc V - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jc V
Family with teenagers

Heerlike beddens, netjiese opset met geurige ontbyt.

Een nag oorgeslaap op pad Grahamstown toe. Sal beslis volgende keer weer daar oorbly.

The Lookout's response

Dankie vir die mooi opmerkings! Dis baie gaaf van julle. Hoop ons sien julle almal weer.

The Lookout
Mbuyiselo T - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mbuyiselo T
Family with young children

Secured, spacious, clean and the people are so so humble and understand children.

Secured, spacious, clean and the people are so humble and understand children.

The Lookout's response

Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate your positive comments. Hope you will return one day.

The Lookout Team

The Lookout
David L - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
David L
With spouse/partner

Awesome!

What an amazing place! We could have tea from proper cups en die breakfast was super. The whole stay there was just awesome.

The Lookout's response

Thank you so much for the review, we are happy you appreciated the tea cups! All the team from the look out are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We looking forward to seeing you next time.

The Lookout
William W - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
William W
With spouse/partner

Satisfied.

Our hostess was very friendly. She is beautiful! Our place had everything we needed. The filter coffee was a great bonus! Beautiful and clean. Thank you very much.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Tevrede.

Ons gasvrou was baie baie vriendelik. Sy is pragtig! Ons plekkie het alles gehad wat ons nodig gehad het. Die filterkoffie was 'n heerlike bonus! Mooi ook en skoon. Baie dankie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Lookout's response

Baie Dankie!! Julle is so gaaf, kom bly gerus weer!
Groete,
Louise en Alan

The Lookout
Ignatius G - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ignatius G
Family with young children

Absolutely fabulous.

Home away from home, enjoyed it.

Toni N - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Toni N
On business

Excellent accommodation.

Loved it will go there again.

The Lookout's response

Thank you, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Lookout. I would love to welcome you again.

Regards,
Louise

The Lookout
Cheryl S - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cheryl S
With spouse/partner

Such a beautiful place.

Thank you so much for accommodating us in your beautiful B&B. The ice cold water in the fridge was so thoughtful as it was so hot when we arrived. The room was cool and neat and so beautiful. Stunning view. Your breakfast was awesome. Thank you so much, we'd love to come back and visit again.

The Lookout's response

Thank you, you were lovely guests and so kind to send such a positive review. It is very much appreciated by the whole Lookout team.

The Lookout
Igna L - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Igna L
Individual traveler

Puik!

Die verblyf by The Lookout het my verwagtinge oortref, my kamer was pragtig, ruim en baie netjies. Die ontbyt heerlik en keurig bedien. En groot plus: heerlike filterkoffie in die kamer! Sal beslis weer daar bly en kan dit sterk aanbeveel. Goed geleë en binne stapafstand van die strand.

The Lookout's response

Baie dankie vir die mooi woorde! Ons almal by The Lookout waardeer dit, dit laat ons goed voel!

Ons sien uit na jou volgende besoek.

The Lookout
Storm V - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Storm V
On business

My stay was spectacular!

My stay was amazing, friendly, clean and breakfast felt just like home being served in the my room!

The Lookout's response

Dear Storm,

Thank you for your kind words! The Lookokout Team enjoys receiving positive reviews as it makes us feel we could be on the right track! Hope you will come again one day.

The Lookout
Shaun L - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shaun L
With spouse/partner

Spacious, neat and what a view!

Thanks for a great weekend away! Rooms are spacious, neat and tidy.Breakfast was served on time in our room as requested. Kitchen well equipped and more than enough coffee to keep us going!

Marlizan J - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marlizan J
Family with young children

Feels like home.

Friendly reception. Place was clean and neat. We could park by our room. Had a good sleep and was really spoilt with breakfast in the room. Really felt like home.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gevoel of ons tuis is.

Ons is vriendelik ontvang. Plek was lekker skoon en netjies. Kon by ons kamer parkeer. Heerlik geslaap en ons is omtrent bederf met ontbyt in die kamer. Regtig soos huis gevoel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Lookout's response

Marlizan,
Baie dankie dat jy die moeite gedoen het om so mooi oor ons te skryf. Ons almal waardeer you bedagsaamheid.
Groete
The Lookout Team

The Lookout
Niel J - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Niel J
Family with young children

Wonderlike plek, met 'n regte strandhuis-atmosfeer.

Al die geriewe wat jy nodig het met moderne afwerking beste uitsigte en wonderlike gasvryheid met die beste ontbyt wat persoonlik by jou eie stoepie bedien word! Ons sal weer en weer en weer kom, baie mooi strandhuis-atmosfeer met uitstekende geriewe met 'n baie gasvrye gasvrou! Beste diens en heerlike swembadjie om af te koel terwyl jy na die Kowie-rivier kyk wat uitmond in die see!

Petrus R - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Petrus R
With spouse/partner

Puik!

Dit was uitstekend! Die plek was skoon, ontbyt was uit die boonste rakke en ons gasvrou fantasties. Ons het werklik lekke geslaap!

Gert-jan V - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gert-jan V
With spouse/partner

Excellent hosts, excellent accommodation.

Stayed there for a week. Couldn't have been better. Stunning views overlooking the marina. 10 minute walk to town.

Marco B - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marco B
With spouse/partner

We had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at The Lookout

Excellent hospitality, atmosphere and stunning views of the Marina.Would definitely return to The Outlook on our next trip to Port Alfred.

Rainer F - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Rainer F
Individual traveler

The Lookout is the right name for this accomodation

Good views from the room and terrace, very friendly owner, and a beautiful breakfast. An excellent accommodation.

Mark L - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Mark L
With spouse/partner

Friendly, relaxed break with superb hosting from owner.

This was a perfect venue choice on our last trip to the Eastern Cape - the guest house owner treats her visitors as 'family' and the breakfasts were superb. This venue is certainly good value for money - thank you for a very pleasant experience! PS: Send our regards to Milo.

Susan D - Aug 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Susan D
On business

Dit was baie lekker en ek sal beslis weer 'n bespreking vir ons manne doen.

JP Nortje het geen klagtes nie en sal beslis weer by The Lookout oorslaap. Hy was vir besigheid daar en reis baie en sê dit was baie "NICE" gewees.

Suzette V - Jan 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Suzette V
With spouse/partner

Wonderful experience

One of our nicest stays at The Lookout. Louise was very friendly, and the accommodation is of the highest standerd. Will recommend them to everybody, and would like to go back again one day.

Sandra K - Oct 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sandra K
With spouse/partner

Enjoyed our stay, especially the breakfast. Lovely position and great attention to detail

We felt most welcome and enjoyed every minute of our stay at the lovely "The Lookout" guesthouse. Breakfasts were outstanding and we appreciated the attention to detail.

Alan L - May 2011
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Alan L
With spouse/partner

Absolutely brilliant place to stay - will definitly stay again if we are in Port Alfred.

The Lookout was superb - from the accomodaation, to the food, to location and customer service.Louise has certaily done herself proud. We will stay there again if we are in the area and have already recommended the place to friends on Facebook and raved about it when meeting them. The Lookout is a little gem.

From R780
per night (for 2 people)
From R780
per night (for 2 people)
From R780
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 17 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 24 Park Road, Port Alfred, 6170, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA3962e26eb532b46a16a3a3e1cb3ece68d55719f440326ee934abb31a4fd624e0579c8fbfd8f6ee72872ebe91c4347939d7b1?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R780  per night (for 2 people) 42 5 1 5 24 Park Road Port Alfred 6170 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -33.591350036792 26.895346641541
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!