Umbilo Accommodation at The Troll and Tulip Bed and Breakfast | TravelGround
+7
+7

The Troll and Tulip Bed and Breakfast

Review Summary

4.6 out of 5from 29 reviews for The Troll and Tulip Bed and Breakfast
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
4.9/5
Location
4.2/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.7/5
Wilma S - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wilma S
Family with teenagers

Comfortable, nice pool and entertainment area and delicious breakfast.

We had a great stay. Comfortable, nice pool and entertainment area and delicious breakfast.

This review has been translated, click here to view the original version.

Gerieflik, lekker swembad en kuier area en heerlike ontbyt.

Ons het baie lekker gebly. Gerieflik, lekker swembad en kuierarea en heerlike ontbyt.

You are reading the original review, click here to view the translated version.

Lee G - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Lee G
Individual traveler

Peaceful, welcoming haven in a crazy world.

The accommodation was comfortable and clean, the breakfast provided was first class, but the exceptional feature of The Troll and Tulip is the warm, welcoming hospitality of John and Peggy.

The Troll and Tulip Bed and Breakfast's response

Thank you. You were a pleasure to host. Hope to have you with us again.

The Troll and Tulip Bed and Breakfast
Francois K - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Francois K
With spouse/partner

Definitief waarde vir jou geld.

Baie dankie aan John en Peggy. Ons was voorwaar verras met hulle gasvryheid en vriendelikheid. Sal die oornagplek ten sterkste aanbeveel. Dit is netjies, skoon en geen probleem met veiligheid gehad nie. John se aanwysings deur sy e-pos was spot-on en het die Troll and Tulip maklik gekry. Die ontbyt in die môre is vir seker 'n moet. Lekkerste ontbyt wat ek in 'n lang tyd geëet het, en was meer as genoeg.

Vere W - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Vere W
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam en doeltreffend!

Sien sterre.

Agnes Mamokhohlane M - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Agnes Mamokhohlane M
Family with young children

Enjoyed my stay.

Owners very welcoming. Mr and Mrs Tulip, you guys rock!

Pieter N - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter N
On business

Baie gerieflik, veilig en sentraal.

Gerieflike verblyf in sentraal-geleë area. John was die perfekte gasheer!

Allen S - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Allen S
With spouse/partner

The service was excellent.

John, the owner, went out of his way to assist us during our stay. It is much appreciated and commendable.

William M - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
William M
On business

Great customer service.

I arrived at the Troll & Tulip on a rainy evening of the 14th of May 2017. The owner of the place, Mr John - a very friendly man - warmly welcomed me and showed me to my room. I instantly felt at home! I had travelled to Durban to do an oral exam of the Colleges of Medicine of South Africa. Troll & Tulip, undoubtedly, provided just the right enviroment for a last minute preparation for my fellowship exam. The neighbourhood of Troll & Tulip is quite an affluent community. I came across many residents jogging along the roads after 6 pm, a sign of confidence in the security of person. I will, particularly, never forget how John took care of my culinary needs on the second day of my stay at the guest house. I hadn't had dinner and John offered to prepare for me one! He treated me to the most delicious vegetarian dish I've ever had! God Bless you, Mr John. God Bless the staff at The Troll and Tulip B & B, including the Mama who prepared my breakfasts and ensured that our rooms were clean. I definitely look forward to staying at Troll & Tulip the next time I travel to Durban.

Penelope O - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Penelope O
Individual traveler

Absolutely the best place to stay.

The B&B is very clean inside and outside. The service is excellent, delicious breakfasts and the Host and Hostess were very friendly and kind. Will definitely refer family and friends to stay over.

Lizelle W - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lizelle W
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig. Die eienaar is baie tegemoetkomend.

The accommodation was perfect, clean and tidy. Breakfast each day was different and very adequate. Everything was just perfect! The B&B was close to where we needed to be for school sports during the day but there was nothing else to do at night.

Riana V - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Riana V
Family with young children

Blyplek en kos was baie goed.

Baie goeie diens en ons het lekker gebly met 'n goeie ontbyt. Die naambord by die pad is nie duidelik genoeg nie, maar ons het nie te veel gesukkel om die plek te kry nie.

Pippa W - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Pippa W
With spouse/partner

Excellent welcome and friendly atmosphere.

Will definitely return. Peggy and John were outstanding hosts, they made our experience very pleasant. We spent a lovely, chilled New Year's Eve with some of the locals and had an amazing view of the fireworks!

Dewaldt L - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Dewaldt L
With spouse/partner

Goeie, nederige gasvryheid en waarde vir geld.

Die kamer is netjies, skoon en ingerig met al die basiese noodsaaklikhede. Veilige parkering agter 'n sekuriteitshek met 'n mooi uitsig. Hartlike gasvryheid en smaaklike ontbyt. Baie dankie.

Patience K - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Patience K
Individual traveler

A home away from home

The hosts are very friendly and helpful.

Jan R - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Jan R
With friends

Very nice place, we explored a lot

The place was awesome! We got lost several times, but had a very good stay.

Vivienne S - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Vivienne S
With friends

John's friendliness and attentiveness to our needs, was the cherry on the cake to a wonderful stay!

We were immediately made to feel welcome and our rooms were immediately available. Breakfast was beautiful and on time and more than enough! The rooms are spacious and well equipped with teas and coffee, kettle and bar fridge! Bedding squeaky clean and a pleasure to slip into after a days traipsing around Durban. Shower and bathroom a delight. Easy place to recommend to friends.

Theresa T - Sep 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Theresa T
With spouse/partner

Vriendelike diens.

Lekker ontbyt en 'n rustige atmosfeer!

Lloyd S - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lloyd S
On business

Great place

We loved our stay at this unique b&b. The only thing that could have been better is maybe some new beds and a carpet; with a few small touches of refreshment.

Deon R - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Deon R
With spouse/partner

Sentraal geleë, en gemaklike en bekostigbare verblyf.

Vir Durban is hierdie B&B sentraal geleë en bekostigbaar. Dit is 'n goeie basis om van te verken.

Kim F - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kim F

Great

A lovely B&B.

Annemaree V - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annemaree V
With spouse/partner

Silwerskoon, baie gerieflik en volop gasvryheid

Die verblyf was baie aangenaam, die kamer baie gerieflik en silwerskoon met alles wat nodig is. Die gasheer was ook baie vriendelik en het ons baie tuis laat voel.

Pieter D - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Pieter D
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik en ruim, naby snelweë en maklik bereikbaar.

Uitstekende gasvryheid.

Reshana A - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Reshana A

It was a great experience

I am writing this review on behalf of my partner. He was very impressed with the hospitality he received from John. They were very friendly and very welcoming to him. The place was also very clean and tidy. As such, we would definitely recommend this establishment to people.

Faith M - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Faith M
Family with young children

We had fun with my family @ Troll and Tullip .

John and Peggy they are friendly, they've got Ubuntu I can say so much about them. Hospitality and food were nice, as was everything you could possibly name. They are a social couple which is great! We have recommended this place to our friends and family.

Isabel B - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Isabel B
With friends

Gasvryheid was wonderlik - sal definitief weer daar bly.

Dit word aanbeveel!

Tinus S - Nov 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tinus S
On business

Aan die einde van hierdie ingang wag 'n aangename verrassing.

Hier is nou 'n blyplek met nostalgie en mens-mense. Ek sal nie weer op enige ander plek tuisgaan as ek in Durban oorslaap nie.

Tanith E - Sep 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Tanith E
With spouse/partner

The accommodation was satisfactory.

The place was satisfactory. I expected a bit more, as I have stayed in other 3 star accommodation which had better extras, but it was ideal for us as we needed to be in the Umbilo area.

Megan G - Jun 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Megan G

Short stay at Troll and Tulip while passing through was just lovely!!!!

My parents stayed here and this was their favourite B & B while visiting the coast. The owners and staff went out of their way to make sure my parents stay was pleasant. Finding people as nice as everyone was at Troll and Tulip doesn't happen often. Because of this experience, my whole family will always stay at Troll and Tulip every time they visit the coast. Thank you so so so much Troll and Tulip!

George G - Apr 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
George G
Family with young children

My family and I had a very hospitable stay the Troll and Tullip guest house

Our stay at the Troll and Tulip was very pleasant and I will stay there over and over again, every time I return to Durban.

From R900
per night (for 2 people)
From R900
per night (for 2 people)
SECURE PAYMENT VIA
TRAVELGROUND.COM
From R900
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 8 people
  • Check-in: 12:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 76 Brettonwood Avenue, Umbilo, Durban, 4001, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDA0NDJiMmZmLTM4ZTgtNDhjZi1hODEyLWZjYTcyODAxODQxMA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R900  per night (for 2 people) 29 5 1 5 76 Brettonwood Avenue Umbilo 4001 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 12:00-19:00 10:00 -29.891388888889 30.971944444444
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com