The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at The Retreat | TravelGround
+24

The Retreat

8 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5from 8 reviews for The Retreat
Cleanliness
4.6/5
Service
4.9/5
Location
4.9/5
Safety
4.9/5
Value for money
5.0/5
Maresa B - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Maresa B

Fantastic home away from home for the whole family.

Our family spent a very relaxed weekend at this beautifully eclectic home, at the start of the West Coast flower season. The home is very comfortable and has so many spaces to relax - from the front stoep where we had our morning coffee, the long kitchen table where we congregated most of the day, the deep back stoep where we had sundowners in the last warmth of the sun. The cosy fire nook was so welcome at the end of winter. The garden was a great playground for the kids but there are also quite a few places around Aurora for longer walks up the koppies, some require permission from the farm owner but we found them very helpful. The owner of the house was extremely helpful with directions and information and immediately available for any questions. Even though Aurora seems a bit out of the way, there were quite a few options for a meal out and Veldrif and Laaiplek are only 30 mins drive away. I would highly recommend The Retreat, especially during the spring flower season. We will definitely go back.

The Retreat's response

Many thanks for this lovely review, we’re so delighted that you enjoyed your stay & that you found the house beautifully eclectic! Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we hope to host you again one day.

The Retreat
Adri D - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Adri D
With spouse/partner

Heerlik ontspan in 'n rustige, veilige en pragtige dorpie.

The Retreat het ons dadelik tuis laat voel. Dis baie gerieflik ingerig met alles wat mens kan nodig hê. Ons het heerlik voor die kaggel gekuier. Die inligting wat ons van Jill ontvang het , was baie volledig. Die winkel en koffiewinkel is binne stapafstand van die huis en so loop-loop kan mens blomme ook kyk!

The Retreat's response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay!

The Retreat
Lizette B - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lizette B
Family with young children

Rus en vrede

Lieflike ligging, rustig en ruim. Was mal oor die dekor en kinders was mal oor die tuin.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Peace and quiet

Lovely setting, peaceful and spacious. Loved the decor and the kids loved the garden.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Don R - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Don R
With spouse/partner

Interesting, homely, comfortable, nice log fires, friendly booking and information, just what we needed in Aurora, recommended.

We needed to be there for a house move and all worked out just as we needed. Thank you to our host. Note good coffee shop, restaurant/takeaway, and formal restaurant in town.

The Retreat's response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We do appreciate feedback. So glad it all worked out so well for you.

The Retreat
Barend L - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Barend L
With friends

Lieflike landelike gebied en baie goed toegeruste woning.

Eienaar was baie behulpsaam en het al die inligting betyds deurgegee. Huis is baie goed toegerus. Met oorgenoeg ordentlike slaapplekke. Duursame linne. Beveel dit beslis aan, veral as 'n groep wil saam kuier.

The Retreat's response

Thank you so much Barend, for taking the time to write a review… feedback is much appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your stay!

The Retreat
Danielle H - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danielle H
With spouse/partner

Fabulous home and garden in a lovely quiet west coast village.

The Retreat is a lovely large home with a huge garden and big warm pool. It's perfect for a quiet relaxing getaway where going out consists of a walk to the shops a few blocks away. The house has plenty of space indoors and out, so suits different configurations of people (couples, groups, families with children etc.). The owner is lovely to deal with and is very responsive. There is only one loo, which wasn't an issue, but may be if there are ten people, so something to consider. The porch is ideal for endless reading, an afternoon nap or sundowners. The village is extremely quiet and friendly. It's west coast hot, which is hotter than almost anywhere, so come prepared and the mozzies are prolific, so bring lots of protection. The huge mozzie nets over the beds were fabulous. WiFi is great and we had no connection problems. We also felt very safe despite not having high fences and bars everywhere. Jan who tends to the garden is delightful and quiet as a mouse when he comes around early to get watering done before the heat. He likes 3 sugars in his tea! Definitely worth a visit.

The Retreat's response

Thank you so much, Danielle, for taking the trouble to write such a comprehensive and lovely review. We do appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Aurora at The Retreat.

The Retreat
Robert H - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Robert H
Family with young children

We loved the space and the town!

Our whole family loved the place! When the kids were not in the pool they were in the treehouse and slides. We sat on the stoep sipping cool drinks, reading and watching them. We went for long bike rides in the quiet streets with the kids. My daughter cast off her training wheels. The owner was super attentive and responsive and everything in the house was a testament to generosity. Best holiday ever!

The Retreat's response

Thank you so much, Robert, for your lovely review. It is much appreciated.
Best
Jill

The Retreat
Candice F - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Candice F
With friends

A real Retreat!

We had an awesome time at The Retreat. Its real value for your money. It was a scorching weekend and the pool and porch area helped a lot. The house is perfect for a group of 10 people, we had enough space. There isn't a tv which is ideal as you get to spend more time interacting with friends/family. Would recommend this to anyone who wants to unwind and relax. Had an awesome time there.

The Retreat's response

Thank you so much Candice, for taking the time to write us a lovely review.

The Retreat
From R2 000
per night (for 8 people)
From R2 000
per night (for 8 people)
From R2 000
per night (for 8 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 8 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 11:00
  • Address: 36 Hof Street, Aurora, 7325, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAA5225e98479ab1e99108d4ec08dec13a3670201f79d44ee04890d424cd7cfe5893dadf960df7a011a364f0bf5e31298e64f9b?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R2 000  per night (for 8 people) 8 5 1 5 36 Hof Street Aurora 7325 Western Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 11:00 -32.70640068854 18.486739173472
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!