The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Thesen Islands Destinations | TravelGround
+62

Thesen Islands Destinations

7 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 7 reviews for Thesen Islands Destinations
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.1/5
Location
4.9/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.3/5
Heinrich G - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Heinrich G
With spouse/partner

Exclusive.

Will definitely be back. Was the best short vacation ever. Exclusive penthouse.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Eksklusief.

Sal definitief terugkom. Was die beste kort vakansie ooit. Exclusive penthouse.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Kd F - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Kd F
Family with young children

Ideally located and spacious.

Unit TH8 is the newest of all. Very spacious and neat. Cleaning services are optional and needs to be arranged also at an additional cost - would recommend that they include it to warrant the star grading. For braai they need a few things though - the things they do have aren't very practical. View is also not the best if you're looking for a view of the lagoon. It is in the main road so during the season it is VERY noisy. Otherwise, I will recommend it as a central point from which to explore Knysna.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ideaal geleë en ruim.

Eenheid TH8 is die nuutste van almal. Baie ruim en netjies. Skoonmaakdienste is opsioneel en moet gereël word asook addisionele koste - sal aanbeveel dat dit ingesluit is om stergradering te staaf. Vir braai kort daar ook 'n hele paar toebehore - dit wat daar is is nie baie prakties nie. Uitsig ook nie van die beste as jy op soek is na 'n uitsig van die lagoon nie. Is in hoofpad geleë, so in seisoen is dit BAIE lawaaierig. Andersins, sal aanbeveel as middelpunt om Knysna te ervaar.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Thesen Islands Destinations's response

Hi Kd, baie dankie vir jou terugvoering en voorstelle. Ek gee graag dringend aandag daaraan. Jy sal met my saamstem dat die eenheid baie meer geskik is vir 'n paartjie wat 'n romantiese tydjie saam wil spandeer, en eerder binnenshuis kook sodat hulle van al die luukse geriewe binne die kombuis gebruik kan maak. Slegs dan eers van die braai gebruik maak, nadat al die resepte op is en al die populêre resturante rondom die eenheid, probeer is. As jy meer duidelike terugvoering kan gee oor wat kort en wat onprakties is met die braai geriewe, kan ons kyk of ons die eenheid, selfs vir die Jan Braai entoesias, toegerus is. Ons hoor graag van jou. Vriendelike groete, Andre.

Thesen Islands Destinations
Z C M - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Z C M
Family with young children

Thesen Islands in general is a great destination, especially for people with teenagers.

The Destination itself: Clean, upmarket, comfortable and safe. Not great variety of shops, mostly tourist shops. You have to go into Knysna to stock up on groceries. Since most of the units are self-catering, it is a bit of an inconvenience. We enjoyed Thesen as we could walk everywhere. Even to the boat club. With the drinking and driving issue we could enjoy a drink at a restaurant and walk back. The "beach" was never crowded and was clean. The restaurants are good and have something for everyone. We slept well as it was quiet at night. Although I noticed a No Dogs regulation for the members, there were small dogs all over and sometimes they were a bit of a nuisance. But we can live with anything which is temporary. The people are very health conscious and people were walking, running, cycling, skating all over. That was quite nice. For parents with a single child, it is difficult for the child to make friends. People know each other there and they get together in groups. Have no illusions regarding this. I do not find anything wrong with that, as this is not really a holiday destination, but an estate as I understood it, with permanent residents and owners coming to their holiday homes over holiday periods. The unit Bitou 8: I was however very disappointed to discover that the unit was not serviced. At R4000 per night I would expect a cleaning service daily. There is a dishwasher, but I still had to do the pots, sweep, wash floors, tidy and make beds. Maybe it's just me. Our unit had some issues. And again, when you pay R4000 pn one has different expectations then when you pay R1000 or R2000. The garage door did not work, we did mention it and they sent someone but when we wanted to use it, it still did not open with the remote. The small door in the garage was a problem to open and close, the one door in the living room had a broken handle which my husband repaired. The cushions for the loungers outside were old and torn on the corners. We could not change the channels from the TV in the main bedroom. The pool was clean. The garden quite nice.

Thesen Islands Destinations's response

Hi Zelda. Thank you for your feedback and comments which are very helpful in our strive to render an excellent service and deliver great quality accommodation to our guests. It would seem as though your biggest disappointment was that fact that the villa was not serviced and that for the rate you paid you would have have expected that. The accommodation you booked was a 2 bedroom self- catering villa. Please familiarize yourself with what one may expect from self-catering accommodation by visiting the website of the South African Tourist grading council. The rates in peak season on Thesen Islands seems to be quite high if one compares it to your standard 2-bedroom house in Knysna but if you take into consideration all the extras that you get for renting on one of South Africa's most sought after estates it is justified. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your comments. We shall attend to niggling issues right away. We hope to see you again soon. Travel safe. Thesen Islands Destinations

Thesen Islands Destinations
Elzette V - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elzette V
Family with teenagers

'n Pragtige plek om by te bly met baie dinge om te doen in die nabye omgewing.

Fantasties. Genotvol.

Miriam J - Apr 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Miriam J
With friends

A great break, in a great place

Wonderful location!

Monica W - Nov 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Monica W
With spouse/partner

Wonderful

Had the best stay on Thesen Island ever. We love Knysna and Thesen Island!

Joost V - Feb 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Joost V
With spouse/partner

Very pleasant location,

Nice apartment, well furnished, and situated in beautiful natural surroundings.

From R2 460
per night (sleeps 2)
From R2 460
per night (sleeps 2)
From R2 460
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 140 people
  • Check-in: 15:00 to 00:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: TH1, Harbour Town, Long Street, Knysna, 6570, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDg5NDAzNDZiLTg2Y2ItNDcwYi05MDE4LWQzMDhhZTgzNGE3Yg?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R2 460  per night (sleeps 2) 7 5 1 5 TH1, Harbour Town Long Street 6570 Western Cape 0860 022 102 15:00-00:00 10:00 -34.047076888794 23.04790019989
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!