The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at The Manor House | TravelGround
+20

The Manor House

56 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 56 reviews for The Manor House
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.5/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.5/5
Shemiah A - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shemiah A
Family with young children

An amazing experience with a touch of vintage.

An amazing location taking you away from the hustle and buzz of the city lives. Breakfast was very good and done with elegance. Staff was helpful and friendly, the entire stay was breathtaking. I definitely would go there again.

Rosie V - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Rosie V
With spouse/partner

Awesome - relaxing

A must to go for any couple or individual who needs a break away.

Morney H - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Morney H
Individual traveler

Absolutely fabulous value for money and very quiet.

I love the view in nature with the sound of birds and animals, waking up smelling fresh air, quiet getaway for the individual who wants to escape from the daily rush of the city center.

Ruwaida M - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ruwaida M
With spouse/partner

It was amazing, tranquil and very, very clean we as a family will definitely go back and we have recommended the Manor House to family and friends.

At the time of our stay we had a small family crises. My hubby spoke to the manager Carol and she sorted out so quickly. With just simple yes/no problem. That was a wow-moment for me. Thank you so much Carol! I would like to thank the management and staff of the Manor House for going above and beyond for us as a family. A big thank you! NB: Our-stay there was amazing, wonderful and relaxing. We will definitely return with family and friends.

The Manor House's response

Thank you so much for the great comments.
Please come again soon.

The Manor House
Nicole J - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nicole J
With spouse/partner

We had a good time.

Friendly staff. We had a problem with one of the lights and someone came to fix it immediately. The views around are amazing.

Fini S - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Fini S
Individual traveler

Nie maklik bereikbaar saans nie, onwenslik om deur randgebied en donker plaaspad te ry.

Die dakkamertjie was bedompig, met 'n eienaardige reuk. Die vloer was taai. Die beddegoed was skoon en netjies maar die kamer nie. Die dakvertrek was moeilik bereikbaar met smal en steil trappe, gelukkig was daar hulp beskikbaar. Die tuine was pragtig en ontbyt lekker.

The Manor House's response

Hi there,
I am sorry you were not happy with the room, but it is a cheapest budget room and we do advertise it as such.
The rooms downstairs are much larger and more comfortable, but of course slightly more expensive.
We have never had a problem in the village or the on road coming to the Estate. We ask guests to check in before dark too.
Hope you see you soon again
The Manor House team

The Manor House
Shirley M - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shirley M
With spouse/partner

A lush oasis of trees and hospitality.

Carol and Ed are fantastic hosts, who run this huge, beautiful establishment with warmth, professionalism and enthusiasm. They are the perfect hosts of the grand old Manor House, which is one of the nicest stays we have ever had. It is good old-fashioned hospitality at its very best, in beautiful, peaceful, natural surroundings. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the room was lovely, the breakfasts are scrumptious and the staff are efficient and friendly. This is one of those places we will come back to many times.

Sirita F - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sirita F
With spouse/partner

Dit was fantasties. Die area is asemrowend mooi.

Ek beveel dit definitief aan vir stadsbewoners wat 'n stil rustige wegbreek soek. Sal definitief weer van hulle gebruik maak.

Ralna O - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ralna O
With friends

'n Aangename ervaring. Wou nog altyd graag in so ou histories gebou kuier.

Die tuin met sy jare oue bome is netjies en mooi bewaar. Die hoofgebou straal 'n gevoel van styl uit.

Howard M - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Howard M
With spouse/partner

Absolutely friendly and very helpful management and staff. Very quiet and fantastic scenery. Wish I could own a piece of this place.

From the time that my wife and I set foot at The Manor House, Sir Lowry Pass on Monday, 28 December 2020, we were greeted by a very friendly staff and management. Our 6-night stay was wonderful and we are planning our next stay at The Manor House for 2021, but this time we shall definitely stay much longer because of the scenery and calm quiet effect one experiences. We have sent pics of our cottage and court yard to friends and family and all of them want to visit this beautiful and stunning place.

Gideon J V - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gideon J V
With spouse/partner

Baie aangename, lekker ondervinding ! Dankie !

Carol, bestuurder baie behulpsaam.

The Manor House's response

Thank you for the positive feedback, always great to hear.
Thank you taking the time.
Regards
Carol and the Manor House Team

The Manor House
Kristin A - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kristin A
With spouse/partner

Beautiful establishment and exceptional service!

For me and my wife, our stay at The Manor House was wonderful. Upon our arrival up until us leaving we had a pleasant experience and the owner/manager made our stay very comfortable and we would like to go back again for a much longer stay next time. The cottage and gardens are well maintained which gave the feeling to unwind and enjoy the blissful experience of nature. I definitely would recommend the manor house to anyone as their hospitality and friendly warm atmosphere, made us feel at home.

The Manor House's response

Thank you for the positive feedback, always great to hear.
Thank you taking the time.
Regards
Carol and the Manor House Team

The Manor House
Shakirah V - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Shakirah V
With spouse/partner

Baie dankie aan Carol wat ons op last minuut.com kon akkommodeer. Vanaf ons ontvangs by sekuriteit tot ons vertrek was 5-ster-diens.

Regtig 'n oulike, romantiese plekkie. Gordyne baie deursigtig. Ons bespreek graag weer in die nabye toekoms.

The Manor House's response

Thank you for the positive feedback, always great to hear.
Thank you taking the time.
Regards
Carol and the Manor House Team

The Manor House
Angelica J - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Angelica J
With friends

Get together was awesome.

We had a get together at The Manor House.

The Manor House's response

Thank you for the positive feedback, always great to hear.
Thank you taking the time.
Regards
Carol and the Manor House Team

The Manor House
Johan D - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan D
Individual traveler

Rustige omgewing.

Ek het in die tuinwoonstel gebly - dit was baie gerieflik en het buitebraaigeriewe gehad, maar let asb. daarop dat dit nie selfsorg-akkommodasie is nie (net koppies word verskaf - daar is nie 'n yskassie en ander eetgerei nie). Etes kan by die restaurant in die hoofgebou genuttig word. Die omgewing is pragtig en rustig. Sondae oggende is daar 'n myRun wat plaasvind. Ontbyt was lekker en billik geprys.

The Manor House's response

Thank you for the positive feedback, always great to hear.
Thank you taking the time.
Regards
Carol and the Manor House Team

The Manor House
Angelique C - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Angelique C
With spouse/partner

Peaceful, calm and tranquil.

We asked to move from smaller room to bigger downstairs because of my back injury and when we went to pay the difference the owner said its not necessary. This was a welcome surprise. The breakfast was more than expected for the amount of R35.

The Manor House's response

Thank you for the positive feedback, always great to hear.
Thank you taking the time.
Regards
Carol and the Manor House Team

The Manor House
Karin B - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Karin B
With spouse/partner

Heerlike wegbreek van die stadsgewoel.

Baie mooi omgewing, lekker rustig. Vriendelike diens.

Henriet B - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Henriet B
With spouse/partner

Delightful farm feeling in beautiful surroundings.

Breakfast was not included but was really value for money. We slept very well here.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlike plaas gevoel in pragtige omgewing.

Ontbyt was nie ingesluit nie maar was regtig waarde vir geld. Ons het baie lekker hier geslaap.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Althena D - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Althena D
With spouse/partner

I should've booked a longer stay to fully appreciate everything it has to offer.

Beautiful place that i would visit again.

Nicole J - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nicole J

Friendly staff.

We arrived later then planned and a staff member had to wait on our arrival before he could go home. He was so friendly we apologised for arriving so late (we came straight from work) he kept telling us to stop apologising but we felt so guilty because he still needed to travel home.

Marinda L - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Marinda L
With spouse/partner

Quiet, beautiful.

Buildings valuable and well maintained.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustig, mooi.

Geboue waarde vol en goed instand gehou.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Christine K - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Christine K
Family with young children

See below for description.

We were four adults and one 2.5 year old child that stayed in the Protea Shed for six nights. At the time of the booking we called the Manor House to confirm availability of the rooms and the person who we spoke to said that they have cottages available for families and that it has a bath tub. Once the booking was made there were no mention/description about the Protea Shed or any pictures on the website (which has since been updated with pictures and listed as the Protea family).

Janine P - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Janine P
With friends

Fantasties.

Met aankoms het 'n baie vriendelike dame ons gehelp om in te boek. Almal is vriendelik gewees. Het soos 'n familie gevoel met almal wat daar werk. Van die ground staff tot by die eienaars. Die kamers is pragtig. Baie skoon en netjies. Met die mooiste uitsig. Ons het dit verskriklik baie geniet om daar or te bly. Ontbyt was vanaf die boonste rakke. Die swembad was skoon gewees. Ons sal beslis weer hier oorslaap as ons daardie kant toe gaan. Baie dankie.

Anneleen M - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anneleen M
With friends

Beautiful getaway.

The Manor House is a beautiful place, with lovely gardens, and a tranquil atmosphere. I would go back anytime I can!

Truida-mart B - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Truida-mart B
With spouse/partner

Gesellig en pragtige omgewing.

Ons het in die Garden Cottage gebly, ideaal vir twee. Die private tuintjie buite maak dit baie spesiaal.

Wendy S - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wendy S
With spouse/partner

Very impressed with all aspects of the Manor House.

We stayed one night while on a business trip to Cape Town. We had the Loft Room, which totally met my eclectic taste. While we shared the 4 bedroom house with one other, it was enjoyable meeting someone else and there were no problems. I would quickly recommend this accommodation to others.

Nesta M - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Nesta M
With spouse/partner

Very simple motel-type unit.

Slightly disappointed in the rooms. Bath towels, no mirrors in rooms, simple and neglected. Bedding not clean.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie eenvoudige motel-tipe eenheid.

Bietjie teleurgesteld in die kamers. Handdoeke vir badmatjies, geen spieëls in kamers, eenvoudig en afgeskeep. Beddegoed nie skoon nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Danie H - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie H
Family with young children

Billike waarde vir geld en goeie ontbyt.

The Manor House bied billike waarde vir geld. Die ontbyt was smaaklik en voldoende.

Afsannah M - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Afsannah M
With spouse/partner

Dit was 'n wonderlike verblyf, maar daar was geen TV in ons kamer nie.

Ek is mal oor die ligging en die rustigheid.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

It was a great stay, but there was no TV in our room.

I love the location and the tranquillity.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Manor House's response

Hi Afsannah,

Thank you for the feedback. We only advertise one room with a TV and that is the Garden Cottage.
The family suite has a shared TV. We encourage guests to 'un-plug" and enjoy the peaceful surroundings.
Next time book into the Garden Cottage, it has a lovely private garden too, but is not self catering.

Best regards
Carol

The Manor House
Stephanie U - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stephanie U
With spouse/partner

It was wonderful and so beautiful.

It was a very nice experience. The people were very friendly and made us feel so welcome. We got so much more than we paid for.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was wonderlik en so pragtig.

Dit was 'n bitter lekker ervaring. Die mense was bitter vriendelik en het ons so welkom laat voel. Ons het soveel meer gekry as waarvoor ons betaal het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Manor House's response

Hi Stephanie,

Thank you so much. You left your duvet cover here. You can collect anytime.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Regards
Carol & The Manor House Team

The Manor House
Fiona S - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Fiona S
With spouse/partner

Peaceful and beautiful location.

The Manor House is the perfect location, for a weekend break. Beautiful surroundings, peaceful and quiet. It is centrally located to get to Gordon's Bay and to Stellenbosch for day visits.

The Manor House's response

Hi Fiona,
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Miller's Cottage. I know that it doesn't suit everyone, but to recharge the batteries away from the rat race, it is perfect. We hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Carol and The Manor House team.

The Manor House
Leni H - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leni H
With spouse/partner

Wonderful privilege to sleep at this beautiful old historical homestead!

Beautiful historic farm in a countryside setting. Wonderful accommodation. Everything very neat and clean. Enjoyed the braai wood and fireplace fire. Stairs may be a problem for people with knee or leg problems. Thank you so much for letting us experience this wonderful place! Thank you for so much peace and peace. Can recommend 100%.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Wonderlike voorreg om op hierdie pragtige ou historiese opstal te kan slaap!

Pragtige historiese plaas in 'n landelike omgewing. Sprokiesmooi akkommodasie. Alles pynlik netjies en skoon. Het die braaihout en kaggelvuur geweldig geniet. Trappe op en af mag 'n probleem wees vir mense met knie- of beenprobleme. Baie dankbaar dat ons hierdie pragplaas kon ervaar! Dankie vir soveel rustigheid en vrede. Kan alles 100% aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Manor House's response

Hi Leni,
Thank you for your kind words. I will pass them on to the staff, they work very hard.
We hope we see you again soon.
Warmest regards,
Carol and The Manor House team.

The Manor House
Natasha M - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Natasha M
With spouse/partner

Disappointed, inaccurate portrayal on website. International travellers be aware the Wi-Fi is below UK/EU standards.

Our room were Millers Cottage Room 4. Bed and pillows are not fit for human use, good for a dog bed. The mattress is so old it has 2 permanent indentations where people have slept on it for an indefinite amount of years. Using both pillows allocated per guest your head and neck is supported with a full 2-3 cm pillow filling. You cannot stand upright in the room. Hanging space for clothes are as unique as the mattress. The shower room (as no bath) is mouldy, photo on site is not of this shower room. A curtain in front of the window will go a long way. As there is a security light shining through it all night. Please be advised that you will hear every word spoken and all other human interaction from room 2 below you. Please address this issue as it only lead to highly embarrassing issues the next morning. With us being international travellers we did report this to management the next morning. No where is it mentioned that there is no TV or Wi-Fi available in the room. The shared kitchen facilities are not mentioned on the website either. The dogs bark for hours at a time. Wi-Fi is only available in and around The Manor House. It is intermittent at best. The breakfast is nice. Unfortunately this made for a night with no sleep to be followed by a full day of international flights for us to reach home again. This is a place that could be a little gem with a bit of money spent on the facilities. We found it so disappointing after having spent 2 weeks travelling and experiencing a phenomenal Western Cape, that met and exceeded so many expectations. If you require total isolation from technology, this is the place for you.

The Manor House's response

Hi Natasha,
We have stipulated that this is a budget room in an attic with a shared kitchen.
You have received a full refund and we have made all the changes we can.
Thank you
Carol

The Manor House
Cherish S - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Cherish S
With spouse/partner

Bad.

On arrival we only saw that you need to share a kitchen and living room. The room didn't have curtains in front of the widows, no fridge, just a bed. You can't stand up straight when entering the room as the roof is too low. Guests or building contractors where laying on the chairs when we arrived. We didn't even stay any longer and handed the keys in at the gate. Wasted 2 nights of money and had to search for new accommodation at 20:00 on a Sunday night.

John A - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
John A
With friends

Dit is n fantastiese plek vir 'n wegbreek.

Baie dankie The Manor House, die plek was entjies en skoon, die ontvangs deur Carol was hartlik, baie veilig en goed geleë, sal beslis familie en vriend soontoe aanbeveel.

Carel F - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carel F
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam in stil landelike omgewing.

Ons kamer was 'n dakkamer met 'n grasdak. Het gevoel soos toe ons klein was op die plaas. Gesamentlike kombuis/eetkamer wat al die nodige het. Gaste ken ongelukkig nie die term "los 'n plek soos jy hom gekry het nie.". Die kamer het nie gordyne gehad nie, wat dit beter sou maak vir veral dames. Sal weer soontoe gaan.

Francois S - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Francois S
With spouse/partner

It was very romantic thanks to the rainy weather.

The Manor House exceeded all expectations and was a very pleasant stay. Everything was clean and in touch with nature. Five stars, will definitely be back there.

Carlin W - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carlin W
With spouse/partner

Dit was asemrowend, pragtige plekkie, gerieflik ook.

The Manor House se gasvryheid was besonders goed. Die personeel was baie behulpsaam en het dadelik vir ons gehelp. Die huis waar ons gehuisves was, was netjies, als was skoon en ordentlik. Pakeergeriewe vir ons kar. Die plek se standaard was 100% goed. Sal beslis weer hier gaan.

Wahid M - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wahid M
With spouse/partner

Nice.

Situated in nice area, beautiful views, worth the money. Good service.

The Manor House's response

Hi Wahid,
Thank you for the kind words, it was lovely having you here.
Regards,
Carol & The Manor House Team

The Manor House
Marida B - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marida B
Family with teenagers

Absolute tranquillity.

Very nice and rural, beautiful gardens and swimming pool. Quiet and rest for the soul.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Absolute rustigheid.

Baie baie mooi landelik, pragtige tuine en swembad. Stil en rus vir die siel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Sarel V - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Sarel V
With spouse/partner

Bo-verwagting goed!

Vriendelike ontvangs en wat 'n mooi omgewing, 'n mens kan sien die bestuur gaan uit hulle pad on dinge in goeie stand te hou en dit laat 'n mens al klaar tuis voel, die weer het mooi saamgespeel en ons verblyf was soos 'n fantastiese uitstappie, en so hoort dit te wees! Dankie aan al die staff vir 'n mooi poging.

The Manor House's response

Hi Sarel,
Thank you for your kind words. I will pass the message onto all the staff, they really appreciate it when their efforts are rewarded.
Warmest regards,
Carol and The Manor House Team

The Manor House
Shirley E - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shirley E
With spouse/partner

Thanks to the staff for their hospitality and friendly staff for making our honeymoon special. May God bless you all. Will definitely come back for another holiday.

Friendly staff. Second home.

Mildred B - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Mildred B
With spouse/partner

Aangename verblyf. Lekker plaasatmosfeer.

Baie aangename verblyf. Kyk uit op berge met plaasatmosfeer. Netjies en goeie diens. Net jammer dat die slaapkamer en badkamer nie verbind is nie. Daar is ook 'n baie steil trap tussen die slaap- en badkamer/kombuisgeriewe wat problematies kan wees vir kinders en ouer mense.

Stash H - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stash H
Family with young children

Bugs.

The Manor house exceeded my expectations. What a lovely place, the people are lovely, anything you needed at any time, there was somebody to help. Washing was done for us on a daily bases, the dishes were done and the beds were made. The only small issue we had experienced, was the place was not cleaned before we arrived, thus everything was full of dust, and we had a major issue with spiders and other bugs. Other than that, we cannot complain...you guys are amazing! Thank you Manor House staff!

Megan D - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Megan D
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig.

Baie lekker plek. Uitstappies op die plaas deur die dag en swem in die swembad. Nie baie mense nie, so lekker rustig. Braaigeriewe in die aand. Net die Manor House se honde moes vasgemaak word. Die klein hondjie het ons gejaag.

The Manor House's response

Hi Megan,

So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Not sure if you are referring to our neighbour's little Chiwawa dog or our little Maltese poodle. Sorry if the dogs worried you, on the farm, we need them as security so that our guests can safely walk and enjoy the farm.

Hope to see you soon.

Warmest regards,
Carol and Ed

The Manor House
Rochelle B - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rochelle B
With spouse/partner

Dit was vreeslik lekker, het dit baie geniet en die plek is beautiful!

Waarde vir jou geld! Sal dit aanbeveel!

The Manor House's response

Good day Rochelle,

Thank you for the kind words. Glad you had a good time
Please come visit us again.

Carol and The Manor House team

The Manor House
Shirley E - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shirley E
With spouse/partner

Fantastic.

I would like to thank the staff of The Manor House for their hospitality and friendly staff.

The Manor House's response

Hi Shirley,

Thank you for the kind words and I will pass on your message to the staff.

Regards,
Carol

The Manor House
Ashraf P - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ashraf P
With spouse/partner

Excellent service friendly staff and client service of the best quality.

It was our second visit to the location and definitely not be our last. I will recommend it to anyone, especially if you like the country side and the peace and tranquillity. The accommodation is clean, neat, safe and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

The Manor House's response

Good day Ashraf,

Thank you so much for the kind words.
Lovely to see you again.

Warmest regards
Carol and the Manor House Team

The Manor House
Jeanette R - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jeanette R
With spouse/partner

Value for money!

Located in a very nice area, neat, safe and definite value for money! Staff are friendly and helpful. Thank you!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Waarde vir geld!

Op 'n baie mooi plek geleë, netjies, veilig en definitief waarde vir geld! Personeel is vriendelik en behulpsaam. Dankie!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Manor House's response

Thank you Jeanette, please come visit again.
Thanks,
Carol and the Manor House Team

The Manor House
Schanette M - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Schanette M
With spouse/partner

Verfrissend.

Ons was baie laat as gevolg van vertraagde vlug. Is steeds baie vriendelik ontvang. Kamers lekker groot, skoon en goed toegerus. Ontbyt was smaaklik en meer as genoeg. Die omgewing is pragtig, met baie om in die omgewing te doen en te sien. Sal enige tyd weer by The Manor House tuisgaan.

Natashia H - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Natashia H
With spouse/partner

It was fantastic. Very relaxing.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go there again. It was so relaxing and very safe.

Audrey F - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Audrey F
With friends

I loved the tranquility and peace The Manor House had to offer.

The service was friendly, and the place was stunning. Would most definitely visit again. Very affordable prices.

Louwns V - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Louwns V
With spouse/partner

Ontspannend.

Rustig en mooi uitsig, natuur.

Jadene L - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jadene L
With spouse/partner

Enjoyed the stay very much.

I would recommend this guesthouse to everyone I meet. It is an amazing, tranquil place that lets you feel like city life is far away, but it's just down the road. It is peaceful and the people are more than helpful and very friendly, it is an amazing place to be. Thanks for the wonderful stay.

Johan P - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Johan P
Family with young children

Heerlik vakansie gehou!

Baie avontuur in redelike veilige omgewing vir 4 jarige. Hou net dop vir die balkon en trappe as jy in die Mill House bly. Vriendelike en behulpsame werknemers. Bestuur is behulpsaam en gretig om probleme te help oplos. Die Mill House se dak lek! Dis ook baie koud in die winter, ten spyte van die groot kaggelvuur. Dis duidelik dat dit 'n baie ou gebou is, blykbaar 300 jaar, en dit kort aandag. Vensters seël nie mooi nie, ens.

The Manor House's response

Good day Johan,

Thank you for your review. Constructive critique is always welcome and helps improve standards.
As you have mentioned, the building is very old, and will mention that and also the steep staircase in our description from now onwards.
Hope to see you soon again

Warmest wishes
Carol and Ed

The Manor House
Sam P - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Sam P
With friends

The Mill House has much potential, but was unfortunately very dirty and was misrepresented on the website.

The Mill House has the potential to be a wonderful place. The hosts were friendly, helpful and warm, but the place was dirty. There were marks on the walls, dead flies on counter tops, and we had to wash out the bath ourselves before it could be used. We actually opted not to shower - and to rather do this at home - because we did not feel comfortable to do so. I slept on the couch as I did not want to pull out the extra bed because I was afraid of what I might find. There is mildew in the bathroom and the place is in general disrepair unfortunately. While The Manor House is lovely, and as I said, the hosts were really lovely, the place left us disappointed. I took photos to prove my statements. We did not make a fuss and we paid our way, but we will not stay there again and will not recommend it. It is sad as this is a beautiful place. We were also not made aware of the trap door that leads to an apartment of sorts below. This leaves one feeling a little uneasy. They supplied plenty of firewood, but it was very wet (but I must say, they were kind enough to give more firelighters). The photos on the website are misleading and make the place seem far more modern and well-put together than it is. The bedding doesn't match, the little mats on the floors are dirty and worn, the curtains are extremely dusty (I opened them to bring in some more light) and so on. The decor is really old-fashioned and does not match at all. We were given beach towels as bath towels - not really a problem (we would have been happy with a place that was tidy and neat). It's just that the website gives one the impression that this is a classy place and it really isn't. Again, I think The Manor House may be, but the Mill House is not.

The Manor House's response

Hi Sam,
So sorry to hear that you were not happy with the accommodation. We have been trying to train the local staff from the farm and Sir Lowry's pass village as part of our contribution to job creation and we have had various degrees of success. We have had a meeting with house-keeping and addressed all of your concerns, and you were correct in letting us know. We would, however, like to rectify the situation and offer you a complimentary night's stay at The Manor House for your family for an evening and include breakfast.
Please let me know when it will suit you.
Kind regards
Carol & Ed

The Manor House
From R375
per night (sleeps 2)
From R375
per night (sleeps 2)
From R375
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 30 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 37 Knorhoek Road, Knorhoek Estate, Sir Lowry's Pass, 7130, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA6be5ee1827132f9ec0cefe07b7342d4b3111e10bd7b0a31186274e1c4d6f381b43b48fc57c0112228148d99e8bc2f78e67a8?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R375  per night (sleeps 2) 56 5 1 5 37 Knorhoek Road Knorhoek Estate 7130 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -34.111662 18.9212
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!