The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at The Potting Shed - Self-Catering | TravelGround
+37

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering

Self Catering

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 45 reviews for The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Cleanliness
4.6/5
Service
4.6/5
Location
4.1/5
Safety
4.7/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Shirley Delport D - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shirley Delport D

Die verblyf was absoluut fantasties. Ons was 'n gesingroep.

Dit was 'n aangename tyd, verblyf onberispelik en diensverskaffer uitstekend. Baie dankie.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

So glad you had a good time Shirley, thank you for your wonderful review.

Annamarie and Dave.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Liezel O - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liezel O
With spouse/partner

Uitstekende diens en kwaliteit-verblyf.

Dave en sy span, 10 uit 10, dankie vir al die inligting wat julle voorsien vir doendinge rondom Hermanus. Verblyf is uitstekend, netjies, skoon en stylvol. Sal julle definitief aanbeveel.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Thank you Liezel for such a wonderful review. I hope we will see you again soon.
Annamarie & Dave

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Jasmine K - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jasmine K

Most enjoyable stay in a long while.

I took a group of 7 ladies for a spiritual retreat and the surroundings, landscaping and magnificent views added greatly to the success of our venture, I am very impressed at the quality of the accommodation and found only one tiny flaw. Because of my age, I was unable to get into the bath, (the shore is inside the bath). The owner Dave told me next time to ask him for a step stool.

Ronell L - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ronell L
With spouse/partner

Wonderlik.

Uitsig en ligging to die for.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Thank you Ronell for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again soon.
Annamarie and Dave.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Irene E - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Irene E
With spouse/partner

Regtig baie lekker gekuier en pragtige uitsig geniet!

Puik geleë en veilig. Uitsig is besonders spesiaal.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Thank you Irene for your review. Glad you had a good stay.

Annamarie

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Dickon E - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
1/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Dickon E
Family with teenagers

Lovely flat just an awful location. Stinky abalone factories on both sides of the complex!

The man who owns the Potting Shed was very helpful telling us loads to do in the area,.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Sorry to hear you found the conservation farms smelly. It's very rare that we get a waft. Usually no smell at all. What a pity you had that experience.
Regards,
Annamarie

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Leyla G - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leyla G
Family with teenagers

Wonderful hosts and awesome stay.

Gorgeous place and safe.

Lmay W - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lmay W
With friends

Baie mooi en lekker. Fantastiese uitsig op die see.

Ons het dit baie geniet. Dit is perfek vir 'n kort kuier, maar langer sal nie werk met 4 mense en net een badkamer nie.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Thank you.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Belinda B - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Belinda B
Family with teenagers

Mooi see-uitsig wat dinge rustig laat voel.

Gedurende somermaande behoort dit heerlik te wees.

Corli P - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Corli P
Family with young children

Ons het lekker gebly en die huis het voorsien in ons behoeftes. Baie netjiese kompleks met mooi versorgde tuine.

Ons sal weer van hierdie bestemming gebruikmaak!

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Thank you Corli, for the review and for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Annamarie

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Johan S - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan S
Family with teenagers

Woonstel baie netjies, gerieflik en veilig.

Wens ons kon 'n maand lank bly.

Kallie K - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kallie K
Family with teenagers

Lekker.

Netjiese plek baie naby die see.

Anouschka B - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anouschka B
Family with young children

Wonderlik.

Ons het 'n besonderse naweek gehad. Die plek is so kalmerend en die uitsigte wonderlik. Die plek is besonders opgedoen en dra by tot 'n luilekker naweek.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Annamarie

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Elmaree V - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Elmaree V
Family with teenagers

Very quiet and sound of sea is fantastic.

I think one will feel better is you know about location before one arrive.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Thank you for your review. Glad you liked being by the sea.

Our website has a description of area and explains we are 3kms from town in a security complex and close to the Abagold Conservation farms. If you click on the Google pin drip & enlarge the area, it's very clear where our property is and the location.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Allen S - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Allen S
Family with young children

What an a enjoyable stay had a wonderful time, kids did not wanted to leave awesome place.

The villas are beautiful and it felt like that the stay was to short will definitely recommend it to my friends and family. A great place to go to unwind and just want to come back.

Danny M - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Danny M
Family with teenagers

Ons het lekker gebly, maar die ligging van die eenheid is nie wenslik nie.

Die eenheid en kompleks is redelik gemiddeld en voldoen aan die vereiste, maar toegang tot die kompleks is deur 'n ietwat industriële gebied en tussen die perlemoenfabrieke. Die ligging is minder as wenslik.

Kevin V - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kevin V
With friends

Medicine for the soul, slow down and recharge.

Thank you to our wonderful hosts for the warm welcome. We had a pleasant stay even though the beach was off limits.

Christa S - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christa S
Family with teenagers

Peaceful and tranquil.

We loved The Potting Shed self catering. Even though we were not right on the beach, we could see the sea from our unit. We loved the endless walks on the rocky beach. The unit was spotless and had everything we needed.

Karina D - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karina D
Family with teenagers

Heerlike Hermanus vakansie!

Een van die netjieste en bes toegeruste vakansieplekke waar ons nog gebly het - binne en buite. Uitstekende diens!

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you had a good stay.
Keep well, hope to see you again soon.
Annamarie and Dave.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Angus V - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Angus V
With spouse/partner

Netjiese plekkie, ligging dalk nie so goed, gasheer baie behulpsaam en vriendelik.

Oulik, skoon en netjies en gashere baie behulpsaam asook vriendelik. Ligging enigste probleem.

Janine M - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Janine M
With friends

It was excellent! Owners are very helpful. Thank you for the quick service on Saturday morning.

The security at Whale Rock Estate, also did a outstanding job when they checked us in!

Debbie M - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Debbie M
Family with young children

Lekker wegbreek met alles wat nodig is.

Skoon, netjies, veilig, en mooi uitsig oor die see.

Kyle B - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kyle B
With spouse/partner

Amazing location.

The pathway leading to the beach, was just breathtaking. Hearing and seeing the waves hit the rocks and only being a stone's throw away made our quick getaway even more memorable.

Wilna V - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Wilna V
With spouse/partner

Fantasties, veilig en netjies.

Baie gerieflik, netjies en rustig. Alles wat nodig was was daar. David was baie behulpsaam en vriendelik.

Debbie A - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Debbie A
Family with young children

Peaceful and great.

Nice and peaceful. We loved hearing the ocean. Not too far from everything.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustig en heerlik.

Lekker rustig en kon die see heeltyd hoor. Nie ver van alles nie so baie gerieflik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Botha V - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Botha V
Family with young children

Very nice, just sorry for load shedding that struck 3 times, but there was a rechargeable light available!

Very friendly service and clean accommodation! Will definitely recommend it and go again!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie aangenaam gewees, net jammer vir beurtkrag wat 3 keer ingestel is, maar daar was 'n herlaaibare lig beskikbaar!

Baie vriendelike diens en skoon verblyf! Sal dit definitief aanbeveel en weer gaan!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Diane M - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Diane M
Family with teenagers

Perfect holiday destination.

The apartment was so well equipped and the host thought about everything including an extension cord so the hair dryer could reach the plug! The only downside is that the complex is situated in an industrial area, but it’s very close to the mall and Hermanus.

Steven R - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Steven R
With spouse/partner

Great views.

Hope to see you soon again.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Thank you for staying with us Steven. Glad you had a good time. :)

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Craig T - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Craig T
Family with teenagers

Peaceful.

Pity about power outage for much of the time. A secluded quiet getaway just to relax and enjoy the sound of the ocean nearby.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Hi Craig, yes it was a pity there was no electricity. It wasn't just at the apartment that had a power outage but in the entire town for more than 30 hours due to a major fire in Hermanus and the Overberg. Fortunately, we only lost power, even if it was for over a day. Some people lost their homes, businesses and even their lives. Some things are just out of The Potting Shed control.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Reina S - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Reina S
Family with teenagers

Baie lekker gebly, pragtige stukkie strand en mooi uitsig!

Rustige netjiese en veilige verblyf. Plek was mooi skoon. Swembad en vlugbalbaan was 'n bonus. Ek sal dit aanbeveel en enige tyd weer teruggaan. Mooi stukkie strand met pragtige uitsig.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

So glad you had a nice time. We hope you will be back again soon. All the best for Christmas and the New Year.
Annamarie and Dave

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Deon M - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Deon M

The beach is close and it's very safe.

It's an excellent place for family to enjoy the safe environment and be close to the sea. A very relaxing and peaceful place to recharge your batteries.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Dear Deon,

Thank you for the nice review, we are so glad you had a good time. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Annamarie and Dave

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Debra Joy E - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Debra Joy E
With friends

Most enjoyable experience. Will be booking again soon.

It was a brilliant experience. Thank you for making our weekend away to Hermanus such a memorable occasion!

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your times at our place.
Annamarie

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
James J - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
James J
With spouse/partner

Tevrede!

Sien die sterre.

Wilna J - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wilna J
With friends

Die verblyf is in 'n pragtige omgewing en mens kan die see hoor vanuit die eenheid. Kompleks is baie veilig en netjies.

Ek was verbaas met die waarde vir geld. Potting Shed is pragtig ingerig en op standaard. Ek sal egter voorstel dat daar na die moontlikheid van waaiers of lugverkoeling gekyk word. Die yskas in eenheid 23 was ook nie in goeie werkende toestand nie. Andersins was alles puik. Diens ook uitstekend.

Christine R - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Christine R
Family with young children

We enjoyed our 3 night stay in this neat and well equipped apartment.

The apartment is well equipped, has a lovely nautical theme with quality bedding. It was super clean with nice views of the sea. The complex is quiet and well maintained. The damage to the geyser cupboard (from the leak in the upstairs unit) was a pity as it created a damp smell in the second bedroom, but once this has been sorted out, and the geyser safety valve checked for compliance, the unit will be on our list of highly recommended accommodation. Annemarie was very helpful in booking tours and advising us on activities in Hermanus.

Jürgen B - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jürgen B
Family with young children

Nice accommodation in a nice estate.

Nice accommodation in a nice estate, unfortunately quite a distance away from the city centre.

Reinhard V - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
1/5
Reinhard V
With spouse/partner

The unit wasn't clean.

The unit wasn't clean. Still some hair of previous person on the linen and the rooms weren't cleaned thoroughly.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Eenheid was nie skoon nie.

Eenheid was nie skoon nie. Was nog hare van die vorige persone op die beddegoed en kamers was nie mooi skoon gemaak nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ronelle V - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ronelle V
Family with teenagers

'n Baie aangename ervaring.

Ons is as gesin baie vriendelik ontvang. Die personeel het ons ingelig van dinge om te doen in die omgewing en restaurante om te besoek. Die blykplek self het ons verras. Skoon, netjies en veilig. Definitief 'n 'thumbs up' vir The Potting Shed.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

So great to hear you had a lovely time - thank you so much for your kind words. We have re painted the apartments this month and updated various things such as new crockery and cutlery.
Hope to see you again,
Annamarie

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Rina K - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Rina K
Family with teenagers

Our stay was pleasant. The surrounding area is a bit dodgy, but the location on the rocks made up for that.

The unit is spacious and well equipped. We appreciated the trouble they have gone to to warm the unit during winter times - wall heaters, hot water bottles and extra bedding. The TV reception needs attention. Our stay was very pleasant and I can recommend it to other travelers.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

We are sorry to hear that you thought the area was unsafe Rina. The surrounding area that is close by is the Abagold farm, a conservation centre for endangered perlemoen that is being poached from the sea. The apartments are part of a complex with 24-hour security which is quite a common thing in South Africa, therefore an extremely safe place to stay. I'm glad you would still recommend our place to others. The view from the rocks and sound of the sea is amazing. We investigated the TV reception and have had a new decoder installed today.

Hope to see you another time,
Annamarie

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Alan P R - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alan P R
With friends

Relaxing.

We stayed at the potting shed apartment on the beach and it was truly an amazing stay. Very peaceful and totally safe, even late at night when we went to relax on the rocks we felt super safe. We will definitely recommend this and will visit again soon.

Adielah V - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Adielah V
With friends

Had a fantastic time.

See the stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantastiese tyd gehad.

Sien die sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Thank you Adielah for your lovely review. Come back soon!

Regards,
Annamarie & Dave :)

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Ronel V - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ronel V
Family with teenagers

Nice stay in stunning area.

Our journey took 17 hours and we were very tired. We had to travel through the night due to our working hours. Therefore we arrived much earlier and had to spend another 4 hours in our car. It was really uncomfortable.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker gebly in mooi omgewing.

Ons reis het 17 ure geduur en ons was baie moeg. Ons moes deur die nag reis as gevolg van ons werksure. Dit het veroorsaak dat ons vroerë aangekom het en boonop nog 4 ure in ons kar moes spandeer. Dit was onmenslik ongemaklik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Sorry you were so tired after your long journey, but when you made the reservation you were notified that our check in time is from 2.00pm. You arrived at 9.00am and guests had not even checked out. The apartments need time to be cleaned when guests have departed - hence the 2.00pm check in time. Check out time is 10.30. Guests were still in the apartment when you arrived.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Elzette D - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Elzette D
Family with young children

Nice for families with small children.

Good location. Kitchen needs an upgrade. Cutrains needed in rooms - blinds not sufficient.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker vir gesinne met klein kindertjies.

Goeie ligging. Kombuis kan opgedateer word. Gordyne in kamers kort - blindings nie voldoende.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Hello Elzette,
I'm sorry you felt the kitchen needs to be upgraded. Eighteen months ago we put a new kitchen in. I'm not understanding why you think it needs updating. The curtains are purely for decoration/interior design purpose. We have fitted blinds in all rooms, intended for blocking light and privacy. Perhaps if you email me direct we can discuss the matter in more details.
Kind regards,
Annamarie & Dave

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Amanda P - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Amanda P
With spouse/partner

Ons het baie lekker gebly!

Die woonstel was skoon en oulik uitgelê met 'n uitsig oor die see. Loopafstand van die see en as ons die deur oopgemaak het, kon jy die see hoor. Ons was mal oor die woonstel en als was daar wat ons nodig gehad het. Ons sal definitief weer The Potting Shed gebruik.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Thank you for such a lovely review. Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards from a very sunny Hermanus,
Annamarie & Dave :)

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
Morne K - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Morne K
Family with young children

Very, very nice. Will definitely visit again!

Will definitely be back when the whales are in the bay. The whole town and it's people area very friendly and there is more than enough to do for young and old.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie, baie lekker, sal beslis weer besoek!

Sal beslis weer kom as die walvisse in die baai is. Die hele dorp se mense is baie vriendelik en daar is baie om te doen vir groot en jonk.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering 's response

Thank you Morne for taking the time to review us. Glad you had a nice time.

Kind regard's
Annamarie & Dave

The Potting Shed - Self-Catering
From
R1 850
per night (sleeps 4)
From
From R1 850
per night (sleeps 4)
From
R1 850
per night (sleeps 4)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 12 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 18:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Whale Close, Whale Rock Estate, Hermanus, 7200, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGFjM2JmOTBiLTYyYTctNDhhNC1iZmFmLTBjMWU2NTNkZjNhYg?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R1 850  per night (sleeps 4) 45 5 1 5 Whale Close Whale Rock Estate 7200 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-18:00 10:00 -34.436095621578 19.220601537308
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!